TSianho
post Mar 28 2007, 08:36 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Mounted the brackets onto the plate.

Test fitting the fan plate in the ROM slots.

After the test fit. I decided that the brackets were just too ugly n I cudn stand the looks of it. Those acrylic brackets just dont look right. So I remade sum new 1's out of aluminum to gif it a true factory look. Here's how the new brackets look like. Much, much better looking now dont u think?

I then made the same type of brackets for the front intake mesh mounting.

The completed front intake mesh n ROM cover plate. Time to mount it to the case.

Added on March 28, 2007, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(kalakatu @ Mar 28 2007, 08:34 PM)
LOL..uncle..u lied to me.. vmad.gif

last time at casemod party u said u potong cincai boncai only coz dun have time..
but from the shots above i can see ur work done is perfect.. mad.gif
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif dun mad ar. jk only  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
laugh.gif Well, my usual work is a lot better than that but I just was totally running out of time. Anyway, I'll redo the fan plate in brushed aluminum later to gif it an even more factory look.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 28 2007, 08:42 PM
dj.eRicZzz
post Mar 28 2007, 09:03 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

uncle...u do modding for living one ar? or just a sidejob?? seems like u're the best in these stuffs
TSianho
post Mar 28 2007, 09:59 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Oh ya. I forgot to show u guys how I sleeved the PSU coz I was rushing n forgot to take pix. I haf sum pix of how I sleeved the PCIe plugs though. As u all know the 8800GTX requires 2x 6 pin PCIe plugs. That means 2 wires per card. I haf 2 cards meaning 4 wires! That'll create a right royal mess of wires especially with my BTX style mod coz the wires r on top n cant be hidden below. Here's what I did.

I combined the 2 top wires into 1 so it's nice n neat. This picture shows the default 4 wires n 4 plugs.

Here it is after I sleeved 2 into 1.

While I was sleeving, I also did the SATA wires.

That's it for now till I edit more pix. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif Been editing pix all day long. Time for dinner. Confusious say never work on empty stomach. laugh.gif

Added on March 28, 2007, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Mar 28 2007, 09:03 PM)
uncle...u do modding for living one ar? or just a sidejob?? seems like u're the best in these stuffs
No I don't do it for a living. Modding is my passion n hobby. I do it for the love of modding. If this was for a living...................................... I'd be eating porridge for the rest of my life. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif I'm a retired man so I haf lotsa time to play with PCs n mod them, n Overclock them n so on. Those who're thinking of jumping into modding PCs for a living, I haf 1 word of advice for them. D.O.N.T!

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 28 2007, 10:00 PM
deric88
post Mar 28 2007, 10:12 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

retired?!!!
how old are u?
you don't look 50+ from pictures.....
TSianho
post Mar 28 2007, 10:29 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

The update sumhow got screwed by lag. I'll add in the parts taht went missing.

The hardware thats going in. All cooled by looooovely sexaaaaay heatpipes.

Now look at these sexy RAMs. So nice n blingy in gold. Ali G pimpin style!

Not only is it bling bling, it performs really well too. Look at teh specifications of the RAM. This is good stuff. King Kong will b taking them to the OC gym later for sum serious overclocking. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Now it's onto the heatsink install. B4 that I need sum thermal paste. For that, I use Arctic Cooling MX-1. It's really good. Totally non conductive so u dont hafta worry about it shorting out anything if there's overflow. This paste used to b loved by those who bought Arctic cooling heatsinks coz it only came with AC coolers. The performance is fantastic but it wasn't available for sale. They're now available separately so, gogogo get them.

Look at the operational lifespan. 8 years!. I doubt any1 of us is gonna use it for 8 years but it's really good to know it wont degrade over time under serious overclocking usage.

It's extremely easy to apply too. Just put a blob of it on top n put the HSF on. That's it.

The heatsink is on. Very nice fit n clearance to surrounding compnents unlike the XP120 I had which was an extremely tight fit. Look at all the space around it in these pics.

TSianho
post Mar 28 2007, 10:30 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Best thing about this HSF is that it cools the entire mobo n it's surroundings too. In this pic u can c how it cools my RAM too. No need to use hideous clip on fan solutions. I like the RAM like that so we can show the bling bling of the lovely RAM without covering it with fans on top like how those clip on things do. I will be needing lotsa cooling on these RAMs as I will b pumping in 2.9Volts into them n OCing them for daily use.

After all the hardware was installed. It was time to haf sum fun. So I made these stickers for my 8800GTX darlings. They're made of reflective white vinyl.

I stuck them on n installed the graphics cards. This is how it looks with the stickers on. NICE. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif I love those stickers so much.

That's all the pix I haf right now. I'll be sure to update as soon as I haf edited more pics. Next update will be with the completed case as of the 25th March for the show. There r more things which I havent done yet. All that will be work in progress as I go along. So this Project is by no means complete.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 28 2007, 10:40 PM
TSianho
post Mar 28 2007, 10:41 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Mar 28 2007, 10:12 PM)
retired?!!!
how old are u?
you don't look 50+ from pictures.....
I retired early. thumbup.gif I also haf the Fountain of Youth in my backyard
dj.eRicZzz
post Mar 28 2007, 10:50 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

uncle...how u get sponsors?? u mod casing with thier stuffs in it?
tyrion4
post Mar 28 2007, 11:30 PM

277 posts

Hey ian, where did you get those stickers done? I'm thinking of getting rid of my shameless aluminium etching and go for one of those for my side panel window
peaceofluck
post Mar 28 2007, 11:45 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Mar 28 2007, 08:34 PM)
LOL..uncle..u lied to me.. vmad.gif

last time at casemod party u said u potong cincai boncai only coz dun have time..
but from the shots above i can see ur work done is perfect.. mad.gif
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif dun mad ar. jk only  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
mayb rite wat he say....the perfect mayb dif than this.. biggrin.gif ...
rite uncle???!
don^don
post Mar 29 2007, 03:40 PM

(#‵′)凸
1,930 posts

oo... so tat's how u put thermal paste... nv knew how to do. ^^ an eye openor for a noob. XD

and also, waiseh man! tat HSF, siau eh! super big!!! like an umbrella of the mobo.

p/s: uncle, u make stickers too?
dj.eRicZzz
post Mar 29 2007, 04:36 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

that's the largest HSF ever created
duarnt
post Mar 29 2007, 05:24 PM

Sux!
961 posts

Wahhh retired uncle very the best in modding. salute u!
TSianho
post Mar 29 2007, 05:37 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(tyrion4 @ Mar 28 2007, 11:30 PM)
Hey ian, where did you get those stickers done? I'm thinking of getting rid of my shameless aluminium etching and go for one of those for my side panel window
Eh, that Tyrion4 plate is nice lar. Dont change it.

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Mar 28 2007, 11:45 PM)
mayb rite wat he say....the perfect mayb dif than this.. biggrin.gif ...
rite uncle???!
What I meant was, if I had more time, I wud haf taken out the acrylic fan plate n redone a new fan plate in brushed aluminum.

QUOTE(don^don @ Mar 29 2007, 03:40 PM)
oo... so tat's how u put thermal paste... nv knew how to do. ^^ an eye openor for a noob. XD

and also, waiseh man! tat HSF, siau eh! super big!!! like an umbrella of the mobo.

p/s: uncle, u make stickers too?
That's how u put Arctic Cooling's MX-1 paste for best results. Different types of paste haf different methods. U better check what kind ure using. Unless ure buying MX-1 then yes, just follow the way I did it.

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Mar 29 2007, 04:36 PM)
that's the largest HSF ever created
Yes indeed. Let's c who makes the next biggest HSF. laugh.gif
Kataro
post Mar 29 2007, 05:40 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

I like the rom bay intake fan panel very much... so nice looking... should bring much much enough air to cool down the 8800GTS sli... drool.gif drool.gif thumbup.gif
TSianho
post Mar 29 2007, 06:04 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Mar 29 2007, 05:40 PM)
I like the rom bay intake fan panel very much... so nice looking... should bring much much enough air to cool down the 8800GTS sli... drool.gif  drool.gif  thumbup.gif
Yup. The front intake is using 2x Vizo 120mm fans. That fan is 70+ CFM each so I haf about 140+ CFM of nice fresh air coming into the case to cool King Kong's internals. N those aren't GTS cards dude. Look at the OMFGBBQSAUCE stickers again. brows.gif
ciohbu
post Mar 29 2007, 07:19 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 29 2007, 06:04 PM)
Yup. The front intake is using 2x Vizo 120mm fans. That fan is 70+ CFM each so I haf about 140+ CFM of nice fresh air coming into the case to cool King Kong's internals. N those aren't GTS cards dude. Look at the OMFGBBQSAUCE stickers again.  brows.gif
wonder how much noise does the vizo fans produce at such cfm?...now finding intake fans for my casing also..120mm is just too large..planning to put 2 x 80mm instead tongue.gif
Bliz
post Mar 29 2007, 08:38 PM

2,734 posts

Those Vizo fans are pretty quiet, i have 3 of those running in my case, noise is a bit more than my Scythe Sflex fan at 1.2krpm but nothing to be worried about notworthy.gif
ciohbu
post Mar 29 2007, 11:24 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

oh?...know where can i get those fans?..the cfm around how much ar?
kalakatu
post Mar 29 2007, 11:26 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Mar 29 2007, 11:24 PM)
oh?...know where can i get those fans?..the cfm around how much ar?
it can be bought at Sri Comp or All IT.. smile.gif

32 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0465sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:02 PM