my mum put so much hope in usm

Syd G
post Aug 16 2016, 07:33 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Current pharmacy glut is quite bad. Some 2015 USM grads still not called for interview but batch 2016 already graduated. Maybe you need to check on the current unemployment climate before making ur decision.

My brother went to pharm usm with a levels back in 2012. It's possible.
Syd G
post Aug 17 2016, 09:27 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Aug 17 2016, 08:56 AM)
how about biotech now?s it easy to get a job after graduate?
it is nice to hear that got ppl got into usm using a level result biggrin.gif
Biotech can work anywhere since it's not a professional course. But to work in biotech field is tough, Msia doesnt have enough R&D capacity to cater to ALL biotech grads. They usually end up outside their course of study.

But now there are a lot of opportunities in clinical research field. So it depends. If you just want a cushy job 9-5 under aircond without much problem then any degree will do.

For those who dont know what they want to be, I'd suggest taking a gap year. Explore all opportunities. That way you wont end up doing a course you dont like for the next 3 years.
Syd G
post Aug 17 2016, 10:05 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Aug 17 2016, 09:39 AM)
I see,my aunty told me the exact same thing haha.Nutrition  graduates usually work in food industry is it?Is the job opportunity high?
I dont know since I'm not in the field.

I think there are a few issues at hand -
1) you dont know what you want to do
2) you dont know whats the job market is like out there
3)your mother wants you to go USM biggrin.gif

For other field, why not go talk to someone in that industry.

Syd G
post Aug 18 2016, 12:03 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(sonyfanzz @ Aug 17 2016, 10:35 AM)
1.i know i want to do biotech but i scare no job so i am finding alternative way la..I want to study something related to biology cause I really hate physics...
2.yes,how to check the job market?

3.true

i dont know who to talk to leh,i got no relative working in that industry one,almost all my relatives (if educated) are working as teacher cry.gif
You can ask the folks in Jobs & Career section smile.gif

0.0234sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:41 PM