【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, OM System OM-3 Arriving In Malaysia 2025

TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 13 2022, 12:48 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 13 2022, 12:00 PM)
rm600 with e-pl6.

not a fan of 90mm focal length though.
but its very tempting since i can upgrade from my old e-pl1 body at the same time.

but im hesistant as the age of these cameras are now showing with rubber cracking and IBIS failing nowadays.
if lens condition ok then take it lo

for sure ageing epl6 ibis gonna fail. mine epl5 also fail after mco…haha

nowadays wide and normal angle i use phone je…so only bring out 45mm je.
COOLPINK
post Sep 13 2022, 12:52 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 13 2022, 12:48 PM)
if lens condition ok then take it lo

for sure ageing epl6 ibis gonna fail. mine epl5 also fail after mco…haha

nowadays wide and normal angle i use phone je…so only bring out 45mm  je.
oh well i think i will wait for abit and decide.

no IBIS is a big bummer as i have a collection of manual lenses to use with.
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 13 2022, 01:53 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 13 2022, 12:52 PM)
oh well i think i will wait for abit and decide.

no IBIS is a big bummer as i have a collection of manual lenses to use with.
then look for pana 42.5 f1.7 with o.i.s
COOLPINK
post Sep 13 2022, 02:21 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 13 2022, 01:53 PM)
then look for pana 42.5 f1.7 with o.i.s
well im biased towards pana lenses so..... sweat.gif
Dark_Angel85
post Sep 13 2022, 03:12 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 13 2022, 11:06 AM)
best fix?

start getting prime lenses.
dude seriously... now I'm phobic to the kit lenses.... The small primes are great, but i've always liked having a zoom (even if variable aperture) cause the versatility is great.

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 13 2022, 12:00 PM)
rm600 with e-pl6.

not a fan of 90mm focal length though.
but its very tempting since i can upgrade from my old e-pl1 body at the same time.

but im hesistant as the age of these cameras are now showing with rubber cracking and IBIS failing nowadays.
I too am missing the 45mm in the f1.8 trio. been hunting around for a good bargain. saw one as low as RM500 just 2 months ago, but someone booked it already
COOLPINK
post Sep 13 2022, 03:26 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Sep 13 2022, 03:12 PM)
dude seriously... now I'm phobic to the kit lenses.... The small primes are great, but i've always liked having a zoom (even if variable aperture) cause the versatility is great.
I too am missing the 45mm in the f1.8 trio. been hunting around for a good bargain. saw one as low as RM500 just 2 months ago, but someone booked it already
well one of the less problematic kit lens is the Oly 12-50mm 3.5-6.3 from the em5.

downside - its not compact.

not a fan of the 45mm but its one of the sharpest lens out there and i would not say no to f1.8 for m43. brows.gif

TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 13 2022, 05:15 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 13 2022, 02:21 PM)
well im biased towards pana lenses so..... sweat.gif
if u don't need big aperture, try that sigma art series lens 19/30/60mm

i had the 19mm before…very sharp wide open aperture. downside is good built quality makes it a bit heavy.
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 13 2022, 05:17 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Sep 13 2022, 03:12 PM)
pana 12-35mm f2.8 might be your best mate
COOLPINK
post Sep 13 2022, 05:19 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 13 2022, 05:15 PM)
if u don't need big aperture, try that sigma art series lens 19/30/60mm

i had the 19mm before…very sharp wide open aperture. downside is good built quality makes it a bit heavy.
almost all m43 lenses are sharp open tats wat i like about them.

im biased towards m43 lenses in a good way btw, i prefer them over oly.

sigma 19mm almost got one too but mco hit a few days later so i did not make the deal.
maybe i will hunt for it again since you mentioned it.

Dark_Angel85
post Sep 13 2022, 08:31 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 13 2022, 03:26 PM)
well one of the  less problematic kit lens is the Oly 12-50mm 3.5-6.3 from the em5.

downside - its not compact.

not a fan of the 45mm but its one of the sharpest lens out there and i would not say no to f1.8 for m43. brows.gif
Definitely not going for such large lenses. If I'd go that route, probably will dig deeper into my pockets for the 12-45 f4.

Yeah, comparatively also, the MFD also not as good as the oly 14-42mm ez at 42mm. But you're right, the 1.8 is indeed yummy

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 13 2022, 05:17 PM)
pana 12-35mm f2.8 might be your best mate
Yeah man... Heard lots of good reviews about the panny 12-35mm... And relatively smaller for a 2.8. Just a bit out of my price bracket.
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 14 2022, 01:15 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Sep 13 2022, 08:31 PM)
Definitely not going for such large lenses. If I'd go that route, probably will dig deeper into my pockets for the 12-45 f4.

Yeah, comparatively also, the MFD also not as good as the oly 14-42mm ez at 42mm. But you're right, the 1.8 is indeed yummy
Yeah man... Heard lots of good reviews about the panny 12-35mm... And relatively smaller for a 2.8. Just a bit out of my price bracket.
price arr? i also regret not getting one few years back when those seller de-bundled 12-35mm from set and sell it at rm2k 😭
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 14 2022, 10:40 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

Some random photos from my recent Perhentian trip

Bonus brows.gif
COOLPINK
post Sep 15 2022, 10:53 AM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Sep 14 2022, 10:40 PM)
Some random photos from my recent Perhentian trip

Bonus brows.gif
nice! thumbup.gif
cyxnide
post Sep 19 2022, 02:37 PM

145 posts

Hi sifus, just wanna ask is it worth it to dump my EOS 40D for a Olympus PEN Lite E-PL6 with 40-150 4.0-5.6 lens?

They list it for RM500 hmm.gif hmm.gif

Change in taste, wanna go for something small and compact with manual mode for better street-photography stealth

This post has been edited by cyxnide: Sep 19 2022, 02:38 PM
TSBOTAK_WAI
post Sep 19 2022, 03:28 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,163 posts

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Sep 19 2022, 02:37 PM)
Hi sifus, just wanna ask is it worth it to dump my EOS 40D for a Olympus PEN Lite E-PL6 with 40-150 4.0-5.6 lens?

They list it for RM500  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Change in taste, wanna go for something small and compact with manual mode for better street-photography stealth
not recommended.

u want longer focal length better go with body with 5-axis ibis.
COOLPINK
post Sep 22 2022, 03:39 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Sep 19 2022, 02:37 PM)

They list it for RM500  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

if you on a budget the yeah.

the 40d is seriously outdated in 2022 unless you got a collection of primes for it i would consider moving on.
my trusty old 1000d is outdated as it is but it just would not die.
luckily im not heavily invested in canon system back then.

rm500 for epl6 + 40-150mm lens price is at market price not bargain price.
besides the 40-150mm is not suitble for street photography and you will need to have extra budget to get a kit or prime lens.

recommendation:

top up ur budget and try to get a e-m10ii or e-m5i.
both have 5 axis ibis and with the kit lens you could find one below rm1k.
more important is both have EVF.

e-p5 is more compact than the OMD but it does not have EVF.
also e-p5 is well known for their 2x2 dials failing.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Sep 22 2022, 03:42 PM
huislaw
post Oct 5 2022, 07:58 PM

1,344 posts

Weird, now FF Mirrorless cheaper...

https://shopee.com.my/Olympus-OM-D-E-M1-Mar...4f-7289caf53f71
Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark III = RM7,999.00

https://shopee.com.my/Sony-Alpha-A7C-Mirror...45-162e292999d8
Sony Alpha A7C = RM7,299.00
huislaw
post Oct 5 2022, 08:06 PM