Travel South Korea V6, Seoul & Everything Korean

COOLPINK
post Nov 1 2018, 04:27 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(horumo @ Nov 1 2018, 04:20 PM)
planning to go SK on 3rd-9th november.

already booked wiyo wifi. total 71.50. deposit 200.

just want to ask is it okay to wear normal sweater only while wearing heat tech & another shirt?
night time will get really cold.
advisable to bring along a thick jacket.
COOLPINK
post Feb 25 2019, 05:23 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ Feb 21 2019, 12:14 AM)
Yup, I booked through AJ Car Rental and enjoyed driving there. The driver there are pretty “gentle” (you know what I mean if you drive in KL before). Just need to get used to drive on opposite direction.

And also make sure you get your international driving license before going.
in south korea if somebody put signal to cut in or out they will actually give way unlike here jahanam put signal driver will speed up and horn like hell instead of give way.
COOLPINK
post Feb 26 2019, 08:22 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Feb 25 2019, 05:56 PM)
Really? not sure about road etiquette but heard they are very unforgiving especially in Seoul.
yes really.
but as usual every country got their own rempits on their road.

COOLPINK
post Nov 20 2019, 05:16 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 20 2019, 05:09 PM)
me heading on 2nd weekend of december. gotta be freezing
day time still ok.
night time the temperature can drop below 0.
better be prepared.
COOLPINK
post Nov 20 2019, 05:33 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 20 2019, 05:28 PM)
buy medium size heat packs
dun forget basic winter gear - beanie hat, glove, scarf, winter jacket and warm socks.

COOLPINK
post Nov 21 2019, 04:48 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Nov 21 2019, 04:19 PM)
Hi guys, I m planning for family trip to korea during next year CNY (28/1 – till 4/2/), will travel with my 2 kids (6 years old / 4 years old) and my mother (69 years old), need some suggestion here.
-Mainly to experience winter / snow which they never encounter before
-prefer flexibility while travel with children / elderly, thus unlikely to join trip from klook/kkday
-Night/evening activity depend on the children stamina

Tentative itinerary
28/1 – midnight flight via MAS – reach seoul the next morning
29/1 (wed) – Early Check in Airbnb near Seoul station, Short rest / lunch nearby - Namsan – Seoul tower
Recommend to take the cable car ? or take the bus to seoul tower? Read that to reach the cable car station require quite some walk too.
30/1 (thurs)- Hanbok Rental – should start in Gyeongbok palace or Bukchon Hanok Village?
31/1 (Fri)- No plan yet – seoul city tour – any recommend which part of city worth to visit, does not fancy to visit any themepark this time, and not a shopping person
1/2 (Sat)– Nami island & garden of morning calm – most likely DIY tour – via ITX to gapyong – then with taxi
2/2 (Sun)– Overnight with Vivaldi park – hw many hour recommend in snowyland ?
3/2 (Mon)-  Leaving Vivaldi park @ 1pm – going back to seoul – Free and easy / shopping
4/2 – Flight @ 11am

lastly, my mother has some special diet .. she does not consume poultry / beef.. usually restaurant that sell ginseng chicken / friend chicken etc, does they have alternative for eg seafood or others?
most of the places that are worth visiting involves a lot of walking especially hiking.
even gyeongbok palace takes a few hours to walk around if you want to see everything.

anyway here is my 2 cents.

28/1 – midnight flight via MAS – reach seoul the next morning
29/1 (wed) – Early Check in Airbnb near Seoul station, Short rest / lunch nearby - Namsan – Seoul tower
Recommend to take the cable car ? or take the bus to seoul tower? Read that to reach the cable car station require quite some walk too.
- best if you can take a taxi if you want to take the cable car. the way to the cable car station is quite hilly.

30/1 (thurs)- Hanbok Rental – should start in Gyeongbok palace or Bukchon Hanok Village? '
- rental of hanbok is by hour. best you rent at gyeongbok palace because if you wear hanbok u get free entry to the palace.

31/1 (Fri)- No plan yet – seoul city tour – any recommend which part of city worth to visit, does not fancy to visit any themepark this time, and not a shopping person
- visit gangnam district, hangang park, dangdaemun design plaza or ihwa mural village maybe?

1/2 (Sat)– Nami island & garden of morning calm – most likely DIY tour – via ITX to gapyong – then with taxi
- garden of morning calm is about 2 hours away by bus from nami island. plan your trip accordingly. best to be there by evening for the led lighting. the lighting is turned on only during winter season.

2/2 (Sun)– Overnight with Vivaldi park – hw many hour recommend in snowyland ?
- well spend as much time as you want because its quite fun especially for kids bcs other than that there is not much to do at vivaldi.

3/2 (Mon)- Leaving Vivaldi park @ 1pm – going back to seoul – Free and easy / shopping

4/2 – Flight @ 11am

as for food no chicken / beef they have many restaurants menu with pork. e.g. Korean BBQ or braised pork knuckle

pack proper winter clothing as seoul winter can be harsh.
enjoy your holiday. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Nov 21 2019, 05:10 PM
COOLPINK
post Nov 21 2019, 04:51 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 21 2019, 10:42 AM)
december isn't korea's coldest time
january and february is
and i'm going mid of february laugh.gif  puke.gif
from the forecast the winter this season for january and feb is not too cold.
but its too early to tell so hope for the best.
COOLPINK
post Nov 21 2019, 05:09 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 21 2019, 05:02 PM)
i don't trust forecast(i trust history statistics instead)
i only need to know it's cold..like negative celsius cold
i don't trust forecast because 3 years ago in tokyo, forecast say around 10c
when i reach there, i was wondering why is it so cold, turns out it's 3c up until the 2nd last day...means i only enjoyed 1 day of the temperature that is forecasted
the other days, i was freezing and shivering(under prepared for other parts of body other than the body itself)
that why they call it forecast. laugh.gif
but for 1-3 days in advance its dang accurate.

thats why during winter season dun play play, always pack proper winter gear whether it is freezing or not.
but for the first time experiencing winter many people will be shock how fast the temperature drops after the sun goes down. right? right? brows.gif
COOLPINK
post Nov 25 2019, 08:46 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 23 2019, 08:47 PM)
for my trip, i wanna visit as much place as possible
so i don't wanna waste time on taking train(follow their schedule)
and since i'm going on winter, i wanna end it at gardens of morning calm for it's winter illumination before going back
so best way for me is to just take day trip tour
yes less headache if you take tour as they know the expected time to travel between all those places.
i guess you book the nami island, petite france and garden of morning calm day tour?
COOLPINK
post Nov 25 2019, 09:48 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 25 2019, 09:04 AM)
i booked the all 4 location
petite france, nami island, gangchon rail bike and garden of the morning calm
then its good you took the tour bcs visiting all 4 places in one day is tight. thumbsup.gif
but rail bike during winter thats gonna be challenging sweat.gif

COOLPINK
post Nov 25 2019, 09:58 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(siewbow @ Nov 25 2019, 07:51 AM)
Weather for Dec, Jan, Feb is cold and you might have difficulty staying out for long. With the cold wave sweeping towards Seoul during these time you will need a windproof winter jacket.

Weather forecast in Korea is quite accurate and useful during winter season. Try to use is as often as possible to plan ur visit. Choose sunny day if you wish to visit outdoor and cloudy day for indoors attractions.

Clothing is important, get a good jacket. In Korea you can get a box of heatpack in Lotte, homeplus , daiso and try to use it as often as possible. During cold weather u won't able to walk for long, prob half an hour depending on weather n how well your body can adapt.

Unless snow mountain you may skip most of the botanical park as it is dull and empty during this time. Nami island will be good if it is snowing as it has nice scenery for photo. So use weather forecast to check which day is snowing and plan your trip wisely.
forecast is accurate 7 days in advance.
the forecast for Jan and Feb is changing week to week.
compared with last week it would seem its going to get colder now.
but still ok considering last year it dropped -17°C during day time when they had a snow storm.

different people, different tolerance to the cold.
i have seen people wear shorts outside during winter, but they are definately not asians. laugh.gif

yes during winter everything is dull unless there is snow.
only consolation is if you go in Dec you can enjoy the christmas decorations.

COOLPINK
post Nov 25 2019, 10:42 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 25 2019, 10:18 AM)
ya...winter schedule is start 10AM
end at around 9.30PM

and i'm betting on the challenging part as well, because you're travelling anyway..why not try something out of your comfort zone laugh.gif
and i'm betting not much people join as well
because from all the nami island tour that is offered in klook, only 3 offered to go to all 4...a very rare package
and only 2-3 days per week only, it's not a daily tour
thats the spirit! thumbup.gif

freezing wind blowing in your face for around 50mins is numbing i tell you.
bring along a scarf to protect your face or keep your beard long. laugh.gif
COOLPINK
post Nov 26 2019, 08:32 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(applesmiley @ Nov 25 2019, 11:13 PM)
All the best in planning, always leave some buffer in case of delays  smile.gif
during winter....

cold + snow = ok
cold + rain = die lo....
COOLPINK
post Nov 26 2019, 01:59 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Nov 26 2019, 11:56 AM)
hi guys,

in korea, is it require to 1 person 1 food when order?

my gf is literally a small eater, we might plan share 1 food, is it allowable?
some of the places require each person to order or the menu is for 2 pax min, but not all.
i would say mostly all, its their culture or something.
its difficult to spot a korean eating alone at a table.

COOLPINK
post Nov 26 2019, 02:03 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(applesmiley @ Nov 25 2019, 11:13 PM)
All the best in planning, always leave some buffer in case of delays  smile.gif
eland cruise you take the midnight one?
COOLPINK
post Nov 29 2019, 08:35 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(chockie @ Nov 28 2019, 01:34 PM)
there are some restaurants with single seat for solo diner.
the food portion in korea is so huge. even for 1 pax, I cannot finish..so ended up just one meal a day.
but for bbq, I did not get to try cause need 2 pax.
yup. portions are huge.
especially the jajangmyeon.
and yet you can see some koreans add rice to their jajangmyeon. sweat.gif
COOLPINK
post Nov 29 2019, 08:38 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Nov 28 2019, 06:04 PM)
Some live updates.
I still have approx 21 hours on my pass as of now.
I have covered:
Day 1:
Mbc world
Football faentasium

Started at 4pm for day1
Google map screw me up big time.
Enjoyed both personally

Day 2:
Teseum
L’atelier
Alive museum
Kimchikan (can skip this lah)
Runningman
Grevin (figures are a bit outdated and starts are in their prime compared to current age)

Day 3:
Hanok cultural village (nothing much)
National museum of contemporary arts (too abstract, can skip)
Gyeonbukong palace
Seoul city tour bus
N Seoul tower
Animation Center (really for small kiddo)

Tmrw last leg planning to cover:
Figure museum
Coed aquarium
SM town theatre
Lotte world

I skip the hanbok bcos I was alone and no reason to wear fancy clothes and take picture myself 😂😂😂

Google map screw me multiple times. Pay extra attention to road direction and place of taking bus.
Wasted a lot of time getting my rides and direction to walk.
when in korea use Naver Map.
google map still sucks although it has improved from last time.

COOLPINK
post Nov 29 2019, 08:38 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Nov 28 2019, 04:38 PM)
It's currently 7 deg here in Gangnam
thanks for the update.
still bearable.... brows.gif

COOLPINK
post Nov 29 2019, 09:54 AM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 29 2019, 09:18 AM)
this morning its -4 on google laugh.gif
which shop's jajangmyeon do u recommend?
-4°C better get proper winter gear, no joke.
weather still cannot predict accurately yet for 1-2 weeks ahead.
i have been looking at the forecast and it still keeps on changing.

honestly i dunno how to recommend.
im not a fan of their traditional jajangmyeon.

got friends took me a chinese retaurant somewhere on the way to Osan.
their version of hot plate jajangmyeon was very good and cheap.
unfortunately i did not take note the name of the place as we were rushing and it was really out of the way from any tourist spots cry.gif
besides the name was in korean anyway sweat.gif

not many food is suitable for me in korea.
i always go for the BBQ whenever i can. nod.gif

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Nov 29 2019, 09:54 AM
COOLPINK
post Dec 18 2019, 01:55 PM

3,663 posts

QUOTE(flowerbloomX @ Dec 16 2019, 02:18 PM)
Yes, I'm looking at that time period too. Do you know of any spring related activities to do there?
spring time is a good to visit all the public park there.
and if your timing is good dun forget to see the cheery blossoms (sakura) too.

check out the dates for the Yeouido Cherry Blossom Festival Apr 6 – Apr 13 2020

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Dec 18 2019, 02:02 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0763sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:11 AM