8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Nov 4 2016, 11:59 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Nov 4 2016, 11:55 AM)
You are looking at it just from US's perspective. But actually what most people are concerned are not limited to US, as US presidential election has far greater impact outside of US than US itself.

If one accepts the probability chances is like what you say, then what we should be doing is to ***RUN*** now, move all equity investments into something more stable.
Lai Lai, place your bet, place your bet!

By next week, we shall know.... only less than a week nia.... so kan cheong hor!

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 4 2016, 02:50 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 4 2016, 12:31 PM)
What else do your crystall ball show ?

Then at d moment I will topup RHB AIF. Not so much on Ponzi 2. Perhaps Ponzi 1 is better choice.
The usual:

Add in a quarter cup of India into RHB AIF and stir with a dash of TA GTF. Stir well, let it sit for a while and top up with AMReits for some garnishing. cool2.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 4 2016, 02:51 PM
xuzen
post Nov 4 2016, 06:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 4 2016, 03:07 PM)
Instead of AMReits, how about KAF Australia Islamic Property Fund?
KAF is wholesale meaning only those qualified investors need apply. I am a retail investor. This UTF is not of my concern.

This fund is a new fund, hence Algozen™ will automatically discount this UTF.

I will seek out Ikan - bills friendly UTF only.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 5 2016, 11:49 AM

4,436 posts

Let's go back to "Hari Ini Dalam Sejarah"

Early this year, the whole market was down, no area was spared. US, Europe, Asia Pac, China, India = all down!

Remember the cause?

It was the Govt of China imposing the circuit-breaker ruling. This spooked the investors and all came tumbling down. Even the famous Brexit issue was nothing compared to that circuit-breaker fiasco.

It took almost half a year to see recovery and when it recovered in 2HYr 2016, it came back up with a vengeance. Such is the vagaries of the world.

I have a feeling, after the US election over is over, there will be a very short term extreme volatility, but things will settle very quickly. Trump or Clinton wins, they are not a alone.... do you think their financial backers will want their candidate to disrupt the good days / gravy train? if either got too out of line, I am sure their financial backers would want them to toe the line.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 5 2016, 11:55 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 5 2016, 11:43 AM)
And then be in control by the tyrant china....just like they did to some asean members......asean grouping is doomed.....by the consensus agreement....1 member got controlled...the groupingcannot funtions independly.
I remembered my sejarah lessons:

Back in the days of Sultan Parameswara, the founder of the Malaccan Sultanate, Malacca was a vassal state to the mighty Ming Dynasty. Siam (Thailand) too had to pay homage to the Ming Emperor. And many smaller vassal states around Indochina too.

Looks like History is repeating itself.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 8 2016, 10:06 PM

4,436 posts

Kan I sudah banyak kali cakap, itu saving plans tak boleh pakai wan as a wealth creator.. IRR is +/- 2% FD rate.

It is more suitable as a wealth transfer to the next of kin or as a wealth protector.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Nov 11 2016, 12:40 PM

4,436 posts

Avangelice,

I am talking to you directly coz I know you copycat my portfolio.

Darn boring leh, before Trump's victory and after, my portfolio hardly move leh! Si peh boring. I think I have engineered my port to be too darn boring liao, oops!

Do you feel the same?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 11 2016, 12:46 PM
xuzen
post Nov 11 2016, 02:58 PM

4,436 posts

Some want USD / MYR to naik.... it will be good for their foreign exposed UTF.

Some want USD / MYR to turun... coz it will improve their net-worth.

Some kow-peh-kow-bu coz their port does not move up and down like a drunken monkey and remain boringly stable.

Macam-macam ada.
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 10:45 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 12 2016, 06:51 AM)
I was planning to lump sum my entire fds into Anita today. what do you both think? should I hold or just go for it?

also kl123. where did you vetted info Anita from 0.24

I know with equities you may wish it goes down a little based on the buy low sell cheap but does it apply on Bond funds?
If your this money you are not going to use for at least the next six months, then Libra Asnita Bond is a good alternative to FD. Asnita Bond rate >> regular FD.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 10:51 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Nov 12 2016, 10:36 AM)
If this is true, then any fresh cash injection that I give to the managers in RM for example would instantly affect the total value of the all of the fund's assets, and would be further affected depending on how they change that cash to different currencies depending on what they buy and when, correct?
Let's say the UTF's total fund size is MYR five hundred million. Assume the NAV is MYR 0.50 per unit.

Scenario One: Wangkongyew top up MYR 250 million, immediately the UTF's NAV will go up by 50% and that is next day the NAV shall become MYR 0.75.

Scenario Two: Wangkongyew top up MYR 250.00, immediately the UTF's NAV will go up by 0.00005% that is next day it shall become MYR 0.50.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 11:01 AM

4,436 posts

USD went up and TA GTF which is pegged to USD also goes up by around 3%.

So, for those who practice asset allocation strategy, one can sell 3% aka skim the profit and transfer it to Asia-Pac UTF, that is, for my individual case, take the 3% profit and buy into RHB AIF since Asia-Pac region dropped.

From here I want to highlight the following:

I) Asset Allocation Strategy in action, that is, when you have weak correlated asset, you then will have the opportunity to sell high and buy low, as highlighted above.

II) As the percentage of your position moves away from your set target, by rebalancing you know or have a signal when to take profit and when to enter. This means you have a clear signal rather than based on sentiment or gut feel.

III) For me, I always avoid lump sum because market is always very fickle minded. It is best to enter slowly so that you always have some bullets to take advantage of market anomalies.

IV) 3% may be a small position for some, and you may not do it coz your fee may eat into your profit, then wait for a larger deviation first. For me, 3% is above the min transaction amount and I am using wrap account which means my transfer is zero cost.

Happy Investing,
Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 11:04 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Nov 12 2016, 10:53 AM)
Thanks. I know that my cash injection would instantly affect the value of the fund's assets as a whole but I wondered if any currency exchange decisions they make with my money would affect only my part of the money or everyone's money.
Once your money goes into the collective, it becomes the collective. It becomes one, there is no longer distinction between what is yours and what is others. That is why UTF is also called Collective Investment Scheme (CIS). Just like the Star Trek Borg collective.
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 01:03 PM

4,436 posts

Friend T231H,

Your posting already answered your questions. It is as though sendiri tanya, sendiri jawab!

If you are a short-term trader / punter, then this is a bad news.

If you are a long-term investor, then this is good news.

Reduce, add or top-up all depends on the individual's preference. For me, I am neutral... neither add nor subtract for the time being. I believe another India-lover Avangelice is also taking a neutral position on India.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 12 2016, 01:06 PM
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 01:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 12 2016, 11:58 AM)
that's why allocation of 5% into regions like India is essential where you can just leave it there and if theres any major hiccups it won't hurt too much  your portfolio.

for me I'll keep it as status quo. one of many ingredients to make a perfect cake

on top of it keeping it there will also generate dividends so a win win situation to me.
yes Master. I already made my decision long way back to stick to anita
Then why you ask that question whether to Asnita or not on 12th Nov 2016 if you have already made your decision way back? Syiok sendiri izzit?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 01:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Nov 12 2016, 11:43 AM)
Hi all sifus,

Due to uncertainties in current equities market, I have actually sold all my funds and current waiting on the sidelines and reading up as much as I can about what to do next.

What are your advices at the moment?

Should I park my funds in FD and wait?

Or should I move into Bond fund?

With current strengthening on USD, and recommended funds that can help capitalize on this?

Thank you very much for any feedback.
Hari Ini Dalam Sejarah:

During the third quarter 2014 to early 2015, there was the Greece exit fear, known as Grexit fear.

World market was as usual chaotic and tumultuous. I was also in your position and thinking in similar fashion. This is what I did.

I sold all my equities position and parked in bond fund (Eastspring Investment Bond). Then I slowly by manner of Dollar Cost Averaging moved the fund into equities. If I remembered correctly, during that time China fund was the happening UTF. I was DCA'ing into CIMB Greater China then.

You may try the method above method, however, let me caveat this:

There was grexit then China circuit breaker fiasco, then Brexit, now Trump .... I can bet with you, there will never be an end to phenomenon. After so many episode, I learned that the market usually recover and life goes on.

Relax... chill... go watch s1 to s7 of walking dead. Don't think too much.

Xuzen.
xuzen
post Nov 12 2016, 01:32 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 12 2016, 01:23 PM)
my question was do I wait until Malaysian bonds or in particular Anita to recover or regardless or not it recovers I better go in now. I have a huge funds being parked in rhb 2.

I know how to handle equities (eg waiting for it to either go further up or start going up to invest)  but do I follow the same principle for bond funds when they are in a down ward trend? my first time seeing Anita go red.

Regards Master
Asnita Bond YTD return is 7.XX%. It has only dropped 0.05% in this week. It has always been on the uptrend with low volatility. I have good faith in it. Personally, I will keep my money with Asnita Bond.

xuzen
post Nov 14 2016, 10:42 PM

4,436 posts

Rational investors generally do not like uncertainties. All this increase in volatility because of uncertainties. When uncertainties comes into play, it makes the analyst job difficult to price in the assets.

Before this, most expect Clinton to win. Most did not expect Trump to win. That is why the market is reacting wildly as Trump was not expected to win.

Do over react, don't make drastic change or rebalancing to your portfolio just yet. Stay calm, let this storm pass then only act with calculated risk.

As of now, the datas do not really change much to change one's portfolio drastically.

Stay calm, go watch Walking Dead Season Seven.
xuzen
post Nov 15 2016, 12:26 PM

4,436 posts

Wahhhhhhh! So far my portfolio dropped 0.5% liao! cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

I cannot eat, cannot sleep liao...... cry.gif

My crystal ball not working, I want to claim warranty liao.... cry.gif

Oh wait...

I am suppose to be watching Walking Dead S1 to S7. thumbup.gif

Kthxbye thumbsup.gif

p/s remember early of this year? The China circuit breaker fiasco? Whole mkt was down. All also see of red. For those who stuck with it, remember how much money you made during the 2H when mkt rebound?

Remember that... remember that.... remember that. cool2.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Nov 15 2016, 12:27 PM
xuzen
post Nov 15 2016, 12:32 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 15 2016, 09:28 AM)
also I just did a mini top up for India.

life goes on boys and girls. take the chance to top up the Asian markets will rally soon

[attachmentid=8030328]

cc Xuzen looks like our love for moodi is right all along.
console.gif
xuzen
post Nov 17 2016, 10:59 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 17 2016, 10:56 AM)
if you read our entire post. words like DCA, diversification and lump sum comes out every so often.

These are the key fundamentals to keep maximize the potential of your portfolio. like the cake analogy. every ingredient is like the funds you buy. you may need more flour, butter and eggs (fixed income and balance funds)  to keep the cake steady so you can add in your frostings and garnishes (equities) without either one you will have a bland ugly cake that nobody wants to buy.

every year you change the ingredients to follow the trend of which cake is the best (annual redesign of entire portfolio with everyone changing recommended funds and portfolio)
Nice analogy! You have learned something!

Xuzen

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1137sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:47 PM