What to do with RM100k, RM100k investment thread

TSred123
post Oct 4 2016, 10:35 PM, updated 10y ago

206 posts

Hey guys. Let's say I have RM100k savings. Can I know what investment I can do with it with the following conditions:

1) Minimal monitoring, as I planned to keep my job that earns about RM3,000 a month.

2) No financing needed, as abovesaid with a salary of Rm3,000/month I won't be able to fork out additional expenses.

3) Low risk, the RM100,000 is my everything and losing them means I am no better than a beggar

4) good return, I don't expect a high substantial return with low risk but at least a decent return

I have considered the following:-

a) Low cost flat that cost <RM100k and rent it out by hiring an agent to manage it. I don't know how much rent I can get each month with such low cost flat

b) FD which is really minimal at <4% return. Last resort.

c) Unit Trust. Low risk high return? Again I don't know anything about shares and trusts.

d) Coin washer business. (as a partner)

e) swiftlet nest investment and hire agent (those rural properties cost <100k) but high risk of no return

f) investment in gold.

About me:-

i) 29 years old
ii) not getting married anytime. Foreverarone cry.gif
iii) Have a car, have a place to stay.
iv) monthly expenses = RM2200
v) Not a bumi so ASB out of picture

Anyway I hope all the maestros here can share their insights with me as to what to do with RM100k for investment. Thank you.
jimmybcmy
post Oct 4 2016, 10:43 PM

395 posts

RM100k only, better save it in FD.
Wait till u have another 100k then only invest in unit trust fund or share market.
Good luck.
nonameface
post Oct 4 2016, 10:49 PM

196 posts

rm3000, after deduction, rm2600-rm2200 = rm400.. why your monthly expenses sohai? option A maybe a good choice, but you not much savings la.. go find better pay first?
TSred123
post Oct 4 2016, 10:58 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Oct 4 2016, 10:43 PM)
RM100k only, better save it in FD.
Wait till u have another 100k then only invest in unit trust fund or share market.
Good luck.
But I read somewhere in this forum they said FD should be the last resort due to return being too minimal.

QUOTE(nonameface @ Oct 4 2016, 10:49 PM)
rm3000, after deduction, rm2600-rm2200 = rm400.. why your monthly expenses sohai?  option A maybe a good choice, but you not much savings la.. go find better pay first?
what do you mean? hmm.gif
Stedz91
post Oct 4 2016, 11:07 PM

137 posts

coin washer is good but location must be good

low risk and acceptable return
no permanent staff required, part time staff maybe (cleaning purpose) or may you clean it yourself also
Ramjade
post Oct 4 2016, 11:14 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(red123 @ Oct 4 2016, 10:35 PM)
Hey guys. Let's say I have RM100k savings. Can I know what investment I can do with it with the following conditions:

1) Minimal monitoring, as I planned to keep my job that earns about RM3,000 a month.

2) No financing needed, as abovesaid with a salary of Rm3,000/month I won't be able to fork out additional expenses.

3) Low risk, the RM100,000 is my everything and losing them means I am no better than a beggar

4) good return, I don't expect a high substantial return with low risk but at least a decent return

a) Low cost flat that cost <RM100k and rent it out by hiring an agent to manage it. I don't know how much rent I can get each month with such low cost flat

c) Unit Trust. Low risk high return? Again I don't know anything about shares and trusts.

e) swiftlet nest investment and hire agent (those rural properties cost <100k) but high risk of no return

f) investment in gold.

i) 29 years old
ii) not getting married anytime. Foreverarone  cry.gif

Anyway I hope all the maestros here can share their insights with me as to what to do with RM100k for investment. Thank you.
Forget FD.
Look into amanah saham fixed price.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4016823
It's like FD because you buy and sell at rm1/unit (how to lose money) even though it's making a loss. Instant liquidity.

Another one is UT via FSM. Just buy bond fund like RHB Islamic bond fund. No need see NAV, no need think about service charge. Bad thing is can only be withdrawn next year (if you want to save 1% exit fees)
mrKFC
post Oct 5 2016, 03:31 AM

194 posts

FD rate now is not that high, put FD can get RM3xx per month.

Low cost apartment, I think it's possible to rent up to RM700. But a big possibility that you will not collect back you rental, due tenant too poor can't pay, so there is a risk.

If you only have minimal time to manage, I think gold is also not suitable for you, since it required market study.

Good luck.
shankar_dass93
post Oct 5 2016, 05:56 AM

2,955 posts

f) investment in gold.

i) 29 years old

Well this is just my 2 cents;

1. Find a good FD and try to place a portion of your money over there. You could use this site as a guide to gauge the current FD rates: https://ringgitplus.com/en/fixed-deposit/.

2. Try to place as much as you can into ASM/AS1M/ASW2020.

3. Learn more about investing in mutual funds/unit trust. You could read a thread here named "Fundsupermart".

T231H
post Oct 5 2016, 08:37 AM

5,143 posts

found this almost similar "OLD" short thread,
with some of the posts looks relevant.
hope can provide some "useful" tips.

If i have RM100,000 to invest, ......
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1365518/all

or try some info from the links from here?
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=what+t...with+RM+100+000

This post has been edited by T231H: Oct 5 2016, 08:39 AM
langstrasse
post Oct 5 2016, 04:41 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

I thought all threads with "I have X amount of money, what should I do ?" type questions will be nuked by mods ?

Seen it so many times here.
Ramjade
post Oct 5 2016, 04:49 PM

24,346 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Oct 5 2016, 04:41 PM)
I thought all threads with "I have X amount of money, what should I do ?" type questions will be nuked by mods ?

Seen it so many times here.
Maybe this guy was being specific? tongue.gif
ciahcra
post Oct 6 2016, 09:17 AM

Always hungry
897 posts

Salary RM3000

Keep RM36k in FD. This is your emergency fund, worth at least 12 months of your current salary. Do not touch them.

The rest, you can invest in Unit Trust, or buy blue chip stocks at Bursa Malaysia. Don't bother about those penny stocks although the return could be substantial.
xcxa23
post Oct 6 2016, 12:46 PM

2,649 posts

Else it just fd for u.

The laundry business how? I mean the roi.
How much u nd to invest and the profit sharing ratio?

heavensea
post Oct 6 2016, 02:00 PM

9,616 posts

Coin laundry business is a big no, not to mention partnership?...

Most partnership in small business gonna gg somehow, not to mention coin laundry business...
Penang_J
post Oct 6 2016, 04:29 PM

301 posts

You can try ASB, Amanah Saham Malaysia which allow non-bumi to invest, but the chance to invest is remote as you need good relationship with banker.

I was lucky enough to have 5k slot last year, the return about 6.3% declared on the year of 2016.

This post has been edited by Penang_J: Oct 6 2016, 04:29 PM
fu'house
post Oct 6 2016, 05:31 PM

553 posts

Laundry business is a nono. Seen a thief in action, stole $ from a open shop. CCTV doesn't help much. Nobody want to risk their lives to help you fight the thief. Same if you have a card system.
yan7
post Oct 6 2016, 06:05 PM

246 posts

Wow ur salary only 3k nett at age 29 , how can you manage to save up to 100k along the way ?
kswee
post Oct 6 2016, 10:07 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(yan7 @ Oct 6 2016, 07:05 PM)
Wow ur salary only 3k nett at age 29 , how can you manage to save up to 100k along the way ?
go study more about finance & investment.
provide extra services to others you are good at. not every time positive, you have to bear with the losses and learn through.
be persistent. holding that much cash will not make you feel good.
sustainability of one strength to go further.
JunJun04035
post Oct 7 2016, 06:23 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

f) investment in gold.

i) 29 years old

SCRAP everything you are currently thinking.

Money that you do not mange, is not your money.
joe_mamak
post Oct 7 2016, 06:15 PM

363 posts

a) is doable. Don't see why you need to hire an agent to manage.

You just need to go once a month to collect rent.

PS
Maybe you can still qualify for a housing loan. So your initial outlay isn't going to be that high.

This post has been edited by joe_mamak: Oct 7 2016, 06:16 PM
heavensea
post Oct 7 2016, 08:07 PM

9,616 posts

Bumi? Masuk asb sudah.
doraemonkiller
post Oct 8 2016, 09:33 AM

1,128 posts

Invest on Public Mutual. Safe and good return. Pm me if you want to know more. I can intro u a good UT agent.
jwrx
post Oct 8 2016, 09:37 AM

515 posts

f) investment in gold.

i) 29 years old

put 20% in FD (about 3%), 50% in Malaysian REITS (5-8% dividend) and 30% in Malaysian bluechips like Maybank, or Telco like maxis/digi. Portfolio like this is zero monitoring needed, just collect dividend, dun worry about downturns cos its a long term investment

Forget about Unit trusts

you also need to get your priorities straigh...u say low risk and 100k is your everything...then why the hell are you even thinking of ventures like swiftlet and coin washer biz? these are all extremly high risk ventures.

No need agent to be a landlord....even with full time job, a normal person can handle 2-3 rental props with no issues, use weekend to collect rent fix issues, if you have good tenants who bank in rental..even easier

This post has been edited by jwrx: Oct 8 2016, 09:44 AM
thesoothsayer
post Oct 8 2016, 01:29 PM

954 posts

I would dump it into a FD first. Wait for a major correction. Start dumping your money into equities after that.
doraemonkiller
post Oct 8 2016, 04:40 PM

1,128 posts

Now is the right time to go in equity due fall of shares price last year. UT giv better return (more than 10 percent per year in long term)
cyberfly
post Oct 8 2016, 04:42 PM

Web Dev Zero to Hero
706 posts

do ASB financing RM200K for all your 5 kids. Need 80K for first year installment, and next year let the dividing cover the montlhy payment.
SUScocbum4
post Oct 9 2016, 01:09 PM

57 posts

Investment is risky
Never try it with 100k in one lump sum
You will need to learn to loss first as a newbie, and the more you learn to familiar with the market direction you will have better chance to winning from it.
This included house/unit trust/forex/equity market/gold/crude oil/virtual coin,
Put aside 90% of them in fd and 10% pour into the market as a lesson fee, once you get used to it then you can increase the stake to 20%, and if you can start getting positive return continuously from the market you can finally increase it to 100% stake, or you can even go far beyond to 200% stake by taking low cost loan.
heavensea
post Oct 9 2016, 06:58 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(cyberfly @ Oct 8 2016, 04:42 PM)
do ASB financing RM200K for all your 5 kids. Need 80K for first year installment, and next year let the dividing cover the montlhy payment.
Max bole leverage sampai 800k... mantap pulangan.

0.0244sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:15 PM