FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post Dec 14 2016, 11:27 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 14 2016, 11:08 AM)
For me i dont depend so much on the funds' historical data. Many Malaysian funds were doing well previously, but those are things of the past. Worse during the Trump effect peak period the Ringgit currency is under heavy selling pressure and funds are moving out of the country, you just feel that it is a major typhoon or earthquake.

Our investment are too insignificant compared to those bigger ones. In addition, there is opportunity cost for keeping money in non performing funds.
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 14 2016, 11:24 AM)
Nomura underweights Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR: In less than four months, Malaysia’s equity market has been downgraded twice by Nomura as the global investment bank expects the country’s worsening growth outlook to continue in 2017.

“We downgraded the market to neutral in September and now [the] further downgrade to underweight reflects a worsening of its growth outlook,” Nomura vice president of equity strategy for Asean and Asia ex-Japan Shubhankar (Mixo) Das said in a media briefing on Nomura Securities’ equities and economic outlook 2017 on Monday.

Mixo shared the same view with Nomura economist Euben Paracuelles that many of the country’s supporters of growth are starting to fail, which translates into a weaker earnings profile for the equity market. The Edge Financial Daily reported yesterday that Paracuelles cut Malaysia’s gross domestic product growth forecast for next year to 3.7% from 3.9%. Similarly, he expected the country’s 2018 improvement to be limited, and thus projected a growth of 3.7% as compared with the previous 4.2%.

http://www.klsescreener.com/v2/news/view/166933
Yeah, I read that 95 pages Nomura report. You know, they are not all positive about Asia as well, they expect MSCI Asia ex-Japan to end 2017 slightly below current levels, what do you plan to do with that?

I'm not advocating for overweight Malaysia, what I'm trying to say is, don't need to panic sell what you have as well

But that's my opinion, as with everyone else's opinion, should be taken with a pinch of salt. When something is said and echoed by 100 other ppl doesn't make it the truth. Only time will tell

This post has been edited by dasecret: Dec 14 2016, 11:32 AM
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 10:29 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 15 2016, 04:41 PM)
Really 2% SC? But dasecret told me it's 1% SC if do RSP.
urgh... misquote me again

The context of our previous conversation was based on your new account opening. Within 30 days of account opening, the RSP set up is entitled for 1% sales charge for 6 months.

Thereafter would be back to normal sales charge applicable to your tier
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 10:37 AM

1,498 posts

No one seem to have talked about this yet

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...Optimistic-7818

For bond investment, investors can consider to trim down bond funds with foreign currency exposures and park it under local bond funds.

While the Malaysian equity market is only expected to provide a modest rate of return, investors should not shy away completely from the Malaysian equity market given its important role in portfolio diversification (from the perspective of a Malaysian investor). As such, we advise investors to consider an allocation of 15% to 20% in Malaysian equities within one’s equity portfolio.

since small cap segment is more volatile in nature, investors who favour this segment should only include it into their supplementary portfolios, confining their allocation in these segments to no more than 10% weightage of their entire portfolios.

I think what is said is quite different from the trends in this thread, so something for you guys to consider
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 12:28 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Dec 19 2016, 12:13 PM)
never thought of it that way before  hmm.gif
refreshing point of view
thanks for the link.
wonder how many author-researcher in ifast? a quick poll among them would be nice to see if they are collectively bearish or bullish on malaysia
maybe they are collectively neutral? or they haven't updated the rating yet biggrin.gif
3 stars in FSM ratings actually means attractive

So I don't think it was their intention all along to ask people to avoid MY equities, but they also clearly do not encourage people to go 100% into EI SC like some pru agents I got to know
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 02:37 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 19 2016, 02:30 PM)
Klau lima bintang means what? Sai Lang everything? Are you feelin' lucky?  bruce.gif

Xuzen
They say very attractive lor cool2.gif
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 02:52 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 19 2016, 02:47 PM)
Attractive like this?

[attachmentid=8276076]
Lol, not my type ler sweat.gif
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 05:07 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 19 2016, 03:14 PM)
Are you guys going nuts already because of market volatility, particularly the Asian market ?  console.gif
Like this already need to go nuts? lol

Where were you beginning of this year when the blood bath happens? Now is nothing compared to Feb this year la. My IRR now is more than 2 times of what it was then
dasecret
post Dec 19 2016, 06:12 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Dec 19 2016, 05:28 PM)
Did a quick calculation on my IRR. 7% invested since 2013.

But Roi this year only 3%. But if I time apportion all my investment amount, it's 6.2%. Lol. Make myself feel better and take 6.2%? Haha
7% IRR is quite good ma. ROI is not as meaningful as IRR if you have multiple transactions at different point in time

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 19 2016, 05:52 PM)
3% is a failed investment.  innocent.gif
So what's your definition of a successful investment?

And how does your portfolio measure up to your own definition?
dasecret
post Dec 22 2016, 02:00 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 21 2016, 09:29 PM)
Havent sold any yet. 2years and 4 months in...

I have made one switching... cause the eastspring asia pac target return really not performing.

Btw, dasecret topping up any funds? Underperforming ones are malaysia funds, feel like topping up.
Hehe, why ask me? Ppl here all run far far away from Msia, both FI and EQ

Anyway, I'm not doing anything with my MY allocation for now, not selling but not topping up either; I've achieved my planned allocation for EQ for now. Besides, this 2 weeks is the window dressing time, if want to buy may be better in early Jan or after CNY

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 22 2016, 12:39 PM)
Ohh..sorry my bad. Lady investors in this forum are very rare and treasured. Like the unicorn, phoenix or golden dragon. Please ask as many questions as you like in the future. Uncle Vanguard will assist whenever possible.  biggrin.gif
Lol, makes me wonder if I'm unicorn or phoenix or alien sweat.gif

So uncle Vanguard, what's your take on MY markets?

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.1357sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:29 PM