18 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Venturing into Agriculture & Aquaculture, Co-Ordination & Implementation is KEY

TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 25 2012, 06:05 PM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

bro just a friendly reminder. NEVER rush into buying a land just because there is another interested buyer. you ALWAYS have to see it first hand.

or your decision can force you to overpay when you can get it cheaper... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Apr 25 2012, 05:02 PM)
Hi Mr Farmer,

i'm seriously thinking of going over to view the land. apparently he has got some interested buyers even at 18k per acre.

hmmm... decisions decisions.

TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 26 2012, 05:36 PM

2,348 posts

the IDEAL situation to rear fishes are in tanks rather than pond culture as per what MichaelJ. said advantages. and also weather control.

rearing fish is usually about CONTROL : access control, disease control, size control, harvesting control & Quality Control...haha

you can also apply to DOF for courses depending on your location

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Apr 26 2012, 05:38 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 27 2012, 07:43 PM

2,348 posts

Canvas system also has their problem with Durability of the canvas used.

but if the cost if low it might be worth to try.

Razkyo : where is your pond or farm ?

MrFarmer : when you get back from Sabah....do make time to come over to my farm. let's share some ideas biggrin.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 30 2012, 06:05 PM

2,348 posts

Hi Razkyo,

to start you could use the canvas first to test out the system. once you reach breakeven or projected profitability then you can try to use fiber glass as you are more assured of the operations and everything

agreed with MichaelJ., that fiber glass last much longer and more durable thus the higher cost. Good Thing No Cheap, Cheap Thing No Good...haha

QUOTE(Razkyo @ Apr 29 2012, 10:33 PM)
Dear ParaOpticaL,

Apologies for the late response as I was busy. The land that I rented is in Pahang near Pekan. I am liaising with Marble Goby to design the layout of the farm as well as the piping and other logistics. I agree that the worrying issue is the durability of the canvas. According to the consultant, we will have to change the canvas every two years. At one point I was considering to purchase the fiber glass tanks but the cost of one fiber glass tank is too much.
QUOTE(Michael J. @ Apr 30 2012, 03:09 PM)
Razkyo:

Marble Goby has a good track record in their production and marketing, something not every "consultant" has on hand. You'd do well to have them on board as advisors.

As for canvas culture, for the short to medium term, it is still alright, especially since you're renting the land. I had the impression you had no need to rent any land. Nonetheless, if you are in this for the long haul, you might want to consider a more permanent solution.

I agree with you; fibreglass tanks cost a bomb. But they do last a lot more longer than canvas, and they can be made to withstand greater pressures (i.e. large amounts of water, and thus, culture of more fish).
TSParaOpticaL
post Apr 30 2012, 07:29 PM

2,348 posts

Bro,

we can go to our farm either on 15th or 16th May 2012. so let's meet up on that day biggrin.gif

i will be away from 17th - 19th May....

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Apr 30 2012, 07:07 PM)
Next trip home is on 11th June. See you then. Staying for 9 days. Yes, would like to visit your farm. The more we discuss, the more idea shall crop up.

Added on April 30, 2012, 7:22 pm

Fully agree here, to bee on the conservative side, keep initial expenses to the minimum (unless you have a big fat account/unlimited support). As mostly, there shall be lots of unforeseen problems/ expenses. Michael also has a point on the durability. As most probably you wouldn't be doing all ponds in one go, maybe a half/half. That is start with the lower cost in phase 1.

As for consultant, go for those with good track record. ConSultant, break in up = CON you first, then INSULT you  biggrin.gif

Razkyo
Where is your targeted market? East coast I guess you shall be competing with sea fishes. West coast I guess rather far. Have to think about logistic, transporting your harvest. I think there is most probably some mortality loss during transporting?
TSParaOpticaL
post May 1 2012, 03:56 PM

2,348 posts

sorry my mistake...

that whole week apart from Monday i've got no problem

come down and let's share inputs biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ May 1 2012, 02:47 PM)
Sorry Para, can not, still in Sabah for May, only back to KL on 11th June  smile.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post May 5 2012, 06:51 AM

2,348 posts

this is the first time someone had used this kind of analogy...which also explains your flair in writing... biggrin.gif

good explanation bro

QUOTE(Michael J. @ May 5 2012, 01:04 AM)
Mr Farmer:

Nutrient competition in soil is related to the chemistry of soil. It may be a little technical, but what you'd need to know is that everything has a balancing point; too much of one thing can be just as bad as having too little.

The explanation of nutrient competition is as follows. It might sound sexist and crude, but please bear with me:

Think of nutrients as women on a shopping spree during the Big Sale. There are young teenage girls, there are 20-something girls, there are the more median aged women, and there are the more mature women.

Now think of clothing outlets as being plants, who depend on the "nutrients" paying a "visit" to their outlets in order to survive.

Each outlet would have particular types of items on sale prefered by those within certain age groups, and therefore "need" the specific age groups of women to come visit their store. Eg. teenage girls might go for clothing items worn by the Hunter Game's leading lady; 20-something girls would probably go for Korean girl-group fashoin, etc. etc.

So these outlets will have promotions from time to time to "attract" particular age groups of women to "visit". Often, these promotions are very targeted, whereby the age groups will hardly overlap. But once in a while, the outlet smight put on promotion something that is desired by multiple age groups (eg. LV bags are quite popular, I'm told). What happens, is a mad rush, which clogs up the outlet, resulting in delayed sales. In the case of actual outlets, well, they always get paid in the end; but for plants, this competition can starve the plants quite badly, damaging it significantly.

The second scenario is something like the above, except that in this case, there are less women during the Big Sale, and they are accompanied by non-targeted groups of people. We shall call them "non-targeted nutrients". Visualise them as the brothers, boyfriend, husbands, fathers, etc. etc. of these women. And all these fellas are super kiam siap dudes. And instead of being accompanied by one dude, each woman is accompanied by 2-3 or more (i.e. there are more dudes in the shopping mall than gals; not gonna happen, but hey, think creatively).

Normally, the "non-targeted nutrients" are quite liberal when going to the shopping malls with their women. But during Big Sale time, especially when there are less "nutrients" a.k.a. women for the outlets to woo and entice, these kiam siap brothers, boyfriends, husbands, fathers etc etc will hold on to their women tightly. Because they know, with so few other women about, the chances of "overspending" at those enticing outlets is very very high. In other words, if the women want to enter an outlet, the dudes will pull them away, thus preventing them from "visiting" and "spending" in the outlet. In plants, this literally worsens the state of starvation faced by the plant, accelerating whatever nutritional disease that is already present.

Now, with the right balance of all the above, things become very peaceful. No mad rushes, no controlling boyfriends/husbands/fathers etc. The outlets get their fair share of spenders, and there is no overspending.

Get the analogy?

In the case of what's probably happening to your plants, substitute scenario 1's "women" with potassium and magnesium. But consider magnesium as the more mature women who aren't nimble and quick-moving as the younger women (potassium), and are less in number in the shopping malls. The aggressiveness and sheer abundance of potassium being attracted to the plants outcompetes magnesium in being absorbed by the plant; this results in a "false" magnesium deficiency, which means that even though magnesium may be available is good quantity in the soil, the sheer amount of potassium greatly reduces the chances of any magnesium being absorbed. The more mature women (magnesium), although lower in number, generally have more cashflow than younger women (potassium), and so can impact the outlet's sales figure quite significantly; losing their business will put a dent in the bank account of the outlet in the long run.

Hope this paints a clearer picture.

And to any female readers we have, my apologies for the analogy; but you gals do make it simpler for us guys to visualise things.  tongue.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post May 8 2012, 11:39 AM

2,348 posts

Hi People,

Just released this Month's Newsletter

http://www.mediafire.com/?mbwfc20gcssbqsu

Have Fun Reading and remember...Agriculture & Aquaculture = BIG BUSINESS
TSParaOpticaL
post May 11 2012, 09:39 PM

2,348 posts

Ohiki, if you are planting veges like siew pak choy, choy sum & other similar just spread the seeds

if you are planting like chilli then its best to use the planting tray.
TSParaOpticaL
post May 18 2012, 09:14 PM

2,348 posts

Facing some bug attack on my jackfruit trees....haha

and I forgot to use "anti-hair fall shampoo" one of the tree

TSParaOpticaL
post May 21 2012, 04:53 PM

2,348 posts

hi chinyen,

is it those fish meal fertiliser which comes in a blue metal drum ?

QUOTE(chinyen @ May 21 2012, 12:49 PM)
just wondering anyone here using fish bone fertiliser for your plants? any advice of where can i get them?
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 3 2012, 11:53 AM

2,348 posts

about the stability of the mother trees...i am trying a method thought by my sifu.

am experimenting on it. MrFarmer when you come back i bring you to my farm then i show you the idea and practicability.
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 9 2012, 03:38 PM

2,348 posts

now its Durian Season in Mantin....and its my first time collecting durians.....was at Raub yesterday and their place is going to drop soon....plunging the price due to oversupply.....
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 13 2012, 06:56 PM

2,348 posts

bro, one thing for your D24, please ensure the trees are FULLY RIPE...

here in Mantin about 80% of the D24 trees are NOT ripe....
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 14 2012, 03:53 PM

2,348 posts

just be wary and TEST your D24 before you sell them. cause in Mantin 80% "so called ripe" also terbalik kereta brother....

show me the picture of your musang king when you harvest...i will post mine soon....

Added on June 14, 2012, 4:01 pmBTW : June 2012 Newsletter is OUT....thanks for the downloads once again

This post has been edited by ParaOpticaL: Jun 14 2012, 04:01 PM
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 18 2012, 12:12 PM

2,348 posts

no wonder there was NO Official things being put out for MAHA

i saw many posters about MINI MAHA 2012 Negeri Sembilan. 25th June - 1 July 2012
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 19 2012, 03:48 PM

2,348 posts

Welcome to the CLUB bro.... biggrin.gif

there is a mushroom supplier in semenyih

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Jun 19 2012, 03:43 PM)
Hi dudes...

I've been stalking this thread for quite sometime and made up my mind to really make agri a part of my life  smile.gif

Shroom cultivation was always the one thing i wanted to do... So as a start i tried cultivating abalone mycelium in a glass bottle.. My first attempt is a total disaster... Well... How can we ever succeed if we dont make mistakes...  biggrin.gif

Giving that i have totally zero exposure to agri, i was thinkin.. It is avisable for me to start off with cash crops such as chilli and shrooms to give me the experience and cashflow? As i wanted to commit fulltime to it as this is wat i really desire for!  laugh.gif
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 20 2012, 05:49 PM

2,348 posts

For the Eksotica, what i did was to buy it from a RELIABLE pasar malam seller and take the seeds from there and germinate. haha...

am trying to try to germinate the d197 later when i get their seeds

anyone have an idea on how to germinate Durian Seeds ??
i dont have any idea sorry....

QUOTE(MrFarmer @ Jun 19 2012, 07:55 PM)
Hi People,

Am looking for quality Papaya Seeds, such as Eksotica 1, 2 or 3.  Any ideas where to get these from?

Musang King (Mau San Wong).
Thinking of germinating these from the seeds, but the seed of these clone looks pretty small, wondering if these can germinate.  biggrin.gif  Got about 30 of these, after finishing our durian feast.

TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 22 2012, 04:17 PM

2,348 posts

Hi Bros,

anyone of you had purchased any worms recently ?
if yes please recommend some...thanks am thinking of "inviting them to my farm" tq
TSParaOpticaL
post Jun 28 2012, 08:31 PM

2,348 posts

Bro suddenly you are on a durian hunt...lolx...

btw i might give you a call tomorrow or saturday morning since i am still collecting some durian and trying to germinate them.

i think i have not so good memory on what you told me....zzz... sorry to disturb you bro...

trying the d28 seeds

QUOTE(Michael J. @ Jun 28 2012, 08:35 AM)
Separately, I've been on a durian hunt. Well actually, I've been hunting for durians at my local durian stall. My goal was to try as many different varieties of durians as I could find. It is one thing to read about them, look at some pictures, and go "uhm hmmm", but it is a completely different thing to actually eat them.

Also, I'm collecting some seeds from each variety to germinate. Although most of them would probably be open pollinated, and thus hybrids, it has come to my attention that no new varieties had been added to the registry since the early 1990s. So maybe, just maybe, it is high time to find Malaysia's Next Top Durian.

My list and description of durians tasted so far:

Variety: D28
Fruit: Somewhat oblique or teardrop shaped, small thorns at the top, progressing into large, broad, widely spaced thorns towards the bottom.
Smell: Aromatic, not strongly pungent. Pleasant, reminds one of D24
Aril: Golden yellow arils (flesh), very creamy, very thick, sweet with slight bitter tang on the finish. Extremely filling. Few seeds per locule, which are moderately large. Seeds are somewhat trapezoid shaped.

Variety: D144
Fruit: Kidney shaped, with moderately long, well packed thorns, which are very sharp.
Smell: Aromatic, not very pungent.
Aril: Light yellow arils, creamy, a little runny, but thin. Sweet with almost un-noticeable bitter tang on the bite. Quite a few seeds per locule, some shrunken, which are quite large compared to total pulp content. Seeds are bullet shaped.

Variety: D2
Fruit: Kidney shaped, with noticeable reduction of locules on one side. Moderately spaced thorns, which are sharp, but somewhat pliable.
Smell: Intensely aromatic, sharp sweet smell that can be overpowering in a closed room.
Aril: Whitish arils (flesh), very creamy, very thick but slightly runny, sweet with strong bitter notes on the bite till finish. Extremely filling, but addictive. Few seeds per locule, many shrunken. Only 3 locules contained arils, the other two locules were sharply reduced. Seeds which are moderately sized, ovoid with tapered end.

Variety: D88 (?)
Fruit: Heart shaped (like beef heart), densely packed thorns, recurved at the top.
Smell: Aroma not noticeable before opening. Once opened, is moderately pungent.
Aril: Whitish grey arils (flesh), very creamy, mederately thick, sweet with slight bitter tang on the finish. Many seeds per locule (4-5), which are small-medium sized, and has distinctive black "brush" marks on the sides. Shows some signs of uneven ripening, but is generally good eating once dropped from tree.

Variety: D103 (?)
Fruit: Perfectly globose fruit, with short, even, and widely spaced sharp thorns. Yellow-green colored.
Smell: Aromatic, with some pungency. Can be overpowering in a closed room.
Aril: Whitish yellow arils (flesh), creamy but runny, and very sticky. EXTREMELY BITTER ON THE FIRST BITE. Taste mellows significantly after consuming first pip, with slight hints of vodka. Many small seeds per locule (3-4), but mostly are shrunken and reduced. Pleasant to eat in alternation with a sweet durian. Seeds are ovoid, but flattish.
One thing I'd like to note about the last few entries, is that about 1-2 hour after eating them, there is a tendency to get drowsy. Not sure if it is due to any "additional" stuff in the durians (read: agrochemicals), or if the vodka taste has anything to do with it (natural alcohol compounds). I had some of my best sleeps ever in the past two days when I started eating those durians.

18 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0583sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:47 AM