8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v16 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Dec 1 2016, 09:10 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 1 2016, 08:37 PM)
what funds for Selina and Esther ? Can share full name tongue.gif

Esther's funds are :

1. Affin Hwang Select AUD Income Fund – AUD
2. Affin Hwang Select AUD Income Fund – MYR
3. Affin Hwang Select Bond Fund – MYR => Asia Ex Japan
4. Affin Hwang Select Income Fund => Asia Ex Japan (equity exposed?

so, which one have the most potential ?
Selina Yong wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif is the Fund Manager for AM Asia Pacific Reits Fund.

xuzen
post Dec 2 2016, 12:10 PM

4,436 posts

POTUS election date was 8/11/2016.

Today is 2/12/2016 which is exactly 30 days after the trigger event.

Market was in disarray. Doom and gloom. Market reacted like a headless chicken. The rest following the herd mentality also run around like headless chicken.

What did you do?

I remembered myself to continue DCA into REITs, RHB AIF and India fund.

Today, in 30 days time post POTUS election, my port is already back up and making positive gain, and that the important part was, I did not change my port drastically.

This Trump tantrum only lasted about a month. Is nothing compared to the early of the 2016 China circuit-breaker fiasco..... lasted a whole half a year to stabilise and make a reversal.

Xuzen

p/s If can tahan the China circuit - breaker fiasco, what is this little Trump effect?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 2 2016, 12:12 PM
xuzen
post Dec 2 2016, 03:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(_azam13 @ Dec 2 2016, 02:18 PM)
I remembered I increased allocation into US funds. My portfolio was able to recover faster than had I not did that.
P.s. Just to comment on several research houses' conflicting opinion on overweight/underweight etc, try to think of it like stock picking. Economists are often at conflicting opinions with each other. Read on why they have such opinions (basis of their recommendation), and decide yourself which story you want to believe., and see if that opinion fits with your investment objectives..
I took an anti-view to yours. I sold a huge position in US and top up into AMReits. Looks like in one months performance; you made the right call this round, good friend. Your call made you 9% gain in Manulife US equity versus my 1% gain in AMReits. thumbsup.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 2 2016, 03:08 PM
xuzen
post Dec 3 2016, 11:56 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Dec 3 2016, 08:08 AM)
few more weeks to get the PRS tax relief for this year....
FSM has this article to helps make "informed" decision...

An Overview of PRS Fund Performance [2 December 2016]
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...mber-2016--7772
Looks like CIMB PRS Asia Pac ex Japan equity is the winner for the Growth category.

For the Moderate category, Affin-Hwang PRS Moderate Fund is the winner.

And the best , if you buy from FSM platform, you are entitled to zero sales charge.

Tax relief ada!

Zero sales charge ada!

Apa lagi lu mau?

Umbrella? T-Shirt? Water bottle?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 4 2016, 05:47 PM

4,436 posts

Lu orang ar....

there is already a specific PRS thread. Don't clutter can or not?

Mod, can you cut and merge these PRS related post into that PRS thread for ease of information cataloging and future search.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 6 2016, 10:58 AM

4,436 posts

Dear UTF participants,

RHB - ATR

&

RHB EMB

both even though are bond funds; however, if you take a look at their volatility factor aka standard - deviation , both are exhibiting risk as though they are like balanced fund.

Hence, when you consider these UTF in your portfolio , it is better to see them as the non-fixed income portion. Let lower volatility fixed - income UTF such as Asnita Bond or AHAM Select Bond to act as your portfolio stabilizer. Not advisable to allow the former to be an anchor point.

Having said that, I have personally choose RHB EMB in lieu of RHB ATR because I want some exposure to lower correlated asset class to my general Asia - Pac exposure. In simple English, RHB EMF provide better diversification than RHB ATR to my overall portfolio.

Xuzen

p/s

I) On a separate note, perhaps some of the older or more veteran UTF participant may or may not have noticed; that is, in the earlier 2016, we were all talking about equities UTF such as CIMB APDIF (Ponzi 2.0) and also CIMB Titan Fund (Titanic).

II) Then in 2H-2016, we went down to lower volatility UTF such as RHB AIF

III) Now, towards the end of 2016, most of us are chattering about fixed income UTF.

This shows that perhaps, our risk tolerance are dropping. Our perception is that market is more risky at the end of 2016 compared to beginning of 2016?

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 6 2016, 11:05 AM
xuzen
post Dec 6 2016, 11:20 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(David3700 @ Dec 6 2016, 11:13 AM)
Nobody want to consider AHSIF ?
Heard from agent that it is very popular by corporates.
Friend,

consider this thus: AHAM SBF versus AHAM SIF, in terms of risk to reward ratio, AHAM SBF wins by a massive margin.

Consider this again: AHAM SBF = bond = lower sales charge = lower commission.

Consider this perhaps: AHAM SIF = balanced fund = higher sales charge = better commission.

Perhaps you may come to some illuminating deduction?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 6 2016, 02:28 PM

4,436 posts

Good sister,

Under FSM platform AHAM SIF = Fixed income. However, under AHAM own classification, it is deemed Mixed Asset = Balanced Fund. The earlier poster said broker / agents which I presume them to be AHAM agents / broker and not DIY FSM participants.

Hence, my earlier allusion that the brokers / agents would gain more commission from pushing SIF versus SBoF still stand.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 6 2016, 02:39 PM
xuzen
post Dec 6 2016, 05:43 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Dec 6 2016, 03:33 PM)
RHB AIF and TA GTF.  Got quite a significant portion affected by the bond fiasco as I was in the midst of switching funds and utilizing the credit system. Got caught off guard there, never thought bond funda could be that badly affected by Trump!
RHB AIF & TA GTF eh?

If you are in this for the past six months; you would have made a gain of 6.1% (RHB AIF) and 9% (TA GTF). What is a little lost in the Fixed Income? Worse case scenario is 1.5%.

Am I right?

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 7 2016, 11:37 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Dec 6 2016, 10:42 PM)
Greetings Guys,

So i just created a FSM account a few weeks back and have decided to invest in a few funds as a means of diversifying my investments. Was browsing thru this thread and would sincerely appreciate some guidance/help from yourself.

I've set an investment horizon of roughly around 3 to 5 years time in which I may have to cash out the given investment.

Tried shortlisting 2 equity funds, namely: TA's Global Technology Fund and Manulife's India Equity Fund and I've decided to split my investment amount equally within both funds.

Any advice if I'm too late in jumping into the ship ?
Thanks!
Welcome to FSM, the premier DIY platform for UTF participation.

Three to five years are usually a good time horizon. Anything shorter, look elsewhere as there are better products for those short-term speculation investment.

So, why TA GTF & Manulife India? Is it because these two fund name appear a lot in this thread?

OK, lets say you have decided to split 50:50, do you know what is the average return and historical volatility?

No? Yes?

Anyway for the benefit of doubt, look at some of the screen shot below to see some of the numbers.

Image number one is the FSM webpage showing the annualized performance of TA GTF & Manulife India Equity Fund. Notice that their individual risk to reward ratio are 1.12 & 1.17 respectively.

Image number two is the two asset portfolio calculator and the combined 50:50 two UTF has a historical return of 18.32% per year and a standard deviation aka volatility aka "riskiness" of 13.77 percent. This gives a risk to reward ratio of 18.32 divided by 13.77 equal to 1.33. Note that because you have combined two moderately correlated UTF's your combined risk to reward ratio has improved compared to the individual component. This means that the sum of part is greater than each individual part. Congrats, this means that your chosen fund gives you good diversification.

Image number three is a screen shot of correlation coefficient matrix obtained from morning star webpage. The correlation coefficient between TA GTF and Manulife India Fund is 0.49 which is considered moderately low correlation.

Finally, the question you need to answer: If your combined selection has historically return a ROI of 18.32 percent but it can swing + / - 13.77%, or lets say if you put in RM 100K, it can go up RM 118K but also swing from to RM 86.78K to RM 132K. Can you stomach this type of risk? If you are comfortable.... then go ahead.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 7 2016, 12:10 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
xuzen
post Dec 7 2016, 12:26 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 12:22 PM)
and I jokingly told her that people get paid to help other people manage their portfolios and below is her reply

[07/12, 12:14 PM]  cuz the thing I do for you is what wealth managers charge 1% of your total savings per year
[07/12, 12:14 PM] still help you top up summore

[07/12, 12:14 PM] Well, I let u feel me up
[07/12, 12:14 PM] That's smth
[07/12, 12:14 PM] Men hv to pay for tat
[07/12, 12:14 PM] But u get it for free

women.
Piap piap?
xuzen
post Dec 7 2016, 02:20 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 7 2016, 12:28 PM)
barter system. trade my portfolio management services for sex.  *sweat*
Be careful friend don't be so gung-ho about it.....

If not properly covered prepared, those milk powder, diapers and vaccines expenses can really put a damper on your financial planning goals (and you can, say bye bye to that red hot sports car with 18" alloy sport rim). cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Refer to picture below bye.gif bye.gif bye.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 7 2016, 02:24 PM
xuzen
post Dec 7 2016, 02:46 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(vincabby @ Dec 7 2016, 02:27 PM)
pm best price for the black model.  drool.gif
Disclaimer: Accessories are not included. Actual product may differ from promotional material.
xuzen
post Dec 8 2016, 03:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 03:22 PM)
more REITs options and definitely more fund choices instead of the baby sit funds that BNM is regulating. =)
Not just more funds covering the same geographical area; perhaps add more diversity. Example: Brazil only fund, Russia or Eastern bloc (aka Former USSR countries) fund, Germany fund, and puhleze... no more another Malaysia or asia-pac ex japan fund! ranting.gif

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 8 2016, 10:13 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 8 2016, 07:37 PM)
Kapchai fund still can go in ? Or wait
I have been a participant in Kapchai UTF since mid 2013, my longest holding in any one fund, exclude the CMF.

Come this 31st Jan 2017, which is time for me to do my biannual portfolio re-balancing, I am considering to exit this fund in view of KLSE lackluster performance.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Dec 8 2016, 10:17 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 8 2016, 10:14 PM)
Boss

I used epf monies. Shall i exit ? Its abt 10k.
What a coincidence! I am using KWSP money too....

Before the KWSP rule relaxation, I would have been stuck too, but after they relax their rule, now you can go 100% away from Malaysia.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 8 2016, 10:17 PM
xuzen
post Dec 8 2016, 10:24 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 8 2016, 10:20 PM)
Sifu,

Switched out frm Kapchai fund to which fund in your mind ?
I have two options that I am considering:

i) Switch to Asia-Pac fund

or

ii) Switch to Bond fund temporarily and adopt a wait & see position.

I have not finalise my decision yet. I have until 31st Jan 2017 to think about it.

Xuzen

xuzen
post Dec 8 2016, 10:30 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Dec 8 2016, 10:27 PM)
Usually I sell the fund. Can switch to another fund using epf monies ? I never try...
If switch to within the same UTMC is considered switching, not selling. Don't sell, you ware wasting your sales charge! mad.gif shakehead.gif

That is why having a UTMC with many good funds is a good criteria to consider when selecting a KWSP - MIS partner. For example I know many says KGF is a good fund and I agree, But if you look a Kenanga as a whole, it only have one very good fund and nothing else. So if this super duper fund were to experience some issues, you have no choice but get stuck with it come rain or shine. This is only applicable for KWSP - MIS only, not applicable to cash injection.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 8 2016, 10:37 PM
xuzen
post Dec 10 2016, 02:39 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 8 2016, 11:32 PM)
Xuzen. I currently have Anita and Esther bond fund. would you suggest I switch Anita to esther/another equity or keep both at the same time.

Regards.
Go Esther go!

===================

On a separate note:

My trade action for next week:

I) Continue to skim profit from US exposure (TA GTF) and India (Manulife India).

II) Top up MYR 5,000.00 into AM Asia-Pac Reits = slowpoke but steady, my kind of fun(d).

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 10 2016, 02:51 PM
xuzen
post Dec 10 2016, 02:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Dec 10 2016, 02:45 PM)
thank you Master. I know you been busy the entire week. hope everything goes well for you there.
Yar! thumbsup.gif

End of year, chase sales, want to hit quota! I want my BONUS! flex.gif

Xuzen

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.1191sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:12 PM