Just had some argument rgd dowry issues

duckhole
post Oct 24 2016, 11:17 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(dangerminimouse @ Oct 21 2016, 05:48 PM)
She is very staunch evangelical. She really want the church wedding lah. I headache lah, have to buy flowers and deco for the church. Jee Whiz, my gf think I am ATM. If I want to save money, she say I am not prepared to marry because wedding also I cannot afford.

Well try to smooth talk to her parents lah. They are willing to walk out of the wedding if they have to. My gf has threaten to walk out if I don't pay the dowry.

Yeah I wanted to give gold jewelleries but they refused.
abang if you think like this even before marriage, high chance your marriage won't work out

not yet married already have such issues and you talking about her like this

and she threaten to walk out even before marriage lol

all the red flags are there, best not to proceed, better to throw away 3 years than to throw away 3+god knows how many more years + shitloads of money

dowry for chinese some you give the parents but in return the parents will give it to their daughter.

some give jewellery, money, and even property.

i known friends which the parents raised up to 1m usd as the dowry and give to the wife's parents but the wife's parents give to the daughter and son in law for business ventures

myself, i spent about rm100k for a piece of land as dowry, its under my wife's name now but i don't really look back or think about it. it was within my affordable means.

don't force yourself if you can't, if she can't accept it, let it be, you are not meant to be if so. believe me there is much more obstacles after marriage, if you can't past this one, better not go on.

0.6210sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:54 AM