Just had some argument rgd dowry issues

jwrx
post Oct 21 2016, 05:52 PM

515 posts

I had to pay a symbolic dowry of rm888, my father in law gave it back as angpow. But honestly i have not heard of any of my chinese friends having to pay a dowry.

you are right, keep it as cheap as possible, in 6 months, no one will remember the wedding/dinner/ceremony....but the debt is still there.

Be responsible and firm...say you arnt a rich man...and you are being prudent and responsible, promise them that one day, when you are in better position financially, then you can provide a decent dowry
jwrx
post Oct 21 2016, 06:21 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 21 2016, 06:17 PM)
Yeah Wedding Zone, what a genius terminology.

I think she is into that.

Trouble is she is much younger than me, and she has that little girl in the wedding zone mentality. Just because I earn 3 times more than her, doesn't mean my money is unlimited, I trying to tell her that. but made her cry that day. So somehow I managed to make her happy again with my leadership and thum thum skills
my best fren broke off the wedding over this issue. hotel already booked, deposit paid.

he couldnt make the girl understand that ...yes...he made more money than her, it doesnt mean she didnt have to contribute to the relationship/wedding. He wanted her to contribute 20/80....he could not make her understand that marriage is a PARTNERSHIP...both work together...not husband take care of wife 100%

OP...trust me..if you cant settle this money issue now...it will get worse.

My best pal now happily married to a consultant who makes alot more and doesnt expect him to settle everything.

This post has been edited by jwrx: Oct 21 2016, 06:22 PM
jwrx
post Oct 21 2016, 06:26 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 21 2016, 06:23 PM)
woah hotel expensive. He must have wanted like 50 tables?

See how first lah, if they are requesting gazillions then I got to do something serious about it.

I have a limit threshold.

But if they wanted 20/80, he should have just settled for a smaller wedding.
its not about settling for a smaller wedding...no matter what size, the expectation is that both parties contribute as per thier abilities. 1 partner earns more, then he contributes more.

0.0120sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:56 AM