sweet_pez
post Feb 27 2017, 01:45 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(kewong94 @ Feb 23 2017, 05:49 AM)
What is the food expense range there like? I will be travelling to Japan for probably a week and was thinking how would the cost be like for food? I have a rough idea on how mahal the accommodation and other expense will be like, but I am still unsure how much it will be.

For those who have traveled there before, how much was your food expense for your stay?
I think there was a reply on food prices and the cost was somewhere there.

But to give you an idea, I usually 'ration' my money. Eg, 100,000 yen for 10 days = 10,000 yen (RM400) per day. So if the first day I only used up 6,000 yen (RM240), balance 4,000 yen (RM160) will be added to my Day 2. As such, on Day 2 I will have 14,000yen to go around.

So 100,00 yen for 9 days is yes. If i minus the shopping i did in Tokyo and only count in the food, transport, entrance tickets, snacks and necessity purchase, 100,000 for 10 days was doable. But unfortunately there were much to buy biggrin.gif you have to know your own character when it comes to spending.

Estimated food price:
Ramen/ soba noodles:
400-600yen (RM16-RM24) is considered cheap.
700-800+yen (RM28 and above) is considered reasonable/ average.
1,000yen+ (RM40+ and above) is expensive.

You can even find 100yen sushi around but these places are usually very packed and you'll have to queue for your turn. Queue duration depends on whether you visit which branch/ outlet and what time of the day you're there.

Cheaper alternatives come in the form of konbini bentou (convenient store meal box) eg. FAMIMA (Family Mart), 7-11, MiniStop etc. Just to cite an example - in konbini, you can enjoy a set of Karaage Bentou (4-5pcs of regular sized chicken pieces, rice and 2-3 side dishes) for the estimated price of 400-450yen. If you convert, yes, its not cheap but hey you're in Japan. That is the living standard of the Japanese. You will not be able to get a Karaage Bentou set for that price if you eat in a restaurant.

In fact for an average Japanese, if you spend RM400 (10,000yen) in a day, that's considered a lot.

So assuming you do a simple calculation for 1 day expenditure:
-> Breakfast at Doutor: grab a set of sandwich + coffee @ 500yen
-> Lunch: ramen place @ 1,000yen
-> Teatime: dessert place/ cafe @ 1,000yen
-> Dinner: Soba/ rice set (donburi) @ 1,000yen
-> Snacks/ supper @ 500yen (eg shop in FAMIMA)
-> Transport for the day cost @ 1,000yen (depending on where you go)
-> Misc expenses @ 1,000yen

TOTAL: 6,000yen = RM240
Perhaps set this as the minimum allocation per day and check how much balance you have everyday. On the last 2-3 days of your trip, SPLURGE devil.gif

Should set a higher amount on food because all the meals, snacks and desserts in Japan is simply 一番 (ichiban)!

QUOTE(cmah89 @ Feb 23 2017, 06:29 AM)
Hopefully 100k yen enough to use for 9 days (exclude stay/flight)

Next Friday flying liao
Definitely enough for basic stuffs. You can refer to my calculations above!

As long as you don't over shop. Or if you need to buy a lot of stuffs, swipe your CC and save the cash. Most restaurants do not accept card and transportation will definitely need cash.

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 26 2017, 09:40 AM)
Where to stay in Osaka for a night for 3 person? hmm.gif
QUOTE(Fyonne @ Sep 25 2016, 08:16 PM)

Ever consider AirBnB? Or, what about staying in a temple in Nara. My apologies if your religion is different/ non permissible etc.

While I have not been to Kyoto/ Osaka yet, I have received many recommendations to actually stay in a Temple to experience the way of life of the monks. It is pricey because all food is purely prepared by the monks themselves and its very well done. Wake up early in the morning and see the monks do their ceremonies/ chant/ prayer.

And in fact, 1 of my friend said his best meal (ever) in Japan was in one of the temple he stayed in Mt. Koya. Consider this option if you're keen/ interested thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 27 2017, 02:09 PM
sweet_pez
post Feb 27 2017, 01:50 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Feb 26 2017, 10:54 PM)
food in osaka
breakfast set 400-500 yen
meal in yoshinoya/sukiya set with soup,salad,main meal around 500-600 yen
Uhurhur I love Doutor. For breakfast, I still find eating in Yoshinoya etc is a little heavy hahahaha so personally I'd hit up the nearby Doutor or just grab something from the konbini. But yes, places like Yoshinoya is convenient (some run 24hours! was so surprised when i found out) and value for money.
sweet_pez
post Feb 27 2017, 02:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Feb 22 2017, 02:21 PM)
Guys hakone free pass can buy at any stations at mount fuji ? Coz I went to kawaguchiko first from Shinjuku , for a over night

Then take bus to hakone area ......

Which is best solution , buy at Shinjuku and activate it at hakone (if possible ) ? Or buy at stations at hakone area ?
Hi, you gotta get your Hakone roundtrip pass from Shinjuku station. Buy from Shinjuku station. Hakone is not like Disneyland whereby you get a pass from a ticketing booth at the entrance and then go in.

Buying a round trip pass saved you time and money. I would suggest you top up a little to ride the Romancecar which is faster than transiting the trains. I did the latter (due to lack of experience) and end up spending 3 hours to get to Hakone! There was so much time lost sad.gif

As for why should you buy the tickets in Shinjuku station beforehand, its because:
- There are limitation to tickets. During peak season, tickets may finish early.
- The ticketing booth is not open 24/7, and I think it operates from 9am or 10am onwards. However train starts operation as early as 5 or 6am. You can get a good head start with the tickets on hand.

sweet_pez
post Feb 28 2017, 12:09 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(kewong94 @ Feb 28 2017, 03:52 AM)
Hmm, that is not too bad actually. But I will be in Tokyo and Osaka for a 1 week period and doubt I will go to Yoshinoya though, mostly from time contraint D:
Some of my friends staying there says Osaka food is cheaper than Tokyo, and since most of my time will be in Osaka then....FOOD HEAVEN HERE I COME haha xD
Ahh alright, that is a huge insight for me. I was actually scrolling through all 84 pages and might have missed it. My main reason for going Japan for 1 week is to drown in food there haha! I have not been back to Malaysia in 3 years and the food overseas are slowly getting boring. Can't wait to prepare to fly off to Japan this Summer, thanks a lot!  notworthy.gif
Wah really? So you'll be in 2 places in a week? There's so much to Tokyo biggrin.gif I did 10 days in Tokyo and still didn't mange to cover a lot places haha. My turn to return to Tokyo in 2018!

Anyway since you're looking for food, you may want to check this out:

https://guide.michelin.sg/en/michelin-starr...budget-in-tokyo

And depending on the period you're in Japan, look forward to any possible Matsuri (festival) that will be held during your time there. It'll definitely be fun and worth experiencing wink.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Feb 28 2017, 12:10 PM
sweet_pez
post Mar 1 2017, 12:40 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(kewong94 @ Mar 1 2017, 07:51 AM)
I will be done with Uni on May, and will be heading to Japan probably early June. And yeah, like you said it will definitely be fun especially doing some solo travelling  biggrin.gif
Solo travelling! I'm thinking of doing one too, but probably to Kyoto-Osaka. Perhaps next year or something... at least till I've mastered some Japanese to have decent conversations laugh.gif

Early June will be the start of summer, but its still in transition from spring to summer so it shouldn't be very hot yet. Just be more alert around some areas like Roppongi when you're there at night. All the best in your travel, and most importantly, have fun!

QUOTE(JIEZZ @ Mar 1 2017, 08:31 AM)
Hi Guys, can commend on my itinerary? issit too pack, or impossible? or i missed some place? im flying this saturday, will stay at shinjuku airbnb.

Looks decent to me, but just a recommendation - you may want to do Ginza on a weekend because from 11am onwards, the Chuo Dori (street) landmark: Uniqlo, GU - is closed and pedestrians can stroll around, take photos etc. Its one of the main reason I keep going back to Ginza whenever I'm in Tokyo nod.gif

Some places that you may want to consider exploring if you've never been:
- Shibuya (crossing, Hachiko, Shibuya 109 etc)
- Tokyo Tower
- Meiji Shrine & Yoyogi park (next to each other)
- Nakano Broadway (nearby Ueno)
- Tokyo Station, Imperial Palace (nearby as well)

Unless you have a full day to spare, otherwise I would not recommend side trips like Kamakura.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 1 2017, 12:43 PM
sweet_pez
post Mar 2 2017, 10:12 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Mar 1 2017, 05:30 PM)
day 6 maybe u can do this
Sensoji Temple > Nakamise street (beside sensoji) > walk to Takeshita Street > walk to shibuya then take JR from Shibuya station to Akihabara.

FYI, Shops in Akihabara closes kinda early especially on weekdays. As early as 8pm sometimes (Figurine and Anime shop). Arcades will be 11.30pm - 12am. If u like UFO clow machine and it is hard, u can ask the workers to help u to put the prize in an easier position. Works everytime.
What?! CAN DO THAT?!!! Omg i'm gonna be a meanie and make fun of a friend who spent around RM100 playing. He said it looked easy but each time also fail laugh.gif
sweet_pez
post Mar 3 2017, 09:37 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 2 2017, 02:57 PM)
I'd suggest you get DisneySea tickets here before you go. I reach DisneySea 8.15am and the queue to buy ticket is long! Few websites to buy tickets actually.

The extra few minutes for you saved from buying ticket over the counter can save you alot of time for the game queues.
I rent my place last year Oct or Nov, just came back last week, no problem whatsoever. If you are really worried, can always go for the recommendations on first page.

Eh wanna ask, I know Universal Studio has Express Pass - does Disney offer them as well?

And I agree on the AirBnB part. I came back in Jan (this year) from Nagoya and there was no issue.

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 2 2017, 02:57 PM)

Btw, I'm very much hooked to the culture there! I miss Japan! Anyone wants to go to Tokyo with strangers for a new experience, do let me know! I'm looking for people to go along!

My initial date is 31st August until 4th of September.
I can understand. I went for the first time in March last year but it was such a short trip that I came home feeling very dissatisfied. Flew there again in Nov for autumn. And then an adhoc trip end of Dec-Jan '17 HAHAHA everyone said i overdid it but I find that people who has been to Japan will... understand the feeling of wanting to return again and again.

Going with strangers? Even sometimes going with friends could result in disagreement hahahaha isn't it worse with strangers??

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 2 2017, 05:19 PM)
if you are girl..surely here will have kakis raising their hands

icon_idea.gif
LOLLL!!!! Or if the one asking is good looking cool2.gif

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 2 2017, 05:24 PM)
Too bad I'm not.. laugh.gif well just want make friends and have people to go with. Is hard to find people who share the same hobby.. sad.gif
Yes indeed, I understand. The only place I will ever visit from now on (out of Malaysia) will be Japan innocent.gif my goal - 1 Japan trip each year! But perhaps have to skip this year.

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Mar 2 2017, 07:14 PM)
During my first trip there, i went Sega in Akihabara, so that time i already spent like around 1400 yen then the worker is standing beside me. So i tell that guy, muzukashi desu neee, then he open the lock and put it in a super easy position. It works at most big arcade franchise. I get 4 prizes with average of 1k - 1.5k yen during my last month trip. GL !
Omg how one phrase makes wonder. Such a good idea! Will get one of my friend to try this next time hahahaha

4 prizes though? but its not possible to keep saying "muzukashi desu nee" in 4 different machines loll!

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 3 2017, 01:05 AM)
Since this is related, I would like to ask you guys..

The currency now is pretty bad. Any idea or insight news that the currency would go RM38.90 or below? laugh.gif
My sensei said not within the short term. In fact, its better you buy the currency now (its relatively cheap, RM39.45) and keep it if you're going for trip in the upcoming few months. Yen might keep going up because of our weak currency.

sweet_pez
post Mar 3 2017, 10:01 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Darth Vaper @ Mar 3 2017, 01:40 AM)
I booked from store in Tokyo who will send it to chitose airport. 6 days rental about RM195. SoftBank pocket wifi.
Optionally, stay in airBnB that offers free pocket wifi! biggrin.gif did that in March and Nov trip, saved on that ^___^

Or, for those who stays in Hotel and need to rent a pocket Wifi, try Klook. Download the app KLOOK and look under the Travel & WIFI category. Saw one that costs 500yen per day (RM20 per day). Try to check if there's any cheaper alternative/ options.
sweet_pez
post Mar 8 2017, 12:02 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(rush25 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:57 AM)

Thanks for the detailed info biggrin.gif Disney isn't really my type of a thing (i'm no Disney princess) but still worth checking out at least once I suppose? Due to childhood's sake HAHAHA. Won't be possible for my 2018 trip but perhaps 2019 or 2020 if I could make another trip to Tokyo.

I suppose 2 days will be needed for both Disneyland and Sea ya (1 day each)?

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 3 2017, 02:36 PM)
Yes. Fast pass. I think the cool down period is every two hours.
Yes. I honestly have the urge to go back again, knowing that I have not explored fully.
No la as in go together.. if disagreement then just split ways lol.. I'm aiming now at August .. not sure if is going to materialise. No friends to go with. So sad.
August will be kinda hot though ohmy.gif no, rephrase: very hot. Why choose August?? Hey, no friends can backpack and make new friends there?

QUOTE(Nandeska @ Mar 3 2017, 10:59 PM)
ahahha !! i dont say it at all the machines la of coz, different branches and some stuff is easier to get. Like the big pokeball and posters are easier to get. The hardest one now would be the Saber Alter figure, need like 2k - 3k yen to get it. Pikachu in sweater is hard too, try it on ur next trip there, its fun if u get it urself than buying  rclxm9.gif
WUT hahaha so mahal! But but but perhaps with that money I could buy the toy ady laugh.gif I shall give it a shot but probably only once or twice.

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 4 2017, 03:17 PM)
If ANA got the right time for you then pick ANA

JAL not really recommended because some flight schedule is operated by MAS
Yes!!!! I bought JAL but departure from KUL-NRT is MAS. However NRT-KUL was operated by JAL and it was comfortable. I had an enjoyable flight biggrin.gif

sweet_pez
post Mar 8 2017, 12:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Mar 4 2017, 08:27 PM)
Ok, then I can book it. I heard from relatives who just went to Tokyo area during cny, their booking being cancelled due to this issue.
You mean AirBnB? I experienced something similar in November. 1.5 weeks prior to my trip, I received an email from the airBnB host that they had to cancel my booking because they were not allowed to rent out the apartment anymore. Perhaps previous guests were too noisy/ didn't adhere to rules and the residents complaint.

Solution was: they offered me another accommodation owned in Shinjuku. After checking out the place (and it less comfortable for 3 people), i decided to cancel the booking and rent another place instead. The money was fully refunded to me (it was very fast, within a day or two?).

Yes I agree it wasn't pleasant to have my booking cancelled last minute especially when I booked it 4-5 months in advance. I actually panicked at first, and was wondering what to tell my friends. Luckily everything worked out in the end biggrin.gif

QUOTE(skydrake @ Mar 7 2017, 12:16 AM)
First time going to Tokyo coming mid October. Making itinerary now, in case I miss out anything.. still reading and digesting on all the given links in google and here. Any places outskirt Tokyo which is nice to go for a day?
You can consider Nikko, Kamakura, Hakone, Fuji 5 Lakes, Yokohama etc.

Here's some info/ reference: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3051.html

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 8 2017, 11:13 AM)
budget 2500 how to go japan? laugh.gif

the cheapest flight also need about 3/4 of the budget
Eh only possible if flight is super cheap. My friend only spent RM3.9 for the whole Nagoya-Takayama-Shirakawa-Go-Nagoya trip. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT. Our flight was RM890 via Vietnam Airline wink.gif ...and we managed to purchase the Seishun Kippu on the very last day (of sale). Thank god, and we fully utilized it. Even went to Nabana no Sato in Kuwana: http://www.nagashima-onsen.co.jp:8010/page.jsp?id=13894 ...He works in Singapore, so that's just $1,300 for him *rips pillow*
sweet_pez
post Mar 9 2017, 05:17 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Hearts @ Mar 9 2017, 10:36 AM)
Hey guys,

Will be in Japan for a week at the end of March and I was wondering if you guys can give me an idea or recommendation for tourist sim card / Data Plans while I'm there? Thank you!
Must you make calls? Otherwise just get a WIFI router and share. Sure more than enough.

QUOTE(chinti @ Mar 9 2017, 02:14 PM)
how is vietnam airline? i saw it super cheap tht day when im booking air ticket, i went for ANA tho. and i booked hostel 10 days for RM1200, three different hostel, would b cheaper if i booked all same but i hv my reason.
Vietnam Air was surprisingly good. Had to transit for my Nagoya trip (KUL-HCM / HCM-NGY) but the ride was pretty comfortable. Seats and leg room better than MAS (economy flight, not joking here) and although, there's no personal screen for in-flight entertainment, I've got my own tab with songs and videos.

QUOTE(Davidfts @ Mar 9 2017, 03:07 PM)
Hi There

Got planning to visit to tokyo next year MAY. Travel with Me, Wife and a 5yrs old son. Staying at Shibuya Excel Hotel. The RM10k doesn't cover hotel, transportation (Jr Express From Narita Airport x 3 x round), Suica card x 3 . RM10k is just for spending, in Disneyland n Disneysea n Suica top-up, and others.
I agree with the others' comments that RM10k is in fact, a surplus for 3 of you including your child. Since your son is only 5, a lot of things will either be free of charge or only half price/ minimum fee.

sweet_pez
post Mar 9 2017, 06:04 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(kiddd @ Mar 9 2017, 05:36 PM)
Looking for advise:

I'm going to Tokyo for 10 days.

But I'm not planning to go Kyoto/Osaka, would it be too "boring" if staying in Tokyo for that long?
Definitely not. I went Tokyo 10 days and there was so much I didn't manage to do.
When will you be travelling?

You can do Hakone-Kawaguchiko 3 days 2 nights to explore the place in depth. You can also opt to do side trips to places outside Tokyo (estimated at 1-2 hours away from Tokyo) like Nikko for 2Days 1Night or just day trip. Same for Kamakura and Yokohama. There's so much to do that there'll never be enough time!!

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 9 2017, 06:05 PM
sweet_pez
post Mar 9 2017, 07:13 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(kiddd @ Mar 9 2017, 06:30 PM)
I'm going there on 16 April next month. Not sure if I have the chance to see sakura.

Thanks for the advise, i'll do some research base on it!

But one thing that made me really sad is the 1:1 RX78 gundam no longer there  cry.gif
It's my wishlist for many years, and they just announce it after i book my flight haih
I think mid-April is fine biggrin.gif

I've only been to Hakone, Takao-san and Kawagoe. If you don't have much time, I would recommend to skip Kawagoe because... its too commercialized (for me, that is) and there wasn't much space for pedestrians to walk. All the main roads remain accessible for cars so its really cramped/ narrow. But still, its a good stroll.

Here's some suggestion for side trips (out of Tokyo city) that you can consider.
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3051.html

Eh they're replacing the Gundam with something else, just that not sure if it'll be up by mid-April. I still believe you should visit Odaiba because Diver City is nice to shop/ walk around. There are several souvenir shops that's pretty big, and do enjoy the food court as they serve a variety of food.

And besides, couldn't say no to the beautiful view from the deck biggrin.gif
P/S: its even better at night!
sweet_pez
post Mar 9 2017, 07:19 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 9 2017, 06:59 PM)
I think you can skip Tokyo Tower since you already going to Skytree. Usually people suggest to only go one of the tower. But is really up to you. laugh.gif
Tokyo is quite huge to explore. Just Shinjuku and Shibuya could easily cost you 1-2 days at least if you were to explore fully. After that two, there's Odaiba, Ginza, Tokyo to explore too. You go out of town detour like Mt Fuji and Disneyland/DinsneySea. 10 full days in Tokyo, can take 1 or 2 outskirt visits I reckon. laugh.gif
Noooooooooooooooo. I still suggest to go Tokyo Tower! It is one of the icon of Jepangggg. Maybe just choose either Tokyo Tower or Skytree for the view. Also, can always drop by Tokyo Tower to take photos from outside, and go up to the 1st and 2nd floor to shop/ walk around and not necessarily pay for the observation deck.

And its even more of a MUST-GO if you're a One Piece fan wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif ONE PIECE TOWER! LUFFY AND CHOPPER STATUE OUTSIDE! MUGIWARA STORE! SANJI RESTORAN! kyaaaaaaaa *huge fan*
sweet_pez
post Mar 10 2017, 09:35 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 9 2017, 08:11 PM)
Yes either Tower or Skytree, that's what most of the people said. But you know what? I didn't went for neither. Ueno day was too busy and Akihabara was dragging us down. laugh.gif Ended up we skipped Skytree. doh.gif
Ueno and Akihabara is awesome, I could go around in Akiba whole day and not finish with shopping! But Tokyo Skytree is really nice - especially the Tokyo Solamachi. Next time do drop by biggrin.gif

There's always a better and free option laugh.gif guess where I went for night view??

sweet_pez
post Mar 10 2017, 03:56 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Mar 10 2017, 01:12 PM)

Tokyo Metropolitan Building?
QUOTE(poringporing @ Mar 10 2017, 03:12 PM)
Tokyo metropolitan. But how did you manage such a clear pic.. the whole area is enclosed in glass. I had to take a jacket to cover my lense..
Hahahaha no no, it isn't.

Most people know of the Tokyo Metropolitan Building but not so much of Yebisu's Garden Tower. Its actually an office building, but the 38th and 39th floor are restaurants. However, you can go up to the 38th floor and there's a row of panels (glass) where you can check out the night view. Its open for public and you don't have to dine in to visit.

I love how I could see the beautiful night illuminations especially the Tokyo Tower! If you're in Tokyo Tower, you could see the other places but couldn't take photo of the tower with the night scene. But from Yebisu (which is, 15-20min away from Shibuya), you could clearly see Tokyo Tower wub.gif

QUOTE(poringporing @ Mar 10 2017, 03:12 PM)
But how did you manage such a clear pic.. the whole area is enclosed in glass. I had to take a jacket to cover my lense..
Btw that shot is taken using my Samsung phone nia biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 10 2017, 03:57 PM
sweet_pez
post Mar 13 2017, 12:53 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 13 2017, 08:06 AM)
as long as the flight didnt delay or delay much
u can made it into the city no problem
i made it using the 2nd last train @ 11.40PM, not even the last train on midnight
Ahh but its indeed a risk laugh.gif in my first trip, landed 30min earlier than expected but was stuck in immigration for pretty long. We managed to catch the last train (my friend said so). Perhaps it'll also have to depend which day of the week you land, as I believe the train operates differently on a weekday/ weekend.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 13 2017, 10:03 AM)
3 - 9 Sep no more liao

too bad i am not free end Sep...
Hmmm but early Sept is the start of autumn. If you're looking towards experiencing fall, it has to be the peak season hmm.gif
sweet_pez
post Mar 13 2017, 03:19 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 13 2017, 01:50 PM)
not really
the schedule has been fixed like 3 months before
can be checked online directly
and its very damn accurate
Ehhhh really? Now I know hahaha. But AA's Tokyo flight timing isn't the best, I'm always worried its delayed.

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Mar 13 2017, 02:21 PM)
based on past years experience...koyo in kansai area is at the peak during early Nov - early Dec...and AA fares during this period is expensive, hence i rather take ANA or JAL
True that. Considering AA's flight is say, around RM1.3k including baggage, I'd rather top up a little for ANA or JAL. Unless the price difference is huge, eg half or more.
sweet_pez
post Mar 15 2017, 05:48 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(rikimtasu @ Mar 14 2017, 09:05 PM)
Will be going to tokyo on this september..haven't order a flight ticket yet but it is a good idea to fly with airasia?
Only planned to go to  Akihabara,might add some other place later.
Why not if you manage to get cheap flights biggrin.gif but you'll need to be ready to compromise in terms of comfort.

QUOTE(Guardian @ Mar 14 2017, 10:42 PM)
Ok, seems not scary as I thought , will give it a try then, still seeing lots of airbnb places available on airbnb website.
Yes smile.gif its alright because all money is paid to airBnB. If anything goes wrong, the organization will reimburse you, otherwise imagine trying to chase money from the host. I don't think anyone would want to risk it.

One thing though, is to check reviews before booking. Ensure that the place is what it seems, because some host may say their accommodation near to train station but reviews may say otherwise laugh.gif

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Mar 15 2017, 09:17 AM)
Looks good.

I'm bringing a total sum of RM3k worth of Yen. Enough to cover 10 days?
It is not impossible if you really budget and don't shop (much). However to be safe, bring additional RM1-2k as emergency cash in case you need it. Its not that expensive. My friend only spent RM3,900 for the whole trip including accommodation and flight. Not to mention, our transport was quite costly because we went from Nagoya to Takayama, then to Shirakawa-Go and back.

QUOTE(DozeMeWithTea @ Mar 15 2017, 10:18 AM)
Wow. Didn't know it is that expensive there.

Will convert RM5k worth of Yen just to be safe.

Thanks!
Yep no harm in bringing a bit more thumbup.gif

QUOTE(look416 @ Mar 15 2017, 11:29 AM)
You can forget about it unless you had passed JLPT Level 2.
There are no subtitles and all the movie are dubbed in Japanese.

To help you have a better understanding of how the cinema works, I have included the link below to teach you how to watch movie in cinema in Japan.
http://www.survivingnjapan.com/2011/06/7-t...s-in-japan.html
Really ah??? Need at least JLPT 2 to understand the movie hmm.gif

sweet_pez
post Mar 15 2017, 06:20 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(look416 @ Mar 15 2017, 01:01 PM)
There is quite a lot, but for now i only think of a few

Tokyo
Ramen - Tsuta Ramen (first ramen who got 1 star michelin)

Arashiyama
Coffee - % arabica

Fushimi Inari Taisha
Unagi Rice - Nezameya

Osaka/Kyoto
Crab Meal - Kani Doraku - although a lot of people said osaka is better in taste and kyoto has much much less crowd, so easier to book the slot
Okonomiyaki - Issen Yoshoku, famous for travellers.
Its quite time consuming because have to queue for number, and then return to queue again for your meal. However, have not personally tried it, just heard from friends' experience (plus some own research). If time permits in my next trip, will prolly give it a shot too hahaha

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1089sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:46 AM