37 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

PC in Car, do any of you have it?

neato4u
post May 10 2008, 06:53 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

coldfusion, yeah i know RCA sucks. My TV shows really blur text and hardly readable. But hey, i think of it as a test to see if the car pc worked first. Better to start with low budget first so if anything happens you still have some money to spend with. smile.gif
coldfusionpower
post May 13 2008, 03:53 AM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

well .. for me .. better saves up and only do it once than multiple times ..tongue.gif

good luck on your project
Seaedge
post May 14 2008, 12:29 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 8 2008, 10:22 PM)
u can find lucky .. www.audiopce.com .. he own the company . give him a call ..
owh .. then buy inverter lor .
we dont have such money  sweat.gif  sweat.gif ...huhuhu
cannnnnnn .. my plan is dual VGA .. one is touchscreen and not.. but both VGA ..RCA video quality really sucks

wah... dun say like i very arrogant..
as i quoted, UMPC is the easy way out and also the most expensive mah... have a dream is good... something to work towards with.
if i were to build a CarPC, i would need something to secure my car better 1st. tongue.gif Malaysia is not a good place to start this... u know la how good those thief can detect your notebook in ur carboot.

coldfusionpower
post May 17 2008, 03:10 AM

3,158 posts

i never say u arrogant maa ...just most of us dont hv money to buy UMPC . i know its good .. i just stick to the micro-atx. my pc casing is bolted straight to the chasis and need plenty of screws to open in order to take it out .. so takpela kot .. tongue.gif
Deani_77
post May 17 2008, 12:17 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

New GPS Navigation software from Garmin, Garmin Mobile PC. Suitable for PC in car. Read it here. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Deani_77: May 17 2008, 12:18 PM
huluhalang
post May 18 2008, 12:38 AM

17 posts

all sifus...
help me...how n where can i get dc to dc psu?

problem attemp...did i need to wait till i shut down the pc b4 i leave the car....?==
coldfusionpower
post May 18 2008, 02:56 AM

3,158 posts

all dc-dc psu comes with a shutdown controller .. go to audiopce.com..contact him .
Seaedge
post May 18 2008, 04:02 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 17 2008, 03:10 AM)
i never say u arrogant maa ...just most of us dont hv money to buy UMPC . i know its good .. i just stick to the micro-atx. my pc casing is bolted straight to the chasis and need plenty of screws to open in order to take it out .. so takpela kot .. tongue.gif
lol.. no wonder you so selamba ur pc in the car la...

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ May 17 2008, 12:17 PM)
New GPS Navigation software from Garmin, Garmin Mobile PC. Suitable for PC in car. Read it here.  thumbup.gif
good info!
coldfusionpower
post May 19 2008, 08:03 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ May 18 2008, 05:02 PM)
lol.. no wonder you so selamba ur pc in the car la...
good info!
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif i take more than 30minutes to took it out . if outdoor.. im sure there's ppl notice the buglar already ..

Added on May 19, 2008, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(Deani_77 @ May 17 2008, 01:17 PM)
New GPS Navigation software from Garmin, Garmin Mobile PC. Suitable for PC in car. Read it here.  thumbup.gif
garmin .. i really like what i see . based on the button layout, it was touchscreen friendly as well. sure expensive ... sweat.gif .. if not mistaken, the software only comes with US maps right ? does garmin have malaysia map ?

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: May 19 2008, 08:19 PM
Deani_77
post May 23 2008, 11:00 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ May 19 2008, 08:03 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif i take more than 30minutes to took it out . if outdoor.. im sure there's ppl notice the buglar already ..

Added on May 19, 2008, 8:19 pm

garmin .. i really like what i see . based on the button layout, it was touchscreen friendly as well. sure expensive ...  sweat.gif .. if not mistaken, the software only comes with US maps right ? does garmin have malaysia map ?
Just visit www.malsingmaps.com for Malaysia/Singapore Garmin map. It unofficial map but I think it have map details better that official Garmin map. thumbup.gif

neato4u
post May 24 2008, 06:54 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

why like expensive one... gps for car supposed to be cheap? around rm 200? blink.gif

Seaedge
post May 26 2008, 12:07 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ May 24 2008, 06:54 PM)
why like expensive one... gps for car supposed to be cheap? around rm 200? blink.gif
lol.. GPS for car supposed to be cheap? yes if you look for cheaper BT GPSr. but if standalone type of GPSr cost at least RM800 and above for reputable brands. s

If you want those reliable GPS(marine/off road/ topo) receiver + external antenna for better satellite lock time, it will cost more...

My friend got a Garmin OFF Road type GPSr + External antenna already cost him RM1k plus.

malsingmap is the best source for Malaysia maps and usually updated. Even for the January free maps is sufficient for normal use. They also provide Mapking maps, so you get 2 choices for GPS software.

If a car PC doesnt have this, it doesnt suit the purpose for having multi purpose CarPC...
hehehe thats what i think la of coz...
neato4u
post May 26 2008, 12:55 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

is BT gps good enough? I mean for normal city and kampung area in Malaysia. I don't want to go into forest though..

Also i'm searching for those usb cable types GPS. Is there any? I don't want to use bluetooth if possible (battery hastle)
Seaedge
post May 26 2008, 03:10 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ May 26 2008, 12:55 PM)
is BT gps good enough? I mean for normal city and kampung area in Malaysia. I don't want to go into forest though..

Also i'm searching for those usb cable types GPS. Is there any? I don't want to use bluetooth if possible (battery hastle)
well, BT GPSr is easier to find (and cheaper) compare to other that uses USB. The battery hassle is a norm issue, usually i recommend those to get lighter socket splitter for charging the BT GPSr. BT GPSr is good for normal city or kampung.

as for USB GPS, well you have to search high and low for that since i seldom hear ppl selling it... look around in lelong or search thru google..
Deani_77
post May 26 2008, 10:52 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ May 26 2008, 12:55 PM)

Here some of the USB GPS from Garmin. Actually BT GPS and USB GPS are the best for Car PC to me. It is a different story if you want to use standalone GPS. The price vary from model to model and of course it other function could be different.

coldfusionpower
post May 31 2008, 12:08 AM

3,158 posts

got .. even here got ppl sell usb gps receiver.. lelong.com.my also got .

btw guys .. any update on ur carpc ? i already started mine .. which is basicly a pc i used for desktop pc last time .. haha .. modified abit and put graphic card . so can do dual VGA monitor .. one stricly for microtech and gps ..

but .. i still dont have money to buy two touchscreen .. bwahahaha .. got to many debt la .. wanna setel those first ...

This post has been edited by coldfusionpower: May 31 2008, 12:12 AM
adriankhoo153
post Jun 9 2008, 11:41 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

put one notebook inside car,habis crita
Seaedge
post Jun 9 2008, 11:51 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 9 2008, 11:41 PM)
lol... who dunno... i already said that...

but since u are abit dunno what is carpc all about.. head to mp3car.com... u see others ride and u know how complicated than just putting a laptop..
katopunk
post Jun 10 2008, 09:38 PM

United Pot Smugglers
2,343 posts

Hallo CarPC's otai,

This may not be directly related to CarPC. But somehow it's related a lil bit. OK. I'm planning to put a PC speaker into my car. And I need you guys's opinion as you all already have messed with the inverter stuffs.

The speaker set rating is 500W RMS. The spec stated that power consumption is at 230Vac / 2.5A = 575W . The most wattage DC to AC inverter I can find around here is only 500W. And the continuous power is only 400W. As you may see, it is not sufficient. So I'm planning to buy a 1000W off the Ebay. What say you guys?

May I know if anyone of you all experienced any problem relating to inverter and the car battery before? Like burned up or messed up with the car's wiring, ECU and stuffs like that.

If you just let the car engine running (charge the battery) on with the gadgets plugged on your inverter, there will not be any power failure like battery drainage right?

Thank you in advance.
coldfusionpower
post Jun 10 2008, 11:22 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jun 10 2008, 12:41 AM)
laptop cannot put PCIE graphic card and PCI cards ...

QUOTE(katopunk @ Jun 10 2008, 10:38 PM)
The speaker set rating is 500W RMS. The spec stated that power consumption is at 230Vac / 2.5A = 575W . The most wattage DC to AC inverter I can find around here is only 500W. And the continuous power is only 400W. As you may see, it is not sufficient. So I'm planning to buy a 1000W off the Ebay. What say you guys?

May I know if anyone of you all experienced any problem relating to inverter and the car battery before? Like burned up or messed up with the car's wiring, ECU and stuffs like that.

If you just let the car engine running (charge the battery) on with the gadgets plugged on your inverter, there will not be any power failure like battery drainage right?

Thank you in advance.
actually, there is a 1000w inverter available in the market put the size is huge .. and super expensive. industrial grade maa .. sweat.gif sweat.gif . the one at ebay i dunno ..last time i used an inverter is around 2003-2004 ..long time edi ..

no . no problem .. but theres one thing tho .. interference. maybe it has to do with the inverter modified square sine wave ? expecially when u hook up the inverter to a audio device. u cant ground the inverter to the chasis .. thats 240v ac my fren .. and last time, the inverter i use kinda drain up the battery very fast.

err. yes ... it not like the alternator charging ur battery in instant. they take time . best way to use an inverter is add another battery, use split charge relay circuit and bigger output alternator ..

37 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:09 PM