FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
David3700
Dec 6 2016, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 6 2016, 11:35 AM) Yeah, AH Select Income Fund is indeed Hwang's "chew pai chow"@signature dish. In fact, I've always said, if u wanna have EPF-beating returns and lazy to build a conservative portfolio, just buy this fund and sleep away...come back at 55 years old. All time signature dish.....SIF fund size is RM1,000 million more than that of SboF.
David3700
Dec 6 2016, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 6 2016, 02:08 PM) lol hahaha I'm lost in the conversation as to how we managed to go into a comparison of multiple funds. Anyways nobody topping up today? Nope, asia pac is green today. Plus, Trump has humiliated China twice in 72 hours, just want to see what will happen then
David3700
Dec 7 2016, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 10:41 AM) I switched it out last week and instead of losing a significant amount in kapchai I am not getting a slight return from eastspring emerging markets. curious as to why you are still keeping it when our currency isn't rebounding anytime soon and BNM has already made a pseudo capital control which will affect the very companies that kapchai invests. How about Ponzi 1.0 then ?
David3700
Dec 7 2016, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 11:15 AM) be advised Ponzi has an substantial allocation in Malaysia and you incur switching fees. that's why I took the initiative to shift to East spring emerging markets So Ponzi 1.0 not worth holding on to now ? I just top up a little earlier this month based on her past performance.....
David3700
Dec 7 2016, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 05:24 PM) how to diversify when malaysia is bleeding and US and Europe is still under speculation. of course switch to Asia ex Pac. plus you dare to create an aggressive portfolio for your girlfriend or wife knowing she will kill you if you lose her money. Haha....better safe than sorry especially with woman money. It's fine as long as beats FD I never dare to touch my wife's FD
David3700
Dec 8 2016, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 8 2016, 05:36 AM) US market all time high..  Asia Pac will follow suit
David3700
Dec 8 2016, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 8 2016, 11:39 AM) Promoting UT is not thr right way. We should promote ETFs as it's cheap cheaper in the long tun and statically, it will beat UT most of the time. How to buy ETFs in Malaysia ? Do we have a LYN thread on ETFs ?
David3700
Dec 9 2016, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 9 2016, 10:54 AM) Remember the great short circuit of dragon back in early 2016? China went from a industrial monster to a lizard. Soon after June it roared back to life. China is too big too fail. Malaysia on the other hand The dragon is spending too much to "save" emerging Latin, African and SEA countries betting good return in future..... One good example, see how dragon save xMDB as reported yesterday. Could run into trouble......
David3700
Dec 10 2016, 10:14 PM
"ECB to extend bond buying by nine months until end 2017"
Can we interpret that bond fund will has a better upside ?
David3700
Dec 10 2016, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 10 2016, 10:19 PM) yes i don't think there will be another bond fund panic sell again. this trump thing is like pressing one big reset button and it now reduces the correlations between equity and bonds. all cool. Thanks bro Will top up AHSBoF if nothing serious happen after the rates hike....
David3700
Dec 12 2016, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 12 2016, 09:43 PM) of course. it's down because of the Fed hike and its just only temporary. also other non opec countries have begun cutting oil supplies significantly. it all boils down to US. I'll reconsider stepping into the us/japan/Europe market after trump takes office. The main reason for Chinese shares tumble is basically as below to prevent over heated speculating. "China crackdown on stock purchases by insurance firms sent shares in Shanghai and Shenzhen sharply lower" This government has a lot of unexpected pattern like limiting cash withdrawal at Macao which sent casino's shares down last Friday. Just to share some news here.....
David3700
Dec 13 2016, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(puchongite @ Dec 13 2016, 11:15 AM) Do you agree with this analysis ? http://www.barrons.com/articles/BL-AFUNDSB-8003» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Bank of America Merrill Lynch‘s China strategist David Cui, a long-time China bear, is out this morning with his views on the heavy selloff in China’s stock markets on Monday.
The CSI 300 Index tumbled 2.4% on Monday, the biggest one-day fall since June 13, providing another reminder to foreign investors how volatile China’s markets can be. The selloff was sparked after the Chinese government cracked down on insurance companies buying stocks. For more details, see my yesterday’s blog “UPDATE China Stocks Tumble As Beijing Clamps Down On Insurance Buying“.
At issue is the so-called “universal” insurance, a type of life insurance policy that also promises investment returns. Some even “guarantee” 6-7% returns and the minimum investment can be as low as just 1,000 yuan, a level which is accessible to China’s middle class. As a result, insurance companies used a lot of leverage to buy blue-chip stocks to obtain those sort of returns. But China bear Cui questions whether Beijing’s crackdown on “universal” insurance will have much of an effect on China’s stock markets given the impact of the stock purchases by insurers is simply too small: Despite some high-profile single-stock purchases by insurers in recent quarters, their impact on the overall A-share market should be fairly moderate – we estimate that ULIP-funded stock positions accounted for 0.6% of the total market as of 3Q16.
Since mid-2014, insurers’ ownership of A-shares has only risen slightly, from 2.4% to 2.8%, despite some aggressive stock investment moves by some small/mid-sized insurers, often funded by universal life insurance product (ULIPs) sales. It appears to us that insurers are generally not very keen on stock investment, despite the government’s encouragement of such investment.
So what’s the problem?
The problem in China is herd mentality and the prominence of retail investors. Retail investors now own over 40% of China’s A-shares. In addition, many are not sophisticated investors. According to the Shanghai Stock Exchange, about 75% of retail investors in the A-share market do not have college degrees, and only 43% of college degree holders in China participate in the stock market (because they’ve got better things to do!). As a result, retail investors tend to follow the market, so when negative news hits the wires they start to panic and sell. (See chart)
The value of China’s retail investors’ stock holdings track index performance too well, a sign of herding behavior.
Bank of America Merrill Lynch China’s A-share markets continues to trend lower today. The CSI 300 Index was down 0.3%. Overnight, the Deutsche X-Trackers Harvest CSI 300 Index China A-shares ETF (ASHR) fell 3.3% and the iShares MSCI China ETF (MCHI) dropped 2%.
 A good piece of info on Chinese investors' behavior !
David3700
Dec 14 2016, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 14 2016, 11:33 AM) Gold still following my 2-3 years plan, profit currently down to 35% annualized. No worry. The crowd here are mostly following the UT investment rule book and not receptive to trading methods, so nowadays just lurking lor. Moreover most of them are in accumulating mode while I'm already in sustaining mode. Different wavelength. I am also interested in how sifus deal with portfolio which is more than 5 years....
David3700
Dec 20 2016, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 20 2016, 09:08 AM) Capital control issue/Property bubble/Seizure of underwater drone Also banning insurance companies from investing in equities......
David3700
Dec 20 2016, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 20 2016, 05:10 PM) Country specific funds or sector funds are usually high risk for obvious reasons. If something goes wrong with the country's share market or with the sector, the affected funds will sink very fast by -10% or more. For example, China equity funds sank in early 2016 and the tech funds burst in year 2000. That is why conventional wisdom is that we should not invest more than 10% into each of the funds. The above rule applies for Japanese fund, Australian fund, Indian fund, REITs etc. The exception could possibly be the US market and used to be the Malaysian market for me (because of the 'protection' by the government). The rest of our equity funds should be in global funds or asia pacific funds or other funds which cover a wider range of countries. As usual, my 2 cents worth. Well agreed