good semi synthetic engine oil

TSdelsoo
post Aug 20 2016, 11:19 PM, updated 10y ago

3,187 posts

I know the best engine oil is fully synthetic engine oil . But , it's too expensive . I wanna try good semi synthetic oil . Which is good ? 20w40 ? 20w50 ? 10w30 ? my car is old proton saga . I need to drive the car long distance ( from kl to johor) , so i need to maintain the car in good condition) .
flare66
post Aug 20 2016, 11:25 PM

149 posts

10w40 eni/agip awesome semi-synth
ayamxxx
post Aug 20 2016, 11:26 PM

4,057 posts

Your engine oil budget?

Mine settle with tesco offer, usually fully synthetic 5w-40 shell helix at rm139.

Got also Total brand, similar price.
TSdelsoo
post Aug 20 2016, 11:27 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 20 2016, 11:26 PM)
Your engine oil budget?

Mine settle with tesco offer, usually fully synthetic 5w-40 shell helix at rm139.

Got also Total brand, similar price.
around rm 100 biggrin.gif
therain01
post Aug 20 2016, 11:37 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 20 2016, 11:19 PM)
I know the best engine oil is fully synthetic engine oil . But , it's too expensive . I wanna try good semi synthetic oil . Which is good ? 20w40 ? 20w50 ? 10w30 ? my car is old proton saga . I need to drive the car long distance ( from kl to johor) , so i need to maintain the car in good condition) .
Tesco semi synthetic 10w40 4litres is selling for less than rm60 atm. Fully synthetic less than rm100. Tesco Semi synthetic should easily last for at least 6000km before oil change is needed.

TSdelsoo
post Aug 20 2016, 11:41 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Aug 20 2016, 11:37 PM)
Tesco semi synthetic 10w40 4litres is selling for less than rm60  atm. Fully synthetic less than rm100. Tesco Semi synthetic should easily last for at least 6000km before oil change is needed.
so 10w40 is the best semi-synthetic oil ? i would prefer more good brands rather than "Tesco" . Any suggestion?
My uncle told me that he just changed Hi-Rev 7240 10w40 for his car which cost thim rm100 . Is it worth ? Is the oil good ?
TSdelsoo
post Aug 20 2016, 11:42 PM

3,187 posts

the lower the number , the higher is the quality of the oil ?
lsm1991
post Aug 20 2016, 11:49 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 20 2016, 11:42 PM)
no..... thats not how it works.... to go into the details, there is a thread all about oils (i think its pinned)

and just be careful, many 'fake' oils out there~

*also, tesco oil is said to be pretty decent, its a saga, not one of those highly strung engines, not necessary to use those extremely good oils for it*
therain01
post Aug 21 2016, 12:04 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 20 2016, 11:41 PM)
so 10w40 is the best semi-synthetic oil ? i would prefer more good brands rather than "Tesco" . Any suggestion?
My uncle told me that he just changed Hi-Rev 7240 10w40 for his car which cost thim rm100 . Is it worth ? Is the oil good ?
No. 10w40 is not the best semi synthetic. When using non fully synthetic oil, you will want lower viscosity range, for example 15w40. Reason being the higher the rage, the more additive VI are added.

Anyway, I can't comment on hi Rev. Never use that. When come to semi synthetic I do recommend aisin 10w30 but I believe saga need something more than 30.

TSdelsoo
post Aug 21 2016, 12:05 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Aug 21 2016, 12:04 AM)
No.  10w40 is not the best semi synthetic. When using non fully synthetic oil,  you will want lower viscosity range,  for example 15w40. Reason being the higher the rage,  the more additive VI are added.

Anyway, I can't comment on hi Rev. Never use that. When come to semi synthetic I do recommend aisin 10w30 but I believe saga need something more than 30.
the number in front or behind represent the viscosity number ? i read the pinned post , but dont really understand ... cry.gif
magnesium
post Aug 21 2016, 12:11 AM

1,130 posts

Before this i use petronas syntium but recently change to aeon fully synthetic.

Quite lighter when rev and engine a little bit quiet.

This post has been edited by magnesium: Aug 21 2016, 12:12 AM
therain01
post Aug 21 2016, 12:23 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 21 2016, 12:05 AM)
the number in front or behind represent the viscosity number ? i read the pinned post , but dont really understand ...  cry.gif
Both numbers tell you the viscosity. To make things easier, and since we don't have feezing cold weather, we should look at the number at behind, for example 40 for your car.

SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 21 2016, 07:36 AM

12,696 posts

It's not what you want but rather what the car manual said what the car should have. Totally different thing.

A super expensive oil that the car manual didn't say you can use can spell trouble.

wira_laju
post Aug 21 2016, 07:42 AM

235 posts

dont use too thin oil for old 4 cylinder engine.newer&modern car oklah.
TSdelsoo
post Aug 21 2016, 08:10 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Aug 21 2016, 12:23 AM)
Both numbers tell you the viscosity. To make things easier, and since we don't have feezing cold weather, we should look at the number at behind, for example 40 for your car.
the lower the number behind the higher is the quality of the oil ?
TSdelsoo
post Aug 21 2016, 08:12 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Aug 21 2016, 07:42 AM)
dont use too thin oil for old 4 cylinder engine.newer&modern car oklah.
Which engine oil you recommend?
SKYjack
post Aug 21 2016, 08:23 AM

367 posts

Tesco's semi sync on offer at $60 is sufficient. For an old Saga, anything more is just a waste of money, it does absolutely nothing for the engine! Have been using this oil on my 10year old Myvi for years,hasn't missed a beat!
jemmi
post Aug 21 2016, 08:24 AM

485 posts

My old 2006 Myvi Just put Tesco fully & cerratec, oli change every 8 months for 12k km. Engine very smooth & can feel the power but only driving around 120-140kmh. Next 3 oil change without cerratec. If semi I prefer Magnatec
TSdelsoo
post Aug 21 2016, 09:40 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(jemmi @ Aug 21 2016, 08:24 AM)
My old 2006 Myvi Just put Tesco fully & cerratec, oli change every 8 months for 12k km. Engine very smooth & can feel the power but only driving around 120-140kmh. Next 3 oil change without cerratec. If semi I prefer Magnatec
tesco fully synthetic around rm100 ? is tesco fully synthetic up to par with the other brand fully synthetic ?
TSdelsoo
post Aug 21 2016, 09:41 AM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 21 2016, 08:23 AM)
Tesco's semi sync on offer at $60 is sufficient. For an old Saga, anything more is just a waste of money, it does absolutely nothing for the engine! Have been using this oil on my 10year old Myvi for years,hasn't missed a beat!
what is the number of the oil ? 10w30 ?
voscar
post Aug 21 2016, 12:35 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 21 2016, 09:40 AM)
tesco fully synthetic around rm100 ? is tesco fully synthetic up to par with the other brand fully synthetic ?
aeon topvalu fully synthetic 5w40 i bought RM99 last time..
it was locally blended oil listed under API official licensee directory. you may ask "can trust or not? boleh pakai? will my engine kaboom?", well, it's up to you..
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...dName%3Dtopvalu

but i don't know if your engine condition still good enough (no oil leak, no oil consumption) to take fully synthetic and lower viscosity oil. If engine condition already bad and use those oil without rajin to check oil dipstick, you may end up with less engine oil and having risk of car breakdown on roadside...

mayalab
post Aug 21 2016, 01:27 PM

15 posts

Tesco brand is good enough if you are on budget.
TSdelsoo
post Aug 21 2016, 01:58 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 21 2016, 12:35 PM)
aeon topvalu fully synthetic 5w40 i bought RM99 last time..
it was locally blended oil listed under API official licensee directory. you may ask "can trust or not? boleh pakai? will my engine kaboom?", well, it's up to you..
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...dName%3Dtopvalu

but i don't know if your engine condition still good enough (no oil leak, no oil consumption) to take fully synthetic and lower viscosity oil. If engine condition already bad and use those oil without rajin to check oil dipstick, you may end up with less engine oil and having risk of car breakdown on roadside...
If engine condition not that good, the car can't take fully synthetic or lower viscosity oil?
voscar
post Aug 21 2016, 03:41 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 21 2016, 01:58 PM)
If  engine  condition  not that  good,  the car can't  take fully  synthetic  or  lower  viscosity  oil?
Expect oil leak occur on oil seal area, piston ring let more oil escape into combustion camber and burn together with air fuel mixture... What engine oil you have been using all this while? Any oil consumption or oil leak?
SKYjack
post Aug 21 2016, 03:58 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 21 2016, 09:41 AM)
what is the number of the oil ? 10w30 ?
10w-30 oils are mostly full syn. Tesco semi syn is 10w-40.
Klemann C
post Aug 21 2016, 04:48 PM

481 posts

I've been buying Engine Oil from Tesco mainly over 2 year.
Both my car now running with Mobil New Life 0w-40 bought when promo RM169.

No issue with it, in fact the engine runs fine & smoother.

If you have budget around RM149, plenty choices you can option to Shell,Total,Castrol & Penzoil brand.
Of course with promotion period.
6UE5T
post Aug 21 2016, 09:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 20 2016, 11:27 PM)
around rm 100 biggrin.gif
Budget of rm100 can get you FS oil la if you're smart enough to find good deals! Just a month ago Jusco had promotion for Mitsubishi Eneos 5w40 FS oil for just rm99/4ltr! If you search in mudah, there are plenty of those oil selling around rm90+ only. If just want semi, should be able to get just around rm70 or less.
6UE5T
post Aug 21 2016, 09:55 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 21 2016, 03:58 PM)
10w-30 oils are mostly full syn. Tesco semi syn is 10w-40.
Not really, 10w30 is usually semi. 5w30 is mostly FS.
clickNsnap
post Aug 21 2016, 10:01 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 21 2016, 10:55 PM)
Not really, 10w30 is usually semi. 5w30 is mostly FS.
Eneos 5w30 (Eco Touring) - Made with synthetic blended base oil... is a semi synthetic oil?
http://www.eneos.my/us/introducing-eneos-motor-oil/

In the Eneos website, the 5w30 is fully synthetic oil
http://www.eneos.us/products/eneos-fully-s...il/eneos-5w-30/

Currently, I am looking for 5w30 oil for Mit Mirage, not sure the Mit SC is using 5w30 semi-synthetic or fully-synthetic rclxub.gif

mayalab
post Aug 21 2016, 10:24 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Aug 21 2016, 10:01 PM)
Eneos 5w30 (Eco Touring) - Made with synthetic blended base oil... is a semi synthetic oil?
http://www.eneos.my/us/introducing-eneos-motor-oil/

In the Eneos website, the 5w30 is fully synthetic oil
http://www.eneos.us/products/eneos-fully-s...il/eneos-5w-30/

Currently, I am looking for 5w30 oil for Mit Mirage, not sure the Mit SC is using 5w30 semi-synthetic or fully-synthetic  rclxub.gif
Eco Touring is a semi synthetic oil.
clickNsnap
post Aug 21 2016, 11:04 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(mayalab @ Aug 21 2016, 11:24 PM)
Eco Touring is a semi synthetic oil.
Thanks for your confirmation.

Just curious, mine Mit Mirage is 10,000 km interval service, semi synthetic oil can last 10k? hmm.gif

mayalab
post Aug 21 2016, 11:21 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Aug 21 2016, 11:04 PM)

Just curious, mine Mit Mirage is 10,000 km interval service, semi synthetic oil can last 10k?  hmm.gif
No confirmation on this unless you send your oil for UOA.
Some drivers believe their engine is just as well protected by mineral oil for 10K OCI, so ultimately it is your personal preference.

zeng
post Aug 22 2016, 02:31 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(clickNsnap @ Aug 21 2016, 11:04 PM)

Just curious, mine Mit Mirage is 10,000 km interval service, semi synthetic oil can last 10k?  hmm.gif
If the Mirage is multi port injection, 10k km is doable I suppose.
Though most would settle at 8k.
zeng
post Aug 22 2016, 02:35 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 20 2016, 11:42 PM)
http://bobistheoilguy.com/putting-the-simp...into-viscosity/
TSdelsoo
post Aug 22 2016, 12:12 PM

3,187 posts

http://www.castrol.com/en_gb/united-kingdo...sity.html\

This is confusing, i am not sure which type of oil is better ? 10w40 ? 20w50 ?
The front number represent the viscosity of the oil when it's cold , the number behind means the viscosity of oil when it's hot ?
LemonKnight
post Aug 22 2016, 01:45 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 22 2016, 12:12 PM)
The front number represent the viscosity of the oil when it's cold , the number behind means the viscosity of oil when it's hot ?
Did you read your owner's manual? It tells you what oil viscosity (like the 10w30, 15w40, 20w50 grades you can use).

You got the second sentence right the first number stands for Winter, and the number behind represents the viscosity during operating temperature (hot). For more info, watch this, really good info on viscosity and synthetics vs mineral oil.

This post has been edited by LemonKnight: Aug 22 2016, 01:52 PM
TSdelsoo
post Aug 22 2016, 01:49 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Aug 22 2016, 01:45 PM)
Did you read your owner's manual? It tells you what oil viscosity (like the 10w30, 15w40, 20w50 grades you can use).

You got the second sentence right the first number stands for Winter, and the number behind represents the viscosity during operating temperature (hot). For more info, watch this, really good info on viscosity and synthetics vs mineral oil.

I don't hv the owner manual..... I am not the direct owner of the car....
clickNsnap
post Aug 22 2016, 02:21 PM

541 posts

QUOTE(mayalab @ Aug 22 2016, 12:21 AM)
No confirmation on this unless you send your oil for UOA.
Some drivers believe their engine is just as well protected by mineral oil for 10K OCI, so ultimately it is your personal preference.
QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 22 2016, 03:31 AM)
If the Mirage is multi port injection, 10k km is doable I suppose.
Though most would settle at 8k.
Thanks mayalab & zeng.

Will do a last service at Mit SC (70k km) this week and look for other cheaper service centre in the next service.
therain01
post Aug 22 2016, 04:37 PM

256 posts

Just go for 10w40. If no oil loss then keep using. Otherwise, go for 20w50 on next oil change. Just make sure you are not getting fake/recycle oil. Get from hypermarket or petrol station if you are not sure.

TSdelsoo
post Aug 22 2016, 07:23 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Aug 22 2016, 04:37 PM)
Just go for 10w40.  If no oil loss then keep using. Otherwise,  go for 20w50 on next oil change. Just make sure you are not getting fake/recycle oil. Get from hypermarket or petrol station if you are not sure.
OK, Do you mean if the engine gt 'consume oil', then go for cheaper 20w50?
zeng
post Aug 22 2016, 07:55 PM

1,810 posts

a)From the link I provided above:
AE Viscosity Grade Low-Temp (°C) Cranking Viscosity, cP Max Low-Temp (°C) Pumping Viscosity, cP Max with no yield stress Kinematic Viscosity (cSt) at 100°C Max Kinematic Viscosity (cSt) at 40°C Max High Shear Viscosity (cP) at 150°C Min
0W 3250 @ -30 60,000 @ -40 3.8 - -
5W 3500 @ -25 60,000 @ -35 3.8 - -
10W 3500 @ -20 60,000 @ -30 4.1 - -
15W 3500 @ -15 60,000 @ -25 5.6 - -
20W 4500 @ -10 60,000 @ -20 5.6 - -
25W 6000 @ -5 60,000 @ -15 9.3 - -
20 - - 5.6 <9.3 2.6
30 - - 9.3 <12.5 2.9
40 - - 12.5 <16.3 2.9*
40 - - 12.5 <16.3 3.7**
50 - - 16.3 <21.9 3.7
60 - - 21.9 <26.1 3.7

b)The grades denoted with the letter “W” are intended for use in applications operating in low-temperature conditions , i.e the SAE requirements are as follows :-
0W for -40*C ambients engine starting;
5W for -35*C ambients engine starting;
10W for -30*C ambients engine starting;
15W for -25*C ambients engine starting;
20W for -20*C ambients engine starting;
25W for -15*C ambients engine starting;

c)In Malaysia, typical coldest temperature we encounter is 24*C or thereabout .
Therefore according to SAE, Malaysians don't need multigrade engines oils with ALL the cold temperature ratings of 0W;5W;10W;15W;20W and 25W.

d)Can we use xW then ?
Sure , we can.
Is it necessary ? No, it's not necessary.
We don't benefit from it's intended use of starting engine at ambients of -40*C to -15*C as our lowest ambient temperature is around 24*C in the early hours of the day.
Hence, according to SAE we require only monogrades, not multigrades.

e)On monogrades SAE 20 to SAE 60....., my rule of thumb on minimum engine starting cold temperatures are :
-10*C and above for SAE 20;
0*C and above for SAE 30;
10*C and above for SAE 40;
20*C and above for SAE 50 and
30*C and above for SAE 60.

f)Since our lowest ambient is 24*C (and basing on my rule of thumb above) , monograde SAE 50 would be the thickest grade allowable for engine starting in the early hours of the day.
Can we carry out engine starting here for SAE 20; 30 and 40, besides SAE 50 ?
........ Refer to (d) above.

g)So much for engine starting for 'cold' temperature regimes that is regulated by SAE/API.

h)Now, what oil viscosity grade OP should use in his Proton Saga ?
This ....... is none of the business of SAE/API!
OEM's calls the shot here.

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 22 2016, 01:49 PM)
I don't  hv the  owner  manual..... I am not  the  direct  owner  of  the  car....
IIRC for 4G13 and 4G15 engines , Proton(Mitsubishi) recommends from 10W30 ...... 10W40 ...... 15W40 ...... and 20W50.
I would see if I can provide a link ...............
JMHO smile.gif

Edit:OP, does your engine come with carburretor or fuel injection system?

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 23 2016, 02:43 PM
heavensea
post Aug 22 2016, 07:56 PM

9,616 posts

I use petronas fully RM2xx, but I change it every 6 months.
6UE5T
post Aug 22 2016, 10:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Aug 22 2016, 07:56 PM)
I use petronas fully RM2xx, but I change it every 6 months.
Whoa, rich man! You drive a lot, do you?
TSdelsoo
post Aug 22 2016, 11:23 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 22 2016, 07:55 PM)
a)From the link I provided above:

b)The grades denoted with the letter “W” are intended for use in applications operating in low-temperature conditions , i.e the SAE requirements are  as follows :-
0W  for -40*C ambients engine starting;
5W  for -35*C ambients engine starting;
10W for -30*C ambients engine starting;
15W for -25*C ambients engine starting;
20W for -20*C ambients engine starting;
25W for -15*C ambients engine starting;

c)In Malaysia, typical coldest temperature we encounter is 24*C or thereabout .
Therefore according to SAE, Malaysians don't need multigrade engines oils with ALL the cold temperature ratings of 0W;5W;10W;15W;20W and 25W.
d)Can we use xW then ?
Sure , we can.
Is it necessary ? No, it's not necessary.
We don't benefit from it's intended use of starting engine at ambients of -40*C to -15*C as our lowest ambient temperature is around 24*C in the early hours of the day.
Hence, according to SAE we require only monogrades, not multigrades.

e)On monogrades SAE 20 to SAE 60....., my rule of thumb on minimum engine starting cold temperatures are :
-10*C and above for SAE 20;
0*C and above for SAE 30;
10*C and above for SAE 40;
20*C and above for SAE 50 and
30*C and above for SAE 60.

f)Since our lowest ambient is 24*C (and basing on my rule of thumb above) , monograde SAE 50 would be the thickest grade allowable for engine starting in the early hours of the day.
Can we carry out engine starting here  for SAE 20; 30 and 40, besides SAE 50 ?
........ Refer to (d) above.

g)So much for engine starting for 'cold' temperature regimes that is regulated by SAE/API.

h)Now, what oil viscosity grade OP should use in his Proton Saga ?
This ....... is none of the business of SAE/API!
OEM's calls the shot here.
IIRC for 4G13 and 4G15 engines , Proton(Mitsubishi) recommends from 10W30 ...... 10W40 ...... 15W40 ...... and 20W50.
I would see if I can provide a link ...............
JMHO  smile.gif

Edit:OP, does your engine come with carburretor or fuel injection system?[COLOR=red][SIZE=7]
engine sure gt these 2 components , right ? Btw , Thanks for the info above
therain01
post Aug 22 2016, 11:30 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 22 2016, 07:23 PM)
OK, Do  you  mean  if  the  engine  gt  'consume  oil',  then  go  for  cheaper  20w50?
Yes. Cheap Mineral oil is definitely thicker and 20W50 is said good to aged engine if oil loss happened. Always go for semi or fully synthetic if no problem with the engine.
zeng
post Aug 22 2016, 11:39 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 22 2016, 11:23 PM)
engine sure gt these 2 components , right ? Btw , Thanks for the info above
No, it's either or.
An engine with carburretter fuel system , doesn't have (electronic) fuel injection system ...... and vice versa. sweat.gif

TSdelsoo
post Aug 22 2016, 11:40 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 22 2016, 11:39 PM)
No, it's either or.
An engine with carburretter fuel system , doesn't have (electronic) fuel injection system ...... and vice versa.  sweat.gif
i think it's carburretter fuel system ..It's saga . So , i dont expect the proton adopt electronic system which is more advanced..
TSdelsoo
post Aug 22 2016, 11:45 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Aug 22 2016, 11:30 PM)
Yes. Cheap Mineral oil is definitely thicker and 20W50 is said good to aged engine if oil loss happened. Always go for semi or fully synthetic if no problem with the engine.
do you mean if the engine gt oil leak , then the engine cant take lower viscosity 10w40 anymore?
zeng
post Aug 23 2016, 12:24 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 22 2016, 11:40 PM)
i think it's carburretter fuel system ..It's saga . So , i dont expect the proton adopt electronic system which is more advanced..
Here is a link on Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 fullsyn UOA by a fellow Malaysian on an USA oils forum.
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...opics/3986194/1
heavensea
post Aug 23 2016, 01:41 AM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 22 2016, 10:53 PM)
Turbo engine.. drive mostly highway round trip.
I planned to use semi synthetic now.. jimat sikit.
Quazacolt
post Aug 23 2016, 07:24 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 23 2016, 12:24 AM)
Here is a link on Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 fullsyn UOA by a fellow Malaysian on an USA oils forum.
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...opics/3986194/1
Woah! didn't expected that we have others who actually do UOA thumbsup.gif

he a LYN poster as well? i'll pin it up on the first page of my thread and wish to tag/credit/shoutout to him as well
6UE5T
post Aug 23 2016, 10:09 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Aug 23 2016, 01:41 AM)
Ya but you're also using rm200+ oil while there are plenty of much cheaper FS oil.
voscar
post Aug 23 2016, 10:36 AM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 23 2016, 10:09 AM)
Ya but you're also using rm200+ oil while there are plenty of much cheaper FS oil.
If you observe proton subforum, there are iriz owners using petronas syn7000 fully synthetic oil at proton SC, around RM250~270 if not mistaken.
fiqie
post Aug 23 2016, 11:56 AM

195 posts

i would recommend fosser, i serviced my 5yo persona at auto marque near kelana jaya. cost me rm130 (labor+filter+oil), manage to reduce my fc from 8.4L/100km to 7.8L/100km (mainly due engine), I can feel my engine rev lesser than normal. so i consider a win for me. already used it around 4000km.
zeng
post Aug 23 2016, 02:30 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Aug 22 2016, 04:37 PM)
Just go for 10w40.  If no oil loss then keep using. Otherwise,  go for 20w50 on next oil change. Just make sure you are not getting fake/recycle oil. Get from hypermarket or petrol station if you are not sure.

+1 , concur with therain01 in your context.

I abandoned Petronas Mach 5 SF/CC SAE 40 for Petronas Mach 5 SM/ACEA A3-B3 15W40 ..... as my Wira carburretor engine requires SG.

For the same price,I later upgraded the specs to minerals Urania Supremo CI-4/ A3B4/SL 15W40 (which basically is a Heavy Duty Engine Oil for diesel engines) till todate.

Now semi synthetics SL/A3B4 10W40 can be had during promo , at lower price than CI4/SL/A3B4 and begins to flow into the other multi-port injection Avanza.

I'd no success in securing locally a 20W50 with A3B4 specs ...... and don't have a need for it ..... as all 3 engnes are not leaking oils.

Since yours is a carburretor engine, I would recommend a mineral A3B4 15W40; or a semisyn A3B4 10W40.
If you so wish,and have budget for a fully synthetics 0/5W-40 A3B4, why not? tongue.gif

Just my 2 sen.

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 23 2016, 02:31 PM
6UE5T
post Aug 23 2016, 04:09 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 23 2016, 10:36 AM)
If you observe proton subforum, there are iriz owners using petronas syn7000 fully synthetic oil at proton SC, around RM250~270 if not mistaken.
Wah so many rich people apparently!
voscar
post Aug 23 2016, 04:57 PM

1,526 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 23 2016, 04:09 PM)
Wah so many rich people apparently!
Last time we see petronas fully synthetic rm200 already say it's super expensive.... Now rm270 still got people support... Future selling rm350 also no problem... As long got AMG Hamilton image sure bagus can support one.
TSdelsoo
post Aug 23 2016, 06:38 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 23 2016, 04:57 PM)
Last time we see petronas fully synthetic rm200 already say it's super expensive.... Now rm270 still got people support... Future selling rm350 also no problem... As long got AMG Hamilton image sure bagus can support one.
Just wondering petronas lubricant so good? I thought other brand from overseas are local better than this local brand?
jesserider223
post Aug 23 2016, 07:21 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 23 2016, 07:24 AM)
Woah! didn't expected that we have others who actually do UOA  thumbsup.gif

he a LYN poster as well? i'll pin it up on the first page of my thread and wish to tag/credit/shoutout to him as well
Just how many of you do UOA here, so far i only knew you n now plus him

He is on this forum as well, on saga thread

jesserider223
post Aug 23 2016, 07:29 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ Aug 23 2016, 06:38 PM)
Just wondering petronas lubricant so good? I thought other brand from overseas are local better than this local brand?
I think people feel good using it might be partially due to their marketing prowess, but this is strictly my opinion

I think their PCMO are very expensive but then their heavy duty oil suited for gasoline engines is quite a bargain, I would use it on my old car

there are other lube brands that can be better, but people arent aware of their existence, probably due to lesser marketing budget n lack of distribution channel

Quazacolt
post Aug 23 2016, 07:30 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Aug 23 2016, 07:21 PM)
Just how many of you do UOA here, so far i only knew you n now plus him

He is on this forum as well, on saga thread
Eh Albert? Or someone else? What username specifically?
jesserider223
post Aug 23 2016, 07:49 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 23 2016, 07:30 PM)
Eh Albert? Or someone else?  What username specifically?
alcyon, i guess should be him

Quazacolt
post Aug 23 2016, 07:49 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Aug 23 2016, 07:49 PM)
alcyon, i guess should be him
Eh somehow no impression of that guy. Let me look it up. Thanks biggrin.gif
zeng
post Aug 28 2016, 10:59 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Aug 23 2016, 01:41 AM)
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 22 2016, 10:53 PM)

Foreigners are thirsting for Petronas Syntium 7000!
http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...z_A#Post4178404

alcyon
post Sep 26 2016, 05:21 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 23 2016, 07:24 AM)
Woah! didn't expected that we have others who actually do UOA  thumbsup.gif

Yep, I'm here. Zeng, thanks for the notification, i have not been on BITOG for quite some time, and here as well. too many hobbies.

This post has been edited by alcyon: Sep 26 2016, 05:48 PM
Quazacolt
post Sep 26 2016, 06:07 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Sep 26 2016, 05:21 PM)
Yep, I'm here. Zeng, thanks for the notification, i have not been on BITOG for quite some time, and here as well. too many hobbies.
Would have expected no less for someone doing UOA on an Iswara tongue.gif

I featured your report in my pinned thread as well btw
shen1716
post Sep 26 2016, 10:33 PM

197 posts

I am iriz owner that using syntium 7000.previously using shell helix ultra. Found syntium 7000 perform better.
zeng
post Sep 26 2016, 10:35 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Sep 26 2016, 05:21 PM)
Hi Alcyon,
there is another fellow Malaysian newly onboard Bitog yesterday.....
https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthread...ion#Post4211084
alcyon
post Sep 27 2016, 10:27 AM

I am now trying PENNZOIL SAE 30 straight weight made in USA, bought from ACE hardware, and its really good. Its a group II mineral oil, very good reviews on BITOG.
zeng
post Sep 27 2016, 12:02 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Sep 27 2016, 10:27 AM)
I am now trying PENNZOIL SAE 30 straight weight made in USA, bought from ACE hardware, and its really good. Its a group II mineral oil, very good reviews on BITOG.
Does this Pennzoil SAE 30 comes with ACEA A3/B4 specs ? confused.gif
If yes, I would give it a try in mine ......as I believe a VII-free monograde is the way to go here.
Our weather doesn't really require multigrades ....
as it shears in engine operation depending on quality of Viscosity Index Improvers in use ......thus loosing viscosity,
no wonder my Wira 4G15 on 10W30 was consuming engine oils in those good old days. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by zeng: Sep 27 2016, 12:03 PM
alcyon
post Sep 27 2016, 12:33 PM

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 27 2016, 12:02 PM)
Does this Pennzoil SAE 30  comes with ACEA A3/B4 specs ?  confused.gif
If yes, I would give it a try in mine ......as I believe a VII-free monograde is the way to go here.
Our weather doesn't really require multigrades ....
as it shears in engine operation depending on quality of Viscosity Index Improvers in use ......thus loosing viscosity,
no wonder my Wira 4G15 on 10W30 was consuming engine oils in those good old days. bangwall.gif
No, its only API SN, but i believe you dont need ACEA A3/B4. ACEA A3/B4 is basically setting HTHS min as 3.5, and TBN of 10 and above.It has a HTHS of 3.55 which is very good, and as you said no VII. The fuel economy does take a bit of a hit, but if it protects my engine better, why not ? i estimate the TBN is somewhere around 8 (based on other PYB)which is good enough for 10000km run. Besides, the higher the TBN, the lower the lubricity.
Already run 3000km with it so far and now only starting to darken. I will send UOA sample when the time comes. There are older stocks in ACE hardware with the black label of this oil, which is API SJ i think, that means prolly has higher zinc and phosphorous. You only need 3 1/2 bottles.
Now getting about 450km per tank of RON 95 with mixed 50/50 city highway driving. I also find this oil cools the engine very well, as seen by my oil temp and pressure gauges.

This post has been edited by alcyon: Sep 27 2016, 12:40 PM
zeng
post Sep 29 2016, 03:47 PM

1,810 posts

The fuel economy does take a bit of a hit,  but if it protects my engine better, why not ?

Is it?
Against which brand of xW40?

Besides, the higher the TBN, the lower the lubricity.

Not sure if I understand your point here. Care to elaborate further?

I also find this oil cools the engine very well, as seen by my oil temp and pressure gauges.

That's very interesting.
Mind sharing the comparative readings on oil temp and pressures.

This post has been edited by zeng: Sep 29 2016, 03:48 PM
Quazacolt
post Sep 29 2016, 04:49 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 26 2016, 10:35 PM)
Hi Alcyon,
there is another fellow Malaysian newly onboard Bitog yesterday.....
https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthread...ion#Post4211084
Interesting link and info bro :thumbsup:
Quazacolt
post Sep 29 2016, 04:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Sep 27 2016, 12:33 PM)
No, its only API SN, but i believe you dont need ACEA A3/B4. ACEA A3/B4 is basically setting HTHS min as 3.5, and TBN of 10 and above.It has a HTHS of 3.55 which is very good, and as  you said no VII. The fuel economy does take a bit of a hit,  but if it protects my engine better, why not ? i estimate the TBN is somewhere around 8 (based on other PYB)which is good enough for 10000km run. Besides, the higher the TBN, the lower the lubricity.
Already run 3000km with it so far and now only starting to darken. I will send UOA sample when the time comes. There are older stocks in ACE hardware with the black label of this oil, which is API SJ i think, that means prolly has higher zinc and phosphorous. You only need 3 1/2 bottles.
Now getting about 450km per tank of RON 95 with mixed 50/50 city highway driving. I also find this oil cools the engine very well, as seen by my oil temp and pressure gauges.
If you don't mind, do help contribute on my thread (which I've featured your previous UOA as well) here as well please notworthy.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3310512
alcyon
post Sep 29 2016, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 29 2016, 03:47 PM)
Is it?
Against which brand of xW40?
Not sure if I understand your point here. Care to elaborate further?
That's very interesting.
Mind sharing the comparative readings on oil temp and pressures.
Zeng, that was discussed on BITOG about the TBN. I will try to find the link for you.
The FE is compared against shell helix ultra, i can easily get 500km per tank or close to it with SHU 5W-40, so i suspect most of the higher fuel consumption on SAE30 is from startup viscosity. lets continue talking on the other thread as Quaza suggested.

This post has been edited by alcyon: Sep 29 2016, 05:09 PM
zeng
post Sep 29 2016, 07:47 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Sep 29 2016, 05:08 PM)
Zeng, that was discussed on BITOG about the TBN. I will try to find the link for you.
The FE is compared against shell helix ultra, i can easily get 500km per tank or close to it with SHU 5W-40, so i suspect most of the higher fuel consumption on SAE30 is from startup viscosity. lets continue talking on the other thread as Quaza suggested.
I'm getting 420-440 km on 15W40 A3B4 in carb' 4G15 ....... sigh..

Edit: It's HDEO diesel oil

This post has been edited by zeng: Sep 29 2016, 08:04 PM
alcyon
post Sep 30 2016, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 29 2016, 07:47 PM)
I'm getting 420-440 km on 15W40 A3B4 in carb' 4G15 ....... sigh..

Edit: It's HDEO diesel oil
Not so bad at all actually. Try the SAE30 next time.

ayamxxx
post Oct 1 2016, 10:02 PM

4,057 posts

Just got free Petronas 800 Synthetic blend or semi Synthetic oil free after playing 1 games at petronas booth, Klcc.

It is good or ok oil?

10w-40
alcyon
post Oct 1 2016, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 1 2016, 10:02 PM)
Just got free Petronas 800 Synthetic blend or semi Synthetic oil free after playing 1 games at petronas booth, Klcc.

It is good or ok oil?

10w-40
You wont go wrong with PETRONAS oil, especially semi synthetic and onwards. Dapat free, pakai jer . If its Platinum oil, HARDEX, MAZ LUB, Jetron then i'd be worried.

TSdelsoo
post Oct 2 2016, 04:46 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 1 2016, 10:08 PM)
You wont go wrong with PETRONAS oil, especially semi synthetic and onwards. Dapat free, pakai jer . If its Platinum oil, HARDEX, MAZ LUB, Jetron then i'd be worried.
Wah, Petronas so good? Never thought that local brand could be so good... Haha
alcyon
post Oct 2 2016, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(delsoo @ Oct 2 2016, 04:46 PM)
Wah,  Petronas  so  good? Never  thought  that  local  brand  could  be  so  good... Haha
Hi delsoo. If you have read the links zeng posted, you would see petronas oil is well respected worldwide. You must understand Petronas isnt a 2 bit local company. They partner with world class blenders and hire some of the worlds best engineers..etc.
The only malaysian companies that i have no confidence in are..mazlub, jtx,hardex,platinum oil..jetron..you know what i mean..
TSdelsoo
post Oct 2 2016, 07:59 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 2 2016, 07:32 PM)
Hi delsoo. If you have read the links zeng posted, you would see petronas oil is well respected worldwide. You must understand Petronas isnt a 2 bit local company. They partner with world class blenders and hire some of the worlds best engineers..etc.
The only malaysian companies that i have no confidence in are..mazlub, jtx,hardex,platinum oil..jetron..you know what i mean..
LOL, I have never heard the company that you mentioned.... Mazlab, Jetron.....
TSdelsoo
post Oct 2 2016, 08:24 PM

3,187 posts

LOL, I have never heard the company that you mentioned.... Mazlab, Jetron.....
alcyon
post Oct 2 2016, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(delsoo @ Oct 2 2016, 08:24 PM)
LOL,  I have  never  heard  the  company  that  you  mentioned....  Mazlab,  Jetron.....
how about hyrax ? biggrin.gif , its good you haven't heard of them.
LemonKnight
post Oct 2 2016, 09:38 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 2 2016, 08:44 PM)
how about hyrax ?  biggrin.gif , its good you haven't heard of them.
What's wrong with Hyrax? Like Petronas, they have API certification.
TSdelsoo
post Oct 2 2016, 09:51 PM

3,187 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 2 2016, 08:44 PM)
how about hyrax ?  biggrin.gif , its good you haven't heard of them.
No, I know only total, hi-rev, Castrol only.... I used Castrol 20-50 for my saga. I used hi-rev 10-40 for my old Honda city...
tungfunglaw
post Oct 2 2016, 09:57 PM

259 posts

currently using valvoline on rb20det.. very nice but not cheap.

alcyon
post Oct 2 2016, 11:42 PM

QUOTE(LemonKnight @ Oct 2 2016, 09:38 PM)
What's wrong with Hyrax? Like Petronas, they have API certification.
For a company like hyrax to claim that they make such good oils...they must really know their stuff right ? How is it possible on their top of the line 0w30 to have both ilsac gf5 and acea a3/b4 ? Either they dont know much about oils..mislabel..or downright lying.
So if they are cheating about these specs..what else are they cheating on ? API cert is one thing..but what if yr engine requires other cert ..and they claim it meets those specs but does not actually meet or exceed those specs..then how ?
Quazacolt
post Oct 4 2016, 03:09 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 2 2016, 11:42 PM)
For a company like hyrax to claim that they make such good oils...they must really know their stuff right ? How is it possible on their top of the line 0w30 to have both ilsac gf5 and acea a3/b4 ? Either they dont know much about oils..mislabel..or downright lying.
So if they are cheating about these specs..what else are they cheating on ? API cert is one thing..but what if yr engine requires other cert ..and they claim it meets those specs but does not actually meet or exceed those specs..then how ?
well to my surprise lol
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...andName%3Dhyrax
alcyon
post Oct 4 2016, 08:36 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 4 2016, 03:09 AM)
So it is GF-5, that means cant be ACEA A3/B4. then they shouldn't display that on the label. API specs are pretty easy to pass.

putra23
post Oct 4 2016, 02:26 PM

654 posts

Hi alcyon,

What about Bosch X7, Bardahl MXP, BHP SynGard, Lexus, Mitsubishi or even Tesco brands?

Mind sharing the link zeng posted?

alcyon
post Oct 4 2016, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(putra23 @ Oct 4 2016, 02:26 PM)
Hi alcyon,

What about Bosch X7, Bardahl MXP, BHP SynGard, Lexus, Mitsubishi or even Tesco brands?

I have tried BHP Syngard, nothing much to say about it, did not do a UOA, and i will probably not try it again and and have no incentive to do so.
BOSCH, Bardahl should be good oils, again , never tried them. Lexus , I dont know. Mitsubishi i heard is packaged by ENEOS and the full syn can be had for RM99 on sale at AEON. seems like a good buy , but the shear stability might not be up to par with Shell. Its a 5W-40, so if the shear stability isnt good might go down to a 30. Only way to know is do a UOA. May try it in the future but as I have already tried CASTROL 0W-40 and Shell 5W-40 and results are almost the same so I see no point in trying a other brand 5W-40, its probably not gonna do any better.
I am trying a 30 monograde now, just to study the effects of oil with VII and one without.

celicaizpower
post Oct 4 2016, 02:46 PM

Race : ☐ Malay ☐ Chinese ☐ India ☑ /k/tard
1,177 posts

Bardhal 15w-40 Semi Synthetic - RM 85
Bardhal 0w-40 Fully Synthetic - RM 120

If I am not mistaken.
dogbert_chew
post Oct 4 2016, 04:49 PM

1,565 posts

Anyone come across http://www.aveno-oil.de/en/passenger-car-e...-synthetic.html ?
putra23
post Oct 7 2016, 01:51 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 4 2016, 02:40 PM)
I have tried BHP Syngard, nothing much to say about it, did not do a UOA, and i will probably not try it again and and have no incentive to do so.
BOSCH, Bardahl should be good oils, again , never tried them. Lexus , I dont know. Mitsubishi i heard is packaged by ENEOS and the full syn can be had for RM99 on sale at AEON. seems like a good buy , but the shear stability might not be up to par with Shell. Its a 5W-40, so if the shear stability isnt good might go down to a 30. Only way to know is do a UOA. May try it in the future but as I have already tried CASTROL 0W-40 and Shell 5W-40 and results are almost the same so I see no point in trying a other brand 5W-40, its probably not gonna do any better.
I am trying a 30 monograde now, just to study the effects of oil with VII and one without.
Thanks a lot for sharing. Keep up the effort.
zeng
post Oct 7 2016, 03:19 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Oct 4 2016, 02:26 PM)

Post #64 of this thread. blush.gif
zeng
post Oct 7 2016, 03:23 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(alcyon @ Oct 2 2016, 11:42 PM)
How is it possible on their top of the line 0w30 to have both ilsac gf5 and acea a3/b4 ? Either they dont know much about oils..mislabel..or downright lying.

Lying ...., I speculate. cool2.gif

0.0357sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:49 AM