What to do with RM100k, RM100k investment thread

TSred123
post Oct 4 2016, 10:35 PM, updated 10y ago

206 posts

Hey guys. Let's say I have RM100k savings. Can I know what investment I can do with it with the following conditions:

1) Minimal monitoring, as I planned to keep my job that earns about RM3,000 a month.

2) No financing needed, as abovesaid with a salary of Rm3,000/month I won't be able to fork out additional expenses.

3) Low risk, the RM100,000 is my everything and losing them means I am no better than a beggar

4) good return, I don't expect a high substantial return with low risk but at least a decent return

I have considered the following:-

a) Low cost flat that cost <RM100k and rent it out by hiring an agent to manage it. I don't know how much rent I can get each month with such low cost flat

b) FD which is really minimal at <4% return. Last resort.

c) Unit Trust. Low risk high return? Again I don't know anything about shares and trusts.

d) Coin washer business. (as a partner)

e) swiftlet nest investment and hire agent (those rural properties cost <100k) but high risk of no return

f) investment in gold.

About me:-

i) 29 years old
ii) not getting married anytime. Foreverarone cry.gif
iii) Have a car, have a place to stay.
iv) monthly expenses = RM2200
v) Not a bumi so ASB out of picture

Anyway I hope all the maestros here can share their insights with me as to what to do with RM100k for investment. Thank you.
TSred123
post Oct 4 2016, 10:58 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Oct 4 2016, 10:43 PM)
RM100k only, better save it in FD.
Wait till u have another 100k then only invest in unit trust fund or share market.
Good luck.
But I read somewhere in this forum they said FD should be the last resort due to return being too minimal.

QUOTE(nonameface @ Oct 4 2016, 10:49 PM)
rm3000, after deduction, rm2600-rm2200 = rm400.. why your monthly expenses sohai?  option A maybe a good choice, but you not much savings la.. go find better pay first?
what do you mean? hmm.gif

0.0143sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:31 PM