Model Kits Gundam and Mecha Modelling V4

fyire
post Mar 10 2007, 09:15 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ Mar 10 2007, 03:22 AM)
here's my astray blue frame 2nd L's progress...

before n after...under-exposure n blur...dengz!
A bit off topic here, but you can try using some external lighting instead of using the camera flash. That should give u better results when taking photos. Also, adjusting the color balance in photoshop tends to help a lot too in making the photos clearer.
fyire
post Mar 13 2007, 10:24 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Mar 13 2007, 10:11 AM)
It's gold plated & that's why
hmm.. personally, me dun like the gold plating actually, gives it too much of a cartoonish look. Also, u're gonna get chips off the gold plating at the spots where u cut the parts off the frame.

beckzaidan's proposal sounds much better to me, DIY gold plating.
fyire
post Mar 13 2007, 10:31 AM

9,270 posts

This pic should give clues on which model I'm currently working on smile.gif

fyire
post Mar 13 2007, 10:39 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Mar 13 2007, 10:35 AM)
So far never heard any people said the gold chrome on the Hyakushiki will chip off easily
but I'll not paying those extra money to get the gold plated
Actually, what I meant was at the spots where u do the cutting. The gold plating is only on the surface, so when u do the cutting, there'll be non gold plated plastic exposed already. Not to mention that all you can do is cut properly, as sanding is far more difficult to do
fyire
post Mar 22 2007, 01:55 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Mar 22 2007, 12:14 AM)
100th mg= Whitebase. Bandai should make it smthing really great to celebrate their 100 MG mah.
hhhhmmmmm... a 1/100 MG Whitebase smile.gif So we can keep all our existing 1/100 MG models inside smile.gif

oh damn.. just realized that I'm gonna need a far bigger house to store that 1/100 MG Whitebase in.. argh! shocking.gif
fyire
post Mar 23 2007, 05:54 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Mar 23 2007, 05:16 PM)
yah i think version Kuda suit the best
Version Kuda? How about this one instead? smile.gif

fyire
post Mar 23 2007, 10:18 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(cajun2de @ Mar 23 2007, 10:16 PM)
a pin is good enuf? but a pin lacks good grip
U should be able to fit the pin into the pen grip of a x-acto knife
fyire
post Mar 26 2007, 01:00 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 26 2007, 12:19 AM)
Im experiencing a problem while spraying paint on my model.

i bought this Tamiya TS-XX spray can. Even though i shake it very well and spray lightly, after a while, im getting lots of bubbles on da surface of the area i sprayed. if i dun burst or even out those bubbles, i will get hideous craters when it dries.

so is there anything wrong wif my technique or is it a defect of the spray can?

anybody experience this b4?
Hmm.. try submerging the can into warm water for a while then shake even more again?
fyire
post Mar 27 2007, 02:33 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(tsubasa89 @ Mar 27 2007, 12:34 PM)
erm...guys last time i seen here somewhere that you could make some kind of solution that can remove paint but wontdamage the gunpla by mixing bleach and......????

i cant find that post.... sad.gif
The types of solutions will differ greatly, depending on the type of paints used. Basically, for Tamiya acrylic, washing detergent works wonders.

I tend to use a 50/50 mix of dish washing detergent and the laundry detergent powder. Soak the plastic in there for like 30 minutes, then rinse and scrub. The paint dissapears like magic, even those that's been painted for years already.

But that's not as effective against other acrylic types such as Vallejo or Citadel. For those, I tend to add in some Dettol into the mix, and soak longer. An alternative to Dettol will be PineSol (u can find this at Ace's Hardware), which is cheaper and stronger. PineSol's basically like Dettol but for cleaning floors lar.

Not too sure how well the detergent mix will work with the Mr Hobby colors though, can give it a try and see. Shouldnt be any harm, especially when the mix is confirmed to not harm the plastic.
fyire
post Mar 28 2007, 05:36 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Mar 28 2007, 02:25 PM)
holy.............large ex-s.....i'm having trouble finding a mg ex-s and this dude can get this large ex-s......there's quite a number of perfect grade in that cupboard and not to mention gp03 and dendrobium on the top.......the only dendrobium i have is the sd version haahha
Larger than normal MG EX-S... Likely to be a resin garage kit. Not for the faint of heart to do smile.gif
fyire
post Mar 28 2007, 11:04 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Mar 28 2007, 07:54 PM)
I love d new zaku.. can do lots of cool cool pose. And the best MS to customize...and do wheathering effect.. Might bought it to test. But nowadays too bz even now my HI nu still in d box.. grrr..smtime is lazy to start airbrushing.
No problems! I'm sure that a lot of those here will gladly do up your gunplas for you smile.gif
fyire
post Mar 29 2007, 02:40 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Mar 29 2007, 02:32 PM)
thanks to those that replied... would primer help in this problem?

the surface im spraying is the normal plastic model kit from Tamiya la.
Well, depends on what's causing the problems lar... If its the plastic surface that's the problem, then the primer will help a lot.
fyire
post Mar 30 2007, 12:36 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Mar 30 2007, 12:34 AM)
Can MG Nightingale bigger than MG Perfect Zeong?
In height, probly not. In total bulk, hard to say lar... I would hate to imagine what the cost of a MG Nightingale will be like though...
fyire
post Apr 1 2007, 08:52 PM

9,270 posts

hmmmmm.. anybody even considered before, the chances of a 1/1 scale MG Haro? smile.gif
fyire
post Apr 2 2007, 12:58 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Apr 1 2007, 11:17 PM)
hey guys...we know that HG n SD models need a lot of painting n coloring..
so i wanna ask u if using marker only for it is good enough?

n will buying a lot of markers will be more expensive than coloring tools like spray n airbrush etc..?
Ok, I've never used those markers before, so I don't really know how the finishing is like when used for coloring surfaces. But normally I suspect that you wont be able to get a nice smooth surface. Its one thing to do lines using markers, but its another for surfacing work.

Hmm.. if u do not want to put in the money into spray and airbrushes, its better to use hand brushes. Besides, the sort of detailed work that a SD model has got (from my experience doing the red SD Astray), u can't really do much spraying work, as there's too much details to be painted.

For instance, small pieces that comes in white plastic, but certain parts will need to be painted red, or red plastic, with some parts to be painted white. And better yet, the feet's black plastic, with certain parts to be painted red.

Also bear in mind that I've never used those markers, but getting a coat of red to cover black plastic is damn difficult, and its very rare that u can find paints that can do that nicely. So far, the paints with the strongest pigments suitable for such covering up of dark colors that I've encountered will either be Vallejo (damn hard to find here now, so need to order from overseas), or Citadel.

Added on April 2, 2007, 1:02 am
QUOTE(heretic6 @ Apr 1 2007, 10:56 PM)
who knows..MG Ball ver. 2.0 sleep.gif
Or how about a Junior Mobile Suit, complete with the figuring of Mr Wong Lee? smile.gif Gotta love the fellow's corrective methods smile.gif

This post has been edited by fyire: Apr 2 2007, 01:02 AM
fyire
post Apr 2 2007, 01:21 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(heretic6 @ Apr 1 2007, 10:56 PM)
who knows..MG Ball ver. 2.0 -_-
Or how about a Junior Mobile Suit, complete with the figuring of Mr Wong Lee? :) Gotta love the fellow's correctiv
fyire
post Apr 2 2007, 09:09 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(kurz @ Apr 2 2007, 01:14 AM)
ic ic..thank u..iv read some posts here they like to use Mr. color..what do u think of that..is it easy to find? n is it for hand brushes?
Mr. Color should be pretty ok. I've never used it though. Hmm.. another trick that u can do for the coloring on dark surfaces is to first paint on white, then the actual color.
fyire
post Apr 2 2007, 10:05 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Apr 2 2007, 08:24 PM)
Ok listen here and listen carefully.... u can buy all the colors gundam marker as u like but just leave the white part as it is.... it is much more better than having them colored unless u want to do weathering effects.

This is becoz white is super hard to be apply and it is super easy to get dirty or mixed with other colors. I personally leave all my white parts as there are and used a flat top coat to finish the it up, it will looks good enough (u wont noticed all those scratches).

Second thing u must be aware of is certain color which r very shinny and comes in bright bright color can also be skip from painting (flat coat can make them look liked painted). I dun paints small parts, there just tend to waste my paint.

For the hi-nu u can just skipped the white and also the metallic parts.

If u really want ur kits to look perfect like the box art then u better buy an Airbrush and paid a lot of "school fees".
Hmmmm.. white.. the really dreaded whites smile.gif

Actually there's a trick to it. Pure pure white is extremely hard to apply properly. So I don't bother with applying pure white. Guess what's the next best thing to do? Something that most ppl wont think of, which is to put a tiny drop of black into the white.

Having that drop of black will help to strengthen the pigment of the paint, + reduce the shade of white by a tiny bit (not noticable at all, unless u're to look really really closely under very bright light).

That helps wonders in getting a proper shade of white to go. The mix that I personally use is like:
- 50/50 mix of Tamiya White + Citadel White
- one drop of Citadel black
- one drop of Citadel dwarf flesh

I like combining Tamiya with Citadel. Citadel paints has got very good pigments, and the lighter base of Tamiya helps the paint spread over the plastic a lot better. Apply in thin coats, normally takes either 2 or 3 coats to get a nice even coat. Don't worry about the brush marks as you paint it on if u r to use that mix that I use, as the brush marks will even itself out before the paint dries.
fyire
post Apr 6 2007, 04:16 PM

9,270 posts

My latest project smile.gif ACGUY (also my first attempt at airbrushing)

fyire
post Apr 8 2007, 10:51 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(heretic6 @ Apr 8 2007, 05:11 PM)
2. regarding water-based paints and coats, is 1:1 proportion of water enough?
Depending on what its for. For hand brushing, 1:1 is about right, but this depends a lot on the paint. To be more accurate, its at least 1:1. The general rule of thumb is that as long as the paint runs like milk, then u got it right.

Hmm.. something that I just discovered as well. If airbrushing using Tamiya, putting a bit of methylated spirits into the mix tends to help a lot.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0211sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:59 PM