Ultimate Discussion of ASNB (47457-V) Se7en, Wholly owned subsidary of PNB (38218-X)

dasecret
post Dec 1 2016, 05:23 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 1 2016, 05:18 PM)
M fine with d upfront disclosure in MP n other docs
Wat I want to have is they shld provide a note in respect of 'rosot nilai' stating opening bal, movements (write off or write back) n closing bal so tat reader can know
Btw, I noted tat there is no provision for 'rosot nilai' in respect of 'pelaburan tidak disebut harga'  hmm.gif
No balance sheet how to show provision for impairment of asset ler rclxs0.gif

So the only thing you would see if charge to income statement for this year and last year. Actually technically if and when FGV share price goes up significantly, they can recognise an income from reversal of impairment

Quoted investments also so hard to push for impairment, unquoted lagi no need la, first have to establish the fair value of unquoted investments, then need to determine that the reduction in value is prolonged and significant. Just focus on the quoted investments enough la. Besides, the fund mandate is to invest in quoted shares, so unquoted investments really should be immaterial
dasecret
post Dec 1 2016, 06:08 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 1 2016, 05:58 PM)
Wat I meant was in P&L, it mentioned 'rosot nilai' for quoted but silent on unquoted
Means they do not make any impairment on unquoted investments, for reasons I stated earlier
dasecret
post Dec 1 2016, 06:41 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 1 2016, 06:30 PM)
Correct.

I highly suggest them or hope them

- try to stop the carry forward %.
- at most carry 2% not as mention of around 4%
- if the reserved balance is enough to cushion some impact like this few years, carry forward shall stop completely.
- let say if the reserved is used up. Can stop give the dividend for a year. But this will highly test the confidence of buyers...

The reason of it... Mainly they always carry foward. So I assume them they are in the control lol... And will never failed to give > 7 % pa like that they mentioned in every year. What pinkspider say some sort of correct also.. We really don't know where does the carry foward go..

This year forward 3% ( claim to give 8-9% ).same as previous year also. Where does the reserves 7 8 years ago?
If added now they should have claimed can give more than 10%...
You missed out the key ingredient - unrealised capital gain/loss

what you are talking about is only realised profits carried forward
But what we cannot see is the unrealised profits/losses that is likely to be in huge quantum because when market is down, it impacts all of the quoted shares held by the fund
For example YTD return on KLCI to-date is -3.9%, means the shares the fund held may also be down by 3.9% this year. So the reserves from last time (realised + unrealised) would be used to cover the shortfall, and hopefully it's enough

A good comparison would be to read Tabung Haji and EPF accounts. These 2 institutions mark to market their investments, but through available-for-sale reserves. So you can see that the reserves is depleting, and in Tabung Haji's case, it's now RM3.2b negative reserve, as of 31/12/2015. Most likely even worse in 2016 given the market conditions
dasecret
post Dec 2 2016, 10:33 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Dec 2 2016, 09:09 AM)

The push-back is still coming from the regulator ie: SC. They're probably more likely be granted an increase of fund size of an existing fund as compared to being allowed to launch an entirely new fund as the former would be smaller in terms of size as compared to the launch of a new fund which can be in billions.
If I must speculate, I understand SC's reluctance. After all they also regulate the other capital market products like VP unit trusts. So the more FP funds, the less vibrant or growth they can expect on the VP side. And it doesn't help with investors sophistication as well
dasecret
post Dec 2 2016, 04:42 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 2 2016, 04:37 PM)
I wud look at it from another angle
Since GE14 is around the corner, most likely they will launch new FP Fund or release new units for existing FP Fund in order to ntice non-bumi voters
It's always politically motivated la. SC is supposed to be the gate keeper and hence they are now the 'barrier' between launching new funds and increasing approved fund size

Since PNB Chairman openly say they aim to increase AUM significantly over the next few years, so I think your speculation does look probable
dasecret
post Dec 4 2016, 10:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 4 2016, 01:49 PM)
Impressive on the returns!

Your own developed spreadsheet?

Interested to know how do you program it to get the fund prices auto update.

PM me. Thanks.
Some kind soul did it and shared on the FSM thread

Refer to post#1 https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4089543

Not sure if it's programmed to work with stock code. But for FSM distributed funds confirm can update automatically
dasecret
post Dec 5 2016, 09:55 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 4 2016, 10:24 PM)
Many thanks.

I like programming things like this.
icon_rolleyes.gif perhaps you can program it to also update stock codes or FSM singapore funds or even public mutual fund prices?
I'm hopeless with stuffs like that, can only follow instructions and use it

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 4 2016, 11:07 PM)
Very useful,... thank you. Can this be used with FSM Singapore's platform please ?
At the moment I think cannot, but if some other excel sifu would help to update the macros I'd be more than happy to use it thumbup.gif

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 4 2016, 11:39 PM)
Bro, which 1 is the correct excel file as there r a few?
polarzbearz's Portfolio Summary with Pinky's IRR Calculation (and here for Polarzbearz's FSM-to-Spreadsheet Conversion Tool)

Boss, I thought you are a regular over there? you don't use this spreadsheet? It's especially good for people like you who buy from various channels to consolidate holdings into 1 spreadsheet and can do rebalancing easily
dasecret
post Jan 3 2017, 12:58 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Jan 2 2017, 07:29 PM)
FP is an accounting nightmare... jibby might open up 1wawasan 2035 fund
Accounting wise it's really easy. Don't even need to prepare balance sheet rclxs0.gif

The challenge is when the cost is too far off from the market value; then how to keep SC happy and still allow them to maintain as FP; the newer the fund is, the easier to be in this problematic situation, therefore i find ASB2 most interesting to watch; high dividend and fairly new

0.0700sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:06 PM