Casemod: MiniMe, Lian Li V600 mod

TSianho
post Jan 27 2007, 07:38 PM, updated 19y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Hehehehe. Here's a really cool casemod. The case is a smaller version of the V series hence the name MiniMe. Coz of the tiny dimensions we haf sum issues to deal with namely thermal issues. This mod is all about improving the thermals.

Here we go with the pix. A brand spanking new Lian Li V600B just waiting to bust out from the box. rclxm9.gif

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I c the light, I c the light! I'm coming out now.............

Added on January 27, 2007, 7:49 pm
Here's how the standard V600 looks like.

Now, this is the big problem with this case. Look at the PSU. It's mounted right in front of the CPU socket. The CPU heatsink is not gonna be happy sitting behind n not getting nice fresh air. The bling bling factor is also lost due to the PSU blocking everything. Also, u can't put a nice aftermarket HSF on it coz no space.

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 3 2007, 10:17 PM
cablesguy
post Jan 27 2007, 07:56 PM

1,597 posts

mmmm...nice case...cant u turn the psu other way round cause got the air vents on the panels or isit suppose to exhaust the air frm inside also
MacDaNife
post Jan 27 2007, 08:04 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I've been considering this case and as you rightly point out, the limitation is the location of the PSU.

I thought of mounting the PSU upside-down at the area of the harddrive rack. Unfortunately that would mean it blows hot air to the front. Uncomfortable (and noisy).

I've seen one mod on hardforums where the PSU is mounted vertically blowing air to the base of the case (also at the harddrive cage area).

It would be interesting to see how you overcome this!
TSianho
post Jan 27 2007, 08:13 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 27 2007, 07:56 PM)
mmmm...nice case...cant u turn the psu other way round cause got the air vents on the panels or isit suppose to exhaust the air frm inside also
Turn the PSU around oso still blocking the CPU socket so cant use aftermarket HSF. What we're gonna go is move that PSU away from there.

PSU removed. C how nice n spacious it is now without the PSU there. So much better.

Removed the ROM slot covers so I can adjust the PSU, USB wires, n also do the measuring for the top blowhole.

This is where the PSU is gonna sit. thumbup.gif

More updates coming right up. Editing pix now.

Mooneyes
post Jan 27 2007, 09:16 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

are u going to drill holes for the power cable...how bout the rear hole where the psu sit before..how r u going to cover it smile.gif
MacDaNife
post Jan 27 2007, 09:25 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Thing is with this config is the PSU fan blowing towards the user. This would result in both heat and noise.

I guess if the rig is placed at floor level it won't be a problem. On a desk however....
sHawTY
post Jan 27 2007, 09:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

This is going to be an interesting mod, yet, a nice place to park my nick <- tiru lucifah blush.gif

Jgn mare abg lucifah... tongue.gif
TSianho
post Jan 27 2007, 09:54 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Jan 27 2007, 09:16 PM)
are u going to drill holes for the power cable...how bout the rear hole where the psu sit before..how r u going to cover it smile.gif
Hehehe. I'm editing the pix right now. U shall see what my plans r for the hole at the back where the PSU used to b.

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jan 27 2007, 09:25 PM)
Thing is with this config is the PSU fan blowing towards the user. This would result in both heat and noise.

I guess if the rig is placed at floor level it won't be a problem. On a desk however....
The ROM slots will b covered so the PSU exhaust won't b blowing out towards the user. It will exhaust onto the slot covers then it'll b exhausted upwards tru the 120mm exhaust above. That's y we need a blowhole up there.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 27 2007, 09:28 PM)
This is going to be an interesting mod, yet, a nice place to park my nick <- tiru lucifah  blush.gif 

Jgn mare abg lucifah... tongue.gif
What free parking? Faster pay rm2.00 per hour! tongue.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 27 2007, 10:31 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

wah, a casing like mine, wonder what idea u got for this baby, maybe i can steal some brows.gif mind telling me who is the owner of this casing blink.gif

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 27 2007, 07:56 PM)
originally, Lian Li designed the psu slot to let the psu intake the fresh air from the outside & exhaust it at the back, so the air vents are meant to suck the air in, the concept it's like other V series, a separate cooling for the psu slot, but all reviews i found for this case, they tend to place the psu to be an exhaust fan for the cpu cooler, i guess have to do some trial & error to know which position benefit the most

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Jan 27 2007, 08:04 PM)
I've been considering this case and as you rightly point out, the limitation is the location of the PSU.

I thought of mounting the PSU upside-down at the area of the harddrive rack. Unfortunately that would mean it blows hot air to the front. Uncomfortable (and noisy).

I've seen one mod on hardforums where the PSU is mounted vertically blowing air to the base of the case (also at the harddrive cage area).

It would be interesting to see how you overcome this!
well u can consider Lian Li PC-A05 Link, with this kinda case, any high-end tower heatsink will fit in nod.gif

QUOTE(ianho @ Jan 27 2007, 08:13 PM)
Turn the PSU around oso still blocking the CPU socket so cant use aftermarket HSF.  What we're gonna go is move that PSU away from there.
PSU removed. C how nice n spacious it is now without the PSU there. So much better.......
errr, i think u still can use aftermarket HSF, see my siggy there, use that cooler, it is perfect, the height of the cooler + the fan = still fits laugh.gif

QUOTE(ianho @ Jan 27 2007, 09:54 PM)
Hehehe. I'm editing the pix right now. U shall see what my plans r for the hole at the back where the PSU used to b.
The ROM slots will b covered so the PSU exhaust won't b blowing out towards the user. It will exhaust onto the slot covers then it'll b exhausted upwards tru the 120mm exhaust above. That's y we need a blowhole up there.
nice idea u got there, hhmmm, maybe it's kinda hard to mod like Lian Li PC-A05,
the casing places the psu at the hdd bay hmm.gif isit possible sweat.gif

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Jan 27 2007, 10:32 PM
SubKi||er
post Jan 27 2007, 11:32 PM

1,654 posts

Wah...really want to see how you settle this case...

How bout cutting the darn PSU and compact it down in size...if it's ok with the circuitry inside. biggrin.gif
TSianho
post Jan 27 2007, 11:48 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's the back of the case with the PSU still in it.

After moving the PSU to the front, it leaves behind a big huge hole there.

The case, side panel n rear PSU plate all marked n ready for cutting. I'll b cutting a window to replace those 2 smaller ventilation holes. Adding a blowhole to the top to ventilate teh hot air from the PSU. C that acrylic piece at the bottom? That's the plate for covering the PSU hole at the back.

Doom
post Jan 28 2007, 12:02 AM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

hoo .. when did u receive the case ?? i was there when getting my case where there was a customer bought the V600 on spot ...

will it be so coincidence that this is the same person .. hmmm
E-J@1
post Jan 28 2007, 01:18 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

heh blink.gif how come the case got thumbscrew at the psu slot, i didn't get one vmad.gif

is it the case's thumbscrew or ur's bro ianho unsure.gif or the side fan thumbscrew hmm.gif

what is ur idea of replacing the side vent with transparent window? will u make a blow hole on it? blink.gif

damn, this mod makes me wanna visit this thread every day laugh.gif
TSianho
post Jan 28 2007, 03:54 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jan 28 2007, 12:02 AM)
hoo .. when did u receive the case ?? i was there when getting my case where there was a customer bought the V600 on spot ...

will it be so coincidence that this is the same person .. hmmm
laugh.gif I dunno if it's the same guy.

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 28 2007, 01:18 AM)
heh blink.gif how come the case got thumbscrew at the psu slot, i didn't get one vmad.gif

is it the case's thumbscrew or ur's bro ianho unsure.gif or the side fan thumbscrew hmm.gif

what is ur idea of replacing the side vent with transparent window? will u make a blow hole on it? blink.gif

damn, this mod makes me wanna visit this thread every day laugh.gif
The thumbscrews r mine lar. laugh.gif I use them while modding so it's easy to play around with various configs without using a screwdriver. As for the mods, u'll hafta check back again coz I've run out of pix for teh day. laugh.gif

zx12
post Jan 28 2007, 10:09 AM

717 posts

you'd think the guys at lian li would've considered the CPU socket and aftermarket hsf when they designed this casing.. anyway.. interesting to see how ur gonna solve it
E-J@1
post Jan 28 2007, 02:44 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(zx12 @ Jan 28 2007, 10:09 AM)
you'd think the guys at lian li would've considered the CPU socket and aftermarket hsf when they designed this casing.. anyway.. interesting to see how ur gonna solve it
i think they don't consider it much on this casing... but they do consider it by making another casing laugh.gif Lian Li PC-A05 brows.gif
rootified
post Jan 28 2007, 04:23 PM

183 posts

wow! nice mod!
from the pics in post#4... are u planning to put ur PSU in the 3.5'' bay?
uglyvamp
post Jan 29 2007, 01:32 PM

blink of life
1,666 posts

casing itself so pretty.

good choice to the owner !
SUSAllnGap
post Jan 29 2007, 03:09 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

you meant this is the Mini Me tongue.gif tongue.gif

i'd love Lian Li casings, the way to describe it is as sexy and elegant as a fine women rclxms.gif
TSianho
post Jan 29 2007, 03:27 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(uglyvamp @ Jan 29 2007, 01:32 PM)
casing itself so pretty.

good choice to the owner !
Ya I love that case too. Perfect for low powered BT rig usage. Haf u seen the legs on the V600? Absolutely beautiful man, they're aluminum legs just like what u c on hi end hi-fi equipment. wub.gif

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Jan 29 2007, 03:09 PM)

you meant this is the Mini Me  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
i'd love Lian Li casings, the way to describe it is as sexy and elegant as a fine women  rclxms.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif That's exactly what I had in mind when I 1st laid eyes on the V600. That's y I named this mod MiniMe.

Updates will be up later. Chopping up Mr. MiniMe right now.

This post has been edited by ianho: Jan 29 2007, 07:02 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0162sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:50 AM