Credit Cards Maybank Visa Signature + Barcelona Visa Signature

westlife
post Jan 2 2020, 05:04 PM

14,256 posts

Received service tax charge on my FCB card.
westlife
post May 2 2020, 02:43 AM

14,256 posts

Any cashback if paying tnb bill?
westlife
post May 15 2020, 07:21 AM

14,256 posts

if i purchase things online and made payment via paypal with FCB card, will it entitle for the 10% cashback this month?
westlife
post May 22 2020, 12:50 AM

14,256 posts

Payment to a merchant online but payment is going thru this payment gateway of ‘ Kiplepay Sdn Bhd’. Will this payment be qualified for the rebate?
westlife
post May 29 2020, 11:08 PM

14,256 posts

Any online website will post transaction after 1 June for those transaction that is made on 31 May 23:30?
westlife
post Jun 4 2020, 01:38 AM

14,256 posts

thank you MayBank.

Initially I still worried some of the transactions may not qualify for the rebates.
lucky they were. haha.

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Jun 2 2020, 11:21 AM)
Spend > 1k in May but some transactions not entitled CB.
I guess is the payment on taobao.. RM600 worth.. T.T
how come?

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jun 3 2020, 01:28 PM)
Yeah I am keeping this card despite the SST. The RM100 x 2 cashback alone is worth it already.
this is one of the remaining better cash rebate cards in the market. of course should keep.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 4 2020, 01:45 AM
westlife
post Jun 6 2020, 03:46 PM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 3 2020, 06:25 PM)
just used this. haha.
westlife
post Jun 25 2020, 04:53 AM

14,256 posts

Anyone knows for purchase on amazon.com. Which payment currency will end up paying the least? Which bank card will charge the least if I pay in USD or should I just pay in MYR to avoid for a shock in the exchange rate and extra bank charge?

How much is the purchase amount from overseas will end up with extra SST charge when shipping back the item back to bolehland?

This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 25 2020, 04:58 AM
westlife
post Jun 25 2020, 11:36 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Jun 25 2020, 08:36 AM)
Never buy thing from Amazon but yes for eBay
My first option would be BigPay card with payment their currency, but not MYR

If BigPay unavailable then second option for credit card but I will avoid CIMB & Standard Chartered Bank credit card at all time if oversea transaction
i checked online, seems like if the value of the item + shipping charge more than rm500 already need to pay tax? that's low amount for tax free.

QUOTE(ziniowong @ Jun 25 2020, 09:26 AM)
i always pay in usd for all my amazon purchases....if it's a preorder, u might wanna pay in myr to lock the price
i see. ok. thanks.

besides, this one is not preorder.

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 25 2020, 11:32 AM)
Generally, it is better to pay in the foreign currency because when they convert for you, usually the spread is wider than the bank charges.

to know which bank has lower charges, should refer to the forex thread. rule of thumb, amex the highest among the 3.
i see. visa or mastercard normally gives lower charge?
westlife
post Jun 25 2020, 08:53 PM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Jun 25 2020, 05:07 PM)
Yes, you need to pay SST for item + SHIPPING above RM500.
Yup, RM500 is a very low amount.
Besides, there is a chart to determine your shipping cost (I can't remember the rate and lazy to dig).
Ie. RM500 item, min shipping cost is RM100 from USA, if your declared shipping is less than RM100, customs will "top up" for you and you need to pay more SST.
Worst for those getting free shipping, try to beg shipper to separate out shipping cost for you (but most of the time they won't entertain you).
Similarly, customs will just top up additional, ie. RM100 as shipping cost, regardless how you explain to them.

Bigpay is the best bet for now, no extra fee.
Ambank WMC is also known to charge only 1% (Maybank is charging 2.25%; Amex 2.5%)
Always pay in local currency (USD in your case, don't pay in MYR).
Visa or M/C, usually their rate is quite close without significant difference.
It is determined by how much the bank charge us.
Yeah. Very Low amount that pretty much one will get tax for everything purchased from overseas.

Last time I bought the clothes online from overseas also kena tax.

Only those small item like CDs or Blu-ray Discs never kena.
Like that I think I will ship the item to lion city instead, since shipping cost is about the same and lion city only charges tax above sgd500.

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jun 25 2020, 07:39 PM)
never pay MYR on foreign website - it is DCC - the charges are a lot more than any local bank will charge you

+ some banks consider this as a Cross Border transaction and will charge you an additional % charge..
Ic ok thanks.
westlife
post Jul 2 2020, 08:05 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(dh13 @ Jul 2 2020, 06:32 AM)
Yay. Manage to get 10% for my May Spending posted in Jun.

nice. what kind of transaction is that? shoppee?

This post has been edited by westlife: Jul 2 2020, 08:06 AM
westlife
post Jul 10 2020, 08:01 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Jul 9 2020, 06:57 PM)
Bad News for Maybank FC Barcelona Visa Signature Credit Card:

Source: Maybank Credit Card Statement

[attachmentid=10533930]
where to find this info. the image is too blurry to read.

it was not found in my maybank credit card statement.
westlife
post Jul 10 2020, 08:16 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Jul 10 2020, 08:10 AM)
Maybank will give 21 days notice at M2U today.
i see. ok. smile.gif
westlife
post Jul 10 2020, 11:35 AM

14,256 posts

if it is only 1% cashback, i will still keep the card, becos seriously nowadays cashback across banks are all cmi.
westlife
post Jul 10 2020, 11:46 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jul 10 2020, 11:38 AM)
It's still a great card if you use for real spending.
yes. correct. certainly will keep it still. too many 'useless' cashback cards around, this is still very usable.
westlife
post Jul 19 2020, 12:18 PM

14,256 posts

I will still choose to keep the card. The 1% cashback can stilll be useful sometime later.
westlife
post Jul 19 2020, 03:01 PM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Jul 19 2020, 01:18 PM)
Spend 5k only to get 50 cashback. If I don't have to pay SST for the card I will definitely keep it. Too bad MBB doesn't do SST waiver.

If one year spend a lot then maybe still ok, else indeed should cancel it.

This post has been edited by westlife: Jul 19 2020, 03:01 PM
westlife
post Oct 17 2020, 04:43 AM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(vanillapire @ Oct 14 2020, 02:24 PM)
Well I use ewallet very often and got nothing from MBB when using it to top up .. so I think others offer better deals than MBB
which bank credit card gives CB for ewallet top up?
westlife
post Apr 4 2021, 12:49 PM

14,256 posts

the 1% of this card is still useful to be act as a card that maybank 2card amex cannot be covered since other banks cashback cards nowadays also cannot really make it.

This post has been edited by westlife: Apr 4 2021, 12:49 PM
westlife
post Nov 2 2024, 04:48 PM

14,256 posts

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Sep 24 2024, 03:17 PM)
I have been using less of my Barcelona card now. Instead I use GXbank debit card (yes, not a credit card), which have no cap cash back smile.gif
depending on spending i guess. if never spend above, since in order to get rm50 cashback out of it, u need to spend rm5k per month technically which i doubt most ppl will spend that much.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.2259sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:51 PM