7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V) Se7en, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

Hansel
post Oct 21 2016, 03:40 PM

9,353 posts

I have invested in ASX Funds and in FSM Singapore Funds since 2006, side-by-side.... Some things I see are :-

1) In ASX, we don't have to study much, and we must trust that the Govt will return 6%+ every year to us. Today, I feel comfortable doing this.

2) In FSM, we have to study more on our own,...ie more work to be done. Frankly, if one is working, it is really hard to make good investment decisions. I kept telling this to my family recently,... surely one will make mistakes if he tries to invest on his own into instruments. In this context,... better stick with the ASX.

3) In earlier days, before the RM plunged badly, investing in ASX funds was good enough because the 6%+ return per year still allows me to spend overseas, and to buy lots of things in Msia. But after our currency got beaten down, I noticed that earning 6%+ is not that great anymore.

4) Investing in FSM Singapore throughout the years has allowed me to ride on the strength of the Singapore Dollar as it strengthens against the RM.

5) We need to study more, and the fruits of this study will allow us to earn a CONSISTENT monthly income from certain funds in FSM. Yield is aa average of 7.5% today.

6) If, at times, I don't have confidence investing into FSM Singapore, I will leave my funds in ASX. ASX will be my first choice in Msia prior to transferring my funds overseas.

7) In my opinion, if the RM is relatively strong against many currencies of the world, then we can just leave our funds with the ASX !

I still have funds with the ASX and with FSM Singapore today. I have been,.. and am still sitting on both sides of the fence, hence, my observations in the above.

Welcome any comments,....
Hansel
post Oct 23 2016, 01:37 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 23 2016, 12:37 PM)
The reason is quite near my target. Dislike continuing "hunting" for units. So u won't hear me say got 4 or 5 figures today .......

Unless target change.  devil.gif
If you have other means of earning better returns, your 'hunting days' are over. But again, you have to be quick too, for I can see the other means are also closing their doors,... Everybody is starting to close doors,... Opportunities are getting smaller in the world, good opportunities, I mean,...
Hansel
post Oct 23 2016, 01:39 PM

9,353 posts

A good example that I can give here abt closing of doors is it's not easy to open banks accounts in Singapore anymore. I heard even Stanchart Singapore may not accept non-PRs, non-citizens and non-permit holders soon,...

Doors are closing everywhere, bros,....
Hansel
post Oct 23 2016, 04:09 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Oct 23 2016, 04:03 PM)
Interest low are included fd interest?

How about open an account and buy sg reits or ut? Is it provide the same "protection" to currency value?
YES, this is the purpose. Not just to park the money there. In a recent study, SG REITs has the highest yield, like-for-like,... and the governance is there.
Hansel
post Oct 23 2016, 04:12 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 23 2016, 04:06 PM)
Yes. Their FD I think only max 2%. Yes buying reits will make your money work and "protect your money" but as Hansel said it's getting harder to open. You can thank... whistling.gif
Yeah,.. things are getting harder by the days,.. soon, I think can't even open a CDP Account anymore. Can only stay behind a nominee company, then can't even go for AGMs etc,... limited rights.

BETTER MOVE FAST, forummers,...
Hansel
post Oct 23 2016, 06:21 PM

9,353 posts

Ramjade and heavensea are TOTALLY right,... you guys got the idea,....

Err,... guys, move over to the thread called : SGX Counters. This thread is supposed to be for ASX,... but, yeah, you guys got the idea,...

Except for one small problem now,... which, in the earlier days, do not have,.. post in AGX Counters, tag me,... we can continue there,....
Hansel
post Oct 27 2016, 01:15 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 27 2016, 01:09 PM)
SC not keen to have new FP funds devil.gif
Some markets risk it seems..

Unless our beloved jibby overruled the decision & comes up with new fund (like ASB 2) which SC not so keen, but has to agree to blush.gif
Hi bro,.. how do you know that out SC is not keen to approve new fixed price funds ?
Hansel
post Oct 27 2016, 02:00 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 27 2016, 01:21 PM)
One of our forummers insider info..
From pnb office blush.gif
thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Oct 27 2016, 03:11 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 27 2016, 02:50 PM)
yeah seems more difficult to get now. yesterday whole day fished only 25k, today dont know can get more or not...........
Is it because of people holding tightly and not wanting to sell, or because of more demand out there ?? Ie poeple are snapping up quickly ?
Hansel
post Oct 27 2016, 05:11 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 27 2016, 03:38 PM)
Both.  FD rates going to be cut further. If you want to move out your RM before it depreciate, move it before BNM meeting.

If you are feeling lucky, wait for US election results.
This is exactly my thinking for the moving out,....Either move out now or to do so after the depreciation, need to wait for the MYR to turnaround and appreciate again first,...
Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 11:55 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2016, 09:18 AM)
I am satisfied with 4%. For u with FSM and other active UT/shares/retail bonds, sure looking at way more than 4%.

I have set ratio of FD/KWSP/UT/stocks for my portfolio. UT include FP inside there which some of u disagree. Hahaha ! biggrin.gif
If you have a way to make more than 4% safely, with some reading-up, wouldn't you want to do so ??
Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 12:22 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2016, 11:57 AM)
Are u talking about SGX ?  brows.gif

There is always risk vs return in this world. Please enlighten me. hmm.gif
I would say that the risk-return ration is quite acceptable by putting into ASX, and earning 6.xx%. This one does not need to do any reading or do any homework.

Secondly, the risk-return ratio is also acceptable by investing into SG REITs, and earning from the currency appreciation of the SGD and quality dividend payouts of the SG REITs. But this one needs reading and homework.

Both above would earn more than HLB's 12-month FD 4% return.
Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 12:26 PM

9,353 posts

Investors,... one thing that I observed abt investing is to be able to identify an advantageous risk-return ratio, and to be able to deploy ALL of our capital to the best instruments in order to earn the maximum returns within the shortest time possible.

By being able to do the above, we will NOT NEED to diversify too much anymore and then no need to track too many instruments.
Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 07:20 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 29 2016, 12:40 PM)
If u read xuzen post..
He did 10 year return asw vs kgf..
Kgf give higher return.. But risk also high..
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2016, 12:44 PM)
I also has IRR of 9.5% since year 2000 for PM funds. But stagnant for last 2 years.  biggrin.gif

I won't put all dough into UT, no matter how safe it appears !  bruce.gif
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2016, 12:52 PM)
Actually the first 2 years or so after year 2000 PM also not doing well. Then till this year 2016, 9.5% IRR ! But I like PM's conservative approach. At least they did not go down so much. Just like ASG, last 2 years, I lost 6.7% ! doh.gif At least PM still maintain the value thru' market downturn. Anyway lets see .................... biggrin.gif
If we bought into the SGD 10 years ago (in order to invest into instruments in Singapore), back on Jan 04, 2007, and comparing against the exchange rate today, we would have made 32% solely from the exchange rate alone.

http://finance.yahoo.com/chart/SGDMYR%3DX#...uZyI6dHJ1ZX0%3D

On Jan 04, 2007, SGDMYR was = 2.2743
Today, SGDMYR = 3.0175.

Difference gained = 3.0175 - 2.2743 = 0.7432. And 0.7432/2.2743 = 32.68%.

And the above is still without taking into account the dividend collected over the years, + the capital appeciation gained because of the low-prices of the REITs during that time, subprime crisis.

Sadly, today, nobody seems to be selling their REITs holdings even when the STI-ST drops,...
Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 07:30 PM

9,353 posts

JUst for academic deiberation :-

Say, you bought into USD 10 years ago and invested into the USA, into US-based stocks. What would you make from the exchange rate alone ?

http://finance.yahoo.com/chart/MYR%3DX#eyJ...uZyI6dHJ1ZX0%3D

If you bought the USD on Jan 04, 2007, the USDMYR = 3.4926
The exchnage rate today is = 4.1963.

The diff is = 0.7037, only 20.15% profit from currency appreciation alone,...

Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 07:38 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2016, 07:28 PM)
Bro seems to be very pro S'pore market. So if I have hold the S'pore REITs, will get even more returns ? Or as some student was hounding FSM better ?  brows.gif

Anyway each of us has their preferences. The PM is part of my overall portfolio which now include ASNB VP and FP funds and other UT's.  biggrin.gif
Yes, if you have held the Spore REITs, you would have made more, based on the numbers above.

Spore mkt is not my only investment, I have holdings in many different assets across the world, many of which bought directly INSIDE the country, and others bought through international brokers.

I wouldn't call myself pro Spore mkt, but just that this argument came into my mind, and I presented it here for counter-views,... I did another exercise on the USD and US assets too,... we can see the difference.

Yes, each of us has his/her preference,... but I would prefer something that is safe and makes greater than 100% after 10 years, and still counting !

After all, investment is about making money,... safely and with stability,...
Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 07:44 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2016, 07:37 PM)
I don't think this is a good example. I hold US stocks and still holding them with E Trade and Option Express. Sadly, some of the stocks are NOT performing !

This involve risk with stocks. So currency appreciation may not help if the stocks are NOT performing.  biggrin.gif
Bro,.. of course, if you lost money from the holdings, the net effects will generally be worse,.. however, look at it this way, if the currency did not stand on your side, you would LOSE MORE in Ringgit terms,...

At least, mathematically, if you should liquidate yr holdings now, and change the funds back into the RM, you would have the weak RM on yr side,..

Hansel
post Oct 29 2016, 08:54 PM

9,353 posts

thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Nov 2 2016, 10:57 AM

9,353 posts

I have both ASX FP and FSM SG funds. I say the same thing again :-

1) If you don't wish to do any work, go for ASX FP.
2) If you wish to do homework, go for FSM, be it FSM MY or FSM SG.

If you put into ASX FP and not take out since 2004, the fund can grow 200% too, rough count,... compounding effect.

The beauty of the ASX FP is one can definitely get 6-7% per yr without fail, unlike FSM UTs whereby, in some yrs... you get negative returns and in other years, positive returns.

1) If you are a 'lazy' Fixed Income investor, go for ASX FPs for stablity.

2) If you are a Growth Investor, go for FSM UTs, but please study up first.
Hansel
post Nov 2 2016, 02:05 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 2 2016, 12:52 PM)
thanks for the info..

I always forget which year ASW gave out cheque..

TS, better put this info on 1st Page.
Well,... it was just one yr when they gave put cheque, since I started investing,... hence, I also forgot,... by default, I've always assumed it's reinvested.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:53 PM