5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V6!, Replacement scheme starting from Sept 29

mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 08:34 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Sep 6 2016, 10:48 PM)
Please don't explode in my pants pocket!
QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Sep 6 2016, 10:52 PM)
Yeah same, still wanna get married and have kids too. Exploding in pocket would be ugly
join the many of us who have turned off the Note7 and use a temp phone.

even then, might not be a good idea to keep the phone at home -- in case it suddenly catches fire and burns down the house.

i'm trying to find out if we can return before the date...
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 09:18 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Sep 7 2016, 08:59 AM)
Let the phone batt drain just to be safe and can keep it in the box
considering there was mention of latest case where phone was not charging when it caught fire/ exploded...

...and if you've seen the jerry video in last thread and saw how easy it is for the battery to catch fire... i dun think leaving in discharged/ drained is going to be of much help.
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 09:37 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Caterpie @ Sep 7 2016, 09:27 AM)
for them who cannot afford iphone, most of my customers quite impressed with huawei.
agreed. they have actually improved a lot. and some models even have free screen replacement for the first few months, or sth like that...
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 09:39 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Sep 7 2016, 09:34 AM)
if you notice, jerry did mention they battery will be caught on fire when it come to contact with metal/something. personally, i believe the damage is less with fully drain battery than keeping it with with no juice.
samsung didn't say what is causing battery to behave like it is... could be the chip/ control board failure... or could just be there's contaminant... in which case, yes, it can just catch fire.

earlier on, i was one of those who said we should still be able to use the phone till the time to swap. but looking at the number of cases... well, if got spare phone... then i think better just use spare phone for now.

better safe than sorry.
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 11:11 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Sep 7 2016, 09:41 AM)
Check this out. the issue is with the battery -
http://www.gsmarena.com/galaxy_note7_will_...-news-20358.php
yes, but they never said it was due to contaminant in the battery... or the controller board that is in the battery.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 7 2016, 11:14 AM
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 11:41 AM

7,044 posts

on a side note (pun unintended)...

this recall and the compensation... scalpers would have sold the sets. but those who did not... extra benefit when selling... can now say it's 2 years warranty.
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 12:02 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Wind82 @ Sep 7 2016, 11:47 AM)
Why 2 years warranty? Samsung just said its screen protection warranty right?
hmm... ya, you are right.

i may have read wrongly. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 01:31 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Sep 7 2016, 12:06 PM)
i think he expecting something like Apple's mute button
i mean... in the older phones... like note2, hold power button... got volume control there.
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 01:33 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mad_man @ Sep 7 2016, 01:09 PM)
On locked screen slide down from top to access the notification panel. Silence/vibrate from there.
oh... din know locked screen also can still pull down. but... compared to what i was using previously with note2 via power button, it was so much easier then...
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 01:40 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Sep 7 2016, 01:20 PM)
this is very unacceptable, SC are the front liner of a company to answer customer enquiries, instead of giving stupid excuse/answer to treat customer like sohai.
QUOTE(shinobikit @ Sep 7 2016, 01:24 PM)
damn digi, it should announce at the public page, instead of customer ask only tell. zzzzzzzz  ranting.gif
how i see it... not just with Digi but with the other Samsung partners as well...

like some forumers have mentioned, Samsung very likely jumped the gun with the announcement and never thought about the process to be used by their other channels. and probably the rest were not aware until they saw the notice/ announcement from Samsung, just like us.

samsung may have the database like IMEI, etc... but their partners don't. how would these partners be able to verify the returned phones?

take warranty registration... my own set is from Digi and i had to still register directly with Samsung for the warranty. so, rightfully, Samsung should be handling all the returns.

to say go back to where we purchased from, Digi, Maxis, SengHeng, Courts, etc... will now have to plan additional resources (man power to call customers and then collect back the sets) just to handle this issue.
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 01:47 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(leonhang @ Sep 7 2016, 01:06 PM)
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Exploding-k...-Note-7_id85003

If you battery is made in CHINA, then you're safe.

ELSE RETURN THAT TIMEBOMB soonest possible
from the article/ link:
If it says "manufactured in Korea" or "in Vietnam," well, we'd return the unit to the vendor. Samsung already halted orders for batteries from its embattled SDI subsidiary, which sent its shares into a tailspin today, so all future replacement units of the Note 7 will probably come with ATL pieces or a third sourcing inside anyway.

safe to say all units in Malaysia is "Made in Vietnam". smile.gif

QUOTE(matchut @ Sep 7 2016, 12:59 PM)
and quoting this one:
This news is especially troubling as defective units are more widespread dispelling many theories. Being a Note7 owner currently, it is making me consider switching to my OnePlus 3 until T-Mobile can supply me with a new unit. If you have a backup phone you should seriously consider doing the same.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 7 2016, 01:49 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 03:07 PM

7,044 posts

shinobikit u might wanna check out Digi's own community and maybe just feedback to them as well.

and yes, i have also feedback to them.

but looking at what is happening ATM, even Samsung CS also not really up-to-date.

i guess everyone is just trying to sort it out and make sure we don't have to run around come month end.

so... i guess we can all wait a few more days and see what happens la...

mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 04:07 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Sep 7 2016, 03:59 PM)
haih.. sienz. U know, battery is only the exploding issue. There's all those.. hang kei issue, bootloop issue..

Really lost confidence. Samsung shud really give the option to refund.
sell it if you're still scared. replacement set and sealed. plus, extra warranty. i guess it's similar to refund. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 7 2016, 04:43 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(TyroneS @ Sep 7 2016, 04:40 PM)
i did receive call from samsung too tell me about the exchang detail
and for protection plus replied as below

A member of our web team will be available soon.
Welcome to Samsung Live Chat. Good day to you.
Nur Ain Syamimi
Thank you for contacting Samsung Malaysian Live Chat Support. My name is mimi.. How may I assist you today?
16:35:13
hello~
16:35:35
i did purchse extra warranty service + screen protection plus for my note 7
16:35:50
when i replace my phone,how the warranty and protection plus i purchased earlier?
16:36:03
Nur Ain Syamimi
your warranty period will

be based on the date you

replace your Note 7
16:36:57
i"m not asking bout the warranty ya
16:37:13
it"s the extra plan i bought
16:37:20
Nur Ain Syamimi
protection will continue to the new device
16:37:24
alright,thanks~

*but they did not mention how to process,maybe ask from the retailer i purchased*
no very useful reply, no? since everyone is also getting the screen protection warranty now...
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2016, 09:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(confuzan @ Sep 7 2016, 11:30 PM)
for those who want to transfer data, you can use smart switch app.

can choose to backup to microsd card or USB OTG drive (like sandisk dual), and then put to the new phone and restore.
oh... can backup to microSD. not bad... does it backup applications too?

i only used the PC version and it can supposedly backup applications too. guess month end, i'll know how useful is application backup... see can restore or not. smile.gif

so much better than kies. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2016, 09:22 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Sep 7 2016, 11:43 PM)
i also want to keep it aside, but what u want me to do? i dont have spare phone anymore... are u telling me to spend another hundreds to buy a spare phone use for one month while putting note7 in drawer? come on, not all ppl rich like someone having multiple phones.
where's your old note2?
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2016, 09:25 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 8 2016, 03:53 AM)
iPhone 7 Plus Jet Black probably will be my first iPhone. Haha!

Samsung Galaxy Note7 and LG V20 both removed from my wanted list now. Oops
not bad actually... not a fan but i have to say... specs wise and pricing... it's good.

esepcially the plus and 128GB. so close to note7 pricing (in USA). and, there's water resistance now. front cam also pwn Note7. those who are not picky abt OS can actually consider iphone7.

only thing i dun quite like is the note headphone jack. got adaptor... but... troublesome. if they wanna go wireless, go all out la... do wireless charging too and be first phone without any ports.
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2016, 09:27 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Sep 8 2016, 09:12 AM)
one of the best note are note 2, and it recall it got launched here on october. and it was great phone.
totally agreed. i still have it with me. moved from note2 to note7... plus, mine was AP version with 32GB storage. so, it is good... smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2016, 09:28 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eagleknight @ Sep 8 2016, 09:24 AM)
Wechat can't backup on cloud or Mac, may be on PC can use 3rd party application
no idea abt wechat. i just selected backup application and i can see apk for the apps. i guess will know by month end when i try restore. if still need to setup (like verify phone), i'm still ok coz some games... almost 1GB. i prefer no need to download again...

so... see how. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Sep 8 2016, 10:22 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(eagleknight @ Sep 8 2016, 09:33 AM)
Some app can't backup & restore i.e. colourdict ...you need to copy all dictionaries data files to device

So best solutions is return and get replacement at the same time
ya... but if the firmware not latest... i prefer update firmware, then only setup. both might also take time -- ours and CS.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0422sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:53 AM