Travel Hong Kong V5

hihihehe
post Sep 2 2017, 02:09 AM

13,451 posts

Taxi and Uber fare not much different right?
hihihehe
post Sep 2 2017, 12:35 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 2 2017, 12:23 PM)
are u asking specifically in Hong Kong? Grab is not in Hong Kong btw..

in general yes not much,.
Yes in hk. Planning to go there this month and most likely alone during daytime.
hihihehe
post Sep 5 2017, 03:22 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 2 2017, 01:33 PM)
u don need uber in hong kong la.
cool. just booked cathay for next week. i will be alone during daytime and still unsure where to go/eat

QUOTE(Oriental @ Sep 3 2017, 08:14 AM)
Hi I am in HK now  smile.gif
For those concerned about the weather, it has been raining on and off here yesterday. The same expected today, but nothing to worry about. Everything seems normal here, all shops are open as usual and the streets are packed with people  smile.gif Only thing is it's hot and humid, so have to keep looking for shopping malls  biggrin.gif
hopefully next week will be slightly better. at least i can wear short pants
hihihehe
post Sep 5 2017, 03:33 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 5 2017, 03:31 PM)
i was there in march, solo trip for 8 days too..

aiyo just do abit research before u go la..at least u don travel without direction.
ya, have to. hopefully got time to do it by this week
hihihehe
post Sep 5 2017, 04:40 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 5 2017, 04:30 PM)
go macau if time allows
any particular things to see in macau other than casino?

also, rm1k should enough for 5 days? this is for food + transport.
hihihehe
post Sep 5 2017, 07:02 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(ukiya @ Sep 5 2017, 04:45 PM)
Plenty... Wall of Saint Paul. Ma Zhu Temple. Macao Tower. Venetian Square. Lots of Casino. Venetian Macao. Portuguese Street. 3 Lamp Post etc...
will take note rclxms.gif

QUOTE(inachi @ Sep 5 2017, 04:47 PM)
i spent rm1k for 7 days (food, transport and all the miscellaneous stuffs).

this exclude all the entrance fee because i bought all from Klook app.
so i guess it's enough for me then. probably will use cc for shopping
hihihehe
post Sep 11 2017, 12:43 PM

13,451 posts

St hk now wandering around Nathan road. Anything to do in Central?
hihihehe
post Sep 16 2017, 10:32 PM

13,451 posts

The weather there was very hot and dry. No wind at all. Just came back few days ago. Have to shower 3tjmes a day

So far the waiter or waitress nvr rude on me. They even can joke together. Only those convinient shops are black face
hihihehe
post Sep 20 2017, 09:53 AM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(Gene_89 @ Sep 19 2017, 10:45 PM)
Haha.. Cantonese. This is the funniest part in my HK trip. HK people do really know we are from other country (either Malaysia/Singapore) as our Cantonese really different with them in terms of slang. Even some of the Chinese word, my 2 other friend do not know how to read as I'm banana also. I only know how to speak Cantonese. I'm sure when you ask for something in Cantonese, HK people will react 'Hah?' Coz I remember my friend ask for fried sotong. The HK girl just 'Hah?' 

But I dunno lah, maybe your Cantonese pro den me. Share your experience ya when you back from HK. Looking forward for it. Hehe~
i am half banana too. can only talk and listen but so far no issue for me to communicate with them.

i guess i watched too much TVB and roughly know the words they usually use.

btw, they mostly use mandarin when serving customers rather than cantonese now.
hihihehe
post Sep 24 2017, 02:40 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(Gene_89 @ Sep 21 2017, 01:13 PM)
Yup, mostly when HK people saw us, they will speak Mandarin 1st. Then we said we are Malaysian and know Canto only they started talking Cantonese to us. And yes, there were a lot of Mainland Chinese tourist. Mostly very rough too.

I remember i went to 7 eleven i wanna buy tissue coz hv minor flu. I said I wan 'face handkerchief' something like that in Canto. The girl just said what you want again with shock expression. Ended i just said tissue. Dun worry just say English jek if u dunno hw to use Canto.

And their Mcd pork very nice too. Miss it so much.
There is no pork burger available now except the egg muffin.
Only Angus beef available for now
hihihehe
post Oct 2 2017, 01:35 PM

13,451 posts

if you are travelling in group of 3 or more, eating out at 'dai pai tong' are cheaper actually. went to sam sui po and ordered 3 dishes for 2 person. portion is very big and only cost around $120 with beer
hihihehe
post Oct 2 2017, 03:28 PM

13,451 posts

that smoking part is really surprise me. i thought they are like singaporean only can smoke at smoking area but is much like malaysia laugh.gif

maybe because lot of PRC so they can't really regulate the rules.

btw, i stayed at sheraton hotel and the harbour view just spectacular.
hihihehe
post Oct 17 2017, 02:07 PM

13,451 posts

i don't have to queue up for those char chan teng during peak hours because i was solo laugh.gif

dont forget to eat dai pai tong. cheap and big portion
hihihehe
post Oct 19 2017, 11:39 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 19 2017, 11:14 PM)
Anyone tried to ride uber to the peak?
uber and taxi rate are not much different.
hihihehe
post Dec 5 2023, 04:32 PM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 4 2023, 11:50 PM)
Generally have to share table during peak hours depending on the shop specialty, can be morning breakfast or afternoon lunch or tea breaks / dessert or dinner. Or if the shop is full of tourist all the time.

If go during off-hours, possible to have whole table to yourself.
Off hours breakfast 9:30am-11:30am
Off hours lunch 2pm or 2:30pm onwards

My most recent trip last month trying something else on top of some regular ones I always go
Kwan Kee Claypot Rice 坤記煲仔小菜 near Sai Ying Pun MTR
Start queue at 5pm for dinner, open at 5;30pm, done by 7pm+ but look at the queue.

Next trip will try other new stuff already in list.

icon_rolleyes.gif
how's the claypot rice? better as expected?

i am flying off this weekend to hk for 2nd time and i missed out claypot rice during my 1st time there
hihihehe
post Dec 19 2023, 12:00 AM

13,451 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Dec 2 2023, 04:49 PM)
are all coffeeshops in HK always crowded and congested?

and must sit next to strangers?
just came back few days ago and the weather still warm even at 23c. wore tshirts + shorts for whole trip. the weather only started to be colder yesterday

try to avoid famous coffeeshops during weekend as the queue is longer but in and out quite fast. only the dim sum at city hall took 2 hours for waiting time during weekend so avoid dim sum on weekend

as we went in group of 6, only 1 or 2 occasions where we have to share tables coz some tables can sit up to 8 pax

also went to shenzhen for a day trip and the immigration counter took about 5 minutes to clear 1 person for non-citizen even though the queue wasn't that long. it could be a new system for newly announced visa free for some countries?

0.0865sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:21 PM