Heating Issue For Laptops, All Brands

TSjamezco
post Jan 29 2007, 11:13 PM, updated 19y ago

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm ... juz wanna ask u guys other than Acer and toshiba laptops which have heat issue problems ... wat other laptops have this issue???

I am currently running M100, Duo Core 1.66mhz, 1gb ram, ati x1300, 100gb sata model ...

after using this laptop for a year, i notice it heats up when i am in msia (even using Vantech Lapcool 2... still can sweat due to the heat coming from the laptop...) ... when i am in melb there is no prob due to the cold weather there ... my gf will be buying a laptop real soon and i was wondering if the toshiba A100 Core 2 Duo 4mb Cache laptop heat issue have been solved ...

ooo yeah ... not forgetting ... my toshiba batt life sucks ass !

or can anyone recommend me any laptops which are running Core 2 Duo 4mb cache lappies ?

budget 7k and below, 15" inch minimum ...

thx thx

This post has been edited by jamezco: Jan 29 2007, 11:14 PM
TSjamezco
post Jan 29 2007, 11:24 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 29 2007, 11:19 PM)
heat = more power consumption = suck ass batt life = C2D procs

to get the best batt life, get Core Solo, which is practically an undervolted proc which runs on the  avg of 5W (vs 25-40W for P-M / Turion64)

not the best processing power though. a lil bit slow but gets you through normal office apps
means the C2D will cause more heating problems and less batt time ??? omg .. i thought they said intel going to fix this thing and stuff .....

QUOTE(wtm0325 @ Jan 29 2007, 11:20 PM)
as far as i know, current laptops w dedicated gc but still runs cool is IBM R/T60, but the model sold here is 14" and comes w c2d 1.83ghz 2mb
i dont mine IBM but the thing is i dont like the screen le ... like so ..... arr how to say ... i prefer the shinny screen one ...

TSjamezco
post Jan 29 2007, 11:32 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

............... Intel big con man like that ... cis ....

arrr sorry St Fu ... wats the diff wit pentium M and core solo then ?
TSjamezco
post Jan 29 2007, 11:45 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

lolz ... alright ... thx for the heads up ... but i think my gf will go for C2D i guess ...

thx biggrin.gif
TSjamezco
post Jan 30 2007, 12:12 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

ahhhh ... no dell or compaq ... got bad experience ... sad.gif

it's really a waste for thinkpad not to come out wit glossy tft ... not forgetting the widescreen as well for thinkpads ...

i saw the T60 also... can custom 4mb cache ... ehehe kewl ... but more than 7k though...

ooo yeah ... i manage to reduce a lil bit of heat from my toshiba M100 ...

juz now i opened my vantech lapcool 2 and change the fan sides ... now the fan is sucking the air from the laptop and directing it towards the table ... it used to blow air into the laptop from below last time ... hehehe mange to reduce 2 deg of HDD heat

This post has been edited by jamezco: Jan 30 2007, 12:16 AM
TSjamezco
post Jan 30 2007, 12:39 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

well it does help a bit ... erm ... can see a diffrence by using SpeedFan ... i leave my PC most of the time ... normally the HDD temp is 48 deg in a normal room temp ... if a laptop cooler is used ... it will reduce the temp by bout 3 deg ...

well that's for me ... i dont know for others...
TSjamezco
post Jan 30 2007, 12:22 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 30 2007, 09:22 AM)
looks like someone will need to buy a cooling pad............its normally "ok" effective with cooling pad...so i guess its ok...
arr i am already using a vantec lapcool 2 ...

will be going over to low yat later and look for some fujitsu, toshiba or HP i guess ...

ok ... new updates ... i manage to bring down a bit of temp by undervolting the laptop ... but then its slow when u need the processing power ... sad.gif

gayass toshiba ....

any idea if Vaio or HP has heating issues ?

This post has been edited by jamezco: Jan 30 2007, 12:31 PM
TSjamezco
post Jan 31 2007, 01:22 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

i get notebook wit dedicated GC is because i use loads of photoshop, illus and premier ... and not forgetting once in a while some games ... hehehe ...

ooo yea ... juz now was at lowyat and my gf have decided to get the vaio one ... 2ghz C2D, 120gb, 1gb ram, and dont know wat brand GC ... hopefully no heating probs lo ... so far Fujitsu doesnt have any model with 4mb cache of C2D yet... (said by the ppl working at lowyat) so i guess i have no choice but to go wit either toshiba, Vaio or HP only

thx so much guys for the feedback ... actually i am not complaining as wat some of u guys said juz that i dont wan my gf to get a laptop which has heating issue like mine ma ... biggrin.gif

ooo yea ... when using high GC programs or loads of processing programs ... u will suddently hear like a huge fan inside the note book turned on and if u leave ur hand on the left handside of the notebook ... u will feel like the laptop got exhaust heat come out one ... lolz ...

ooo yea ... i am using vantech coolpad d ... was thinking of getting a fan to be put on the side of the laptop one ... cant remember the name but its like Magic written on it ... cost like rm67 bucks from All It ...

btw ... overheating for the laptop does cause the laptop to like spoil or something rite ?

This post has been edited by jamezco: Jan 31 2007, 01:38 AM
TSjamezco
post Jan 31 2007, 02:08 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

windvv2005 yup yup ... that one .... will be getting that either today or tomorrow ...

hehehe Vantec + Evercool Magic = Super Chilled Lappie biggrin.gif

spent 6k on the lappie so must super sayang it la ... wat to do ... sad.gif ... cant let it break down rite ... need the lappie to tahan me another 2 years or something then hopefully next time my company will give me a new C2D wit Vista or maybe a Quad Core lappie also would be nice ... hahaha

This post has been edited by jamezco: Jan 31 2007, 02:09 PM
TSjamezco
post Jan 31 2007, 07:41 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

too late to upgrade the warrenty already lo ... my lappie reached 1 year old liao ... biggrin.gif
TSjamezco
post Jan 31 2007, 09:37 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Jan 31 2007, 08:56 PM)
this can fit in any notebook right? hmm.gif
or only specific notebook only? unsure.gif

who would note love a notebook that cost more than rm5k... nod.gif
take really really good care of it... thumbup.gif

ooo....one year already... cool2.gif
what notebook are you using? cool.gif

maybe by next year can include a notebook in your company's budget... laugh.gif
arrr ... only specific laptops wit the lines one can use ... to check pls visit http://www.evercool.com.tw/products/nb_ma1.htm

i am using the toshiba m100 Core Duo only.... sad.gif ... I wan C2D wit 4mb Cache biggrin.gif

noleh i am still a student now ... so no company to include my lappie budget yet ... hehehe

TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 02:33 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(windvv2005 @ Feb 1 2007, 12:15 AM)
Now only RM67?? 1 month before i saw it selling at RM79 at All IT.I wish to buy but budget tigh.......... sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
ooo yah yah ... that one is Rm67 for the evercool one ... there is 2 models ... 1 is with the switch which u can control the power ... then the other which is RM79 which cannot control the power one ...

QUOTE(bezitagt @ Feb 1 2007, 02:15 AM)
One more things, make sure ur gf does not wear mini-skirt when she used the notebook. Sure hot one. Heh heh heh.....
nolah . she use laptop normally on a table one ...
TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 03:09 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

lolz ... totally got all the prices wrong ... thanks so much deed ... oo yah ... my lappie ventilation is flat but then a bit of the top part of the ventilation is closed off ... then will the magic cooler thingy fit the laptop ???

TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 04:34 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

actually what u can do is below put a laptop cooler then u can use ur magic cooler lo ...

juz like me biggrin.gif
TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 04:45 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

erm ... from what i know is Acer lappie's base is super hot ...

i guess u'll juz have to work wit a cooling pad lo if u are buying acer
TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 10:16 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

X1600 should be good i guess ... i am using only X1400 ... so far only use to play Need For Speed Carbon and it looks great ... even better than playing it on the PS2 ...

jdreamer ... will let u know how the evercool score when i get it later ... i think it should be quite good coz its always extracting hot air out from the vent ...
TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 11:32 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

sure no prob dude biggrin.gif ... by tonight should be in d ...
TSjamezco
post Feb 1 2007, 06:53 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Feb 1 2007, 03:49 PM)
acer 5594WXMi got superb performance + superb heat problem+battery life superb short(when heavy gaming la). Can boil egg on it especially when touch the keyboard.
WAHHH that bad meh ??? can boil egg ???? .... sweat.gif sweat.gif ...

OO GUYS NEW UPDATE ...

Evercool Fairy has drop price to RM59 from RM75 ...
Evercool Magic still the same price at RM69

juz bought Magic and will be testing it now after i set up my gf's new laptop smile.gif
TSjamezco
post Feb 2 2007, 01:23 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

Ok ... as u can see in this picture... i am using it together with a 2.0 USB hub coz there arent enough USB ports for me ...

this is the vent which blows out hot air and u can really feel it if you leave your left hand on the side of the table ...

attaching the evercool magic

This is the temp for my HDD ... I dont have temp 1 or 2 or what so ever ... no idea why ... i guess Toshiba motherboard very lousy ...

This is how it looks when its fully fixed ...

so what i think of the Evercool Magic? when running it at the max speed which is 3800rpm ... its a noisy as you can hear the fan noise and the air sound .... but at lower speed which is 3000rpm ... it sounds less disturbing ....

Does it really help much ??? i think it does ... when i leave my hand near the blower, i can feel the heat coming out constantly but sometimes its less heat ... it also managed to cool down the lappie HDD to 43 degress now... so i guess its working...

Cooling Pad vs Evercool Magic ...

Its better to go for a Cooling pad because a cooling pad lifts the laptop to a certain angle and the base of the laptop is able to cool down... your RAM, Wireless card, Bluetooth and even the hard disc is located at the base of the laptop so i guess its a better way to cool it using a cooling pad rather than sucking hot air out.......

some cooling pad sucks the air out from the laptop while others blows the air in ... I personally for one prefer the cooling pad to suck the air out from below because if the cooling pad blows the air in ... then heat will rise to the keyboard ...

What proves this theory? Vantech Lapcool 2 is one cooling pad which blows the air in at a high speed of 2600rpm ... and i can feel the heat when i am typing .... so i tried to switch the fans and now the cooling pad is extracting the air out and blows it towards the table ... a lil less heat ....

well i guess that is it kua .... juz ask any questions if u got any ...

TSjamezco
post Feb 2 2007, 01:47 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

i think the fastest cooling pad is the vantech lapcool 2 only lo which is top speed at 2600rpm ... coz i see other cooling pads is like 1500rpm only ... or what u can do is make your own cooling pad also can ...

btw ... i realise that a lot less heat on the laptop d and the HDD temp has dropped to 41 deg ...

btw ... this is all measured in a air con room yea ???

0.0235sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:55 AM