How to decide the type of CCTV you need?, Security System - CCTV

longpants
post Nov 19 2016, 11:27 PM

260 posts

The articles in this thread is super informative! Thanks a lot!

Anyone having wifi connected system for their cameras to provide their comments and feedback? As now days, we use so much wireless and less cables, I am thinking to get some wireless cameras at home instead of the wired ones.

I am looking at this Hikvision wireless camera set from taobao. Wireless camera + wireless receivers.. Any humble comments? smile.gif

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=524452...d=3121208796647
longpants
post Nov 20 2016, 11:05 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Nov 20 2016, 07:04 AM)
NVR: http://www1.hikvision.com/cn/prgs_679_i4418.html
Camera: http://www1.hikvision.com/cn/prgs_191_i7025.html

Although is wireless, you will still need to provide power point at the location of the camera.

The NVR specification stated that the total max recording bandwidth is 25 Mbps.
The camera, each can supply max of 8 Mbps, 4 of them will be 32 Mbps, which exceed the total max bandwidth of the NVR.
You might need to cap the max bandwidth for each camera to 6 Mbps, should be available in the settings inside NVR.

Tip #1: Avoid bundle hard disk together, reason is chances are the hard disk might suffer damage during shipping from China to Malaysia. You can get the surveillance hard disk like Western Digital Purple in Malaysia, and then install the hard disk yourself.

Tip #2: Since you planned to get the whole set of CCTV solution from China, your parcel might subject to GST, since the total amount of the parcel import is more than RM 500.
Thanks for the tips. Really really helpful! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I am fine with power points because the house have power points that can be extended. But if connect straight to the recorder thingy, it will be hassle for me.

Haven't thought about Tip#2 though. I read some where that any wireless items requires SIRIM and all. >.< I hope so agents such as EZBUY can help sort this out though.
longpants
post Nov 21 2016, 09:59 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Nov 21 2016, 04:25 PM)
If you are buying from China, especially any electronics with software required.

In your case, IP cameras will have its own user interface, you'll need to login to the IP camera and do some basic settings, such as:

1. IP configuration
2. Motion, or continuous recording setting
3. Memory card formatting (there should be a setting in the UI as well)
4. Encoding setting for resolution and frame rate

Most likely, China products do not come with English firmware, unless you're comfortable with Chinese firmware, then please take note. Hmm, also there's a way that could possibly update the firmware from Chinese to English but it comes with great learning curve and lots of time as well. Not to mention that there's always a risk in cross updating different firmware language. Worse to worst, you might end up with some gibberish language mixed up.
I went to read up the menu available in the Hikvision website. It says it supports English for web interface

Under the web interface for IP configuration, the manuals says that the below. So i believe it is available in English. Perhaps someone using hikvision can confirm on this.
目前 WEB 控件支持简体中文、英文两种语言。

This post has been edited by longpants: Nov 21 2016, 10:01 PM
longpants
post Nov 22 2016, 10:34 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Nov 22 2016, 01:20 AM)
Hmm, from what I remember the firmware usually comes exclusive. Yes, the device does support both languages. However, when shipped to their dealers, in order to protect all dealers, manufacturers prepare chinese language for china market and english for overseas. Therefore, Chinese dealers won't be able to disrupt overseas market.

It's best if you can confirm with the seller in China, don't refer based on their website. It's not wrong to announce that their devices support both languages, but which language firmware are you getting?

Better be safe than sorry.  rclxms.gif
Haven't get any of the above yet. Only bought two EZVIZ C2C from taobao through ezbuy but still haven't leave China yet. Wanted to try out and see first then only decide where to go next. I will ask the seller before purchasing though to confirm whether it supports english.
longpants
post Nov 22 2016, 10:44 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Nov 22 2016, 01:58 PM)
You bought the EZVIZ C2C from China, but I am not sure if you can successfully register for account on ys7.com for remote viewing, because to create account on ys7.com, you will be required to have cellphone number from China, as far as I know of.

I am not sure if registering an account on ezvizlife.com will work or not, but you can try.
QUOTE(henryj8 @ Nov 22 2016, 09:32 PM)
Better return the ipcam.EZVIZ China can never been used here.
With the assumption I can register an account on ezvizlife.com, I thought it would be able to use for Ezviz china version. sad.gif
longpants
post Dec 5 2016, 11:48 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Dec 2 2016, 06:42 PM)
My recommendation
=============

Hikvision China Set
NVR: DS-7608N-K2/8P (Supports up to 8 network cameras with PoE)
Network Camera: DS-2CD3T26WD-I3 (IP67 Protection and Minimum Illuminance of 0.002 Lux)

Hikvision English Set
NVR:  DS-7608NI-K2/8P (Supports up to 8 network cameras with PoE)
Network Camera: DS-2CD2T22WD-I3 (IP67 Protection and Minimum Illuminance of 0.01 Lux)

1TB of hard drive is enough for your need, can store up to 48 hours from six 2MP 25fps camera at 5120kbps bit rate.
Any idea where to get Hikvision English set?
longpants
post Jan 11 2017, 10:37 AM

260 posts

I just received my Hikvision CCTV and NVR from ezbuy. Will look into thoroughly how to setup the whole system. I think I need some help on it to setup. Any idea where to reference to setup with my Asus router?

Curious to know how does PoE adapter work?
longpants
post Jan 11 2017, 11:24 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:10 AM)
Try setting up ezviz, should be straightforward after that and you'll be able to access outside home network

If not you might need to set up port forward on your asus router

Hikvision cam -> poe adapter cable -> poe ethernet switch/hikvision nvr with poe -> router
I thought EZVIZ requires a China Mobile Number for registration?

Currently my thoughts of setup is:

Through LAN:
Hikvision Cam (DS-IPC-B32-I3) > Hikvision NVR(DS-7108N)> Asus Router (N12HP)
Through WIFI:
Hikvision Cam (DS-IPC-B32-I3) > Asus Router (N12HP) or whichever router> Hikvision NVR(DS-7108N)

But I think I need to set up my NVR first because yesterday when I switch on without any HDD, it just keeps beeping every 10 seconds. WD Purple HDD 2TB should be enough I hope? Anyway, can it operate without a display monitor?
longpants
post Jan 11 2017, 11:57 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:36 AM)
Are you using the multilanguage version or chinese firmware?
If chinese one, probably can't use ezviz here

Yeah, can still operate without monitor but you'll still need to know the ip address for nvr to configure the settings.

Try setting up with ivms 4500 mobile app and see if you can detect your device locally. Then you'll need to port forward your nvr so you can access it outside home network

For the hdd, have you tried formatting it in the hikvision setting?
It should be the multi language one. How to check from the outside to confirm? I haven't had the time to connect it to a monitor to see the interface yet. tongue.gif

I thought of setting up first with a temporary monitor then maybe later on see whether to have a permanent one.

Yesterday, I can view through the IVMS 4500 app when testing to connect to one of the Camera connected via LAN.

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:45 AM)
I am curious how many cameras you have.
Actually just 2 at the moment... tongue.gif
longpants
post Jan 11 2017, 12:53 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 11 2017, 12:16 PM)
Your NVR is the one that has 8 LAN ports right?
2TB is enough for you at the moment, can even expand your cameras in the future.

Get a temporary monitor to do initial setup, such as admin password and etc.
Your NVR can live without monitor after initial setup.
But since you said you are able to view from iVMS 4500 locally in LAN, I would assumed you have done the initial setup. Because iVMS 4500 requires you to login to the NVR for viewing.
Since you can view from iVMS 4500 through LAN, next you have to setup your Asus router so that you can perform remote view from internet.
1. Port forwarding
2. Setup Asus DDNS
3. Make sure your internet IP is a public IP, request your ISP for an public IP is you found that your internet IP is a private IP.
4. Change the address in your iVMS 4500 so that it point to the DDNS address you registered in your Asus router.
Yes 8 ports. Planning to expand if the setup works out. Thanks a lot for the information. Will try to setup when I have the time.

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 11 2017, 12:25 PM)
If menu is in English confirmed multilanguage
2 other cameras also multilanguage? If chinese firmware you'll probably need to setup on your nvr using onvif instead of Hikvision
The cameras are Chinese firmware. Can it setup with hikvision nvr multilanguage?

longpants
post Jan 11 2017, 02:28 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 11 2017, 01:56 PM)
I think should still be possible, like i mentioned before
Try using onvif, not hikvision protocol when addding camera
Check what's the port number used for onvif on the camera settings.
Thanks for sharing.

Sorry I'm not familiar with the protocol and I'm still new on this. Mind asking, what is the difference between onvif and hikvision protocol?
longpants
post Jan 13 2017, 11:17 AM

260 posts

Latest update:
Managed to connect all my cameras and NVR together. Now able to watch through NVR and also through IVMS app. Protocol is hikvision and not not onvif. Managed to figured that the gateway needed to follow either the Asus router or the NVR router ip. hehe.

The next step I am planning to do is to get it connected to the internet so that I remote view (through DNS server or whatever) and then physically installing them on the wall.

Now though, I have a problem which is the internet is damn slow after having to connect 2x2MP camera through wifi. Not sure whether the NVR, camera or both hogging the asus router. Have changed both settings to 720P from 1080p resolution which seems to have some improvement for the time being, definitely not long term solution.

sifu any recommendations?

longpants
post Jan 13 2017, 02:55 PM

260 posts

Do anyone know whether Asus offer free dns account? Or should I just go get from no-ip.com and others?

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 13 2017, 02:19 PM)
Nice, so you can use hikvision protocol with different firmware language. The guys at ipcamtalk keep stressing out they're not compatible

I thought one of the camera is wired one? So you haven't install that one yet
Yup. Unless the multi language NVR was originally chinese? I don't know.

Both the cameras are wireless and wired capable. I tried setting up differently to test it out. But my intention was to use Wireless. But it seems slow after I get everything connected together. So, I switched on QoS on my Asus router and also changed the resolution to 720p which seems to help. When I go into my Asus admin settings, it was so slow as well. Is it because the memory was not enough to support so many connections?

Also, I'm connecting the camera through another wireless repeater which is wirelessly connected to the Asus router as well. tongue.gif Was wondering whether if I connect both the wireless repeater and Asus router with PoE adapter.

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 11 2017, 11:04 AM)
Post the link on where you bought from or what you bought, from there fellow forumers can provide further guidance.
Sorry I think I missed out this post. Paiseh.

NVR: RDS-7108N
https://world.taobao.com/item/530139570672.htm?fromSite=main

IP Camera: DS-IPC-B32-I3
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=524306791782

This post has been edited by longpants: Jan 13 2017, 03:10 PM
longpants
post Jan 17 2017, 10:12 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 15 2017, 09:44 PM)
Last time Hikvision has their own DDNS service, they are now closed.
http://www.forum.use-ip.co.uk/threads/hikv...scontinued.988/

I am not sure if your Asus router has DDNS service offered.
My family has bought 3 different Asus router model, and they all have Asus DDNS service support.

Refer to this guide:
http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011725/
QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 16 2017, 12:19 PM)
Any dns service will do, as long as your router regularly updates ip address to the dns service. I'm using no ip since it's free

My internet speed still fine, then again I'm using wired setup and the cameras are connected a seperate poe adapter. Camera video settings at max quality, but I did reduce the bitrate to around 3000kbps for each camera for normal view.
I couldn't figure out how to use the Asus DNS so I go ahead to create my own DNS account through www.no-ip.com
rclxms.gif

So far, with the two cameras wirelessly connected to the router isn't really stable when the whole the whole family is using the internet during the peak hours. There were some missing footage due to it. However, during odd hours when I am outside the house, it's alright because it streams smoothly through the IVMS 4500 app on my iPhone.

Now, contemplating to get another few more cameras using PoE setup instead. Wiring will be a problem next. LOL! Did you DIY your house? Any recommendations for cat5e cables? Does it need to be insulated? exposed? non exposed?

Planning to get a 3MP cam that has H265 compression, but I am not sure whether the NVR DS-7108N is able to support it or not.
longpants
post Jan 18 2017, 11:14 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:42 PM)
Firstly, congrats on getting remote view of your house CCTV from your phone.
As mentioned by @alucard89, any DDNS service will do, as long as it works.

For me, wired connection is a safe bet for CCTV, because I can't afford to have lost connection or lost frames.
I will be giving my wireman to wired my house with LAN cable for CCTV, once I start my renovation.

If is just for CCTV with POE, normal Cat5 LAN able is sufficient.
No harm using Cat5e, just that the Cat5e cable might be more expensive than Cat5 cable.

Your NVR specification is here:
http://www1.hikvision.com/cn/prgs_679_i4416.html
Or international version: http://www.hikvision.com/en/Products_acces..._433_i5420.html

I don't see 3MP and I don't see H.265 in the specification, therefore not advisable to get a 3MP or H.265 camera.

Correct me if mistake found.
Yup agreed that wired connection is the safest bet.

Are there different grades of Cat5 cables?

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 17 2017, 11:08 PM)
Well there is the waterproof connector that's included the camera for poe cables.
Using cat6 cables I got from taobao, definitely cheaper to buy longer cables there.

Better to get nvr that properly supports >4mp and above resolution like these ones

DS-7808N-K2
https://world.taobao.com/item/541903045729....6601.244.gBX9He

https://world.taobao.com/item/535606212602....6601.362.PAEIV3

I tried adding 4mp before to my ds 7108sn but it only detects sd resolution. 

DS-2CD2145F-IS
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a312a...._u=h2avq0doc74b

From what I've read in ipcamtalk, someone suggested that i need to change the video profile, and voila nvr detects 720p/1080p.

https://ipcamtalk.com/threads/low-resolutio...cd3345-i.12291/

However, I was unable to view substream in SD, both main/substream was in full hd.
So unless you have powerful connection like time 100mbps upload speed, you won't be able to view the stream smoothly unless you set the bitrate lower.

Now there's been other feedback that said upgrading firmware fixes that, but I won't be doing since mine is multilanguage that would revert back to chinese fimrware once upgraded  laugh.gif
Can share what type of Cat6 cables are you using?

Danggg... Means I have to update my DS 7108SN too if i want to use a 3MP and more camera, H265 doesn't seem to be supported as well. Tempted to get one of those. Maybe I have to garage sale my NVR to get a upgraded one.
longpants
post Jan 19 2017, 02:21 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jan 18 2017, 11:51 AM)
Take a read in Wiki, or any other website.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category_5_ca...y.C2.A05_vs._5e

Me too have purchased Cat6 (Cat6a) cable from Taobao, definitely cheaper than getting it in Malaysia.
I bought from this seller:
https://world.taobao.com/item/40197923536.htm

Here are some pictures of my Cat6 cable purchase:
[attachmentid=8416112] [attachmentid=8416113] [attachmentid=8416115]
If you want higher resolution support with H.265, you can get DS-7808N-K2/8P NVR.
I purchased this DS-7808N-K2/8P NVR for my home use.
Price of DS-7808N-K2/8P will be more expensive than the one you have, but I am not sure if the NVR has English language version.
I was referring to the types of cable. From the link you sent me, it seems to be a cat6 double insulated cable. Fuyooh looks damn solid.

Yup DS-7808N-K2/8P is selling about CNY800 whereas the DS7108 is about CNY380, which is about two times. Damn.. feel so poisoned to get that one now. Any takers out there for my DS7108SN?

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jan 18 2017, 01:20 PM)
Any cat6 cable will do, as long it's connected to the poe adapter

Forgot to mention, you can still change to h264 in the settings.
If I get the DS7808 suggested alexandar3133, one cat6 cable connect to poe camera should be good to gao tim.

And to change from h265 to h264, sayang laa like that. hahaha..
longpants
post Jan 21 2017, 01:06 AM

260 posts

Waiting for another round to get some more things from taobao after CNY, since now everything is already closed in China.

Anyway, do you guys know what is the difference between 枪机 vs 半球? I'm looking at the 2.8mm lens for wider angle, but it seems only the 半球 type only supports for 2.8mm wide lens..
longpants
post Jan 23 2017, 09:50 PM

260 posts

I'm having issue of unable to switch to sub stream through the IMVS app. But the other camera had no issue to switch between Main and sub stream. Anyone encounter this before?
longpants
post Jan 24 2017, 03:29 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Jan 24 2017, 12:17 AM)
Different camera model? Or the same camera model?

Double check under camera encoding and make sure that the sub stream is enabled for that particular channel.
Both camera are the same model. After I did a force restart through the web configuration and it now it works. And yes, the sub stream is enabled because I can choose up to 3 types of stream from the setting. Main , sub and another 3rd one (Not sure what it meant in mandarin). From the settings I can change the resolution etc. hmmm. Just that from the NVR and IVMS configuration, I wasn't able to select it.
longpants
post Mar 2 2017, 11:41 PM

260 posts

alucard89
I just received my cat 6a cable last week and connect Camera and NVR through poe, no issue. the cable i bought got 8 wires only though. But yours the picture below got like 10 wires in them. What are those for?!

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a312a...._u=221qoqco1289

This post has been edited by longpants: Mar 2 2017, 11:44 PM

0.0301sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:52 PM