Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> 【Micro Four Thirds】Olympus & Panasonic Thread V8, Welcome post your shooting or question.

Rice_Owl84
post Yesterday, 03:27 PM

On my way
Group: Senior Member

QUOTE(meamth @ Sep 21 2017, 12:55 PM)
I'm a videographer since 2010, made a living out of it.
my first camera was GH4 and due to my company's preference towards Canon back then i had to buy Metabones Speedbooster S. Back then had no Speedbooster Ultra, but works perfectly.

Fast forward till now, I bought a GH5 and thinking about getting the native lens.
I love prime lenses, great choice for commercial work and conceptual shooting.
But Zoom Lenses is damn useful for run and gun shooting solo.

Now I'm torn with a prime or a zoom lens.
Let's say if i have 6k,
and i have to choose between
Olympus Zuiko PRO F2.8 12-35 IS, Veydra Prime 12mm T2.2, Leica Nocticron 42mm (damn tight 85mm but beautiful), or Leica Lumix 12-60 mark II.

The reason I'm considering zoom lenses is because the Dual IS, having a gh5, i want to fully utilize my gear. But, the Primes are freakin' awesome in terms of cinematic quality.
So many sacrifices, so many trade offs for each of them.

which one is the best?
I have the GH5 and the 12-35mm F2.8 IS to bring out the Dual IS 2 is a must. You can leave Monopod and even tripod at home. It's that stable. And the tracking movement with a bit of practice looks like shoulder rig movement. To me, this lens is quite a strong foundation for the system. This lens is going to be on my gh5's body most of the time until it needs a specialty lens to bring something more magical. Also, the Dual IS on a gimbal makes the glide so smooth.