Is it still a viable option to get an old FF dlsr like D700 just to experience taking pictures in FF? Prices of these dslr used are affordable enough these days that one may want to buy one and try it.
quite old leh, I think phone ISO performance is way ahead on this old camera, you get cropped sensor but better tech can beat D700.... even get D800 maybe better as in pixel count is higher and last a little longer? last time I trade in my D800 with 2470 lens is like 3000 value only.
also if you trade in D700 and lens I think kinda hard in future as in everyone translate into mirrorless.?
daylight still fine, but night scenery without flash you will see the struggles.
quite old leh, I think phone ISO performance is way ahead on this old camera, you get cropped sensor but better tech can beat D700.... even get D800 maybe better as in pixel count is higher and last a little longer? last time I trade in my D800 with 2470 lens is like 3000 value only.
also if you trade in D700 and lens I think kinda hard in future as in everyone translate into mirrorless.?
daylight still fine, but night scenery without flash you will see the struggles.
i think the production alr discontinued. besides, i think the price is not that much cheaper ...
Yeah I know. Nikon also stopped supporting the camera way back in 2018.
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 28 2024, 01:19 PM)
I am using Redmi 9t. I don't think the picture is great either. I did think of getting a mirrorless camera but the price now is insane. maybe m43 (Oly or Pana) would be my best bet? I am not sure. I have been out of photography for way too long my knowledge about latest tech is pretty much nil.
QUOTE(celciuz @ Mar 28 2024, 03:04 PM)
D700 is ok la, the 12MP FF sensor is pretty good.
Low cost to get into FF photography for sure.
That was I thinking as well. Initially thinking to get either canon 5D or D700 and as of now still thinking about it plus need to think about the lenses as well.
Used f-mount lens good pricing now, at least that's what I think la. I still have my f-mount but seldom use also la.
Yeah I know. Nikon also stopped supporting the camera way back in 2018. I am using Redmi 9t. I don't think the picture is great either. I did think of getting a mirrorless camera but the price now is insane. maybe m43 (Oly or Pana) would be my best bet? I am not sure. I have been out of photography for way too long my knowledge about latest tech is pretty much nil. That was I thinking as well. Initially thinking to get either canon 5D or D700 and as of now still thinking about it plus need to think about the lenses as well.
redmi 9t... see can you download google camera app to use or not, GCam in short, developed by google, use their ai for best exposure and colour in photo haha. what is your budget for camera? D700 quite okay also for day light (night i not sure haha) ... only had D70s and D800 before, D70s iso range is like 3200 but usable is 640 lmao
something like this, i used nokia 12 plus before with GCam, really huge improvement but software update bricked the apps. since hat apps is someone ported out and not so friendly.... XDA forum one lol.
now is pixel 5, before i get nokia, my last last phone was pixel XL lmao, it bricked after 3 years due to mofo fault then i don't want buy pixel 4 (way too expensive and crap design compare other brand) and get a cheap nokia for about 2 years. then beh tahan then get pixel 5 from 2020 till now i guess. still okay
GCam best with HDR stuff result, a lot of high contrast environment phone performance is really crap until they start to use AI like google success on their first pixel.
This post has been edited by Agito666: Mar 29 2024, 10:56 AM
redmi 9t... see can you download google camera app to use or not, GCam in short, developed by google, use their ai for best exposure and colour in photo haha. what is your budget for camera? D700 quite okay also for day light (night i not sure haha) ... only had D70s and D800 before, D70s iso range is like 3200 but usable is 640 lmao
something like this, i used nokia 12 plus before with GCam, really huge improvement but software update bricked the apps. since hat apps is someone ported out and not so friendly.... XDA forum one lol.
now is pixel 5, before i get nokia, my last last phone was pixel XL lmao, it bricked after 3 years due to mofo fault then i don't want buy pixel 4 (way too expensive and crap design compare other brand) and get a cheap nokia for about 2 years. then beh tahan then get pixel 5 from 2020 till now i guess. still okay
GCam best with HDR stuff result, a lot of high contrast environment phone performance is really crap until they start to use AI like google success on their first pixel.
I may want to try that app later. Budget will be something like under RM2K since I saw D700 sell lower than that and a 5D is even cheaper. Anyway it tall depends on my purchasing power lah. Funds may have needed elsewhere etc. just planning this and that and asking around just made me giggle with joy.
must be my midlife crisis hit so hard I want to get back what I used to have during my younger years hahaha
I may want to try that app later. Budget will be something like under RM2K since I saw D700 sell lower than that and a 5D is even cheaper. Anyway it tall depends on my purchasing power lah. Funds may have needed elsewhere etc. just planning this and that and asking around just made me giggle with joy.
must be my midlife crisis hit so hard I want to get back what I used to have during my younger years hahaha
Topup a bit get D750. Around 2.5-3k. More modern sensor (basically the same with Nikon Z5), good autofocus and low light performance
Is it still a viable option to get an old FF dlsr like D700 just to experience taking pictures in FF? Prices of these dslr used are affordable enough these days that one may want to buy one and try it.
Yeap. At 10-15% the price of a Zf equivalent, the value is pretty good.
QUOTE(Hexlord @ Apr 7 2024, 02:24 PM)
Yeap. At 10-15% the price of a Zf equivalent, the value is pretty good.
yup, i can't justify the Z price when my dlsr is still in good working condition. lots of folks are ditching their old lens to get the Z equivalent. if can find the old ones, grab it
This post has been edited by RT8081: May 22 2024, 05:31 PM
yup, i can't justify the Z price when my dlsr is still in good working condition. lots of folks are ditching their old lens to get the Z equivalent. if can find the old ones, grab it
Is your DSLR full frame, or cropped sensor? Mine was cropped, so it makes more logical sense for me to upgrade to FF Sony.
D700 is a good camera no doubt but i would be very worried about the shutter life in 2024. Its literally a time bomb.
Save up a bit more get a FF model tat is less than 10 years old.
Is your DSLR full frame, or cropped sensor? Mine was cropped, so it makes more logical sense for me to upgrade to FF Sony.
crop or FF or not, another one is need to see megapixel (normally is good enough) big enough or not, i got D800 last time and i felt 36MP is overkill haha but that time should have get A version so when i crop picture it can be sharper XD
still impressed 6mp can do this much from D70s + 24-70mm lens (now no longer have that XD)
that time i think i was in korea trip sit inside bus so it is shot thru dirty bus window and lens? XD you can see the dirt spot there
This post has been edited by Agito666: Jun 4 2024, 10:05 AM
crop or FF or not, another one is need to see megapixel (normally is good enough) big enough or not, i got D800 last time and i felt 36MP is overkill haha but that time should have get A version so when i crop picture it can be sharper XD
still impressed 6mp can do this much from D70s + 24-70mm lens (now no longer have that XD)
that time i think i was in korea trip sit inside bus so it is shot thru dirty bus window and lens? XD you can see the dirt spot there
IINM, my old Nikon D5300 is 24MP, which should be plenty enough for novice photographers like me.
i don't have skill, what i mean now days iirc camera now kinda stabilize with 24mp body or 38mp... or maybe 40+ mp now but 24mp is good enough
just last time when i watch someone compare pixel generated from censor from 2 different Z series, when put 100%, can see there is difference. but if you no compare, no need worry lol...how often you actually need crop to 100% lol....