AMD Radeon™ Discussion V15, Radeon Software 20.10.1

chocobo7779
post Nov 4 2020, 12:32 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Nov 3 2020, 09:51 PM)
I'm more concerned regarding the pricing here in Malaysia.
Don't expect to be cheap (possibly even more pricier than the RTX3080, despite it is cheaper), AMD GPUs tend to be quite overpriced over here sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 18 2020, 10:17 PM

14,673 posts

The power efficiency of the 6800 XT is impressive:

Consumes about the same power as a 5700 XT and performs on par with a 3080 with the same process node is pretty impressive biggrin.gif

Also, the fan noise is excellent:

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 18 2020, 10:20 PM
chocobo7779
post Nov 18 2020, 10:24 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Nov 18 2020, 10:20 PM)
Performance seems okay-ish. I noticed it excels at 1080/1440p but once reach 4k it seems to be slightly slower/neck-neck with 3080
Infinity Cache bottleneck? laugh.gif

Might be interesting if someone manages to overclock the Infinity Cache icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 18 2020, 10:25 PM
chocobo7779
post Nov 18 2020, 10:38 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Nov 18 2020, 10:35 PM)
Godfall is AMD optimization title. Dirt 5 also from abang goldfries.

seems like with or without SAM, doesnt posses significant boost at all that impact the gaming vs running stock.
Although in some games like AC: Odyssey where there is a fairly significant performance boost with SAM icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 19 2020, 03:33 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Nov 18 2020, 11:08 PM)
b-b-but where's the stock sad.gif
Well considering that the pandemic probably has limped the supply chain of electronics along with the fact that more people are staying at home right now, you can forget about getting any new graphics cards/consoles any time soon sweat.gif

Even Microsoft is expecting the shortages of Xbox Series consoles to end on April next year sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 19 2020, 06:42 PM

14,673 posts

I think the most important part is this:

RX 6800 XT vs. RTX 3080: The price matters
In the end, the price achievable on the market and arguments such as "memory expansion" or "ray tracing/DLSS" are the most important factors. The Nvidia graphics card is measurable in the standard course, but not noticeably faster, completely new titles like Watch Dogs: Legion or Dirt 5 see RDNA 2 in front. RTX 3000 offers a noticeable performance advantage in raytracing, especially in combination with DLSS. Both graphics cards are fast enough for 4K in rasterized games at high to maximum details. AMD offers even better energy efficiency, a very good reference cooler and the 16 GB memory. Whether Nvidia's RT advantage or 16 GB will be more important in the future is written in the stars and also depends on personal preferences.

In view of the MSRP it is therefore difficult to choose a winner, because both graphics cards are simply very good. You will not make a mistake with any product. Both graphics cards are a joy to own.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

https://www.computerbase.de/2020-11/amd-rad...abschnitt_fazit

Also for some reason the RX6800 XT vs RTX3080 seems to remind me of the HD5870 vs GTX480 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 19 2020, 06:46 PM
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2020, 05:26 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Nov 26 2020, 03:18 PM)
Hype ' s all up. Back to reality land.
In fact, if u really look n think a bit
i9 10900 k - 2099 ( down from 2499)
I7 10700 k - abt 1.5 k
It makes worthy of consideration
Plus high chance guarantee d to work out of the box without any issues unlike Zen 3.
Too bad you need to pay exorbitant prices for a Z490 board (especially one with decent VRMs) sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 26 2020, 05:28 PM
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2020, 05:28 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Nov 26 2020, 02:36 PM)
AMD so much confidence with their pricing.
AMD CPU and GPU now price higher than competitor.
Too bad the rampant scalping and severe shortages (caused by the pandemic) right now makes buying new hardware nigh on impossible unless you want to pay ridiculous prices sweat.gif
Even things are no better in the green team and the console market sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 26 2020, 05:38 PM
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2020, 05:33 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Nov 26 2020, 05:20 PM)
I think not just malaysia price for 6800xt is high for aib models, so many ppl on yt in the states reported the msrp is insane on amazon. My zen3 seems to be working fine wut issues???
Yeah, launching a console that uses the same GPU arch along with their cards are a bad combo sweat.gif

It seems like neither Ampere/RDNA 2 are worth getting for now - the refresh would be here once the stock normalizes laugh.gif

Guess I think we should stick at current gen hardware for now sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 26 2020, 05:34 PM
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2020, 05:50 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Nov 26 2020, 05:47 PM)
Green cards still oklaa, so many are able to get at MSRP price (including me), i can see everyday there are stock available in the market if you are not choosy for top 3 brands
Yeah, I guess nVidia has dodged a bullet there by not relying solely on TSMC to manufacture their silicon laugh.gif

Even things like their mobile APUs are rare to find these days sweat.gif

Hopefully things should normalize once the pandemic ends, but it won't be long before we will see refreshed hardware laugh.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2020, 05:57 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(latios507 @ Nov 26 2020, 05:55 PM)
You can upgrade, but you gotta have to pay a slightly higher premium for most parts unless you're willing to wait.

I'd say fuck it, just upgrade now if you have to. Otherwise, put that money to use and earn interest. With all the pandemic going on, I doubt things will be back to normal at least for a while.
Well guess I'll stick to my 5700XT for now - after all my card still can game really well and is quite stable biggrin.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2020, 06:46 PM

14,673 posts

Well things could be worse sweat.gif

https://www.techpowerup.com/275153/wafer-pr...report#comments

Wafer Prices Rising by Up to 40% in 2021: Report
chocobo7779
post Nov 27 2020, 01:42 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Nov 26 2020, 09:31 PM)
https://www.resetera.com/threads/apparently...ay-more.333389/

Good news. It is not Malaysian distributor that screw up RX 6000 series pricing. It is AMD.
Yeah, the launch has been a mess so far (for some odd reason every PC hardware/console launches in 2020 is a huge mess, except Apple) doh.gif

I remembered not long ago when I was able to buy a 3600 + 5700 XT shortly after launch, but now for some reason it's out of stock everywhere unless you want to pay the scalpers exorbitant prices doh.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 27 2020, 01:50 AM
chocobo7779
post Nov 27 2020, 01:42 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Nov 26 2020, 11:41 PM)
6800XT Strix LC anyone ? At USD999. When it's here in MY, would be 5K or more.
Could have been a great card if the pricing isn't completely messed up sweat.gif

...and to make matters worse, ASUS hardware tend to be overpriced here sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 27 2020, 01:47 AM
chocobo7779
post Nov 27 2020, 01:44 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Nov 26 2020, 11:16 PM)
Initially I am excited for radon card but now look at the price of aib card, I don't feel like getting 1 but surprisingly oversea side still sold out very fast. Seem like regardless of the price, ppl oversea are desperate for stock so they price it higher. From business perspective it's nothing wrong, but as a user I decided not go for red team as of now. No wonder amd market in Malaysia was so small. Amd oversea set price high then Malaysia side still mark up higher. It's like pushing ppl to go team green.
Can't blame them, especially the prices of 5700 XT are massively jacked up here for some reason (it's quite cheap in the US and most parts of the world, but not here) doh.gif
chocobo7779
post May 6 2021, 12:55 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Mar 21 2021, 08:24 PM)
6700xt selling at 1300 dollars here, 200% of MSRP, I just hope the crypto currency will be regulated, pricing is out of control
I just hope that the whole chip shortage and mining boom go away for good, but it looks like it won't be happening anytime soon sweat.gif

It's quite nice to see AMD finally becomes competitive in the GPU front after so many years, but unfortunately they did it at the worst possible time sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: May 6 2021, 12:56 AM
chocobo7779
post May 6 2021, 12:58 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 20 2021, 04:54 PM)
one year plus didn't check on the HW scenes, just know the GPU prices are skyrocketing

my jaw almost dropped when seeing the current price of the flagship models, 5 figures!! :sweats:

someone even offered 4k for my old 5700XT!

dang! 5700XT still worth that much?
Ebay prices of 5700XT are hovering from 1000-1300USD right now sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post May 6 2021, 12:54 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ May 6 2021, 12:11 PM)
Seems like the demand for Radeon cards are not as high compared to Nvidia in Malaysia, just my observation.
Too bad the nVidia 'superiority complex' still plagues the local market, despite better pricing sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post May 6 2021, 06:27 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 6 2021, 06:23 PM)
now it's 1500 and 1700 for strix... all of the new radeon GPU are non existent except on carousell .
3060 selling 1500 lol

Unless both AMD and Nvidia do something about it, scalper pricing will continues for years.
And AMD APU department was planned by drunkard, all of their mobo support APU and they dont really sell APU to their customer, only OEM.
For gad damn 4 years.

If my current gpu kaput, GTX 1050 mini will be my only option lol
I wonder why.... prioritizing OEM market maybe? Seems like some kind of supply contract and bottlenecks? hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Aug 16 2021, 12:22 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Aug 11 2021, 12:47 AM)

If HW Unboxed's Steve thinks a Radeon card is rather bad... it means it truly is quite abysmal.
To be fair though, the negative reception of the 6600XT ironically becomes the best value card out there because very few people will buy it, and it'll end up as one of the few cards you can buy at non-inflated prices, at least in some markets sweat.gif
The pricing is bad that's for sure, but it will soon sell out nonetheless, because the alternatives are much more expensive or just straight up unavailable sweat.gif
Quite a few retailers are also reporting good stocks too, so there's that icon_idea.gif

Sure the 3060/Ti is better value-wise, but there's no point comparing them if getting those cards at MSRP (or close to the MSRP) is akin to finding a unicorn sweat.gif

You have things like the EU market where the 6600XT is significantly cheaper than the 3060 (or the 3060Ti), and it's faster too:

The biggest disappointment IMHO is that AMD has crippled the memory subsystem of the card, i.e. the card only has a physical x8 link and a reduced Infinity Cache size. Had AMD didn't cripple the memory subsystem completely it would have been a decent performing card sweat.gif

Whether AMD can keep up with the demand however is another story, but I don't hold my hopes up considering the crypto market has just boomed and the chip shortage are seeing no signs of recovery sweat.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0799sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:19 AM