Travel Hong Kong V5

staticxtreme
post Nov 26 2018, 12:47 PM

528 posts

just came back from hong kong. prior to hk trip i told my wife this will be my first and last trip with you (been there before when i was younger)

but after this trip my outlook has changed. i think they ppl are not that rude. taxi driver was friendly. servers were efficient. food was amazing (there's a few that wasn't that good though), but generally if i go to HK it will only be for the food

i didn't travel much there, just the peak and aberdeen. others all just going around for food, hahaha

will go there again to explore their food scene. it is definitely better than malaysia, their roast goose are to die for

staticxtreme
post Dec 6 2018, 05:16 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 6 2018, 04:03 PM)
can share what food u think is good and what food is not so good?
at the top of my head (2 panadols in)

Kam's roast goose is superr good. This is a must go

Joy hing is one level below kam's, but really good too without the queue

Oi Man Sang = godly

can give

Sing Kee a miss

Mak's wantan mee also not good. Malaysia wan tan mee anytime tapao them. But the texture of the mee is really good. just not much flavour i guess

One Dim Sum and Dim Dim Sum can avoid also. A lot of hit and miss dishes, especially One Dim Sum, with a michellin star. Queued for an hour and a half.
staticxtreme
post Dec 10 2018, 01:57 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 6 2018, 05:18 PM)
wantan me really. doh.gif . can order one and share just to ry the taste.
One dim sum is so much better than the more famous lin heung. Go earlier no queue. Usually queue starts at 10-11.
around 8-10 nobody one.
one dim sum opens at 10.30am usually, except sat and sun

i reached there at 11.30. queued and went in to makan at 1.15pm

but not so good ler, the taste very bland. i think ming room in malaysia nicer

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Dec 6 2018, 05:33 PM)
ok will take note on this 3
thanks! thumbsup.gif
cheers bud, pls tag me once you're back and let me know how it taste like

another one more is dessert, kai kai dessert => michellin recommended street food

got queue also, usually 5-15 mins. very nice tong sui, can try the black sesame and must get the tong sui balls
staticxtreme
post Dec 11 2018, 01:37 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Dec 10 2018, 07:01 PM)
Good for you. Travelling is also about luck - if you're lucky you meet decent people. I never doubted the efficiency of the servers  biggrin.gif they were really fast. It's mostly about the service and attitude of the locals.
Personally speaking, i didn't have anything impressive except for Polo Bun. The best Polo bun I've ever eaten and it's nothing like what we have in Malaysia!
I'll recommend Kam Wah Cafe & Bakery 金華冰廳 for the Polo Bun - if there's a long queue to dine in, you can just opt to buy the polo bun and do takeaway. Generally I enjoyed their breakfast sets but find their dimsum a little plain without chili sauce laugh.gif sorry too accustomed to Malaysia's way of dimsum.
Agreed. Their dim sum is more on the healthier scale
staticxtreme
post Apr 26 2019, 01:37 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Apr 26 2019, 01:16 PM)
finally ended by HK trip

staticxtreme

tried yat lock and kam goose

kam goose - quite good my preference as the meat are more fattening
yat lock - so so as the meat are more lean

also tried by siu yok and char siew
both char siew to me so so as i find that HK char siew is more towards lean meat unlike malaysia , half fat half meat. taste wise OK la...nothing fantastic.

but their porridge/congee is surprinsgly good.

weather wise was very humid.

macau protugese tart - Lord Stow's very very good , buttery
follow by margaret's
i alone ate 4 each

大利来记 - pork bun....just pork meat n bread...
taste okok la
will redit this post...
now just temporary post only
yeap, kam goose is superb right

yat lok too dry and lean. not sure why many ppl like it

yea their char siew there more lean. didn't have the chance to try the siu yuk there. is it good?

0.0504sec    1.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:20 AM