Official Honda Civic 10th Gen Owner/Fans Club V3, Fast becoming the envy of others!

dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 08:37 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 23 2016, 01:37 AM)
btw, the new jetta looks not bad too. the claimed 0-100kmh 8.6sec slightly lower than civic. not sure the price though

http://www.volkswagen.com.my/en/models/the...200e24674e3366e
They are gonna plonk it straight in Civic pricing.. German car [ unfortunately, perception wise not very reliable.. ] VS Jap reliability..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 09:09 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Sep 23 2016, 08:44 AM)
They claimed ....New and improved adaptive gearbox, top speed 220km/h....FC 5L/100km....

LOL,

You have to read in between the lines.. Besides wat u wan them to say -- yes its true, we have many complaints/problems on our dry DSG gearbox so please please buy this car!!!! biggrin.gif

dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 09:11 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(loneboy62 @ Sep 23 2016, 09:04 AM)
After used of Trapo for about 3 weeks + closed to a month and Yuma CoilMat for few years. Both mats are very difference and have each advantages.

Trapo is easy to clean when you have some dirties, it would just trap there and removal is easy. However, for comfort level, CoilMat is much better. CoilMat cleaning would take longer time but in city ride not always get dirty, still acceptable.

For me, I would prefer CoilMat because Trapo is too slippery, due to its materials. You can see your needs whether which is more suitable for you.
l have a different opinion - the coil mats are not comfortable for me.. to each his own.. l guess..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 09:37 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 23 2016, 09:29 AM)
88k problem free o not tongue.gif
Rich ppl can le.. if spoilt, got 2nd/3rd car to use.. no hal.. ppl like us hv to use rapid lo..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 10:50 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(berann @ Sep 23 2016, 10:18 AM)
Yeah.. this is why 70% of the Civic sales go to 1.5Turbo despite more expensive & higher maintenance in the future.
The power from 1.5 turbo really satisfying & fun. Cant resist.. btw life is short, enjoy to the max  brows.gif
Is a small turbo from Honda, definitely will be a lot cheaper to maintain than the european turbo yet can enjoy the power almost like a MB C200 or BMW 320i that cost 100% more. Off course can try VW,Peugeot,ford turbo if you dare.. biggrin.gif  Just my opinion...
thumbsup.gif
Editted to add :

O ya.. forgot.. on paper, the 1.5t is not just more powerful, its actually [according to user reviews in US ] more economical..

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Sep 23 2016, 10:51 AM
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 11:01 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Haza_izzz @ Sep 23 2016, 10:55 AM)
thumbup.gif agreed. not to mention the resell value.
I tink RV .. de 1.8 will hold better.. l mean as older models all show, ppl prefer the lowest model in the same range more.. USED anyway..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 11:10 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 23 2016, 11:04 AM)
There are a few reasons why I chose Civic 1.5T at last (switched from HRV top spec)

1. 1.5T got leather seats
2. Interior is spacier than hrv
3. more power (nearly 50Nm more than hrv)  brows.gif
4. stylish (some say ugly but take sometime to get use to it)
5. cockpit display is a class above hrv

the price diff not much also. like 4-5k.
I am happy at last.  tongue.gif
Pt 3 is addictive.. you can never have more power..

Pt 4 is so true.. I initially found our ketam front/back weird - l mean l am ol skool n much prefer mazdas more traditional styling.. but am getting used to the civics styling now.. guess you need to see it in the metal more..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 11:57 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(Kirie @ Sep 23 2016, 11:51 AM)
I think lowest model most preferred since the road tax is cheaper..eg Accord 2.0 vs Accord 2.4, 2.0 mostly have better RV..for X Civic, i think 1.5T will have better RV than 1.8 wink.gif
I beg to differ.. history always shows the cheaper holds better.. u can go check all previous models even FD models, more desirable 2.0 is still cheaper [from its ori selling price] than the 1.8.. camry[2.0 better than 2.4] oso like tat
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 01:33 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(kyle9 @ Sep 23 2016, 01:25 PM)
I got exactly the same feelings
Its just a feeling..

Look at it this way, you take a risk when you cross the street, yes.. l mean a hooligan may come rushing out of nowhere n bang u.. but still u look both ways n cross..
Getting a newer, less known for its reliability/durability engine is kinda like that - you look both ways [ resembling Honda's reputation ] and cross [ try ] ..
Sumtimes you need to take a gamble and cross - being too much in the safe zone - can be boring..

YMMV.. of cos..
dirtrun
post Sep 23 2016, 05:06 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(heaven_man @ Sep 23 2016, 04:39 PM)
Initially i also considering 1.5 TC as just different by RM10k only with leather seat, 17" sport rim and 1.5 turbo engine. Not to mention the cheaper road tax.

But all i need is a reliable car with appropriate power, i learnt that those turbo car as per some members highlighted in V1 or V2 thread, turbo engine will drop in performance after 6 years or may need overhaul and require more frequent oil engine service (about 7k km).

Secondly the resell value likely will worst than 1.8cc as per current second hand market for turbo car compare to ordinary car.
The second hand market just not believe those special car like turbo or hybrid engine.

The most important is when i test drive 1.5tc, the engine is so loud and shaking. I n my wife can feel the vibration in driving cabin. This 1 really push me away. I'm wondering probably that due to show room car n everyone just tekan it to the max n spoil the engine.

I'm driving a 1.6cc car which could push to 170kmh easily. Hence, i think 1.8cc is good enough to satisfy me. Moreover, the top limit is same as 1.5tc since the machine is capped that way. What's the point of getting higher power if u cap it?
Aiyah,

We are family.. why quibble on power.. Suffice to say ada orang suka 1.5T n others like 1.8 NA for watever reasons they deemed fit..

dirtrun
post Sep 26 2016, 04:47 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(pigin @ Sep 26 2016, 01:57 PM)
question for TCP owners....

got friend thinking of choosing between TCP and TC...

reason is because there's no physical fan speed knob for the TCP. but he likes the LED headlights.

want to know from current owners if it is annoying to go into the menu to adjust your fan speed? or you just "Auto" all the way?
Auto all the way.. l do miss the physical switch/knob/slide.. but wat to do..
dirtrun
post Sep 26 2016, 04:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Sep 26 2016, 03:02 PM)
FC depends a LOT on your commute.  Lots of traffic jams and very short trips will kill your FC.  Yes, wait till your car passes at least 1-2k KMS on the ODO and try to take it out on a cruise one weekend out of town.

Also add uphill drives..
Contrary to wat l thought, you cannot balance out the FC by going downhill once you reach the top..

dirtrun
post Sep 28 2016, 12:28 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(doreamon1987 @ Sep 28 2016, 12:24 PM)
Huh? Message unclear. What is it about??
macam survey..
dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 02:56 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(zhiwee0645 @ Oct 7 2016, 02:47 PM)
so you guys never off aircond? i heard somebody say bacteria will grow inside aircond after long time if constantly not off
Bacteria is everywhere..

N it should be mold that resides where u mentioned..

BTW - when servicing the aircond, all tis muck is removed..
dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 03:52 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(zhiwee0645 @ Oct 7 2016, 03:15 PM)
so did you off your aircond? as i find it troublesome everytime also have to switch on off
Its too troublesome.. at least for me.. l just set n leave it..
Besides new car got relay[l tink tats wats its called] when starting everyting goes off even radio.. so l dont tink itll affect much..
dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 03:54 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(siawkk82 @ Oct 7 2016, 03:43 PM)
I agreed on the hrv part...

for the civic turbo, my real concern is on their engine reliability and the maintenance. I believe the maintenance table in Honda Malaysia website for the civic turbo is still incomplete. Correct me if I am wrong.

Bro..

Even if complete.. its still a projection.. its not set in stone..
Sumtimes you have to live a little n trust to luck.. over thinking doesnt really help much..
My 2 cts..

dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 04:12 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(hamrog @ Oct 7 2016, 03:57 PM)
I think the maintenance table was completed a long time ago, when I got my car in June. Quick check, and it's there. https://www.honda.com.my/model/maintenance/civic?id=62

As for the engine, as one of the few lucky ones who got their cars first, bought without proper test drive, can say no issues at all. No overheat bla bla bla. I have been using it as a daily driver for 5 months now.

Just some common build quality rattle noise, which can be rectified. I think if there is anything to be even a least bit concerned about is probably with headunit/AC as experienced by some of our members. Nobody really experienced anything bad with the engine in itself.

Only thing I don't like about the engine is the variability of service interval. Because I'm always stuck in traffic, I may have to service my car earlier than 10k mark because of the way the oil change alert system works.

I think its a given that in regular start stop urban traffic, that you are never getting a 10k service interval..
Wat l am more pissed is tat the theory that it involves warranty if you ignore the reminders.. I mean who has the time to go waste half a day to wait for oil change and then oil filter change about 4/5/6 months later..

dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 04:13 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(siawkk82 @ Oct 7 2016, 04:12 PM)
haha... I feel lazy to keep taking leave to send the car to workshop and wait them to rectify the issue after spending so much of money. Tats why I cant stop overthinking. lol.

Then thank god you are not looking at contis..
Japs are pretty reliable.. so far..

dirtrun
post Oct 7 2016, 05:27 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(PixelDroid @ Oct 7 2016, 05:10 PM)
I'm trying to get confirmation of this relay thing that you mentioned.
I hope to find it in the manual (although I doubt the manual will go into such technical details).

At least I think its called a relay [I am most probably wrong..] but its been around for ages..
I used to be like you n shut everyting before powering the car off.. but car batteries will die irrespective - eventually.. heck l dont tink its even affected by this leaving-everything-on-and-starting ting, at all..
From my experiences having different cars[from Myvi to wifeys Jazz n others], more like de different cars design, some [like the myvi - 1yr n 1 mth KO] just eats batteries n some hardly uses em[Jazz - 3yrs n changed it cos the SC said it was dying but not dead yet ..]
I dont think its in the manual.. thou'
dirtrun
post Oct 11 2016, 09:12 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(sarvinG @ Oct 10 2016, 09:12 PM)
But will it look the same? I like the LED style.
Nope..

Even if you change to the led bulb . itll still look different.. u hv to get the after market whole lamp if you wanna it to look the same..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0838sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:10 AM