10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v15, 基金超市第十五章 - Rise the Dragon

AIYH
post Sep 29 2016, 07:55 AM

1,166 posts

What is the difference between REITs and RE listed equities?

I see that amasia pacific REITs (I invested here) has REITs to cash ratio of 7:3

While the plus version has the same ratio but with REITs to (cash plus RE listed equities)
AIYH
post Sep 29 2016, 10:41 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 29 2016, 10:25 AM)
Sorry I don't mean to be a smart alec but isn't CIMB AP PRS feeding into CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund? These are mirror funds. If so, you have 2 duplicate funds.

Unless you bought the CIMB AP Islamic PRS.
The PRS is mainly to take advantage the tax relief.

And since most PRS performance arent that good, contrast to a few like CIMB AP PRS, why not? tongue.gif
AIYH
post Sep 29 2016, 11:58 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 29 2016, 11:53 AM)
I see. I am also using CIMB AP PRS for tax relief purpose.

But I used a different approach. For Portfolio A, I have CIMB AP. For Portfolio B, I only have CIMB AP PRS. I guess every investor has different approach. As long as we are comfortable with it, why not?
PRS will be a seperate portfolio as we just maximize the tax relief (hence limited budget, investment amount and exposure) and usually only one PRS fund to save annual fee per fund.

Then normal unit trust will be another portfolio were we can diversify with several funds and go all crazy biggrin.gif
AIYH
post Sep 29 2016, 02:19 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 29 2016, 12:44 PM)
1) UTF No 1 & 4 are overlap, choose either one. I prefer RHB Asian Income for its low volatility (meaning more stable and less swing in NAV compared to CIMB APDIF). (60%)

*** APDIF & RHB AIF are both going for dividend yielding instruments ***

2) Can keep KGF the perennial FSM favourite UTF. (20%)

3) I would dump the eastspring suxs UTFs.

4) Keep UTF No. 5... mainly to catch the USD / MYR thematic play. (20%)

Total = 100%. If you calculate the historical return the port gave a rtn around 15% p.a.

p/s For me, since I actively manage my port, I will take India in lieu of KGF for sectorial play.

Xuzen
How much does CIMB APDIF and RHB AIF overlap or correlate?

APDIF is pure equity while AIF is EQ:FI 7:3

As much overlap as KGF and EISCF?
AIYH
post Sep 29 2016, 02:47 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Sep 29 2016, 02:40 PM)
The table above is 9 months old, but I don't think it would be very different now; should still be in the range of 0.6-0.7
2/3 positive correlation sad.gif

is it a concern if my investment ratio for APDIF to AIF is 2:1 but both of them together is only 20% of my portfolio? sad.gif
AIYH
post Sep 29 2016, 03:23 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Sep 29 2016, 02:59 PM)
My information is obtained from Morningstar Inc and the Corr-coeff value given is 0.87. This is highly correlated. Bad for your portfolio.

Xuzen

p/s Please let me take an opportunity to elaborate on the correlation coefficient, Corr-coeff. When we talk about diversity, how do we express a value for diversity. Just like when we say some one is tall, but how do actually quantify it? So we use meter and centimeter to measure a person's height. Similarly, when we say diverse, the corr-coeff is the measurement to state how highly or lowly the correlation is. The closer the value is to 1, the more highly correlated it is. If the value is zero, then the two asset class is neutral. If it is minus one, then it is perfectly opposite of each other.

Lets say if RHB AIF and APDIF has a corr-coeff of one. This means in theory, if RHB AIF increase value 10%, it is expected APDIF will increase by also 10%. If the corr-coeff is 0.87, the movement will be 10% x 0.87 = 8.7% in the same direction. So, when you lets say buy both UTF, when Asia-Pac region, value naik, both your UTF will increase in value. You feel elated. If drop, both drop. You feel dejected.

To avoid this up and down, that is why smart investment person will try to match and pick asset / UTF that have low corr-coeff. So when one naik, the other one neither naik or turun or perhaps naik or turun a little bit. The end result is that your portfolio is stable and naik slow and steady and will not cause heart attack lor!

Understand boh?

If you are those who likes to ride on a coaster roller and wet your own pants type personality, then this method of investment using the modern portfolio theory will be too boring for you.
I understood the theory as learnt in university. But when come to real investment, you know theory is ideal and practical is different in the sense that sometimes one must experienced it to understand the impact of those factors plus potential human emotion risk. tongue.gif

When I decide and choose them few months ago I just evaluate them as different due to their asset allocation, didn't realize their correlation is that high. cry.gif

Guess I will hold for awhile as these are main for long term, see how it goes and change whenever objective change or whatsoever reason smile.gif
AIYH
post Sep 30 2016, 11:49 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 30 2016, 11:44 AM)
I want to ask about this RHB Islamic Bond Fund. Say I put in RM1k this year. Then I put in RM1k in the 2nd year. 3rd year I withdraw everything. So I kena charge 1% for the RM1k placed in the 2nd year?
I asked before via clienthelp, they will calculated based on when you invest them.

Basically each unit you buy has a date to it.

Say 4th October you invest and acquire 1000 unit, these 1000 unit will have a "expiry" date at 4th October 2017, after that u can redeem without charge.

Then you invest again on 9th December and obtain 2000 unit, these 2000 unit will have a "expiry" date at 9th December 2017, after that u can redeem without charge.

Same for subsequent investment which calculated based on investment date and distribution based on distribution date.

When u sell and redeem, FSM will auto calculate whether the amount you want to sell will incur ant charges or not.

They will follow first in first out principle

Using the above example, if you sell 1500 unit on 11th November 2017, your 1000 unit will not have redemption charge while the remaining 500 unit will have redemption charge

This post has been edited by AIYH: Sep 30 2016, 11:50 AM
AIYH
post Sep 30 2016, 12:08 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Sep 30 2016, 11:42 AM)
My 2 cents worth...

Watch out for AmDynamic Bond's redemption fee :  Up to 1% of the NAV per unit. (Borne by Investor). Maybe can consider substituting with:-

1.  Libra Asnita Bond Fund and

2.  RHB Bond Fund or RHB Islamic Bond Fund (Redemption fee: Redeem on or before 1st year is 1.0% of the Repurchase Price per Unit; no redemption fee after the 1st year).
If you plan to invest into it less than a year or forsee of switching in and out the money inside, I will suggest Libra AsnitaBond Fund

But if you plan to invest into it and let it go for at least a year, then RHB Bond Fund/ RHB Islamic Bond Fund will be better smile.gif
AIYH
post Oct 4 2016, 05:50 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Oct 4 2016, 05:34 PM)
New investor here. I have Libra Asnita Bond in my portfolio, I am just wondering why whenever I talk to my UT agents friends and when I mentioned about my bond fund, they would say "no need to top up for bond wan la". But it was always touch n go conversation so didn't get to ask them. Why is that so?

I do regular DCA into my 4 other equity funds and this libra asnita fund.
May be because Bond fund has close to none sales charge? tongue.gif

You can treat Libra AsnitaBond Fund as an alternative to FD, albeit a bit risk and fluctuation compared to PIDM protected FD.

Just top up like you do for saving accounts whenever you have the money like your monthly savings to accumulate your wealth in a steadier and higher return compare to saving accounts and FD. biggrin.gif
AIYH
post Oct 4 2016, 11:57 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 4 2016, 09:07 PM)
Friend,

Cannot simply say like this. If you UTC, FIMM or SC hear this, you lesen kena tarik balik wan ar! Bond =/= FD.

Xuzen
Haha, just alternative, not a replacement biggrin.gif

Sorry if there is any misunderstanding tongue.gif
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 09:18 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 6 2016, 09:15 AM)
Still wanna DCA kah?
for the trend maybe rising.....and you could be buying on HIGH Nav.   tongue.gif

Save the money,...buy on dips for lower Nav.  tongue.gif
hmm.gif but just how to know when to buy in?
set a target % from last month highest?
confused.gif
Provided you have the money to pump in upon forseeing such a trend.

But not everyone have that kind of money, like me who only rely on monthly allocated budget tongue.gif

Therefore, I could only dca rsp with money I can afford in hope to smooth out the potential fluctuation laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 6 2016, 09:19 AM
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 09:25 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 6 2016, 09:23 AM)
Well you're not alone..
Many have fixed allocation per month.. Limited only blush.gif
That's why sometimes failed to leverage good timing due to limited budget cry.gif

Glad that I relied on RSP instead of initial lump sum when I started EI small cap right before ulicorp incident sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 6 2016, 09:28 AM
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 03:51 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 03:44 PM)
so I have seen when I wrongly invested in the rhb Asian total return fund which has a high volatility even as it is considered as a fixed income fund. I right the wrong switching it to libra anita.

that said I read on the benefits of CMF in fundsupermart.  how many of the investors here are currently using it to instantly purchase their unit trusts?
I usually fpx the amount into CMF monthly prior to the RSP date, is convenient compared to filling several direct debit form laugh.gif
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 04:22 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 6 2016, 03:54 PM)
but in my case I fpx through Maybank2u which has been alwaus a quick tap or two. so I am still thinking why the need CMF
If you do regular top up instead of RSP, fpx won't differ much compare to CMF

However fpx do need 1-2 hours to reach FSM

There was one time when I do fpx to libra asnita around 13:50 but they only received the fund on 15:10 and processed on next working day instead of the same day sad.gif

Have not tried invest to others using CMF, as I normally use CMF as a bridge for RSP, but seems instant to me biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 6 2016, 04:23 PM
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 04:54 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 6 2016, 04:43 PM)
That's quite terrible. FPX is supposed to be instant, no ? The time of transaction should be whatever time recorded in fpx.  shocking.gif
It suppose to be, but normally when I perform fpx, the time I got from fsm order confirmation email, fpx transaction email and fsm payment receipt email are different.

In total they usually gap 1-2 hours, which kinda be a problem if I transact via fpx near the cut off time.

So I usually perform it early in the morning biggrin.gif
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 05:05 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2016, 05:00 PM)
The email received is different but the time is correct. How I know? Bought at 30/9 at 250pm, all fund price as of today is of 30/9. biggrin.gif If time is off, it will be showing 4/9 price which it was not. thumbup.gif

And no. I don't intend to use CMF as the interest is lower than eGIA-i.  Will only use CMF if eGIA-i rates drop lower than CMF because of liquidity issue (require 2 working days to get the money out instead of instant)
That's from one of my experience hahaha, may be I was unlucky sweat.gif

If one has maybank2u, eGIA-i is the better instrument for savings in terms of return and liquidity compared to CMF biggrin.gif
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 05:33 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 6 2016, 05:30 PM)
Sounds like you are quite sold on eGIA-i. wink.gif

Have you considered using a bond fund such as libra anista for the purpose ? Historically 5-8% and also low volatility wor .....
Personally I treat libra asnita as my short term FD (albeit a bit fluctuation but libra asnita is consider the more stable and reasonable return among its peers and other short term alternatives as of now) biggrin.gif

I only keep eGIA for about 1 month expense for liquidity needs smile.gif

And CMF only for RSP Bridge and keep a small amount for fund maintenance and libra asnita platform fee sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 6 2016, 05:38 PM
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 05:40 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2016, 05:38 PM)
Can libra asnita buy on the spot or need few days? Eg. Today want to buy at 2pm, use asnita bond to buy, will the price be today's price or few days later price?
Same like other funds, payment received beofre 3pm will transact today based on today's price smile.gif
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 05:42 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 6 2016, 05:35 PM)
Sounds like a good plan, as cash out funds will take about 1 week or so before can see real cash.
Actually rhb bond/islamic bond fund have slight better return than libra with similar volatility. smile.gif

However I dare not due to their 1% redemption charge within a year sweat.gif

Doesnt suit me as I forsee numerous substantial amount required to withdraw within a year, so libra asnita suits me more smile.gif
AIYH
post Oct 6 2016, 08:04 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2016, 07:35 PM)
Isn't need to wait a few days for the FM to liqudate your holdings?
The process is like this:

If they received ur pament b4 3pm, your order will be transacted on the same day (T)

But due to most funds nature of forward pricing (CMF is the exception), you won't know todays price until T+1 days

By T+2 days, you will know your unit price you bought (which is the prce of the day u invest) and the amount of units u bought, in this stage, you partially own the investment because this investment is yet to appear in your holdings biggrin.gif

by T+4 days, u will see the investment I your holding, means now you fuly own it biggrin.gif

So whenever day u transact, the price will be based on that day provided is b4 3pm smile.gif

EDIT: irrelevant explanation to the question ps sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AIYH: Oct 6 2016, 08:51 PM

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0868sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:01 PM