4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Q and A Pricing for all Windows Vista versions!

TStaphie78
post Feb 4 2007, 02:04 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Feb 3 2007, 09:57 PM)
OEM should be purchased along with a new PC, that after installed, it has to be a part of the computer, u can format and reinstall it back to the same pc, its original, legal copy. But its limitation is u CANNOT installed it again into another pc even u dont use the old pc anymore or change to another operating system. Cause it has to run a procedure to bind the copy of the windows to your hardware, i believe its call activate.

After install, u are given 30 days to activate your copy of windows with internet, where microsoft know the OEM copy u purchased is link to the hardware, so if u reinstalled to another computer, u cannot reactivate anymore thus, after 30 days, it will lock your PC.

Retail is different, u have 1 copy, u can install into 1 unit of your computer,  u can move it from pc to pc, as long as u have enough license for each pc u have(if u have 5 pc running windows xp pro, u can install into 5 pc), its not bind into any hardware, so u can change, upgrade, so its more expensive. And I think u can have another backup copy running with the retail version(installed into 2 pc with 1 license, as long as they dont run simutanously), its for backup reason(1 pc down, u swap).
Thanks bro, for the clarification. notworthy.gif icon_idea.gif
Retail is still the way to go if budget is not issue!
dattebayo
post Feb 4 2007, 03:54 PM

5,366 posts

functions wise, OEM and retail are the same rite?
SUSgogo2
post Feb 4 2007, 03:56 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 4 2007, 03:54 PM)
functions wise, OEM and retail are the same rite?
yeap, its same smile.gif
TMTANWHACKY
post Feb 5 2007, 09:32 AM

745 posts

wats the diff between the enterprise n other editions of vista?
sniperwolf
post Feb 5 2007, 10:04 AM

Boku Wa Gundam
2,810 posts

By right and law, oem is indeed bind to the hardware where you purchase with together. But I can tell you that you can installed it on few pcs and get them all activated same time (tested and work for times), but I not encouraging you doing so. Also the oem had an activation period where you can active it online for x numbers of times and after that period you had to call up ms hotline for activation through their online customer support (experience with xp pro oem)
Kwallace
post Feb 5 2007, 11:15 AM

132 posts

For those of you that are interested I just got a price on the Small Business Office 2007 OEM RM500, compared with the retail of RM1500
Hattori
post Feb 5 2007, 02:46 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 4 2007, 12:42 PM)
wah, OEM is damn cheap...should get OEm now...
Read the small print :

*OEM Product must bundle with New PC

That means you have to buy a PC together with the OEM Vista.
Singh_Kalan
post Feb 5 2007, 03:33 PM

2,031 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Feb 5 2007, 02:46 PM)
Read the small print :

*OEM Product must bundle with New PC

That means you have to buy a PC together with the OEM Vista.
OEM is for computer manufacturer like DELL, HP to bundled it with their computer. All support is provided by those manufacturer, u get very limited support from microsoft if buying OEM. For developing market, they don't really care u buy retail or oem, as long its original its consider legal. What they concern most is those pirated 10 bucks CD.

Btw what's the equivalent Vista version for XP Pro?? Vista Business??
elmoboy
post Feb 5 2007, 06:20 PM

49 posts

and not to forget there is this "upgrade version".. they are cheaper then retail too..
Hattori
post Feb 5 2007, 06:31 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

OEM PCs are not limited to big brands like Dell or HP.

If Cycom assembled thier own clone PC and put their own brand logo on that PC also, it is considered OEM.

PC is OEM from Cycom, while the PC components are OEM from their respective manufacturers.
Feija
post Feb 6 2007, 10:56 AM

13 posts

Why cant we just buy the OEM version and install them ourselves?
Can or not? The retail version is damn expensive meh.

Once installed, the OS is 'tied' to the machine.

How do they define a new machine?
(swapping CPUs? mobo? HDD?)

What if the primary HDD got corrupted (and
we're unable to properly uninstall the OS)
which we would then need to reinstall the OS
on a new HDD (on the same machine) ...

Austin
post Feb 6 2007, 01:49 PM

Sole Loser
1,476 posts

OEM Pack can be bought together with either 1 of the new hardware components like keyboard, mouse, RAM, CPU, etc OR a full set of PC system.

This is told by Microsoft representative when I attended their conference 2 years back. The same rules should apply on current Windows Vista.
Winfeel
post Feb 6 2007, 04:22 PM

"The road to disaster is often paved with good intentions
Store Representative
1,103 posts

Plaza Low Yat promotion ends 11,February 2007.

"Wow" Promotion For Retailed Packing :

1.Windows Vista Home Basic Full Version................RM 715.00,After RM 859.00
2.Windows Vista Home Basic Upgrade....................RM 369.00,After RM 446.00
3.Windows Vista Home Premium Full Version..........RM 848.00,After RM 1020.00
4.Windows Vista Home premium Upgrade..............RM 571.00,After RM 686.00
5.Windows Vista Business Full Version...................RM 1055.00,After RM 1271.00
6.Windows Vista Business upgrade........................RM 710.00,After RM 855.00
7.Windows Vista Ultimate Full Version....................RM 1415.00,After RM 1703.00
8.Windows Vista Ultimate Upgrade.......................RM 930.00,After RM 1118.00

09.Office Standard 2007 Full Version.....................RM 1415.00,After RM 1703.00
10.Office Standard 2007 Upgrade Version.............RM 780.00,After RM 938.00
11.Office SBE 2007 Full Version............................RM 1463.00,After RM 1759.00
12.Office SBE 2007 Upgrade Upgrade...................RM 907.00, After RM 1091.00
13.Office Professional 2007 Full Version.................RM 1626.00,After RM 1954.00
14.Office Professional 2007 Upgrade ....................RM 1073.00,After RM 1290.00
15.Office Uiltimate 2007 Full version.....................RM 2330.00,After RM 2663.00
16.Office Home & Student 2007 Full Version..........RM 480.00, After RM 578.00

MICROSOFT - *** OEM *** (From us tongue.gif )

For easier comparison :

Note : 32 bit / 64bit...........Few Ringgit Different only.

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic..................RM 305.00
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium............RM 388.00
Microsoft Windows Vista Business E...................RM 498.00
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate E...................RM 668.00
Microsoft Office Home & Student 2007...............RM 410.00
Microsoft Office Basic 2007.................................RM 565.00
Microsoft Office Small Business 2007.................RM 778.00
Microsoft Office Professional 2007.....................RM 1028.00

Have a nice day. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Winfeel: Feb 6 2007, 04:36 PM
randoll
post Feb 6 2007, 04:31 PM

506 posts

i bought it all for rm5...
Hattori
post Feb 6 2007, 06:34 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

QUOTE(randoll @ Feb 6 2007, 04:31 PM)
i bought it all for rm5...
Yeah, and I got it for free. Kthanxbai.
TStaphie78
post Feb 6 2007, 06:49 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(TMTANWHACKY @ Feb 5 2007, 09:32 AM)
wats the diff between the enterprise n other editions of vista?
If i m not mistaken, Enterprise wil never hit the retail shelf, its only to be sold by the major server makers. e.g Dell, IBM, HP, Sun and So on, its only installed and well tuned to suit the hardwares in the server... the main and only reason for that is to solidified stability of the servers that run 24/7 nonstop. So only the Microsoft assigned companies are given permission to installed and fine tuned the Enterprise version.
Correct me if I m wrong lah!!!! tongue.gif

QUOTE(Winfeel @ Feb 6 2007, 04:22 PM)
Plaza Low Yat promotion ends 11,February 2007.

"Wow" Promotion For Retailed Packing :

1.Windows Vista Home Basic Full Version................RM 715.00,After RM 859.00
2.Windows Vista Home Basic Upgrade....................RM 369.00,After RM 446.00
3.Windows Vista Home Premium Full Version..........RM 848.00,After RM 1020.00
4.Windows Vista Home premium Upgrade..............RM 571.00,After RM 686.00
5.Windows Vista Business Full Version...................RM 1055.00,After RM 1271.00
6.Windows Vista Business upgrade........................RM 710.00,After RM 855.00
7.Windows Vista Ultimate Full Version....................RM 1415.00,After RM 1703.00
8.Windows Vista Ultimate Upgrade.......................RM 930.00,After  RM 1118.00

09.Office Standard 2007 Full Version.....................RM 1415.00,After RM 1703.00
10.Office Standard 2007 Upgrade Version.............RM  780.00,After RM 938.00
11.Office SBE 2007 Full Version............................RM 1463.00,After RM 1759.00
12.Office SBE 2007 Upgrade Upgrade...................RM 907.00, After RM 1091.00
13.Office Professional 2007 Full Version.................RM 1626.00,After RM 1954.00
14.Office Professional 2007 Upgrade ....................RM 1073.00,After RM 1290.00
15.Office Uiltimate 2007 Full version.....................RM 2330.00,After RM 2663.00
16.Office Home & Student 2007 Full Version..........RM 480.00, After RM 578.00
MICROSOFT - *** OEM *** (From us  tongue.gif )

For easier comparison :

Note : 32 bit / 64bit...........Few Ringgit Different only.

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic..................RM 305.00
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium............RM 388.00
Microsoft Windows Vista Business E...................RM 498.00
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate E...................RM 668.00
Microsoft Office Home & Student 2007...............RM 410.00
Microsoft Office Basic 2007.................................RM 565.00
Microsoft Office Small Business 2007.................RM 778.00
Microsoft Office Professional 2007.....................RM 1028.00

Have a nice day. icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the price.. bro ....Great Help...!!!
randoll
post Feb 6 2007, 06:54 PM

506 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Feb 6 2007, 06:34 PM)
Yeah, and I got it for free. Kthanxbai.
can u don't be so rude? be polite. smile.gif
Hattori
post Feb 6 2007, 07:17 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

Cannot.
You think everyone want to listen to how you get it for RM5?

If you can get original Vista for RM 5, I give you money and you buy 100 units for me.
If I don't get original Vista then I will sue you RM 50,000 OK?
quintessential
post Feb 6 2007, 08:52 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

isn't it ironic when people are willing to buy high end gadgets like nokia nseries, minolta d40, geforce 8800 and intel core 2 duo, but not willing to buy original microsoft windows.
Winfeel
post Feb 7 2007, 12:39 AM

"The road to disaster is often paved with good intentions
Store Representative
1,103 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Feb 6 2007, 08:52 PM)
isn't it ironic when people are willing to buy high end gadgets like nokia nseries, minolta d40, geforce 8800 and intel core 2 duo, but not willing to buy original microsoft windows.
I feel the same and agree with u. icon_rolleyes.gif
But I think people basically judge on either it is tangible or intangible assets. tongue.gif
They are willing to buy high end gadgets because they can feel,hold and see it.Probably is . wink.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0222sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:11 PM