low spec new mazda 3 vs new civic?, safety, value worth, nvh comfy, handling

TSGibsonBFG
post Sep 4 2016, 09:21 PM, updated 10y ago

124 posts

Hi guys, interesting in model as both around same price range but of cost lower $$$ better.

Any owner care to share which better , safety, nvh, value worth, comfy, handling.

Tq all sifus,

Cheers!

This post has been edited by GibsonBFG: Sep 4 2016, 09:22 PM
TSGibsonBFG
post Sep 4 2016, 09:48 PM

124 posts

Also which bigger as need space criteria in.
jimmyteng18
post Sep 4 2016, 09:59 PM

669 posts

I also considering these 2 cars,but,not in a hurry to buy.

Interior space = New Civic wins
Interior built quality = Mazda3 wins
Seats,dashboard,door panels = Mazda3 wins
Price = Mazda 3, low spec cheaper compare to Civic 1.8 iVTEC

My humble opinions..nia..
Anubis77
post Sep 4 2016, 10:09 PM

86 posts

Base spec to base spec

Civic 1.8 110K (5 year warranty, 0 free service, better space)
Mazda3 GL 106K (3 year warranty, 3 year free service, better handling)

If you want to compare more, then go do research. Google it.

isr25
post Sep 4 2016, 10:22 PM

1,263 posts

Why don't you just go and drive both, and decide for yourself. It's not all about reviews and comments on forum. You don't choose your GF / Wife via forum right? You need to experience both cars to truly appreciate which one is better suited for your purpose.
Drian
post Sep 4 2016, 10:23 PM

4,999 posts

this question has been asked before

civic has better NVH , bigger space, more power(turbo option), ride and handling a notch below mazda 3

mazda 3 has smaller space , better interior and handling a notch higher than civic.

This post has been edited by Drian: Sep 4 2016, 10:23 PM
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 4 2016, 10:31 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Sep 4 2016, 09:21 PM)
Hi guys, interesting in model as both around same price range but of cost lower $$$ better.

Any owner care to share which better , safety, nvh, value worth, comfy, handling.

Tq all sifus,

Cheers!
i drove a mazda3 low spec too, occasionally i also drove my cousin's civic tc-p

just my 2cents lar

safety wise : both about the same, equipped with 6 airbags, vsc and abs, but mazda 3 feels more planted and stable on high speed

NVH : Got to say civic winds all the way, mazda road noise just too noisy, but 16" on low spec should be acceptable

Value : i would say civic, as its an all rounder car, most probably higher resale value in future too

comfy : Civic is leading in term of passenger comfort and interior space, but for mazda is driver's comfort, go test drive both, mazda driver's position just right on the spot! very comfy yet sport! civic seat also not tat comfortable for long distance driving as the seat is quite flat, your thigh will be actually hanging in the air above the seat. Go try it. Mazda3 stock sound system also way better, the MZD player also much more responsive than civic laggy player.

Quality : Mazda 3 built quality is better in term of fit n finishing as well as material used, more soft touch material found in mazda.

Handling : no nid to compare, mazda way better in handling, but low spec 16" on mazda3 isnt going to be very good but still better than civic, switch to 17" or 18" then u will notice the huge different. Mazda steering feels much more direct, civic steering feels a bit numb to me.

conclusion : if u r always driving this car alone, get mazda3, cheaper and free 3 years maintenance (100% free), if u plan to get it as family car then civci no doubt, the best all rounder and reliable car in this price range.

kahjye
post Sep 4 2016, 11:26 PM

4,494 posts

my house has a civic 1.8.

basically it can be considered as mid to high end.

keyless , touch screen , all ada , except the led light and leather seat oni.

oh and its 1.8.
activexxx
post Sep 4 2016, 11:38 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Sep 4 2016, 10:31 PM)
i drove a mazda3 low spec too, occasionally i also drove my cousin's civic tc-p

just my 2cents lar

safety wise : both about the same, equipped with 6 airbags, vsc and abs, but mazda 3 feels more planted and stable on high speed

NVH : Got to say civic winds all the way, mazda road noise just too noisy, but 16" on low spec should be acceptable

Value : i would say civic, as its an all rounder car, most probably higher resale value in future too

comfy : Civic is leading in term of passenger comfort and interior space, but for mazda is driver's comfort, go test drive both, mazda driver's position just right on the spot! very comfy yet sport! civic seat also not tat comfortable for long distance driving as the seat is quite flat, your thigh will be actually hanging in the air above the seat. Go try it. Mazda3 stock sound system also way better, the MZD player also much more responsive than civic laggy player.

Quality : Mazda 3 built quality is better in term of fit n finishing as well as material used, more soft touch material found in mazda.

Handling : no nid to compare, mazda way better in handling, but low spec 16" on mazda3 isnt going to be very good but still better than civic, switch to 17" or 18" then u will notice the huge different. Mazda steering feels much more direct, civic steering feels a bit numb to me.

conclusion : if u r always driving this car alone, get mazda3, cheaper and free 3 years maintenance (100% free), if u plan to get it as family car then civci no doubt, the best all rounder and reliable car in this price range.
Good review there!

How long u been driving your mazda3? I hope it wont give much problem after 3 years down the road
amduser
post Sep 5 2016, 08:02 AM

5,542 posts

wow....no one talk about the exterior yet

got turbo doesn't mean good, with a 1.5L engine it is only equivalent to 2.0L skyactiv with 10nm more torque, civic might be faster on a straight line because of the sissy cvt, but none compare about genting uphill and downhill

i come from a small family and my parents dont complain about the size of my mazda 3, instead they find it comfortable, true that having more space is better, but if it is not comfortable then what's the point? the size of both car doesn't differ by a lot, if you want bigger legroom then they have to give you a smaller seat, less cushion to give you another inch of legroom

last but not least
user posted image user posted image

depends on which one you like, ketam vs owl/eagle/angry bird design whistling.gif
amduser
post Sep 5 2016, 08:04 AM

5,542 posts

oh yea.....low spec has better acceleration compare to high spec due to lighter and smaller rims but sacrifice on handling
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 5 2016, 08:09 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(activexxx @ Sep 4 2016, 11:38 PM)
Good review there!

How long u been driving your mazda3? I hope it wont give much problem after 3 years down the road
Have been driving it for 1 year 6 months already, so far so good bro.
jimmyteng18
post Sep 5 2016, 08:32 AM

669 posts

Guys,good review and info. Thks
bccheong77
post Sep 5 2016, 08:38 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Sep 4 2016, 09:48 PM)
Also which bigger as need space criteria in.
if you consider "bigger as need space"..then you only can get Civic... as M3 space quite compact.
theanswer
post Sep 5 2016, 08:56 AM

1,024 posts

turbo might have only extra 10nm..but dont forget the peak 220nm came earlier at 1700rpm and all the way till 5500rpm..compared to skyactive at 4000rpm. it's very2 helpful for genting up and downhill.

but if u dont mind abt the space..go for mazda 3. i prefer 2.0 with 6 speed auto. (already drive civic 1.5tc)
roocarroll
post Sep 5 2016, 09:14 AM

32 posts

The new Civic looks really cool except for that gaudy chrome strip across the front. If I was buying a Civic, i'd replace that straight away.
Drian
post Sep 5 2016, 09:28 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Sep 5 2016, 08:02 AM)
wow....no one talk about the exterior yet

got turbo doesn't mean good, with a 1.5L engine it is only equivalent to 2.0L skyactiv with 10nm more torque, civic might be faster on a straight line because of the sissy cvt, but none compare about genting uphill and downhill

i come from a small family and my parents dont complain about the size of my mazda 3, instead they find it comfortable, true that having more space is better, but if it is not comfortable then what's the point? the size of both car doesn't differ by a lot, if you want bigger legroom then they have to give you a smaller seat, less cushion to give you another inch of legroom

last but not least
user posted image user posted image

depends on which one you like, ketam vs owl/eagle/angry bird design whistling.gif
You can't compare torque like that. Civic's ~220nm torques starts from 1800rpm while the mazda 3 needs to rev up to 4000rpm to get that kind of torque.
At 1800 rpm the 2.0l skyactiv is producing ~174nm which means the civic is already producing 26% more hp at low rpm range.

Also NA engines loses power compared to turbo at high altitude because the air is thinner and has less oxygen, but the turbo makes up to it by being able to compress more air into the engine at high altitudes that the NA cannot do so I do think civic has an edge when going up genting.
freedom11
post Sep 5 2016, 09:42 AM

Civic front is ok but the back is too radical for my liking. FD is still the best looking Civic.

Ginny88
post Sep 5 2016, 11:40 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(freedom11 @ Sep 5 2016, 09:42 AM)
Civic front is ok but the back is too radical for my liking. FD is still the best looking Civic.
Both Civic front and back are too aggressive looking for me. More suited to younger drivers. Mazda 3's look is elegantly stylish and suitable for all age range.
Jason
post Sep 5 2016, 12:34 PM

6,356 posts

Both the Honda Civic and Mazda 3 are very good cars. Mazda 3 has been winning accolades since its debut in 2013.

If space is of paramount importance, then Civic wins, end of story. Subjective views on the design, outlook, dashboard etc aside..since these are personal preference...

I feel Mazda 3 is the better buy in Malaysia, both in base GL spec & GLS high spec as we get the most powerful bunch of the 2L Skyactiv-G engine, the 162bhp tune.

The GL loses out to base Civic on keyless push start, power seats and cruise control, but gets a bigger engine, and its cheaper by RM5k. Whether those 3 items are worth 5k at the expense of a smaller displacement, I personally don't think so. Especially when that 1.8L engine is nothing new, and a carryover.

The Mazda 3 high spec is hands down the best buy. All the features the Civic Turbo Premium has, and on top of that, with i-ActivSense. The Civic has advanced safety technologies as well, but it was not brought into Malaysia by DRB-Hicom, and its more expensive than the M3! Pay more for less. How much more? A whopping RM11k. Is that worth the power the Turbo engine produces? Not really IMO. I don't think so. Sure, the Civic Turbo is more powerful, but how much power you need? Only you can answer that. The M3 2L is no slouch. The driving experience, VTEC won't kick in, cause of CVT, just the way it works. That alone I would prefer the M3 cause I'd fall asleep on the CVT -- or bore myself to death.

Even the base Civic Turbo is RM124k vs full spec Mazda RM121k. That's RM3k difference for a car that has less safety features. Its year 2016 and still coming with halogen head lamps?

The Civic is a very good car, just look at all the raves its getting in North America and Australia. But when it reached our shores, DRB decided to cut down the features and sell it for more. Simply not value for money. Still, its a good car.
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 5 2016, 11:13 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 5 2016, 09:28 AM)
You can't compare torque like that. Civic's ~220nm torques starts from 1800rpm while the mazda 3 needs to rev up to 4000rpm to get that kind of torque.
At 1800 rpm the 2.0l skyactiv is producing ~174nm which means the civic is already producing 26% more hp at low rpm range.

Also NA engines loses power compared to turbo at high altitude because the air is thinner and has less oxygen, but the turbo makes up to it by being able to compress more air into the engine at high altitudes that the NA cannot do so I do think civic has an edge when going up genting.
yes turbo definitely wins over acceleration during uphill, no doubts, but i guess other members are doubting about the CVT gearbox rather than the turbo engine here.. CVT might slip during certain condition especially uphill and didnt maintain higher rpm.. but civic's cvt is actually quite responsive imho.. not as boring as the hrv and city cvt..

NA is everything about linearity here, so its easier to control and predict especially during corner, can easily maintain max torque rpm range tht pulls u out when u r exiting corner thumbsup.gif

both have pros n cons

CVT in city is very good especially with the turbo engine, smooth yet powerful..
freedom11
post Sep 7 2016, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Sep 5 2016, 11:40 AM)
Both Civic front and back are too aggressive looking for me. More suited to younger drivers. Mazda 3's look is elegantly stylish and suitable for all age range.
Totally agree with you. It just lost the sportiness as compare to FD or the 8th Gen Civic. For me, definitely will go for M3.
dirtrun
post Sep 7 2016, 10:58 AM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Sep 5 2016, 11:13 PM)
yes turbo definitely wins over acceleration during uphill, no doubts, but i guess other members are doubting about the CVT gearbox rather than the turbo engine here.. CVT might slip during certain condition especially uphill and didnt maintain higher rpm.. but civic's cvt is actually quite responsive imho.. not as boring as the hrv and city cvt..

NA is everything about linearity here, so its easier to control and predict especially during corner, can easily maintain max torque rpm range tht pulls u out when u r exiting corner  thumbsup.gif

both have pros n cons

CVT in city is very good especially with the turbo engine, smooth yet powerful..
No point explaining to doubters..

Over Here M3 is the best .. period.. smile.gif
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 7 2016, 11:12 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 7 2016, 10:58 AM)
No point explaining to doubters..

Over Here M3 is the best .. period..  smile.gif
Hehe depends on what buyer looking for la bro, for me m3 is the best if u don't mind smaller interior space.. hehe..
Drian
post Sep 8 2016, 10:17 AM

4,999 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Sep 5 2016, 11:13 PM)

NA is everything about linearity here, so its easier to control and predict especially during corner, can easily maintain max torque rpm range tht pulls u out when u r exiting corner  thumbsup.gif

both have pros n cons

For a bit of perspective, the organisers even brought along a Mazda 3 and a Toyota Corolla Altis for us to have a go at the pseudo “hill rally.” To keep things short, the Mazda certainly does well when it comes to focusing on driver appeal, but lacks the uphill oomph the Civic can provide.

Can't provide link here because the website is banned if you know what i mean , but it is one of the latest civic review.

ZaiZai1989
post Sep 8 2016, 10:28 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Sep 8 2016, 10:17 AM)
Can't provide link here because the website is banned if you know what i mean , but it is one of the latest civic review.
Can't deny mazda3 less oomph than civic as I have driven both.. civic have the pulling effect when u really press hard on the throttle.. mazda3 will.never have such feeling as skyactiv focuses on linearity acceleration... also known as jinba itai, human horse one body hahahha
stratocaster
post Sep 8 2016, 01:21 PM

364 posts

Mazda 3 may seem better paper wise, but honestly you will be much much happier with the Civic..just look at those on the streets..

K24
post Sep 14 2016, 04:42 PM

137 posts

How about fc for both cars? Full tank approximately how much? Can jalan how long how far?
babyblue89
post Sep 14 2016, 05:08 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(K24 @ Sep 14 2016, 04:42 PM)
How about fc for both cars? Full tank approximately how much? Can jalan how long how far?
for my civic, i pump RM70 for Ron95. estimate full tank approximate 580km.
archonixm
post Sep 14 2016, 06:05 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(stratocaster @ Sep 8 2016, 01:21 PM)
Mazda 3 may seem better paper wise, but honestly you will be much much happier with the Civic..just look at those on the streets..
er? y?
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 15 2016, 09:36 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(archonixm @ Sep 14 2016, 06:05 PM)
er? y?
I Want to know why too.. coz I dunno how to judge from just seeing ppl driving civic on road..
stratocaster
post Sep 15 2016, 05:31 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Sep 15 2016, 09:36 AM)
I Want to know why too.. coz I dunno how to judge from just seeing ppl driving civic on road..
cause of the really good reviews as the best undisputed champion for c-segment now unless m3 comes up with new one I guess
so many otr now also like HRV already..compared both test drive..civic is really a looker..may not be as comfy as m3 but then you wont regret getting the FC..my view plz dont be offended
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 16 2016, 08:55 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(stratocaster @ Sep 15 2016, 05:31 PM)
cause of the really good reviews as the best undisputed champion for c-segment now unless m3 comes up with new one I guess
so many otr now also like HRV already..compared both test drive..civic is really a looker..may not be as comfy as m3 but then you wont regret getting the FC..my view plz dont be offended
For your information bro, m3 isn't comfy at all, civic is more comfy with larger interior space, m3 interior space is very small for a c segment..Haha.. But m3 drivers seat feels more supportive..
heavensea
post Sep 16 2016, 09:12 AM

9,616 posts

Mazda3..

How about ford focus Eco boost..

This post has been edited by heavensea: Sep 16 2016, 09:12 AM
berann
post Sep 16 2016, 10:08 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(GibsonBFG @ Sep 4 2016, 09:21 PM)

Tq all sifus,

Cheers!
Very easy, if often drive alone/single/no children then go for M3. Handling better and more fun to drive as a driver. Civic not bad too but just behind M3.

If often fetch ppl, go for civic, Civic more spacious, rear aircond, larger boot, better NVH and more comfortable (softer suspension vs M3)

M3 GL 2.0 better power vs 1.8 CIvic.

But civic 1.8 way better specs than M3 GL
- Remote engine start, Walk away auto lock, Digital Auto aircond, rear aircond, Auto break hold, electronic handbrake, DRL, 8 ways power seat, Cruise control, Full LCD Meter .....

myron649
post Sep 21 2016, 07:37 AM

54 posts

im owner of M3 for 1.5years... never drive civic before so no comment..

overall i'm very satisfied with m3 overall performance, the interior built, handling, pick up, safety tech, etc...

the only fall back is really the space available...ever since after getting a baby on board, my wife always complain rear space too small... she wan a MPV instead haha...
SUSkevin23
post Sep 21 2016, 08:10 AM

1,803 posts

M3 is damn noisy inside. Engine noise, road noise. Only good thing is the handing. Other than that, all lose to civic. The engine is not that powerful either. They had to sacrifice power for fuel efficiency.

The civic turbo is a joy to drive. Great NVH, good space, awesome looks and better service centres.

Definately Civic turbo dude! No brainer
Drian
post Sep 21 2016, 09:44 AM

4,999 posts

Mazda 3 is a good car, no doubt about that, but Civic is just the better overall car.
The keyword here is overall.
Civic is not the best in every category but it is above average(maybe top 3) in nearly every category in the c segment.

This post has been edited by Drian: Sep 21 2016, 09:45 AM
demetry
post Sep 21 2016, 11:32 AM

302 posts

civic interior quality mmg crappy dong dong. if new civic has interior quality like m3, i would buy civic with my eyes closed. laugh.gif

and yes, the coming m3 is really looking good.
irmo
post Sep 21 2016, 11:48 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(freedom11 @ Sep 5 2016, 09:42 AM)
strongly agreed..
imo the back not just that too radical..it's now looks boring and uglier then prev model.
FD is still the best looking civic. don't flame me..it just my 20 cents.
stratocaster
post Sep 21 2016, 05:54 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Sep 21 2016, 11:32 AM)
civic interior quality mmg crappy dong dong. if new civic has interior quality like m3, i would buy civic with my eyes closed. laugh.gif

and yes, the coming m3 is really looking good.
agree civic is the best in this category , other cant keep up unless new ones comes up..
get your civic quick, long waiting list biggrin.gif, but if ready stock M3 should be plenty avail
limsc07
post Sep 21 2016, 09:42 PM

55 posts

I know M3 is direct injection engine. What about current Civic 1.5 Turbo Engine? Still normal fuel injection?
Nick Zelos
post Sep 21 2016, 09:57 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(limsc07 @ Sep 21 2016, 09:42 PM)
I know M3 is direct injection engine. What about current Civic 1.5 Turbo Engine? Still normal fuel injection?
Civic 1.5 turbo uses direct injection now IINM..

EDIT: Electronic fuel injection..

This post has been edited by Nick Zelos: Sep 21 2016, 10:00 PM
freedom11
post Sep 22 2016, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(irmo @ Sep 21 2016, 11:48 AM)
strongly agreed..
imo the back not just that too radical..it's now looks boring and uglier then prev model.
FD is still the best looking civic. don't flame me..it just my 20 cents.
thumbup.gif Now u mentioned it, it is indeed Uglier than previous model FB. Not to mention some even add on a tiny little Spoiler on top....Fugly.
ckseong80
post Sep 22 2016, 09:40 AM

368 posts

I was considering Mazda3 new car last year but right when I open and saw the leg room at the back I'll not pick this car.
It's because I have a kid and I feel pity to the back passengers to sit in such cramp space.
So really if a family car, Civic is the better choice.

For fun drive Mazda3.

You can't have best of both.

demetry
post Sep 22 2016, 11:22 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Sep 22 2016, 09:40 AM)
I was considering Mazda3 new car last year but right when I open and saw the leg room at the back I'll not pick this car.
It's because I have a kid and I feel pity to the back passengers to sit in such cramp space.

For fun drive Mazda3.

you can. buy mazda 6 biggrin.gif
hihihehe
post Sep 22 2016, 11:29 AM

13,791 posts

just read that new hyundai elantra turbo is coming soon. on paper, it beats m3 and civic
Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 22 2016, 12:00 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 22 2016, 11:29 AM)
just read that new hyundai elantra turbo is coming soon. on paper, it beats m3 and civic
Malaysia will never bring in that model. Even the veloster turbo in malaysia uses the lousier spec engine rather than the 200PS. No one buys it and now have 30k rebate... hilarious

Current Mazda 3 in malaysia is a old model. So it is pointless to compare it with the new civic

The new mazda 3 however have THe new G-Vectoring Control system

It is not much to be honest. The price will definitely hike if they bring in that system

I would still go for civic though but it is personal reference. Each of them have their goodies ... so basically in the end.. go for test drive.

This post has been edited by Eternalgl0ry: Sep 22 2016, 12:07 PM
hihihehe
post Sep 22 2016, 12:04 PM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Sep 22 2016, 12:00 PM)
Malaysia will never bring in that model. Even the veloster turbo in malaysia uses the lousier spec engine rather than the 200PS. No one buys it and now have 30k rebate... hilarious
what i heard is they will detune the spec to around 180ps and this will replace the current 1.8

stratocaster
post Sep 22 2016, 12:22 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(freedom11 @ Sep 22 2016, 09:27 AM)
thumbup.gif Now u mentioned it, it is indeed Uglier than previous model FB. Not to mention some even add on a tiny little Spoiler on top....Fugly.
Same goes for m3..very outdated look now tbh
Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 22 2016, 12:28 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(Nick Zelos @ Sep 21 2016, 09:57 PM)
Civic 1.5 turbo uses direct injection now IINM..

EDIT: Electronic fuel injection..
Sorry but the honda wrote a mistake in their spec list. The 1.5 turbo is Direct injection and a global engine used in other countries. Only the ECU is different .. that is why a lot people go for racechip tuning
ckseong80
post Sep 22 2016, 02:02 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Sep 22 2016, 11:22 AM)
you can. buy mazda 6 biggrin.gif
If budget not a concern I'd go for BMW 7 series lo.
ClicksForKicks
post Nov 16 2016, 08:21 PM

I was in this predicament. Essentially, was considering the mid-spec Civic and the Mazda3 high spec(?) as they're roughly the same price. Test drove both back to back in Glenmarie where there's a Honda & Maazda showroon side by side. Here's my dua sen:

Looks: Civic looks good from the front, but fugly dead on from the rear. Overall, I think the Mazda looks better.
Build quality: Fit and finish on the Mazda is also class leading, clearly ahead of the Civic, even though the Civic is much better than the previous generation. Look at the panel gaps and the plastics in the lower parts of the cabin. That's what gives it away. I also prefer the way the Mazda's Interior looks.
Drive: This is where it comes down to preference. Handling around corners, Mazda wins hands down. It also has a much sharper throttle response. Car feels very darty, very agile, beats the Civic even when the latter is is 'S' mode. Then again, the Civic has it trumped when it comes to mid-speed acceleration. The Civic also rides better. Suspension is not as harsh and a lot more compliant on most of our Malaysian roads. In other words, the Mazda will be the more fun car to drive up Genting. But KL -> Penang on cruise control at highway speeds, Civic for the win.
NVH: Civic wins, although I should say its more a situation of Mazda losing than Honda winning. Tire roar from the higher spec Mazda3 is terrible although this may be mitigated if you get the lower spec-ed one with 16 inch shoes. Owner forums also found improvements after the swapped out the stock 18 inch tires.
Equipment levels: I'd say they're about the same. Mazda comes with all the safety stuff (ie. Lane watch etc.) and Honda has Carplay/Android auto to play with, which is nice.
Space: This one, Honda takes the cake la obviously. The rear leg room is significantly better. Downside is the Civic's rear seats don't fold down. So you might want to consider that.
FC: Shouldn't be much between them I think.

TL;DR... Mazda 3 is sportier, more fun drive. Civic is more comfy, progressive.

I settled on the Civic though. Main reason is it would be a better car for my purposes (ie. more city/highway driving vs Genting sprints). So, I would urge you to drive both and decide which you prefer in the long run. smile.gif

kluseng
post Nov 17 2016, 01:26 PM

473 posts

For fun drive Mazda3.

Wow, your kid must be huge size! I have yet to hear a complaint from any of my passengers sitting at the back of my Mazda 3, even from my 5'-10" teenage son but then again we are just normal people.
RicoT
post Nov 18 2016, 11:35 AM

200 posts

For fun drive Mazda3.

Front passenger seats in Mazda can be push back very far to the rear (at least in Mazda 2 vs. Honda City), hence creating an illusion that rear leg space is almost non-existence. I tried Honda City and the front seat push back is much shorter compared to Mazda 2. I always push back further while driving alone or with front passengers (very laid back style driving), but readjust when there are rear passengers.
Alan
post Nov 19 2016, 12:55 AM

413 posts

My way to test leg room is setting my optimal driver seat position, then check out the rear seat leg room. I can't get into mazda3 rear seat... focus too.

A wheelbase of 2.7m will usually give good leg room..
Ginny88
post Nov 19 2016, 09:10 AM

1,032 posts

Family men with growing kids will usually choose Civic. Those with kids who are still pre-school or grown up are more likely to choose Mazda 3. You may say it's leg room but I think it's more to do with psychology - a safe choice vs. a more adventurous choice.
soonlee33
post Nov 19 2016, 10:16 AM

2,677 posts

Does the Mazda3 now has the color option of soul red
yeezai
post Nov 20 2016, 12:15 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

if u wan second hand value then go for honda and toyota ..other brand no need think

0.0391sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:24 AM