PC in Car, do any of you have it?
mxsteven
Sep 16 2010, 03:23 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 16 2010, 02:27 PM) Hehe.. Steven couldn't wait till Saturday .. !! BTW, nice setup you've there Steven .. envy your sound system too.. just that, I'm not into it for now. Probably not yet  Haha must test befoe saturday lols... Someday u will enjoy a better sound system... Trust me... U just need to find the right kaki... I think we might know each other long time ago but maybe we forget coz radio armature group not much ppl n u also know 9w2gl.
mxsteven
Sep 16 2010, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 16 2010, 06:44 PM) Tried to position the antenna on my roof, couldn't put it at the front since the mast will become vertical, need to put it at the rear but .. went to accessories shop and they said, ayak.. manyak menda mau buat oo.. you bawak pigi itu kedai ketuk2 .. adoi.. hahaha.. now, need to learn on how to strip off the roof carpet .. probably will do this slowly since I don't have the radio yet. Added on September 16, 2010, 8:00 pmSteven, manual found here: http://products.hirschmann-car.com/SepiaPI...TA_16_V_DAB.pdfHey, how come we have only single power input and the manual shown has two separate power inputs for DAB and FM? Yeah it is not easy to install even my car had a place to fit edi... The PDF that you attached is a different model however the amplification 10db is a lot. Never mind i think i will just install everything. Jalan or tak jalan i also dun mind.... So now i can remove my VHF antenna. The DAB changing channel is quite slow so i think i will maintain my HD radio. So now i will have HD radio + DAB + DAB FM hahahahaha Added on September 16, 2010, 8:45 pmQUOTE(LittleMin @ Sep 16 2010, 05:48 PM) u all shiok la.. im stil trying hard to solve my screen position problem..aikzz..  just potong the dashboard! This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 16 2010, 08:45 PM
mxsteven
Sep 16 2010, 11:22 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 16 2010, 10:27 PM) Damn, the guy screwed us up Steven, I guess he is selling this one instead (hence the price): http://www.dabonwheels.co.uk/Budget_Hirsch...car_aerial.htmlPassive DAB but active FM/AM .. grrr! Added on September 16, 2010, 10:34 pmWhich he sells under different listing: http://cgi.ebay.com.my/HIRSCHMANN-AUTO-16V...W-/170374106707and the same price as http://cgi.ebay.com.my/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...em=380254430757What to do .. nasi sudah jadik bubur .. Uhhhh..... Luckily is not an expensive lesson, anyway the antenna for FM is super clear except DAB ... Maybe later i will have to try to fix the antenna and drive to Angkasapuri... if all the channel still cant receive then we are officially screwed by this guy..... When is Malaysia going to have more channel light Lite and Easy on DAB or Hitz.FM on DAB channel! i wish malaysia can receive XM radio dammit... i willing to pay for that. ps: Have you try install CF2 and CF3 without deleting each other? I would like to have both because sometimes maybe i prefer CF3 but most of the time CF2 is the most stable. Others front end like streetdeck, Road Runner, Media Portal and ETC is really sux due to the limited plugin unless you are a very good SDK developer.
mxsteven
Sep 17 2010, 09:09 AM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 17 2010, 08:35 AM) Is their DAB transmitters @ Angkasapuri and not Bukit Besi? I'll ask my friend, he is maintaining some of the transmitters across Malaysia, he might know  Nope, I don't have a CF2 license. Probably will try the evaluation first and see if they could co-exist. Anyway, did the modification on my tft for reverse camera and it works!! Went to Jln Pasar yesterday and didn't realised that there are load of differences on SMD casing, the resistors that I bought were too big .. luckily I've got an old modem for Astro (thanks to 9M2CJ) and there are few NPN & load of resistors, a bit bigger than the one on the monitor board but I managed to get them soldered. So, soldered and tested just now and .. I can trigger Video2 automatically when there is power applied to the current (voltage?) sense cable that I put in. Added on September 17, 2010, 8:38 amNow .. need to find time to install the aerial and reverse cam. And will try to find out the nearest wire from the harness in which will trigger that beeping sound when we reverse the car. Not fancy having a wire from the back of the car to the monitor and trigger false signal when I transmit on my amateur radio rig. Added on September 17, 2010, 8:57 amLatest update on the transmitters location, most of them at Ulu Kali (Genting Highland) and some test transmitters are at Bukit Jalil .. hehe.. no point going to Angkasapuri  Ohhhh then i will try at Bukit Jalil haha I got 15 channel but only 6 online Added on September 17, 2010, 9:24 amI will email to u CF2 licence later This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 17 2010, 09:24 AM
mxsteven
Sep 19 2010, 03:31 PM

Installed edi..... after that i tried install CF3 again.... after an hour i revert back to CF2 again... i still cant accept CF3 
mxsteven
Sep 19 2010, 04:03 PM

yeah super hot..... abandon the project for the time being. now back to programming Arduino controller. cant get the correct argument for DI init stop looping
mxsteven
Sep 20 2010, 08:07 AM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 19 2010, 06:21 PM) Spent hours putting my reverse cam and rerouting some cables and the gps. Next will be to move my amateur radio to the back of the car and that I need to wait for the dab radio to arrive. Added on September 19, 2010, 6:23 pmBtw, haven't got time to install centrafuse 2 yet. Added on September 19, 2010, 10:27 pmArghh.. introduced new problems now and more headache for sure .. 1) disconnected the airbag cable (passenger side) when trying to find the cable for reverse indicator .. now, the airbag light is always on, OBD2 couldn't find the fault, so couldn't reset it.. 2) when I applied the brake, my touch screen monitor will turn off momentarily .. probably some signal bleed into the video cable? guess need to put more ferrites eh? The air bag you can reset... Just try DTC reset even there is no error. If you still stuck, then have to try to use my cable and my software then. The monitor auto off huh.... this is hard when i dont know what is the history.
mxsteven
Sep 20 2010, 08:37 AM

Time to get another monitor hahaha.. <solved> lols
mxsteven
Sep 20 2010, 12:17 PM

So done edi lah! As i was thinking how to put CF2 and 3 together.... so i can use cf2 when i wanted to and cf3 when i needed to! and not to forget also install RR hahahaha.... if possible streetdeck too... lolsss
Added on September 21, 2010, 4:55 pmI think i want to gather all CAR PC owners and do a OFFICIAL LYN CAR PC TT..... what do you think? i think not much ppl but those without car PC still can join laaa....
Would like to educate more people to use car pc!
This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 21 2010, 04:55 PM
mxsteven
Sep 21 2010, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(shaunk86 @ Sep 21 2010, 08:25 PM) Lol.. great! i wanna have a look at u guy's setup! I'm also considering the USB DAB/FM radio that bro wiraone found from the net. As for the antenna.. from the feedback by u guys shared, seems like a quality antena will cost quite a lot, so i'm considering this and use back my original antena. I looks like an amplified DAB/FM splitter. I don't know bout antenna, what u guys think of it? Have you setup car pc edi? The DAB unit must be operated using PC only.
mxsteven
Sep 21 2010, 11:08 PM

The DAB station quite sux sometimes it is not the sound quality but it is the song playlist and the ads! Too bad DAB in msia dun have lit FM, Hitz.FM, Mix FM neither FLY FM.... it had all stupid useless channel....so far Traxx FM and Sabah V channel can listen... maybe Muzik FM also ok once in a blue moon. For Malay is great because most of the channel is Malay channel hahahahaha... There is 3 Chinese Channel but 1 only active and it is the most boring Channel ever broadcast! it's called Suara Msia 1.
If you go to JB Town area (near kastam), you may receive 5 Singapore DAB channel which is all great! too bad only town can recieve! After Pelangi area or Holiday plaza area dont hope for any reception. Ohhh at Perling you also can receive but the reception putus putus...
mxsteven
Sep 22 2010, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(shaunk86 @ Sep 22 2010, 12:15 AM) ooo... looks like i'll only use that for fm radio. Is the FM reception strong? As the card have only SMB antenna jack, will it work if i solder 2 wire n connect the card to my antenna directly? FM is quite good but compare to the Directed HD radio, i think Directed HD radio is way much better and more responsive. You may visit my cardomain for more information. My CARdomain
mxsteven
Sep 22 2010, 08:14 AM

Normally i would raise a ticket to craig and get the shipping ID.
mxsteven
Sep 22 2010, 08:25 AM

Yoong dun have stock edi!! he seems to slow down a lot after had the second son! errr 2nd ahhh hahaha...
The problem with littlemin is he dun want to kacau down there coz he want to mod on top! he is using others dashboard with big cucumber sticking out from the steering column hahahahaha
mxsteven
Sep 22 2010, 08:43 AM

snap the photo hahahaha u will laugh
Added on September 22, 2010, 3:43 pmI have an idea for u littlemin, you can create a static motorized 1 din monitor...(just for display only because it is static for display only) when parking just use something and cover
This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 22 2010, 03:43 PM
mxsteven
Sep 23 2010, 03:30 AM

hahahahahaha........ actually there is an old school in dash tray acc for the monitor but i dont think it will fit too...
mxsteven
Sep 23 2010, 07:55 AM

Same to me.... He always says out of stock.... So now u will receive next week. The tracking software online is a bogus coz can only see uk status... Tried to use in poslaju tracking also useless... Just have to wait... Wish i was born in the states and i dun give a damn to obama haha
This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 23 2010, 08:04 AM
mxsteven
Sep 23 2010, 07:12 PM

Too big edi the picture lolssss
This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 23 2010, 07:13 PM
mxsteven
Sep 24 2010, 08:28 AM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Sep 23 2010, 09:40 PM) Wah ..hahaha.. sorry, got to laugh too la, sorry littlemin .. btw, I've never sit in Kenari .. are they coming with column shift gear instead of the one at the middle? or did you change your engine? Added on September 23, 2010, 9:42 pmWhen building the carpc, please remember to use proper casing to reduce the probability of pc interfering with other electronics stuff (especially the radio) in your car or vice-versa.. and do remember to properly ground it. Hahaha told you his cucumber is big  ...... Now i am going to compare Directed HD radio and Craig DAB (but in FM mode). ...
mxsteven
Sep 24 2010, 11:29 AM

If kastam x kacau then maybe u will get on monday or latest is Thu...
Added on September 24, 2010, 11:57 amFound out the DAB antenna does not suit to my HD radio... reception quite poor... wonder why?!?!?
This post has been edited by mxsteven: Sep 24 2010, 11:57 AM