12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Heating Issue For Laptops, All Brands

windvv2005
post Feb 11 2007, 09:39 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 11 2007, 02:09 PM)
i think if we use a normal desktop casing fan to blow away the heat from the exhaust will make a diffrence.coz the hot air wont dissipate fast enough and the exhaust area got hot.will some sort affect the cooling effect on the notebook.

make sure there is no wires or anything near to the exhaust area coz the air flow will be restricted and build up heat.
Has been using for half year the result is better than normal cooler. smile.gif I think the air flow built up buy 12v fan is not reach the threshold yet.Once it over, the opposite effect may be shown. smile.gif

bobbychin
post Feb 12 2007, 10:33 AM

605 posts

i think i just found something new about this heat thing. whenever i restart the laptop, the temperature of the cpu goes up.from my own theory:

the heat sink built for the laptop cpu is ngam ngam in size to dissipate the heat created by the cpu.very well designed heat sink...so it wont overheat.this is because in a 12inch laptop,there is really no extra space inside.so,the fan,the cpu and heat sink really works together.

when we restart,there is a short moment where the whole system goes off and the cooling fan too. leaving the cpu and heat sink. since the heatsink is normally made of copper or alluminium,they tend to come to an equilibrium heat state as the CPU,where both of them is at same temperature.so the heat from the hot CPU goes over to the heat sink.

when the laptop started again,the fan started to run, but the heat sink's temperature had already risen to a higher level. with the assumption that the fan had a constant heat dissipation, therefore came to the conclusion that the CPU temp is higher after restart.

If the fan can dissipate those extra heat from the duration of shut down, why does the temperature stay fixed .Therefore i suggest that the CPU, heat sink, and fan are perfectly engineered to work together. Maybe they just ignore the problem that people do restart their laptop..sometimes la..for software installation.

android
post Feb 12 2007, 12:43 PM

42 posts

Maybe it's hotter when you start because cpu utilization is high? After everything loads i usually notice temp go down a bit.
adriankhoo153
post Feb 12 2007, 12:54 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Tested the other day using my notebook for an hour at my living room. Man, it really heat up a lot. Normally i use it in my a/c room. Hmm, i guess i got to stick using it in my room only la..
bobbychin
post Feb 12 2007, 02:22 PM

605 posts

when used for few hours..then the heat will just build up..mine will shoot up to 59 degrees and stay there.then can feel the heat at the keyboard.
BTW anyone hadopened any laptop before?i'n still new with my laptop.dont know the design inside.cant really figure out hot to make it cooler

Added on February 12, 2007, 2:27 pmi just recheck the restart thing..really true..before i restart..it was 40degrees..after restart now is 52 degrees.

This post has been edited by bobbychin: Feb 12 2007, 02:27 PM
spayre
post Feb 12 2007, 09:57 PM

hush puppy
1,251 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 12 2007, 02:22 PM)
when used for few hours..then the heat will just build up..mine will shoot up to 59 degrees and stay there.then can feel the heat at the keyboard.
BTW anyone hadopened any laptop before?i'n still new with my laptop.dont know the design inside.cant really figure out hot to make it cooler

Added on February 12, 2007, 2:27 pmi just recheck the restart thing..really true..before i restart..it was 40degrees..after restart now is 52 degrees.
perhaps it depends more on ur laptop build and specs.. external gpu would generate heat.

Off track a bit: Reading ur post, i come to a conclusion that
1. laptop should come with a laptop cooler to cool down the laptop after shutdown or restart

OR

laptop manufacturer should re-think their laptop to have something like a turbo timer.... after shutdown laptop or restart, the inbuild fan would run for extra 5 min... tongue.gif just joking!!!
bukanmain
post Feb 12 2007, 10:06 PM

I'm only 20,still learning..
1,711 posts

dont put on the top of hard wood..if ure using AMD its label as not friendly what..

put on bed also can reduce..

bobbychin
post Feb 12 2007, 11:30 PM

605 posts

well, i tried something new again..when the laptop cpu's temperature is high, i just close the screen and let it go to standby mode.that time the processor wontwork and the HDD will spin slow.but the laptop cooler below still running at full speed. this will cause it to cool down the cpu alot..coz the heat generation is "0" and the fan still extracting heat.

in the end..from 59 degrees drop back to 40+ degrees when i open the screen back..like giving it some time to rest.
unknowndevices
post Feb 13 2007, 10:12 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 12 2007, 02:22 PM)

me also...scared to open the notebook...
still new to it...
yes...anyone mind to share the internal part of their notebook?
any steps to follow for the dismantle of it...

QUOTE(bukanmain @ Feb 12 2007, 10:06 PM)
dont put on the top of hard wood..if ure using AMD its label as not friendly what..

put on bed also can reduce..
put on the bed can reduce the heat? hmm.gif

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 12 2007, 11:30 PM)
well, i tried something new again..when the laptop cpu's temperature is high, i just close the screen and let it go to standby mode.that time the processor wontwork and the HDD will spin slow.but the laptop cooler below still running at full speed. this will cause it to cool down the cpu alot..coz the heat generation is "0" and the fan still extracting heat.

in the end..from 59 degrees drop back to 40+ degrees when i open the screen back..like giving it some time to rest.
ooo...the heat during standby would goes down that much... ohmy.gif
so it's better to keep it standby whenever we're not using it... cool.gif
thanks for the info...what notebook are you using? cool2.gif
bobbychin
post Feb 13 2007, 02:12 PM

605 posts

i'm using twinhead, but i think using the latptop in the bed is a bad i dea.it depends on model actually.if the laptop air intake is at the side then ok la.like like the air intake is below,and there is many vents below.if put on bed,then the heat wont go away..sor short time,maybe it works,coz they got contact with the bed..after long time.guarantee you laptop burn.

once again,depends on design..if there is a hole at the side to suck air in and out..then would be fine i think.
stimix
post Feb 13 2007, 02:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 13 2007, 02:12 PM)
i'm using twinhead, but i think using the latptop in the bed is a bad i dea.it depends on model actually.if the laptop air intake is at the side then ok la.like like the air intake is below,and there is many vents below.if put on bed,then the heat wont go away..sor short time,maybe it works,coz they got contact with the bed..after long time.guarantee you laptop burn.

once again,depends on design..if there is a hole at the side to suck air in and out..then would be fine i think.
Yes agreed..putting on a bed is the worst of all. Infact just 10min on bed u really can feel ur nappie getting so hot oledi...
unknowndevices
post Feb 13 2007, 05:59 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(bobbychin @ Feb 13 2007, 02:12 PM)

ooo...okey...thanks for the reminders... smile.gif

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 13 2007, 02:30 PM)
Yes agreed..putting on a bed is the worst of all. Infact just 10min on bed u really can feel ur nappie getting so hot oledi...
guess...will stick back using notebook on the desk or table then... nod.gif
TSjamezco
post Feb 13 2007, 06:17 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm i always put it on my bed for a while ... while watching a series or 2 ... its ok leh for mine ...

or what u guys can do is if u wanna put the lappie on ur bed ... be sure to put your lappie cooler underneath ... should be sufficient not to burn the lappie or the bed biggrin.gif
unknowndevices
post Feb 13 2007, 07:38 PM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Feb 13 2007, 06:17 PM)
erm i always put it on my bed for a while ... while watching a series or 2 ... its ok leh for mine ...

or what u guys can do is if u wanna put the lappie on ur bed ... be sure to put your lappie cooler underneath ... should be sufficient not to burn the lappie or the bed biggrin.gif
if bed got burned...guess...have to sleep on the sofa or else on the floor(better to have carpet one tongue.gif )... laugh.gif
braindead_fr3ak
post Feb 14 2007, 12:24 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

bed burn nevermind.... hahah... LAPPIE BURN HOW~!!!??!?
windvv2005
post Feb 14 2007, 01:01 AM

162 posts

put on the desk can watch also . Dun put on the bed lah not nice for ur laptop and also for urself.
braindead_fr3ak
post Feb 14 2007, 01:04 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

depends on wat u doin la smile.gif.......
TSjamezco
post Feb 14 2007, 04:48 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Feb 14 2007, 01:04 AM)
depends on wat u doin la smile.gif.......
depends what u doing? care to explain ??? hahahaha xD

nolah sometimes i like to put lappie on bed coz after i finish watching the i will juz put the lappie on the side then juz sleep...

sitting down and watch series a bit the stressful sometimes xD
braindead_fr3ak
post Feb 14 2007, 05:40 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

depends on what u watching....... smile.gif

AIYA .. SORRY LA couldnt help myself.... hahhaha...
boo~

pss.. if u got waterbed ..even worse... non breathable summore..~
mr lappy
post Feb 14 2007, 06:00 AM

398 posts

but if water bed u get your lappy 'water cooled' tongue.gif

get a cooler pad, that way u can put it anywhere u want.

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:50 AM