4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post Dec 2 2016, 12:26 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 2 2016, 11:54 AM)
Guys, Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund can be purchased again.
dasecret here's your chance to buy without 3% service charge.
Thanks for remembering me and my preferred funds, but we already talking about it since last nite blush.gif

Comes at a great time for me to switch ATR at all time high
dasecret
post Dec 6 2016, 10:04 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 6 2016, 09:51 AM)
For those who can stomach risk and wanna maximise returns - RHB
For those who wanna reduce risk - Affin Hwang Select Bond

icon_rolleyes.gif
If one must get bond (like me), then select bond is a good bet, it has the highest risk return ratio; fund size large enough to minimise impact of a default, and exposed to asian corporate bonds yet forex risk is managed through hedging.

Also, for people who is significantly exposed to Asia pac equity funds, would be good to match the FI and EQ portions. But of course if your AP EQ exposure is through RHB Asian Income fund it's less necessary la

Thing with ATR is, the increase is mostly due to USD strength; if you are in the camp to believe that USD will continue to strengthen against RM, then by all means go for it. To me it looks like BNM is actively interfering, so it may go up a bit more, but won't be the quantum of RM3.1-RM4.5 type
dasecret
post Dec 6 2016, 10:06 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 6 2016, 10:02 AM)
and BTW. she's married. lol
Such a catch, of course married la tongue.gif
dasecret
post Dec 6 2016, 10:18 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Dec 6 2016, 10:09 AM)
Speaking of Asian bonds..have always wondered what the "other" countries are made up of! Could not find the info even from the parent fund itself.

Below is from the fund factsheet of RHB emerging Markets bond fund

[attachmentid=8215677]
Nah, spoon feed
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/admin...portsUBGEMS.pdf

Page 6 & 7, so long until can't fit into 1 page

You know what, I've been seeing folks here running to and forth between ATR and EM bond depending of the return for the month.... just pick one and stick to it la
dasecret
post Dec 6 2016, 10:24 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 6 2016, 09:26 AM)
Affin Hwang Select Bond is managed wholly (correct me if I'm wrong) by Affin Hwang team here in KL, so they will manage it to optimise returns and minimise risks from MYR perspective, whereas other bond funds like RHB ATR is a Feeder Fund which feeds into Singapore-based United Asian Bond Fund.

The wild swings that u see in the chart must be from forex fluctuations.
Reiterating the point that con-sultan highlighted in the past, the chart below compares ATR (orange line), mother fund - UOB Asian bond and USD:MYR exchange rate

The mother fund returns is ok ok only

dasecret
post Dec 6 2016, 02:11 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 6 2016, 10:58 AM)

I) On a separate note, perhaps some of the older or more veteran UTF participant may or may not have noticed; that is, in the earlier 2016, we were all talking about equities UTF such as CIMB APDIF (Ponzi 2.0) and also CIMB Titan Fund (Titanic).

II) Then in 2H-2016, we went down to lower volatility UTF such as RHB AIF

III) Now, towards the end of 2016, most of us are chattering about fixed income UTF.

This shows that perhaps, our risk tolerance are dropping. Our perception is that market is more risky at the end of 2016 compared to beginning of 2016?
Good observation. I think 2016 been a challenging year and those who gone thru it realise their risk appetite and is reflecting that in their asset allocation. We still have some who are on 100% EQ and believe they can stomach the risk. If that decision is made conciously I guess it's fine

QUOTE(David3700 @ Dec 6 2016, 11:13 AM)
Nobody want to consider AHSIF ?
Heard from agent that it is very popular by corporates.
It's equity exposed, and this year's performance is dragged down by the lacklustre MY stock market. Personally I prefer to combo ponzi 1.0 and select bond

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 6 2016, 11:20 AM)
Friend,

consider this thus: AHAM SBF versus AHAM SIF, in terms of risk to reward ratio, AHAM SBF wins by a massive margin.

Consider this again: AHAM SBF = bond = lower sales charge = lower commission.

Consider this perhaps: AHAM SIF = balanced fund = higher sales charge = better commission.

Perhaps you may come to some illuminating deduction?

Xuzen
Interesting Select Income is classified as fixed income and therefore 0% sales charge and 0.2% platform fee per annum. But personally I still prefer select bond for its superior risk reward ratio

dasecret
post Dec 7 2016, 06:00 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 7 2016, 05:50 PM)
hmm.gif give her a returns of 7% pa....any extra you sapu into reserves fund.....any short of 7% you top up from the reserves fund....
if that is ok...then more leeway to "play" about with the portfolio.....
Great idea! Although I think 7% a bit high also, cos this is effectively capital and returns guarantee

A bit of oversharing, but this is what I do with mum's portfolio. I have a target return of 6%; 60EQ:40FI. Barely meeting it at the moment; so 50% Select bond and 50% AIF I'm not so sure if you can really make 7% in the short term. 2016 been a volatile year
dasecret
post Dec 8 2016, 10:37 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 10:10 AM)
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/fsm/#!/home
and we are still stuck with 2% and old interface. lol
It's not comparing apple to apple if you look at just sales charge. In FSM SG you get charged 0.4% platform fees (by end 2017 it would be 0.35% per annum) on top of 0% sales charge.

For the long run investors, the platform fees add up and would quite easily exceed what FSM MY charges.

As to why FSM MY is still on old interface. It's economy of scale and simple demand and supply theory. So if there's not enough business and revenue generated out of the MY market, what makes you think they would be motivated to invest more

That's the same for all businesses. So go out there to share this platform with your Kuching friends and family so they have more reasons to (1) set up a branch in Kuching, (2) Provides more value added services

Edit: Updated based on latest pricing structure, now FSM SG charge 0% sales charge for all UT.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 8 2016, 10:12 AM)
You can get 0% with yet older interface, aka eUT. LOL.
Well, sure, go ahead with your plan of using FSM platform to decide what to buy and then buy from eUT. Soon both platform would be obsolete as it is not sustainable to run on 0 fees or 0 revenue

p/s: I don't work for FSM, but I believe in making good businesses sustainable by supporting them

This post has been edited by dasecret: Dec 8 2016, 11:55 AM
dasecret
post Dec 8 2016, 12:04 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 8 2016, 11:39 AM)
Promoting UT is not thr right way. We should promote ETFs as it's cheap cheaper in the long tun and statically, it will beat UT most of the time.
Agreed. The 0.1%/quater is a killer.
That's what I am planning for FSM SG. Use their info then use eUT.

How many people you know invest using RM5k?
If 6 funds = RM30k already.  How many can fork out RM30k/month? If I have RM30k/month to invest, I would have choosen ETFs. If maybe one time RM5k/month/fund it might be doable.  But if RM30k/month, don't think so
1. Try to map ETF/index in Msia with the jaguh kampung funds. Do you know that even lousy funds like Public small cap beat the index? cool2.gif Sure, the theory works in the US, but try to see if it works in less than efficient markets like most emerging markets

2. I know you don't feel there's an issue to use facility on FSM and then buy from the cheaper source. I'm just commenting it for others who have sustainability in mind. Oh ya, I think it would be a terrible idea for you to venture into businesses. Because it's more than just sourcing for the cheapest goods and maximising revenue.

3. Not sure what was that 5k and 30k calculations for. I'm sure lots of the ASx and FD folks have way more than that. And some of the regulars here who show their portfolio/FSM tier you can easily tell they have more than 30k in FSM as well

Old lady advice to you (despite sure fall on deaf ears), open your horizon, don't just think with what you know, be receptive of what others have to say even when it does not involve saving costs, and you may just gain from it
dasecret
post Dec 8 2016, 01:13 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 8 2016, 01:03 PM)
I have no problem if they want to charge 2% SC for small investments. But when it comes to bigger investments, that's where they scheme will appear rather not making sense while other places the fund can be purchased at 0% SC. Even for a gold member, he just gets .5% off the 2%, ie he still needs to pay 1.5% SC. Any promotion comes with 1% SC or 0.5% SC would just render the whole "reward" scheme useless.

I think they have to desire to make more money from the bigger investments because that's where they could get enough money to sustain the operation but I think this is not make sense from investor point of view. With competition around having different offerings, this scheme is seen as "punishing" the bigger investments.

I don't know for sure how eUT gets money to fund their operation. The fact that they offer 0% SC for bigger investment amount, that's something which make sense. Maybe they get it from the fund management company via the management fees. But it is a rewarding scheme for investing more ! Not the other way round.
I do agree on your view that investors with larger sum would look for lower cost for its quantum, but at the same time, I think the need of HNWI is very different, they probably wouldn't mind paying a bit more for services that they need. and chances are they won't turn to DIY style investing as their time can be better spent making more money than the cost savings

Not to mention they would probably not allocate a lot into funds, they can buy bonds and shares directly and still be meaningfully diversified

So I thought what FSM MY is doing now is meeting the needs of their targeted audience - the younger generation with not that much to invest.

As to unit trust fund as a vehicle, this is one of the most popular vehicle for retail investors other than FD due to minimal monitoring required

So maybe the questions we should all ask ourselves is, is this the right investment vehicle? Should you consider other vehicles like direct shares and ETFs instead?
dasecret
post Dec 8 2016, 01:44 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Dec 8 2016, 01:25 PM)
How to buy ETFs in Malaysia ?
Do we have a LYN thread on ETFs ?
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3396549&hl=ETF
Here you go. The stuffs they discuss there is too advanced to me
dasecret
post Dec 9 2016, 09:48 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 9 2016, 09:38 AM)
Eastspring small cap.
perhaps now it's time for me to switch into this fund. I need to switch out of the EI AsiaPac Target Fund.
I'm in the same camp as you, sell when high, buy when low. But obviously we are not in the popular camp blush.gif

Yes, for the next few months MY EQ may not do very well, but as election approaches, the usual modus operandi is to pump up the market to keep the election machine running. Of course the question remain to be, would all stars align or not lor
dasecret
post Dec 9 2016, 10:12 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 9 2016, 09:58 AM)
If I switch from Eastspring smallcap > Eastspring emerging market, kena charge 2% some more?

Btw, if I want to buy those "sophisticated investment" by FSM do they really ask for RM3m proof (don't have RM3m) but interested in one of the fund.
1. You example is a Intra fundhouse switch, no sales charge
2. The wholesale fund is restricted to HNWI to protect the retail investors, the idea is, these ppl with so much money won't feel the pinch if they lose from the wholesale fund. So if retail investors proceed to claim they are HNW, I don't think they really check. If I remember correctly, SC vetting and requirements is also less stringent for wholesale funds.
dasecret
post Dec 9 2016, 12:13 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 9 2016, 11:59 AM)
Really? dasecret siad direct switching won't incur charges.  rclxub.gif No credit points to play with. sad.gif
Your question is intra fundhouse la, EI equity fund to another EI equity fund

If you want to switch from kapchai to ponzi 2.0 without incurring additional sales charge, have to use credit ninja lor
dasecret
post Dec 11 2016, 11:07 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Dec 10 2016, 09:24 PM)
I don't suggest you to read all the post here. To be fair, the post in this version is trending one direction. Alot of new investors talking about rebalancing and skimming profits. And to be fair, they are new, while they mean good intention in giving their opinions, please understand a certain level bias exist...

I think it may be more beneficial for you to read the articles on fsm. Take the information but form your own judgement. After all, fsm articles are written by humans not fortune tellers.

On a more objective view, if you do comparison between malaysia funds and non-malaysian funds and looking at performance over long period >5 years, you will find that definitely the malaysian funds are better.

2 reasons i can think of:
1) cause lack of forex to make it more volatile.
2) non-malaysian funds have not always been that great last time (possibly due to lack of expertise, or other reasons, but i think pinkspider here mentioned once, many years ago people suffering badly due to china fund and barely struggling to break even, even now). Caveat: Lately it has been really good, but please note that this is mainly due to weak ringgit. I am unable to objectively assess whether without this effect, would the funds be showing such good return or a positive return in fact (a message i have been trying to caution new investors but falling on deaf ears).
I thought your portfolio is almost entirely foreign? tongue.gif
Anyway, I think MY funds did really well in 2009 to 2013 due to the hot money from QE in the developed nations and we were promising in terms of GDP growth etc. Until you know what blew up basically

And yeah, bias do exist in every forum, typically forums would be dominated by people who talk the loudest, not necessary the one with the right views.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 10 2016, 09:33 PM)

PS. I cannot stand people who do not give any input to the conversation and never once above I read any facts or numbers from them to back up their principles but instead chose to be passive aggressive by calling us nay sayers. I would suggest if you cannot be nice or be productive do kindly not post anything at all
Well, since you asked me not to post sarcastic remarks, I thought you could use the same feedback as well. I know your post count on this version is remarkably high, but doesn't mean that some of the old timers don't have good and objective views to share. IMHO adele is one of the more level headed ones around, even more so than me

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 11 2016, 02:05 PM)
On a more serious note:

eUT which is Phillip Cap's UTF distribution division is not their main bread and butter business. Phillip Capital is actually a fund house, that is. their main core business is stock-broking, asset management (they actually have their own in-house UTF - which suxs actually when compared to KGF / Kapchai).

The eUT biz is more of a by the way kind of biz. That is why you will notice they do not put much effort into it, unlike FSM. FSM is more serious into this biz.

Phillip Cap has their own UTF and they also create mini customized UTF for individual HNWI (min invest RM 400K). Those are their core biz, not those RM 100.00 per transaction kucing kurap biz.

Xuzen.
I think these days the mini portfolio goes all the way down to retail investors; with EPF-MIS they are willing to do even for 30k. But returns sucks la, so what if can custom made

dasecret
post Dec 13 2016, 11:26 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 13 2016, 11:10 AM)
I did some minor tweak for 2 of my supplementary portfolios today. I switched out completely from Eastspring Bond Fund into the Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund. Less volatile with higher yield.

Where else can you get such a good deal?

After the last scare with the Malaysian bond funds, I realised I have invested too much in it and it is time to cut down my exposure to Malaysian bond funds.
If only FSM distributes a performing global bond to match exposure in global/developed markets equity *subtle hints to the silent reader tongue.gif *

The global bond funds available at the moment really sucks, even with strong USD, Maybank Global Bond Fund baru made 2.61% for 1 year
dasecret
post Dec 13 2016, 11:44 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 13 2016, 11:37 AM)
Exactly. Should have reduce at least 10%
Has it ever occur to you that if you think you can do a better job than the fund manager, you should not let the fund manager earn the 1.5% p.a. management fee from you?

There are many factors to be considered when the markets fell sharply and you are caught offguard, reducing exposure significantly would mean taking significant amount of realised loss as well

Honestly, I don't know how to do the fund manager's job so I'd just let them do theirs and compared the fund manager's performance to their peers every now and then to decide if this is still the fund manager I want to stick to
dasecret
post Dec 13 2016, 03:50 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Dec 13 2016, 02:25 PM)
Hi guys. I am new here. Previously been invest about 20k in UT with the 5% sc and now get to know this great tool.

I was just curious what are the disadvantage of the FSM with lower sc as I know there are no free lunch in this world.

Is it they have limited available UT to buy or something?
There's no door-to-door service, you gotta print the form, fill it up yourself and send it to FSM by email or post. There's also no one that you can just call up and scream at if you lose money. It's like personal shopper or buy on website lor

But the biggest difference is, FSM doesn't distribute public mutual funds, so if you want to buy from public mutual, you have to pay hefty sales charge. So next question is, which fund is better lor... that, is up to you to determine

This post has been edited by dasecret: Dec 13 2016, 03:51 PM
dasecret
post Dec 14 2016, 10:27 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Dec 13 2016, 10:36 PM)
What's the difference between Ponzi 1.0 and 2.0 in terms of portfolio again?

Anyone still doing top up (not DCA) on Ponzi 1.0? I realised I haven't touch it since 2014. LOL!
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 13 2016, 11:12 PM)
I'm curious. how much did you make from two years in Ponzi 1
Let see... I have some since 3 years ago, and last top up end of last year

My IRR is 10.95% for this fund cool2.gif
dasecret
post Dec 14 2016, 10:48 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 14 2016, 10:33 AM)
I supposed the worst is over now for Malaysia exposed funds. At least for now there are some gains and some losses, not like previously just one way lao sai.
I think the duration that you are looking at is very short, that's why you feel that Msian exposed fund is not worthy. The truth is, ponzi 1.0 did really well beginning of the year by avoiding China and focused on south east asia. But if you are only looking at last 3 months, then yes, ponzi 1.0 paled in comparison when compared to ponzi 2.0 or US fund or india fund, but these funds sucked beginning of the year. The idea is, have some strong funds in each geographical segment and when one goes down, the other will rise to support

btw, even my KGF has IRR of 9.89%, close to holding for 3 years as well, sure, it's lower than before... but it's not that bad still

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0282sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:17 AM