Definitive HD-DVD/Bluray Sales Charts/Comparison!, Disruption pg-9-PC Zealot on the loose

TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 04:18 AM, updated 19y ago

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

To put an end towards second guessing which format is winning or losing (in actual fact, , who cares, and it doesnt matter!), this website tracks them from Amazon.com sales every 15 minutes. Complete with historical graphs and charts, this is the definitive source for you rabid <insert favourite next gen HD format here> fanboys to claim your boisterous victories over the opposing other.

Me? I'll take a lazy chair, a bucket of caramel popcorn and watch both sides sling muds and filth at each other! laugh.gif

http://www.eproductwars.com/dvd/

At the time of this post, the current leader is Bluray. wink.gif

Take it away! Fight!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 12 2007, 05:10 AM
ikanayam
post Jan 23 2007, 06:55 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

Haha, call in the FRU, the spectators have been known to riot.

Amazon is extremely win though. They provide so much information that can be used for market surveys for free.
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 11:01 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Whaaat? No mudslinging and anti-rootkit banners? Boo! We want our money back!
ikanayam
post Jan 23 2007, 11:52 AM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 22 2007, 10:01 PM)
Whaaat? No mudslinging and anti-rootkit banners? Boo! We want our money back!
Nah, sony sent free batteries to all the righteous anti-rootkit people, and suddenly all the opposition stopped.
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 11:54 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Are you sure they are the non-exploding kind? Nyahahahaha! Vengeance!
ikanayam
post Jan 23 2007, 11:56 AM

10,544 posts

No idea, but i'm sure the truth lies somewhere between bribery and assasination laugh.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:14 PM

5,756 posts

huh ? no one yet? okay let me start?

what the fvck!! what dvd wars ? Blu-ray is not dvd remember !! laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 03:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Did you even bother clicking the link? whistling.gif

Last i check Bluray still tops!
zaakath
post Jan 23 2007, 03:26 PM

654 posts

One intresting thing I notice at releases there seems to be more for Bluray then HD-DVD in the coming months. Bottom line is if there are not enough titles in the pipelines announced by HD-DVD the tip balance of scale will point towards owning a Bluray player.

HD-DVD release:

January 23, 2007
Black Rain (Paramount)
Brokeback Mountain (Universal)

January 30, 2007
Beerfest (Warner)
Half Baked (Universal)
The Wicker Man (2006) (Warner)

February 06, 2007
Failure to Launch (Paramount)
Hollywoodland (Universal)

February 13, 2007
The Departed (Warner)

February 20, 2007
Babel (Paramount)

February 27, 2007
Bullitt (Warner)
The Getaway (1972) (Warner)
Nine Inch Nails Live: Beside You in Time (Interscope)

Bluray release

ien vs. Predator (Fox)
Black Rain (Paramount)
Casanova (Buena Vista)
Chicago (Buena Vista)
Courage Under Fire (Fox)
The Guardian (2006) (Buena Vista)
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (Buena Vista)
The Manchurian Candidate (2004) (Paramount)
Men of Honor (Fox)
Saw II (Unrated) (Lionsgate)
Saw III (Lionsgate)
We Were Soldiers (Paramount)

January 30, 2007
Beerfest (Warner)
Flyboys (Fox)
Hart's War (Fox)
Open Season (Sony)
The Wicker Man (2006) (Warner)

February 06, 2007
American Psycho (Lionsgate)
Failure to Launch (Paramount)
First Blood (Lionsgate)
Reservoir Dogs (Lionsgate)
Running With Scissors (Sony)
The Tailor of Panama (Sony)

February 13, 2007
Broken Arrow (Fox)
Chain Reaction (Fox)
The Departed (Warner)
Entrapment (Fox)
Ladder 49 (Buena Vista)
Marie Antoinette (Sony)
The Marine (Fox)
Phone Booth (Fox)
Planet of the Apes (Fox)
Reign of Fire (Buena Vista)
The Sentinel (Fox)
The Usual Suspects (Fox)

February 20, 2007
Babel (Paramount)
The Prestige (Buena Vista)
Vertical Limit (Sony)

February 27, 2007
Bullitt (Warner)
The Getaway (1972) (Warner)
Nine Inch Nails Live: Beside You in Time (Interscope)
Stranger Than Fiction (Sony)

March 13, 2007
Casino Royale (Sony)
Commando (Fox)
Dances with Wolves (MGM)
Dodgeball (Fox)
Hoosiers (MGM)
Ice Age (Fox)
Layer Cake (Sony)
Mr. & Mrs. Smith (Fox)
The Thomas Crown Affair (1999) (MGM)

March 20, 2007
Big Fish (Sony)
Chicken Little (Buena Vista)
Finding Neverland (Buena Vista)

March 27, 2007
Happy Feet (Warner)
National Geographic: Relentless Enemies (Warner)

April 03, 2007
Dude, Where's My Car? (MGM)
The Fly (1986) (Fox)
G.I. Jane (Buena Vista)
Hannibal (MGM)
King Arthur Director's Cut (Buena Vista)
Me, Myself & Irene (Fox)
The Silence of the Lambs (MGM)
Tristan & Isolde (Fox)

April 10, 2007
Payback: Straight Up - The Director's Cut (Paramount)

April 17, 2007
Turistas (Fox)

April 24, 2007
Planet Earth: The Complete Collection (BBC)

June 08, 2007
Con Air (Buena Vista)
Crimson Tide (Buena Vista)
The Rock (Buena Vista)

Source: AVS Forums
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:32 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 03:19 PM)
Did you even bother clicking the link? whistling.gif

Last i check Bluray still tops!
i did. that is why i posted the question. i see so many variation of the charts on several sites. i only belief in Amazon rankings from Amazon sites and DVDEmpire tongue.gif

Originally Posted by plazman
Just to show how important the PS3 is to the BD hardware cause. Consider this:

Sales Rank of the A-2 on Amazon:

sales Rank of the XA-2:

Sales Rank of Philips BD Player:

Sales Rank of the Sony BD Player:

Sales Rank of the Samsung BD Player:

Sales Rank of Panny BD Player:

Some relative rankings of HD DVD v. BD top title from a few European countries...

UK:
HD DVD (Serenity) - 561
BD (Hostel) - 4651

France:
HD DVD (Total Recall) - 393
BD (Monster House) - 1047

Germany:
HD DVD (Fast and Furious - TD) - 712
BD (Casino Royale) - 1684

I couldn't figure out the Japanese site!

wink.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 03:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The data is compiled FROM Amazon data, how more straightforward do you want? rolleyes.gif Amazon could care less about generating charts and data comparison as how this site does, so this site takes care of that. After all, cold hard facts shuts even the most vocal fanboy out there.
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:41 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Jan 23 2007, 03:26 PM)
One intresting thing I notice at releases there seems to be more for Bluray then HD-DVD in the coming months.  Bottom line is if there are not enough titles in the pipelines announced by HD-DVD the tip balance of scale will point towards owning a Bluray player.
i disagree with that. If the hardware sales of HD DVD continues to be consistent as it is currently, BD exclusive studios will have to follow where the money is.

One more thing, consumers can let format owners to bully them into deciding on a format by deprieving consumers of contents or they can excert power over this format owners choosing a format which he/she likes without being constantly blackmail into thinking the format of his/her would be dead. Consumers need to realise that they hold the power in the form of check books. Studios will have to follow where the money is at the end of the day. Basically, every single consumer should now that studio support is irrelevant in the format war. Hardware is the KING. Drop the price of PS3, drop the price of HD A2, everybody body is happy. smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 03:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That's the scenario in the most ideal world, but in reality, whichever format gets cheap enough for the pirates to mass produce first, the Average Joes will follow. This ring even greater truth on this side of the globe.

I dont the current HD-format war going anywhere at the moment. Once studios starts releasing big titles they are withelding right now, then you'll see tides changing. Pirates Bluray? Pixar movies Bluray? Sign me up!
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:54 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 03:46 PM)
That's the scenario in the most ideal world, but in reality, whichever format gets cheap enough for the pirates to mass produce first, the Average Joes will follow. This ring even greater truth on this side of the globe.

I dont the current HD-format war going anywhere at the moment. Once studios starts releasing big titles they are withelding right now, then you'll see tides changing. Pirates Bluray? Pixar movies Bluray? Sign me up!
hmm come to think of it, Studios and CEs should not be in the same boat on this. Lots of pirate disks .. Studios 'lose' money. CEs on the other hand, see sales jump of players .. brows.gif
zaakath
post Jan 23 2007, 03:58 PM

654 posts

The hardware is only as good if there is software to support it and in this case Bluray seems to be having the edge base on the impending releases. New buyers will look at the hardware as well as what kind of movies will be coming out. Also take into account not everyone is going to buy the movies but rather rent them out first, in the case of the USA, and with the pipeline of titles announced so far consumers may lean towards the Bluray alternatives.

Pre-hype business of annoucing titles to come will only tip the favour towards Bluray.
redbull_y2k
post Jan 23 2007, 04:04 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 23 2007, 03:41 PM)
i disagree with that. If the hardware sales of HD DVD continues to be consistent as it is currently, BD exclusive studios will have to follow where the money is.

One more thing, consumers can let format owners to bully them into deciding on a format by deprieving consumers of contents or they can excert power over this format owners choosing a format which he/she likes without being constantly blackmail into thinking the format of his/her would be dead. Consumers need to realise that they hold the power in the form of check books. Studios will have to follow where the money is at the end of the day. Basically, every single consumer should now that studio support is irrelevant in the format war. Hardware is the KING. Drop the price of PS3, drop the price of HD A2, everybody body is happy. smile.gif
True, hardware is the KING. laugh.gif But let me put some info to get u into perspective in terms of industry support. cool.gif

Blu-Ray Disc
Apple; Dell Inc.; Hewlett Packard Company*; Hitachi, Ltd.; LG Electronics Inc.; Mitsubishi Electric Corporation; Panasonic (Matsushita Electric); Pioneer Corporation; Royal Philips Electronics; Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.; Sharp Corporation; Sony Corporation; TDK Corporation; Thomson

*Supporting both formats

HD-DVD
Toshiba, NEC*, Memory-Tech, Microsoft, Intel, Sanyo*, HP*

*Supporting both formats

icon_rolleyes.gif
zio
post Jan 23 2007, 04:11 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I think pRon will swing the way for this war. Just like Betamax VS VHS, we all knew how that went after Betamax disregarded the pRon industry.

Apparently, its the same with Bluray as well. So, I will say HD DVD to pick up soon enough. Although Amazon might not reflect that smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 04:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Errr, there are Bluray pRon on the market already. wink.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 05:31 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 23 2007, 04:04 PM)
True, hardware is the KING.  laugh.gif But let me put some info to get u into perspective in terms of industry support.  cool.gif

Blu-Ray Disc
Apple; Dell Inc.; Hewlett Packard Company*; Hitachi, Ltd.; LG Electronics Inc.; Mitsubishi Electric Corporation; Panasonic (Matsushita Electric); Pioneer Corporation; Royal Philips Electronics; Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.; Sharp Corporation; Sony Corporation; TDK Corporation; Thomson

*Supporting both formats

HD-DVD
Toshiba, NEC*, Memory-Tech, Microsoft, Intel, Sanyo*, HP*

*Supporting both formats

icon_rolleyes.gif
reality check .. Toshiba alone sold more standalone players than all of these "Hitachi, Ltd.; LG Electronics Inc.; Mitsubishi Electric Corporation; Panasonic (Matsushita Electric); Pioneer Corporation; Royal Philips Electronics; Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.; Sharp Corporation; Sony Corporation; TDK Corporation; Thomson" CEs COMBINED. If the current trend continues its just a matter of time before before HD DVD overall hardware sales overtake blu-ray hardware sales inclusive of the PS3 sales. We are already seeing signs that Sony is having problem selling remaining 1/2mil PS3 shipped on north america. PS3 in the console's stronghold, Japan is having the same problem. Retailers are already slashing the price of the subsidised PS3 by 20%. There are FIVE exclusive studios behind Blu-ray yet, HD DVD movie titles are still more in the market. HD DVD plans bring to market 300 titles this year. and by all mean, that number is MORE than sufficient to HD DVD momentum going. How many people buy 300 dvds a year? How many people have more than 300 dvds in their life time collection? wink.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 05:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yes, yes.....that's more like it! More...more!

*popcorn bucket in hand, and large oversized soda on the other, dims the stage lights*

It made me chuckle when people feel the need to defend their purchases, or their format of choice for that matter. Im not pointing fingers at anyone here, but it made me giggle to no end nonetheless.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 23 2007, 05:41 PM
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 05:53 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 05:38 PM)

*popcorn bucket in hand, and large oversized soda on the other, dims the stage lights*

It made me chuckle when people feel the need to defend their purchases, or their format of choice for that matter. Im not pointing fingers at anyone here, but it made me giggle to no end nonetheless.
huh? i thought its the whole purpose of you creating this thread .. No? laugh.gif
acougan
post Jan 23 2007, 06:02 PM

590 posts

what's even more funny is that a certain HD-DVD strong supporter actually spends more time reading/researching/defending HD-DVD when he could actually have just saved his fund and actually buy & enjoy HD-DVDs instead of being a virtual forum cheerleader icon_rolleyes.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 06:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Defending my purchase/format choice? Nay my dear combatant, i've tasted virgins and whores from both sides, so no defending needed. This thread's borned out of the need to provide tangible source for zealots and fanatics from both sides to refer to, and made fools of themselves defending their argumentative side.

Basically, for the delight of myself while watching both sides make themselves look like Krusty the Clown. Hey, if it comes with the main objective, who am i to refuse? laugh.gif
zio
post Jan 23 2007, 06:47 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 04:32 PM)
Errr, there are Bluray pRon on the market already. wink.gif
There are? Doesn't seem to be the case though hehe. Since googling it will result in a lot of unfavourable news for the Sony camp.

Sony camp has denied allegations that they are banning pRon producers but apparently the producers have said that Sony has threatened Blu-ray manufacturers not to press Blu-ray discs for the adult entertainment industry.

You can have all the movie titles on the Blu-ray and super hardware sales, but if the pRon industry switch to HD-DVD in a massive way, Blu-ray will be the next Betamax.

As for me, still saving up money for the PS3 so I can get a cheap Blu-ray player.
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 07:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Skip over to the Porn on HDDVD Bluray thread for the lowdown on which camp the porn folks are heading to. FYI, it's both. Im like them myself, not gonna miss out on anything just on thinly veiled principles. wink.gif
rx330
post Jan 23 2007, 10:24 PM

11,811 posts

hopefully Blue ray wins,cos i dun think i will be getting an xbox360 or any HD DVD devices, but PS3 is a must for me biggrin.gif

TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 10:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I dont like to see either lose and die off. The market can sustain both of them adequately, just release same movie on different formats.
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 10:57 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 07:08 PM)
Skip over to the Porn on HDDVD Bluray thread for the lowdown on which camp the porn folks are heading to. FYI, it's both. Im like them myself, not gonna miss out on anything just on thinly veiled principles. wink.gif
thinly veiled pricinples? principles are principles smile.gif its people with principles who touch the world and revolutionise human race smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jan 23 2007, 11:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yes, we all have principles, but depriving yourself of the fruits of your labor for principles' sake is pointless IMO. See the fanatical religious groups? I dare say some of those fanatics at AVSForums are replicating their ways of thinking , but only when it comes to their next-gen format of choice. Im not gonna deprive myself of Pirates of Caribbean Dead Man's Chest Bluray out of principles , it's not a matter of life and death when it comes to choices like these. Religion-wise, it may weigh heavily, but not when it comes to my personal enjoyment. wink.gif
rx330
post Jan 24 2007, 12:00 AM

11,811 posts

IMHO, i dun think its quite possible for both formats to co exist, one will die out eventually , the question is wen, one of them will phased out, but who knows, maybe the tim it happens im aredi dead by then
TSstringfellow
post Jan 24 2007, 12:01 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

From Digitalbits, Disney's Cars is slated to hit Bluray on Summer. Looks like the floodgates are opening for quality Bluray films. Once studios see there are demand for their movies on HiDef, hopefully they will be releasing more.
ikanayam
post Jan 24 2007, 02:58 AM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 23 2007, 11:00 AM)
IMHO, i dun think its quite possible for both formats to co exist, one will die out eventually , the question is wen, one of them will phased out, but who knows, maybe the tim it happens im aredi dead by then
At the very least, what we need is a stalemate and peaceful coexistence.
rx330
post Jan 24 2007, 10:37 AM

11,811 posts

hopefully they can coexist, and also to the all the fellows forrumers here
TSstringfellow
post Jan 25 2007, 01:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://www.highdefdigest.com/news/show/Pix...u-ray_Dates/448

Disney Sets 'Pirates,' 'Cars' Blu-ray Dates
Wed Jan 24, 2007 at 04:16 PM ET
Tags: Disc Announcements, Disney, Pixar (all tags)

In what are sure to be three of the biggest-selling next-gen titles yet, Disney has set Spring street dates for the Blu-ray releases of the blockbuster 'Pirates of the Caribbean' films, and Pixar's first high-def title, 'Cars.'

Just in time for the theatrical release of the third 'Pirates' epic, Disney has set a May 22 voyage for 'Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl' and 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest.' These guaranteed huge sellers will be followed on June 5 by 'Cars,' the Pixar hit and current favorite for this year's Best Animated Film Oscar.

The dates recently began filtering to online retailer outlets earlier this week, and Disney has trumpeted the news in a full-page ad in the print version of this week's Video Business, the industry trade paper.

Though no official press release has been issued as of yet, word to High-Def Digest from the studio is that full details are on the way soon. So we'll certainly keep you posted on tech specs, bonus features and box art as soon as word arrives on these highly-anticipated releases.

In the meantime, we've updated the listings for all three titles to our complete Blu-ray Release Schedule.

We also set up dedicated threads for these latest Disney titles in our new Forums area -- click the following links to discuss the 'Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl' Blu-ray release, the 'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest' Blu-ray release and the 'Cars' Blu-ray release.
The tide is gonna turn into a tsunami come this May! HD-DVD better have something up their collective sleeves. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 25 2007, 01:06 PM
rx330
post Jan 25 2007, 01:48 PM

11,811 posts

is gurse of the golden flower available thru blueray?
i just seen the trailer 720p thru apple.com( mine notebook on 1080p hang hang)

tats is one film i gonna buy for my ps3 if its available, all the colours(not to mention the boobies) are so strikingly beautiful, see it on my notebook also abit blur....
TSstringfellow
post Jan 25 2007, 01:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, that movie is scheduled to release on Bluray on March 2007.
rx330
post Jan 25 2007, 02:27 PM

11,811 posts

whoohoohhhhh

i wan crank, i wan saw 3, i wan curse of golden, ice age, maybe open season
how much would tat cost me? rm 1k?
TSstringfellow
post Jan 25 2007, 02:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Got the player?
rx330
post Jan 25 2007, 02:42 PM

11,811 posts

gd question, not yet biggrin.gif

and no 16:9 lcd yet, not too mention 1080p
madmoz
post Jan 25 2007, 11:37 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 05:38 PM)

arghh string you seems turning into quite the wind up merchant, GOW getting boring?
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 04:31 AM

5,756 posts

Toshiba HD-XA1 HD DVD Player beats Sony, Samsung, Panasonic, Pioneer Blu-ray players to Win Sound & Vision Product of the Year Award nod.gif

http://www.dvdrecorderworld.com/news/433

WAYNE, N.J., Jan. 26 /PRNewswire/ -- Sound & Vision, the world's largest entertainment magazine, has selected Toshiba's HD-XA1 HD DVD player to receive its prestigious Product of the Year Award, recognizing it as the most outstanding consumer electronics product of 2006. The Toshiba HD-XA1, along with Toshiba's HD-A1 HD DVD player, was the first High definition DVD player to be introduced in the U.S. market.

"We're quite pleased to honor Toshiba with this award," said Mike Mettler, Vice President/Editor-In-Chief of Sound & Vision. "The flagship HD-XA1 totally fulfilled the promise of the high definition disc player by delivering both picture and sound with unmatched purity, detail, and punch. We're very impressed."

Ranking at the top of 22 products chosen by the magazine's editors and reviewers from those tested throughout the year, the Toshiba HD-XA1 was selected by Sound & Vision's staff for its innovation, performance, build, quality and value.

"We are very proud to have received Sound & Vision's most prestigious award for 2006," said Jodi Sally, Vice President of Marketing, Toshiba America Consumer Products Digital A/V Group. "Toshiba HD DVD players continue to be recognized as outstanding options for next generation DVD and serve as great home theater complements for HDTV owners. We are delighted that this product has been honored by such a widely read and respected magazine."

Continuing to prove its leadership in the smooth transition to high definition, Toshiba recently announced it has already successfully introduced its second generation HD DVD players -- delivering stunning image quality, astounding audio capabilities and a new level of interactivity never seen before. Building on its early lead in the market and proving the strength of the HD DVD format, Toshiba has expanded its HD DVD line and has increased shipment volume to meet the growing market demand.

About Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.

Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is owned by Toshiba America, Inc., a subsidiary of Toshiba Corporation, a world leader in high technology products with subsidiaries worldwide. Toshiba is a pioneer in HD DVD, DVD and DVD Recorder technology and a leading manufacturer of a full line of home entertainment products, including flat panel TV, rear projection and direct view televisions, combination products and portable devices. Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is headquartered in Wayne, New Jersey. For additional information please visit http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/.

About Sound & Vision
Established in 1958, Sound & Vision has led the category in the coverage of consumer electronics products for nearly 50 years. From early adopters to everyday shoppers, people come to Sound & Vision for the latest product reviews, recommendations and information on home theater, high-definition TV, digital surround sound, and more. Published ten times per year, the title has a rate base of 200,000.

Added on January 28, 2007, 4:37 amhttp://www.ropeofsilicon.com/news.php?id=5179

Not that 300 titles for a year isnt enough. Regular consumers do not even own 300 DVDs after 10 years of collection .. so the talks of Blu-ray have more exclusive studios than HD DVD .. Mute!! tongue.gif

Universal to release ATLEAST 100 Exclusive HD DVDs in 2007
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.businessofcinema.com/?file=story&id=2049

Bringing further heat to the burgeoning HD DVD format, Universal Studios Home Entertainment will release more than 100 new film and television titles in 2007.

Perennial favorites such as Scarface and classics like 40-Year-Old Virgin, Battlestar Galactica S1 and Oscar-winning Brokeback Mountain will be joined by dozens of new titles released day and date with the DVD.

Since the format's inception in April 2006, Universal Studios Home Entertainment has released 60 titles on HD DVD, and currently boasts four of the top 10 best-selling HD DVDs year-to-date, including Casino, Serenity, Fearless and Miami Vice.

Tapping into the studio's vast library, the 2007 slate kicked off on 18 January with the release of The Mummy Returns, followed by Brokeback Mountain, starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal on 23 January, 2007. Following shortly thereafter will be such day-and-date new releases as Golden Globe-nominee Hollywoodland on 6 February. More than 90 per cent of the planned 2007 Universal titles will be released as combo discs - which feature an HD DVD version and a standard DVD version of the movie on the same disc.

"With more than two million HD DVD players expected in the market in North America by the end of 2007, Universal Studios Home Entertainment is committed to expanding its portfolio of compelling HD DVD content and further igniting consumer demand. By releasing most of our titles as combo discs we effectively satisfy consumers' multi-viewing habits, providing them with the most cost-effective option to watch their favorite films in either their DVD or HD DVD players," said Universal Studios Home Entertainment president Craig Kornblau.

Among the additional new titles to be released in 2007 are the Oscar-nominated Children of Men, The Good Shepherd, and Smokin' Aces. Also on deck for release this year are such highly anticipated catalog favorites as Bruce Almighty; The Bourne Identity; Meet The Fockers; American Pie; Inside Man; Pride & Prejudice; The Big Lebowski; Liar Liar; Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels; Brazil; Erin Brockovich; Shaun of the Dead; Dawn of the Dead; Slap Shot; and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Jan 28 2007, 05:11 AM
redken
post Jan 28 2007, 12:53 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

Give the thread starter some credit, Bluray > HDDVD. Rejoice.

I forgot to add, we can all now have some quality HD content on our LIBRARY (harddisk) from u know where. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by redken: Jan 28 2007, 01:03 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jan 28 2007, 01:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Uh Doooh! Im into both, remember? Where does all this talk about me into bluray only comes into the picture? whistling.gif

Good news all round, but guess what, even the XA1 model are not here yet. Are we cheering for them Yanks for dictating what format should we go for, while we here watch from the sideline while waiting for the players to arrive?whistling.gif

Except for children of Men, Brazil and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, the rest of the titles doesnt even worth to bat an eyelash at. Now Cars and both Pirates, that im drooling about. wink.gif

You see, the more the HD-DVD folks trumpets the format, the more i thank them, since im into the format as well. Just that , some folks trumpet the HD-DVD in the valiant attempt to make sure their sole choice of format doesnt go down the drain as if their lives depended on it. Or defended it like their lives depended on it rather. Give me both. Both sides of the format fanboys are like salesman to me, they sell their format , i reap the results. laugh.gif
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 01:48 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Jan 28 2007, 12:53 PM)
Give the thread starter some credit, Bluray > HDDVD. Rejoice.

I forgot to add, we can all now have some quality HD content on our LIBRARY (harddisk) from u know where.  tongue.gif
i am giving him the credit lah .. he started the thread so that people can fight in it .. so i entertain him lah laugh.gif laugh.gif

I know where our HD Library is whistling.gif whistling.gif
redken
post Jan 28 2007, 02:16 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 28 2007, 01:48 PM)
i am giving him the credit lah .. he started the thread so that people can fight in it .. so i entertain him lah  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

I know where our HD Library is  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
HMM? Open secret tongue.gif

Hopefully some nice codecs will surface to further squash the file to a more 3rd world country internet frenly size.
TSstringfellow
post Jan 28 2007, 02:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Oiii, more entertainment value please, all these article quoting posts are like a boring RTM newscaster. More mudslinging, more fire and pitchforks! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jan 28 2007, 02:32 PM
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 02:43 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 28 2007, 02:32 PM)
Oiii, more entertainment value please, all these article quoting posts are like a boring RTM newscaster. More mudslinging, more fire and pitchforks! rclxms.gif
i know you will like them drool.gif

TSstringfellow
post Jan 28 2007, 02:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, the HD-DVD side "fired" the salvo already with that article. Waiting for the Bluray people to counter-strike! If nobody, then i'll be the devil's advocate and go Bluray for a while before turning neutral again. laugh.gif
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 03:10 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 28 2007, 02:58 PM)
Yup, the HD-DVD side "fired" the salvo already with that article. Waiting for the Bluray people to counter-strike! If nobody, then i'll be the devil's advocate and go Bluray for a while before turning neutral again. laugh.gif
fire rock lah you laugh.gif

Added on February 2, 2007, 4:29 amon behalf of stringfellow: laugh.gif well, the so called researcher's name is Bottoms. What else can I say !

Researcher Sees Blu-ray Victory

http://homemediaretailing.com/news/html/br...rticle_id=10208

Understanding & Solutions is keeping a close watch on the launches of both high-definition formats, HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc. While it's a little early to call a winner, Blu-ray has the strongest possibility to dominate the market quickly, thanks mostly to the PlayStation 3, according to the company. Home Media Magazine talked to co-founder Jim Bottoms about what his firm sees for the future of the high-definition formats.

HM: What kind of hardware adoption should we expect to see as the year progresses, now that there are several different hardware options for both formats, including the PS3?

Bottoms: Top line, we reckon something like a million players were shipped through into consumers' homes in 2006, including gaming formats. Of that 1 million, about 750,000 were PS3. It's been our contention all along that both formats would almost be neck and neck, with Blu-ray having stronger industry support on the hardware side and content side and HD DVD getting out first and having lower price points. Each group has got its advantages, but what really changes the picture is PS3. It is poised to be in virtually 25 million to 35 million homes in the next two to three years.

HM: So it could be an all Blu-ray high-def market in just a couple of years?

Bottoms: I would be absolutely amazed if the format war goes on much further than mid-2008. If you look at what happened in 2006, 80% of what has sold through is Blu-ray. In 2007, [Blu-ray] will be at least that percentage again, but it won't be a million players we're talking about. We're probably looking at something like 8 million units selling through this year across all product types and formats, so by the end of 2007, moving into 2008, it's possible that 5% or 6% of U.S. homes will be owning a high-definition playback device. And about 80% of those devices will be Blu-ray.

HM: Will Sony be able to keep up the manufacturing to hit that 25 million to 35 million PS3 target over the next couple of years?

Bottoms: Well, that's the question, isn't it? But if you look at PS2 and [the original PlayStation], that's the kind of volume those systems saw.

HM: The higher price of the PS3 compared to those previous players doesn't seem to be a stumbling block. Is that because it seems like a value to get the Blu-ray capability as well as the gaming system?

Bottoms: The thing is, at this early stage, we are selling to the enthusiast. The people who are driving high-definition, be it on players or PS3, are people who have been waiting for years, who have spent $5,000 or $6,000 bucks on a TV. It almost doesn't matter. It will matter in two or three years as it moves into a mass-market product. With standard-definition DVD, players were available for about two years before the PS2. The early adopter already had adopted their video player. Then along comes a gaming player that was also a video console, but it was a more expensive entry point. There was a penalty for it. This time around effectively PS3 is the first Blu-ray player available, and by the way, it comes in at $600, and -when to buy a Blu-ray video-only player was $1,000 or $800 - it actually became for someone who wants a Blu-ray player a very compelling purchase. And, by all accounts, PS3 is a much better Blu-ray player than the PS2 was a DVD player.

HM: Are software buy rates for Blu-ray movies bearing out the theory that people would see the PS3 as more than just a gaming device?

Bottoms: More than 70% of people buying a PS3 have a strong interest in acquiring movies for it. Until the PS3 was launched, software sales were probably three to one in HD DVD's favor, but once the PS3 came out, the pendulum swung dramatically. Volume per title grew something like 700%. By the end of the year, most of the top selling high-definition titles will be Blu-ray discs.

HM: Do you think high definition will reach mass market in two to three years, and do you mean that as in pricing or as in the kind of consumers who are buying high-def hardware and software?

Bottoms: Both. We believe that you will see Blu-ray players at around $400 by the end of this year and HD DVD about $300. In the United States, it has to be less than $200 for mass appeal and less than $100 for an impulse purchase, but that will happen quickly. Going into [2008], I will sit and eat one of our reports if we haven't seen an HD DVD player for less than $200. Crudely, it costs about $100 more to make, at volume, a high-definition player than it does to make a standard definition player. Of course, those numbers are at volume and [the electronics companies] are not at that manufacturing volume yet.

HM: Does that mean that both formats could possibly exist simultaneously for some years to come if HD DVD companies dig in their heels?

Bottoms: We believe by the end of the year, we will see one format start to dominate. At the moment all the cards are stacked in favor of Blu-ray coming out on top. In reality, the only companies holding on to HD DVD are Toshiba and Universal and, yes, it will be a difficult pill for them to swallow to switch to Blu-ray. But it was a difficult pill for Sony to swallow when they had to start making VHS machines [after Betamax failed]. It will probably be easier for Universal because they don't have any real financial incentive to keep HD DVD going. Toshiba has got a strong vested interest in prolonging the life of the DVD format, and that's what HD DVD is all about. It's basically extending the DVD format as long as you can take it.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 2 2007, 04:29 AM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 02:03 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sure, you can have the best selling HD-playing player in the world, with all awards piled up onto it like pirates bounty on Isle de Muerta, but without the strong sale of software to make use of all that thingamajig award winning mumbo-jumbos, it's nothing but an expensive toaster oven.

Official tracking data from Nielsen VideoScan and The Digital Bits, has this to say about the current format war:-

The first official retail tracking data from Nielsen VideoScan seems to show Blu-ray Disc outselling HD-DVD in unit software sales by a more than 2 to 1 margin, and the gap is widening. According to data reported in Home Media Retailing (you'll find it on page one of the digital edition available on their website) for the week ending 1/7/07, Year-to-Date tracking indicated that for every 47.14 HD-DVDs sold there were 100 Blu-ray Disc titles sold. Just a week later, ending 1/14/07, the same YTD tracking indicated just 38.36 HD-DVDs sold for every 100 Blu-ray Discs sold. What's more, tracking by Nielsen VideoScan since the inception of both formats appears to indicate that Blu-ray Disc is quickly erasing the sales lead HD-DVD enjoyed as a result of launching months earlier in 2006. On 1/7, HD-DVD's lead was 100 discs for every 85.05 Blu-ray Discs sold, while just a week later on 1/14, that lead had been reduced to 100 HD-DVDs for every 92.40 Blu-ray Discs sold.

Specific unit volume numbers are not available, but one would guess they're still fairly low. No doubt much of the sales surge has to do with the arrival of Sony's PS3 game system in November. We'll have to watch closely over the next few months to see if these trends are affected by specific new software/title releases on both formats from week to week. Still, this data seems to bear out claims made by the BDA at CES, to the effect that their format was outselling HD-DVD as of December 2006 and that the margin could grow to as much as 3 to 1 in early 2007. It'll be interesting to see how continuing sales of the PS3 (and new dedicated players for both formats) impact these numbers as well.

Stay tuned...

Bill Hunt, Editor
The Digital Bits
billhunt@thedigitalbits.com

A collective "Uh Oh" can be heard across the globe for what begins a format blatantly bashed for its non-relatable rootkit debacle from Sony, have momentum and picking up speed. With the arrival of Casino Royale, Pixar's Cars and Pirates of The Carribean 1 and 2, gloom and doom is approaching for the HD-DVD camp? Already the ratio is 3:1 in favour to Blu-ray for the week ending January 14th.

*Cue panicky background music for the sweaty palmed HD-DVD faithfuls*
redken
post Feb 3 2007, 02:12 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 28 2007, 03:10 PM)
fire rock lah you laugh.gif

Added on February 2, 2007, 4:29 amon behalf of stringfellow: laugh.gif well, the so called researcher's name is Bottoms. What else can I say !
Researcher Sees Blu-ray Victory
http://homemediaretailing.com/news/html/br...rticle_id=10208

Understanding & Solutions is keeping a close watch on the launches of both high-definition formats, HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc. While it's a little early to call a winner, Blu-ray has the strongest possibility to dominate the market quickly, thanks mostly to the PlayStation 3, according to the company. Home Media Magazine talked to co-founder Jim Bottoms about what his firm sees for the future of the high-definition formats.

HM: What kind of hardware adoption should we expect to see as the year progresses, now that there are several different hardware options for both formats, including the PS3?

Bottoms: Top line, we reckon something like a million players were shipped through into consumers' homes in 2006, including gaming formats. Of that 1 million, about 750,000 were PS3. It's been our contention all along that both formats would almost be neck and neck, with Blu-ray having stronger industry support on the hardware side and content side and HD DVD getting out first and having lower price points. Each group has got its advantages, but what really changes the picture is PS3. It is poised to be in virtually 25 million to 35 million homes in the next two to three years.

HM: So it could be an all Blu-ray high-def market in just a couple of years?

Bottoms: I would be absolutely amazed if the format war goes on much further than mid-2008. If you look at what happened in 2006, 80% of what has sold through is Blu-ray. In 2007, [Blu-ray] will be at least that percentage again, but it won't be a million players we're talking about. We're probably looking at something like 8 million units selling through this year across all product types and formats, so by the end of 2007, moving into 2008, it's possible that 5% or 6% of U.S. homes will be owning a high-definition playback device. And about 80% of those devices will be Blu-ray.

HM: Will Sony be able to keep up the manufacturing to hit that 25 million to 35 million PS3 target over the next couple of years?

Bottoms: Well, that's the question, isn't it? But if you look at PS2 and [the original PlayStation], that's the kind of volume those systems saw.

HM: The higher price of the PS3 compared to those previous players doesn't seem to be a stumbling block. Is that because it seems like a value to get the Blu-ray capability as well as the gaming system?

Bottoms: The thing is, at this early stage, we are selling to the enthusiast. The people who are driving high-definition, be it on players or PS3, are people who have been waiting for years, who have spent $5,000 or $6,000 bucks on a TV. It almost doesn't matter. It will matter in two or three years as it moves into a mass-market product. With standard-definition DVD, players were available for about two years before the PS2. The early adopter already had adopted their video player. Then along comes a gaming player that was also a video console, but it was a more expensive entry point. There was a penalty for it. This time around effectively PS3 is the first Blu-ray player available, and by the way, it comes in at $600, and -when to buy a Blu-ray video-only player was $1,000 or $800 - it actually became for someone who wants a Blu-ray player a very compelling purchase. And, by all accounts, PS3 is a much better Blu-ray player than the PS2 was a DVD player.

HM: Are software buy rates for Blu-ray movies bearing out the theory that people would see the PS3 as more than just a gaming device?

Bottoms: More than 70% of people buying a PS3 have a strong interest in acquiring movies for it. Until the PS3 was launched, software sales were probably three to one in HD DVD's favor, but once the PS3 came out, the pendulum swung dramatically. Volume per title grew something like 700%. By the end of the year, most of the top selling high-definition titles will be Blu-ray discs.

HM: Do you think high definition will reach mass market in two to three years, and do you mean that as in pricing or as in the kind of consumers who are buying high-def hardware and software?

Bottoms: Both. We believe that you will see Blu-ray players at around $400 by the end of this year and HD DVD about $300. In the United States, it has to be less than $200 for mass appeal and less than $100 for an impulse purchase, but that will happen quickly. Going into [2008], I will sit and eat one of our reports if we haven't seen an HD DVD player for less than $200. Crudely, it costs about $100 more to make, at volume, a high-definition player than it does to make a standard definition player. Of course, those numbers are at volume and [the electronics companies] are not at that manufacturing volume yet.

HM: Does that mean that both formats could possibly exist simultaneously for some years to come if HD DVD companies dig in their heels?

Bottoms: We believe by the end of the year, we will see one format start to dominate. At the moment all the cards are stacked in favor of Blu-ray coming out on top. In reality, the only companies holding on to HD DVD are Toshiba and Universal and, yes, it will be a difficult pill for them to swallow to switch to Blu-ray. But it was a difficult pill for Sony to swallow when they had to start making VHS machines [after Betamax failed]. It will probably be easier for Universal because they don't have any real financial incentive to keep HD DVD going. Toshiba has got a strong vested interest in prolonging the life of the DVD format, and that's what HD DVD is all about. It's basically extending the DVD format as long as you can take it.
It's sad in a way. PS the holygrail of console gaming has been reduced to just another home audio visual proponent.
TSstringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 02:16 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Feb 3 2007, 02:12 AM)
It's sad in a way. PS the holygrail of console gaming has been reduced to just another home audio visual proponent.
If you recall your Video Game History 101, the PS2 too was bought during its first initial launch for its DVD playing capabilities. It's most bought after software? The DVD movie The Matrix. Are you saying history is about to repeat itself with that comment of yours? whistling.gif

Just because it plays movies well, doesnt mean the games arent coming. PS2 proves that to the naysayers last time, killing Dreamcast along with it.
g5sim
post Feb 3 2007, 02:22 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 02:16 AM)
If you recall your Video Game History 101, the PS2 too was bought during its first initial launch for its DVD playing capabilities. It's most bought after software? The DVD movie The Matrix. Are you saying history is about to repeat itself with that comment of yours? whistling.gif

Just because it plays movies well, doesnt mean the games arent coming. PS2 proves that to the naysayers last time, killing Dreamcast along with it.
yeah matrix .. coming soon to HD DVD *only* soon .. loving Warner !! Why? Blu-ray's $1000 interativity debacle ... no interactivity, no Matrix for Blu-ray .. atleast not yet cool2.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 02:26 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Java 1.1 coming soon, my friend. Until Warner actually announces any speck of information on releases of the Matrix trilogy discs, they remain neutral, as in support for both formats.

But since we're playing the movie-support-what-format-game, .........Star Wars Hexalogy, on Bluray ONLY, while the HD-DVD folks are clamoring for petitions to plead 20th CEntury Fox to come over to HD-DVD via PetitionOnline laugh.gif. The End.

Added on February 3, 2007, 2:43 amJust to add salt to the wound as well, out of curiosity, try Google the title for the highest sellind DVD title of all time, and see what you get. If the record still holds, and i believe with the number it had made, it would be about a little clown fish living on the reef with his clown fish dad. And guess what? Bluray EXCLUSIVE , baby!. That if you want to go by the numbers and by past history.

If you wanna go with the present and the foreseeable future, what exclusives again Universal is holding against the Disneys (Pixars, Pirates), Sony Columbia Tristar (Spider-Mans), Fox (Star Wars Hexalogy), just to name a few.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 3 2007, 02:43 AM
g5sim
post Feb 3 2007, 05:42 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 02:26 AM)
Java 1.1 coming soon, my friend. Until Warner actually announces any speck of information on releases of the Matrix trilogy discs, they remain neutral, as in support for both formats.

But since we're playing the movie-support-what-format-game, .........Star Wars Hexalogy, on Bluray ONLY, while the HD-DVD folks are clamoring for petitions to plead 20th CEntury Fox to come over to HD-DVD via PetitionOnline laugh.gif. The End.

Added on February 3, 2007, 2:43 amJust to add salt to the wound as well, out of curiosity, try Google the title for the highest sellind DVD title of all time, and see what you get. If the record still holds, and i believe with the number it had made, it would be about a little clown fish living on the reef with his clown fish dad. And guess what? Bluray EXCLUSIVE , baby!. That if you want to go by the numbers and by past history.

If you wanna go with the present and the foreseeable future, what exclusives again Universal is holding against the Disneys (Pixars, Pirates), Sony Columbia Tristar (Spider-Mans), Fox (Star Wars Hexalogy), just to name a few.
LMAO .. you are assuming studio exclusivity is here to stay ... wait till the Chinese beat the Japanese CE kings in HD DVD players development and flood the US market with $199 and $299 players .. then tell me about studio exclusivity.

Disney loves HDi. Warner france has already put the month and specs for Matrix, 1-3 and all the Harry Porter films. Guess what - all the titles are with HDi - In Movie Experience feature. The only reason these titles do not have the same release date for Blu-ray is because of that - IME feature. In fact warner only gave the date for HD DVD of ALL their planned releases with IME feature. The rest of the titles have the same release date for both HD DVD and Blu-ray. Twice as expensive but have the same level of interactivity as standard DVDs - how embarassing ..

anyhow, i prefer FunTastic4 then Spidey. But HD DVD players unconvert VERY near to some Blu-ray PQ anyway. oh maybe PS3 price will drop further in the coming months to like $199. I will definitely get one to watch FunTastic4, XMen, and few other fun FOX movies .... oh maybe not .. WHY .. studio exclusivity my bottom .. see below laugh.gif laugh.gif

wait isnt Underworld a Sony Picture Entertainment movie? laugh.gif

Video: 2.35:1 1080p High Definition
Audio: Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 English
Subtitles: English, Spanish Castellano

wait there is more, the extra feature are even more then the Blu-ray counterpart .. LMAO LMAO LMAO LMAO whistling.gif

Added on February 3, 2007, 5:50 amOfficial site of Underworld at Sony Pictures ..

http://www.sonypictures.com/homevideo/cata...3396153813.html

exclusivity .. laugh.gif laugh.gif oh HD DVDs are region free... tongue.gif

Features Blu-ray = 8, HD DVD = 16. Isnt Blu-ray can fit 50GB vs HD DVD's 30GB only. Again how embarassing. laugh.gif

Blu-ray features:

1. Director's Commentary
2. Music Video: "Her Portrait in Black" by Atreyu
3. Original Featurette: Bloodlines: From Script To Screen
4. Original Featurette: Building a Saga
5. Original Featurette: Making Monsters Roar
6. Original Featurette: Music and Mayhem
7. Original Featurette: The Hybrid Theory
8. Original Featurette: The War Rages On

HD DVD features:

1. Audio Commentary with director Len Wiseman
2. Image Gallery
3. Biographies/Filmographies
4. Photo Gallery
5. Trailer
6. TV Spots
7. Featurette (6 min)
8. "Imágenes de rodaje" (15 min)
9. Interviews (12 min)
10. Making of (13 min)
11. Making of: Special Effects (13 min)
12. Making of: Making Monsters Roar (12 min)
13. Making of: "Especialistas" (10 min)
14. Making of: Production Design (13 min)
15. Making of: Music and Sound (12 min)
16. Unspecified Video Clip (4 min)

Dont hate me please .. thank you rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 3 2007, 05:50 AM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 12:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Ahahahah, the HD-DVD camp jumping up and down over a movie like "Underworld"? You can quote me this, as well as to the bank that "you will never see the big hitters go to the opposite camp". Something as trivial as "Underworld" may slip past conventional film studio segragation outside of MPAA jurisdiction in countries like Spain, but i dont see Spain being the main consumer of all things next-gen discs, do you? The battle will be decided in the land of Uncle Sam, provided the pirates didnt get to them first.

You still hadnt addressed the fact that Bluray b****slapped HD-DVD in sales 3 to1 in the latest Nielsen Videoscan data culling. Bluray's studio numbers advantage is slowly rearing its beautiful head,while the HD-DVD camp rejoice for victory over trickling oftitlesonce thought exclusive toBluray,then coming over to their side....how sad! laugh.gif While HD-DVD could scamper on with titles like "Underworld" to giggle over, try facing against the volume of 5 studios against its own 1. Disney may love HDi and gogaga over HD-DVD's IME features, but once Java 1.1 comes to fruition, there is no turning back. It is just a matter of time,and once time hits summer 2007,and all the pieces of the big picture falls into place, i'd say even Disney's offering alone could demolish HD-DVD's frail grasps on living past that point in time.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 3 2007, 12:12 PM
g5sim
post Feb 3 2007, 01:35 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 12:09 PM)
Ahahahah, the HD-DVD camp jumping up and down over a movie like "Underworld"? You can quote me this, as well as to the bank that "you will never see the big hitters go to the opposite camp". Something as trivial as "Underworld" may slip past conventional film studio segragation outside of MPAA jurisdiction in countries like Spain, but i dont see Spain being the main consumer of all things next-gen discs, do you? The battle will be decided in the land of Uncle Sam, provided the pirates didnt get to them first.

You still hadnt addressed the fact that Bluray b****slapped HD-DVD in sales 3 to1 in the latest Nielsen Videoscan data culling.

Bluray's studio numbers advantage is slowly rearing its beautiful head,while the HD-DVD camp rejoice for victory over trickling oftitlesonce thought exclusive toBluray,then coming over to their side....how sad! laugh.gif  While HD-DVD could scamper on with titles like "Underworld" to giggle over, try facing against the volume of 5 studios against its own 1. Disney may love HDi and gogaga over HD-DVD's IME features, but once Java 1.1 comes to fruition, there is no turning back. It is just a matter of time,and once time hits summer 2007,and all the pieces of the big picture falls into place, i'd say even Disney's offering alone could demolish HD-DVD's frail grasps on living past that point in time.
i was merely trying to proof that BD strongest marketing point - studio exclusivity is nothing but ******* ... We might even see Disney titles showing up in Europe. By the way - for your information, anyone from USA can purchase titles from Europe, Australia, Japan, India even africa cuxz unlike Blu-ray - HD DVD is not region coded.

"once" Java 1.1 .. i love the use of future tense in BD when the products are already in the market. Consumers pay $1,000 so that they can waste half a year to get BDA to ready Java in June 2007. When the HD DVD counter paid $500 and enjoy amazing interactivity from day one of purchase. Great! .. long live Blu-ray.

on the 2-1 sales of Blu-ray, you have checked the news havent you. Try reading the videoscan data instead reading third hand information interpreted by god knows who. But no worries, like you, i was misleaded by BDA web propaganda machines. below are are better representations of the Videoscan data. It represent the total sales of HD DVD vs Blu-ray till 7th, 14th and 21th Jan 2007. As you can see clearly, where is Blu-ray outselling HD DVD 2-1? The information you is merely the % of weekly sales of Blu-ray vs HD DVD titles in which 100% can be representing ONLY 100, 1,000, 5,000 or 10,000 total disk sales. Now every Blu-ray fan boys should be worry. With <>700,000 Blu-ray players sold vs HD DVD's mere 200,000 figure, HD DVD's total disk sale is STILL MORE than Blu-ray.

Oh one more thing, rumour has it tongue.gif , the 28th Jan 2007 weekly sales data will show HD DVD leading Blu-ray. The Blu-ray fan boys at AVS whom earlier embracing the Videoscan data are already backtracking from taking the Videoscan data whole heartedly .. hell that was funny laugh.gif

Added on February 3, 2007, 1:42 pmoh one more thing, if you check the graph closely, HD DVD is actually distancing itself from Blu--ray in 21 jan as compared to the 7th Jan figure. 7th Jan (54%-46%=8%) but in 21th (55%-45%=10%). And the fanboys are sooo excited about the figure for ? tongue.gif

Don't hate me because i present rasional facts... please ! I love you all !

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 3 2007, 01:42 PM
redken
post Feb 3 2007, 04:07 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 02:16 AM)

Keep ur jargon's to urself. If u have the time, perhaps write a fairy tale about it. Or even better use the time to grow up.

Back then, there wasnt any format battle. DVD was elected by the electronics community which puts a stop a rising format battle with another what, i think MMD os something like that.

Which so far havent prove profitable to the original creators because hefty royalties are not imposed. Sony being the big lame o decided they want a bigger piece of the cake because they have been losing money for the past two years.
TSstringfellow
post Feb 3 2007, 07:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Touchy,touchy! I was merely addressing the brought up fact that someone here was commenting the PS3 being a media player first and gaming machine later,and pointed out that PS2 was the same case 7 years ago, even though this has absolutely no bearings whatsoever in the current format war . Didnt have anything to bring to the table? Dip below the table and have table scraps. wink.gif

Interesting point there g5sim,from that point of view, Bluray has a lot of catching up to do. Now this is what the threads needs,more graphs and numbers, than someone deftly and baitingly pretend to be sad for the PS3 as a media player. whistling.gif

On one side, we have IME/U-Control which i absolutely love and adore, and on the other side, the movie titles that i most probably want, that most probably will appear only on one format, unless Warner's TotalHD format takes off. When push comes to shove, I think i'll take the movies over the special features/extras although time will tell if this gen's HD format will provide immersive interactive experience with its extras. Question is, will the solitary case of "Underworld Evolution" happens to flagship titles like "Finding Nemo", " Spider-Man 2" or "Star Wars Episode III"? You be the judge. wink.gif

P/s: The holy grail of video game has not been reduced to a mere media player, that is part of its function. Deal with it. wink.gif
ikanayam
post Feb 3 2007, 10:59 PM

10,544 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 06:30 AM)
P/s: The holy grail of video game has not been reduced to a mere media player, that is part of its function. Deal with it. wink.gif
Sort of puts an end to your numerous pretenses at being neutral, doesn't it? PS2 was the holy grail of its generation. At least one more year before anyone can even begin make such a claim for a current gen console. If he were actually neutral that is.

But it seems like you like numbers, and according to those, the 360 is the current holy grail by a mile, quoting the webpage you gave us in your first post.
http://www.eproductwars.com/vg/

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Feb 3 2007, 11:05 PM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 4 2007, 01:08 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Feb 3 2007, 10:59 PM)
Sort of puts an end to your numerous pretenses at being neutral, doesn't it? PS2 was the holy grail of its generation. At least one more year before anyone can even begin make such a claim for a current gen console. If he were actually neutral that is.

But it seems like you like numbers, and according to those, the 360 is the current holy grail by a mile, quoting the webpage you gave us in your first post.
How does that make me non-partial? By defending the PS3 when its credibility is attacked for its made-to-be-used function as a media player? I'll defend them(keyword:plural) appropriately when they are sniped at unfairly. Wii actually gets most of my playtime, than the 360 or the PS3.

I thought you're the one with the witty side here, you of all person should know that the "holy grail" statement was directed to our dear friend Redken here for classifying the PS3 as the supposed "Holy Grail". I certainly didnt use that term. I then replied back to his claims by using back the term he use. Maybe if i put these " " between the word "holy grail", you'd get the gist of things, but that would only debase you as being a more less-wittier version of your current self, and i certainly dont want to do that to you. whistling.gif

I may like one console more over the others, but wouldnt it be stupid that i buy these consoles just to keep up with being neutral, as you claimed? I have better things to do with my dough, thanks. wink.gif I'd like to hear about your next conspiracy theory though, you seem to be churning them out in bucketloads now. laugh.gif

But guess what? This thread aint about the PS3s, and the 360s. It is about the Blurays and the HD-DVDs. And the thread title says "Definitive HD-DVD/Bluray Sales" now isnt it? Dont want to start thinking you have trouble reading but the one who brought those consoles into the equation here aint me, brother. wink.gif

P/S: This may come off wrong, but im thankful i had the chance to enjoy all three of them. Dont think i bought the 360s (yes, two of them) out of spite or to put out a neautrality facade, nor with the PS3 and the Wii either. wink.gif Dont think i had the games for the 360 (majority on the 360 by the way) just because i hate the console now, is it? If you follow that line of thought, i would definitely dont favour the PS3 much. It's the potential, and whats in store for them that kept me keeping them. None of these consoles are holy grails to me, it's the GAMES that are the real Grail here. Being a console fanboy is like losing out on eating out all the wonderful foods the world has to offer, and you choose to only eat fish. Sorry, my taste buds are yearning.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 4 2007, 01:12 AM
ikanayam
post Feb 4 2007, 02:01 AM

10,544 posts

Sorry, to be honest i haven't been paying that much attention. Perhaps you have a point there. Oh well, redken: the numbers prove that 360 is the current holy grail by a mile. live with it! laugh.gif

Ignoring the random nonsense, if this was a comparison that did not involve consoles, then why is it in the consoles couch in the first place?

I believe there are more appropriate forum sections for this. Can't remember who the threadstarter is, but clearly he had the consoles in mind, else he would have put it in a different section. (hardware? audiophiles? certainly not consoles couch. in consoles couch only the games matter, according to someone)

This post has been edited by ikanayam: Feb 4 2007, 02:06 AM
Mgsrulz
post Feb 4 2007, 02:49 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Feb 3 2007, 10:59 PM)

kesian DC sweat.gif sweat.gif
g5sim
post Feb 4 2007, 03:07 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 07:30 PM)
Interesting point there g5sim,from that point of view, Bluray has a lot of catching up to do. Now this is what the threads needs,more graphs and numbers, than someone deftly and baitingly pretend to be sad for the PS3 as a media player. whistling.gif

Actually Blu-ray can catch up easily if they do it right (the problem with them is that they screwed up ALOT MORE than HD DVD  laugh.gif  laugh.gif ) they have several exclusive studios that will be pumping out contents. I am sure they will catch up. Just dunno when tongue.gif ..

On one side, we have IME/U-Control which i absolutely love and adore, and on the other side, the movie titles that i most probably want, that most probably will appear only on one format, unless Warner's TotalHD format takes off. When push comes to shove, I think i'll take the movies over the special features/extras although time will tell if this gen's HD format will provide immersive interactive experience with its extras. Question is, will the solitary case of "Underworld Evolution" happens to flagship titles like "Finding Nemo", " Spider-Man 2" or "Star Wars Episode III"? You be the judge. wink.gif

On THD - if the price is right maybe. Its not fair to get consumers to buy both format unless the price is the same as either format tongue.gif .. See i am kind to consumers such as you ..  wink.gif

Underworld Evolution is not the only BD exclusive that is released in HD DVD in other parts of the world. Guess HD DVD played it cleverly but not doing region coding. Will update you on a list of "BD exclusive" titles that are also in HD DVD. I am actually trying to play down the studio exclusivity hype that is overwhelming at times tongue.gif .. 

And on Disney, I dont think they are would be that big in hidef. Disney is big in cinema and dvd because parents bring their children to watch the movie. They buy the movies for their children. And frankly i dont see the need for parents to buy hidef disks for their children. I would say, Liongs Gate, Sony Pictures and FOX would have more influence than Disney in Blu-ray title sale. Dont you agree?

And on the interactivity thingy, BD really need to get the thing finalised as scheduled (June 2007). So are audio codec and format compability issues. It is causing major shame to high end CE such as Pioneer. They are basically embarrased themselves by putting a expensive $1,500 HIGH END Hidef player (the Blu-ray Elite Player) that not only  cant do interactivity (which is more excusable), on top of that, the player cant play CD, with NO advance audio support for Dolby Digital + and TruHD nor DTS-HD and HD Master. The audio is basically "at the same level" as RM299 regular Pensonic DVD player!!

Read those in Red .. thankies smile.gif

Added on February 4, 2007, 3:30 amand for those who still believe that Blu-ray is not Sony and that its a consortium of CEs? Sorry to inform you that you have been fooled. See below. Its a screenshot of Pioneer's Official Blu-ray Elite Player brochure that can be found here:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/i...5254BDP-HD1.pdf

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 4 2007, 03:30 AM
silencer
post Feb 4 2007, 07:27 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Alamak,,,I already ordered few of B_-Ray disks from amazon, as I plan to buy the PS3 this month, especially for movie viewing..but after reading this thread..i guess ...I need to buy the external HD-DVD player for my 360 too.....sghhhhh
g5sim
post Feb 4 2007, 09:26 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 4 2007, 07:27 AM)
Alamak,,,I already ordered few of B_-Ray disks from amazon, as I plan to buy the PS3 this month, especially for movie viewing..but after reading this thread..i guess ...I need to buy the external HD-DVD player for my 360 too.....sghhhhh
huh? why?
judge-the
post Feb 4 2007, 09:28 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 4 2007, 07:27 AM)
bro silencer, no worries my friend... i am here to help you. i will help you to use your new ps3 for a short while then you just grab 360 hd dvd player lah. after you bored with the hd dvd player then we reswap with your new ps3!

* bila nak teh tarik lah?
TSstringfellow
post Feb 4 2007, 12:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Feb 4 2007, 02:01 AM)
Sorry, to be honest i haven't been paying that much attention. Perhaps you have a point there. Oh well, redken: the numbers prove that 360 is the current holy grail by a mile. live with it! laugh.gif

Ignoring the random nonsense, if this was a comparison that did not involve consoles, then why is it in the consoles couch in the first place?

I believe there are more appropriate forum sections for this. Can't remember who the threadstarter is, but clearly he had the consoles in mind, else he would have put it in a different section. (hardware? audiophiles? certainly not consoles couch. in consoles couch only the games matter, according to someone)
That why, you need to see the history of why this thread was here. It was in response of all the news about Bluray and HD-DVDs stuff that was posted on this section, because LYN lack any section that caters to videophiles. The closest that LYN has is the Audiophile section, and that too seems awkward since, it would be discussing the multitude of audio codecs that comes with the arrival of these new formats. Which appropriate section on LYN are you talking about here?

If you're done deflecting the issue at hand, can we get back to the topic? I know everywhere i post, people like to turn whatever i post into their own personal quest to bash my head in, but let's not turn this thread into anything personal, shall we? It wasnt about the console in the first place, read the very first thread , there wasnt any reference to consoles at all. Someone else brought consoles into the equation here with his futile attempt to embarass the PS3 , but embarassed himself instead. So, if you have run out of ammo, can we move along here? Deal with it! wink.gif

G5sim, Bluray is SOny, but it is also a collaboration of those within its consortium. It is just that the convoluted mess that is the BDA that may have not clearly define which entity is within the BDA that may have made Pioneer printing Bluray as being Sony alone there, since they are the sure entity within the BDA.

If Disney is not on of the main proponent in bluray, why are they (BDA) hyping up Disney's announcement at CES about this summer releases of their blockbuster titles?

Added on February 4, 2007, 12:44 pmA question to G5sim, since you frequent AVSForums too......what's going on in the HD-DVD section of the forum? Seems like they are running around all panicky like headless chickens! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 4 2007, 12:44 PM
silencer
post Feb 5 2007, 02:07 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 4 2007, 09:28 AM)
bro silencer, no worries my friend... i am here to help you. i will help you to use your new ps3 for a short while then you just grab 360 hd dvd player lah. after you bored with the hd dvd player then we reswap with your new ps3!

* bila nak teh tarik lah?
hahahaha...i think im getting both ps3 and external dvd player for 360 this month.. been hearing lots of good thing about HD movies..as my new 42" Sharp G7 will be delivered today, as this model support 1080p resolution for both PS3 and xbox 360 (eventhough it's connected through component input)....

* teh tarik..anytime will do...but preferable weekendlah at DJinn place..how about during the release of Forza ....

This post has been edited by silencer: Feb 5 2007, 02:08 AM
g5sim
post Feb 5 2007, 03:01 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 5 2007, 02:07 AM)
hahahaha...i think im getting both ps3 and external dvd player for 360 this month.. been hearing lots of good thing about HD movies..as my new 42" Sharp G7 will be delivered today, as this model support 1080p resolution for both PS3 and xbox 360 (eventhough it's connected through component input)....

* teh tarik..anytime will do...but preferable weekendlah at DJinn place..how about during the release of Forza ....
oh yalor .. delivering on monday .. i saw the lcd bulk sale thread tongue.gif

A question to G5sim, since you frequent AVSForums too......what's going on in the HD-DVD section of the forum? Seems like they are running around all panicky like headless chickens!

lol .. no .. not yet laugh.gif .. i find there are more rasional people on the HD DVD thread than the Blu-ray thread. The HD DVD boys are very good in rasionalising on everything. The reason the more sales of Blu-ray vs HD DVD as there were not many titles on HD DVD and that almost all of the HD DVD owners have already own their desired titles. There were also less new HD DVD owners as the the gen1 players are mostly sold out and there werent any new players until mid December. No new owners - no movie sales. smile.gif THe HD DVD threads are much more active than the Blu-ray threads ... (constant trolling from BD fan boys on the HD DVD thread might contribute to that too)

actually on the Videoscan data issue .. there are SERIOUS backpeddling by BD fan boys. all the 2-1 and 3-1 sales of Blu-ray against HD DVD during the week of January where these fanboys boasted about how the PS3 sales had contributed to that .. Now it appears that the the first two weeks of the date did not include the sales on the HD DVD/Standard DVD combo .. laugh.gif . you really should stop by and read some of threads, they are damnnnn funny .. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

If Disney is not on of the main proponent in bluray, why are they (BDA) hyping up Disney's announcement at CES about this summer releases of their blockbuster titles?

Because BDA prelaunch hypes have all been muted. They now have only supports. The sale players by intimidating consumers, telling them, "yeah please do go and buy HD DVD! but hold your breath on seeing our thousands of exclusive titles" .. tongue.gif All BD perceived advantages of the higher bit rate, bigger storage, 1080p are now muted. HD DVD players have consistently produced on par PQ if not better , better interactivity, amazing advance audio support, at half the price at lower bit rate, lower storage and in some intance, only at 1080i. Some HD DVD titles have even more features compared to the BD counter part when BD supposedly have a larger storage capasity.

Let me sumarise the advantages of Blu-ray on stages:

Pre HD DVD/Blu-ray launch - Prior to April 2006

BD is an advance alien technology that beats the crap out of the mere earth technology of HD DVD. Blu-ray was more advance is EVERY technological sense. Blu-ray has the support of everybody. and they are fighting against a Japanese CE black sheep - Toshiba. Microsoft was not even with HD DVD at that stage.

The General consensus during this stage was that. HD DVD will die in Toshiba womb. The format wont even develope into the fetus stage.

1080p
50GB
Higher Bit rate
Support
Better PQ/AQ (with all the higher spec - presumably BD will have better PQ/AQ)
More expensive (purchasers can brag that they have money to spend on the players) tongue.gif

Post HD DVD launch - April - June 2006

Early adopters revealed the jaw dropping amazing PQ of HD DVD albeit complaining about the slow start up, loading and other stuffs relating to first gen players.

The general consensus during this stage was - Blu-ray will wipe HD DVD of the face of the world like Iran swear they would do to the Jewish state of Israel, when Blu-ray is launch. Everybody was eagerly waiting for the launch of Blu-ray

1080p
50GB
Higher Bit rate
Support
Better PQ/AQ (with all the higher spec - presumably BD will have better PQ/AQ)
More expensive (purchasers can brag that they have money to spend on the players) tongue.gif

Post Blu-ray launch - From June 2006

The early adopters flew two tiny planes and dropped Fat Man and Little Boy on the Blu-ray camp. Samsung's player were slaughtered. Sony Pictures' early releases were scorned. Their Fifth Element has been renamed The Filth Element. Early adopters jumped on the HD DVD wagon because of that with HD DVD see a jump in their player sales.

(1080p advantage muted because HD DVD 1080i PQ surpassed Blu-ray 1080p)
50GB
(Higher Bit rate advantage muted because HD DVD PQ surpassed Blu-ray)
Support
(Better PQ/AQ - Muted because of the muted advantages mentioned above)

Post Panasonic and 50GB title launch

BD- detonated a grenade on its one camp by releasing Click on 50GB double layer disks. The release did nothing but dispel the myth that 50GB would help in improving PQ/AQ of Blu-ray.

(1080p advantage muted because HD DVD 1080i PQ surpassed Blu-ray 1080p)
(50GB advantage muted)
(Higher Bit rate advantage muted because HD DVD PQ surpassed Blu-ray)
Support
(Better PQ/AQ - Muted because of the muted advantages mentioned above)
(More expensive - no more an advantage - they are kinda rediculed for being you know .. paying 1/2 more for players that perform the same and with less feature rclxub.gif

sumary

The current advantage of Blu-ray = Support. They need to justified the 2x price tag with support. Where we all know that support do not interfere with production cost cool.gif cool.gif

News flash, adult video producer, Vivid production house, the only adult studio that would produce adult titles in Blu-ray (north america), revealed that the authoring cost for Blu-ray is 4x more than HD DVD. The replication cost for Blu-ray is 3x more than HD DVD. Which make many believe that if HD DVD dies early in the format war, BDA would stop the subsidy for Blu-ray movie = meaning end consumers will have to pay more.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 5 2007, 04:01 AM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 11:28 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Care to post some links? I'd like to see where the more rational HD-DVDs folks reside in their section, and which thread shows the backpedalling of BD people. Maybe i skimmed through the first pages of HD-DVD, but last i left there, there were whinings about how HD-DVD not pushing out their titles more compared to the influx of numerous BD titles coming now. Also some kind of petition to Warner about the conspiracy theory of them wanting to maintain their neutrality and launching their titles on both HD-DVD and Bluray, but Bluray hitting snags on the development of BDJ and that delayed the HD-DVD title releases as well. Links, please?
g5sim
post Feb 5 2007, 12:10 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 11:28 AM)
Care to post some links? I'd like to see where the more rational HD-DVDs folks reside in their section, and which thread shows the backpedalling of BD people. Maybe i skimmed through the first pages of HD-DVD, but last i left there, there were whinings about how HD-DVD not pushing out their titles more compared to the influx of numerous BD titles coming now. Also some kind of petition to Warner about the conspiracy theory of them wanting to maintain their neutrality and launching their titles on both HD-DVD and Bluray, but Bluray hitting snags on the development of BDJ and that delayed the HD-DVD title releases as well. Links, please?
that is one of them actually. HD DVD supporters prefer to better HD DVD. They want better players. See the constant complaint about bugs which were recorded and relayed to Toshiba by a HD DVD major retailer and by one of the big boy at Microsoft. The complaint about the fewer title announcement is also to better HD DVD, to let studios know that they are not happy. Lets face it, HD DVD group and supporters do not announce the death of the other format. They do not constantly having party to celebrate HD DVD's funeral. BD supporters should do not same to better Blu-ray and yet, they are defending the weakness of Blu-ray. Basically i think HD DVD supporters are doing more (by ways of critical evaluation of blu-ray) to better Blu-ray then Blu-ray supporters/apologists tongue.gif

Added on February 5, 2007, 12:11 pmand oh by the way, the gen 2 Toshiba players are selling at $365.88 in the states right now .. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 5 2007, 12:11 PM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 12:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Links please?
g5sim
post Feb 5 2007, 02:56 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 12:14 PM)
Links please?
please be specific - link for what? you said you saw hd dvd supporters complaining about the lack of content. smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 5 2007, 03:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 11:28 AM)
Links for that, especially the threads where the more rational HD-DVD folks are hanging out.
g5sim
post Feb 6 2007, 03:44 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 03:13 PM)
Links for that, especially the threads where the more rational HD-DVD folks are hanging out.
oh go to : http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/index.php? . The rational HD DVD supporters can be found in Blu-ray & HD DVD Areas in the HD DVD Players and HD DVD Softare threads.
TSstringfellow
post Feb 6 2007, 03:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Huh? That's where i always go! But when the HD-DVD section is filled with threads about boycotting HD-DVD over the low volume of new releases, anal-retentive HD-DVD supporters not buying titles because they are combo flippers, and planning petitions to Warner to debunk conspiracy theories about late released because of BDJ, is hardly a show of confidence in my books.
g5sim
post Feb 6 2007, 12:34 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 6 2007, 03:57 AM)
Huh? That's where i always go! But when the HD-DVD section is filled with threads about boycotting HD-DVD over the low volume of new releases, anal-retentive HD-DVD supporters not buying titles because they are combo flippers, and planning petitions to Warner to debunk conspiracy theories about late released because of BDJ, is hardly a show of confidence in my books.
if you spend sometimes investigating the starters of such threads, you would realise that majority of these people are not HD DVD supporters. Just read their posting histories. I am amazed these people are not banned yet.

and may i ask what combo 'flippers' are you talking about. The thread was created sooo many times by BD fanboys even after it was pointed out SOOOO MANY times that combo is not flipper because you do not flip the disk. You either watch the Standard or the HD version. Why are you dessiminating FUD as the blu-ray fanboys are doing? A flipper is like a cassete withouthe auto reverse function. So please explain your intension on the flipper statement. smile.gif

TSstringfellow
post Feb 6 2007, 12:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Take a look at the HD-DVD Software section, and see the ridiculousness of some of the HD-DVD buyers (i will write "buyer" here, since you say they might be Bluray supporters in disguise) not wanting to buy any of the projexted new titles because they are on combo discs, ie SD DVD on one side, HD-DVD on the other. Reason being, you need to flip it over to watch both parts of the movie, ie HD-DVD side for the movie, and SD side for the extras. How retarded is that?

And which part of my post before you posted there are FUDs? Those things i posted are the thread titles at the HD-DVD Software forum section, for God sake! shakehead.gif If that section of the forum is a mess, im calling it as it is. I wouldnt know about conspiracy theories and such that you pointed out. wink.gif
g5sim
post Feb 6 2007, 02:18 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 6 2007, 12:41 PM)
Take a look at the HD-DVD Software section, and see the ridiculousness of some of the HD-DVD buyers (i will write "buyer" here, since you say they might be Bluray supporters in disguise) not wanting to buy any of the projexted new titles because they are on combo discs, ie SD DVD on one side, HD-DVD on the other. Reason being, you need to flip it over to watch both parts of the movie, ie HD-DVD side for the movie, and SD side for the extras. How retarded is that?

And which part of my post before you posted there are FUDs? Those things i posted are the thread titles at the HD-DVD Software forum section, for God sake! shakehead.gif If that section of the forum is a mess, im calling it as it is. I wouldnt know about conspiracy theories and such that you pointed out. wink.gif
its not retarted at all. its logic and common sense. if a consumer doesnt have a HD DVD player, he/she only watches the standard version. No 'flipping' here. A HD DVD owner would NOT watch the standard dvd version especially the hd version and continously watching the standard version therefor the need for flipping. So again no flipping here. Any one with slight intelect would know that. tongue.gif .. soooo there is no instance for the combo disk to be a 'flipper'. Worst comes to worst, we have a weirdo wanting to watch standard version IMMEDIATELY after the HD version, yeah he would have to flip it. The worst applies to the same Blu-ray weirdo. He would need to do more than just flip then disk tongue.gif .. he would have to take about the BD disk, put it in the protective BD case. Take out the standard dvd from its case and insert it into the player. How MORE RETARDED is that?
TSstringfellow
post Feb 6 2007, 02:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Dude , are you in your own contained universe or are you even reading what i wrote? These HD-DVD folks who refuses to buy these new HD-DVD releases just because they are on combos! The rest uses the flipper excuse because they claimed that to see the extras , you need to flip over to the SD side. I certainly did not claim this, the folks at THAT thread does! Read first before proclaiming anything. shakehead.gif

For someone who is supposed to be calm and rational as you claimed to be, you certainly FLIP OUT at the smallest instances or comments that you would perceive damaging to your precious HD-DVD. I was quoting the thread content here, not spreading FUD or belittling anything. Just that for whatever rationalizing you claim these HD-DVD people are, it seems that they arent that rational at all, when they refuses to buy HD-DVDs just because they are on combo discs and because they had to flip to the SD side to watch the extras. Now these arent my own words, these are the words of those folks at the said thread there, so dont kill the messenger. Dont get emotionally attached to your favourite format too either. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 6 2007, 02:27 PM
g5sim
post Feb 6 2007, 09:32 PM

5,756 posts

and which titles would that be? titles with more feature in the standard version. whoohuuuuuu .. would be nice to check that one out smile.gif
rx330
post Feb 7 2007, 10:05 AM

11,811 posts

here we go again biggrin.gif
greyshadow
post Feb 7 2007, 10:09 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

what's the fuss about flipping the disc?
flipping has been around since the cassette era, side A, side B
then came the LD era, either you flip it or change to disc B, unless your player has a auto reverse function.

Same with DVD era, LOTR EE, anyone? 2 bloody disc for the movie, and 2 more bloody disc for the features! My Seven Samurai disk is a D10, so I'll have to flip it the middle of the movie. It's nice to take a short break to refill your drink/snacks, take a pee, hump someone, masturbate and etc...
I doubt anyone would want to sit on their sofa continuously for more than 3 hours no matter how comfortable is it.

I'll say flipper has nothing to do with BD or HD-DVD format... yeah... some might say, Hey!! format X has bigger storage, thus it can squeeze in all of the goodies in one disc!! So no flipping needed!!
I'll say screw those people who is lazy arse to find an excuse not to lift their fat ass from the sofa.
2 discs, 4 discs, 2-sided doesn't matter to me, as long as the studio gives me a good quality movie with all the goodies, I don't mind getting up to swap disc or flip disc. wink.gif
Hey, who knows? Maybe one day those player maker will come out with a player that has multiple tray with auto reverse features! Good for those fat arsed couch potatoes! You can sleep, eat, shit, and screw on your couch without the need to getting up!! laugh.gif

silencer
post Feb 7 2007, 01:49 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Hmmm..really interesting thread...i am just sitting here..and keep checking this thread every day...two thumbs up for string and g5sim... I wonder why there isnt any specific section for HD here..... Hope, moderator is reading my post here..Thanks
Mgsrulz
post Feb 7 2007, 07:33 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 7 2007, 10:09 AM)
what's the fuss about flipping the disc?
flipping has been around since the cassette era, side A, side B
then came the LD era, either you flip it or change to disc B, unless your player has a auto reverse function.

Same with DVD era, LOTR EE, anyone? 2 bloody disc for the movie, and 2 more bloody disc for the features!  My Seven Samurai disk is a D10, so I'll have to flip it the middle of the movie.  It's nice to take a short break to refill your drink/snacks, take a pee, hump someone, masturbate and etc...
I doubt anyone would want to sit on their sofa continuously for more than 3 hours no matter how comfortable is it.

i've done that before...
it's a real pain in the ass getting up after the fourth hour to change the damn disc dry.gif
if 1 disc had it all,life would be a tad bit less stressful tongue.gif

it's not just about being lazy to change discs..
i dont know about other people,but i almost always eat my lunch/dinner in front of the tv/pc..while watching something..

if 1 disc has 4 hours of content,and im skipping through it,then i'd have to get up in the middle of my meal and change the disc when it is over doh.gif

it is even worst that i have pets in the house,and i have to keep an eye on both my food and trying to pry open the dvd box doh.gif

put all in one disc,easy life.
and what is technology if not making our life better/easier? tongue.gif
g5sim
post Feb 8 2007, 04:40 AM

5,756 posts

Toshiba's $999 HD XA2 HD DVD player beats Pioneer's $1,499 ELITE BDP-HD1 Blu-ray player in terms of upconverting standard dvd. And equal in hidef PQ. Oh further more, the HD XA2 decodes advance audio codec Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Digital TrueHD (unlike the BDP-HD1) .. oh the HD XA2 offers amazing HDi interactivity support too (unlike the BDP-HD1 which cant do the currently available BD-J movies). So why are we paying the extra $500 (RM1,850 without tax)? ...

and oh btw -- online retailers are now selling the HD XA2 players at $799. So why pay the extra $700 (RM2,590)?

http://www.engadget.com/2007/02/07/toshiba...d-xa2-reviewed/

HD Guru has a review up of Toshiba's second-generation HD DVD player, the HD-XA2, which they gave top ratings. This is the higher-end of the two new HD DVD Toshiba models, and gets high marks for its improvements on the previous model, with faster loading times, 1080p support, a smaller form factor, and a much-improved chipset for upscaling standard-definition DVDs (the HD-A2 lacks 1080p and the improved upscaling chip).

It includes the Silicon Optix Reon chip for converting your old library of DVDs into 1080p -- or any other resolution supported with the HDMI 1.3a connector -- and also supports the Deep Color space offered by the new HDMI specification, for improved color reproduction with compatible source material.

According to HD Guru's tests, the Toshiba did better than Pioneer's competing first-generation BDP-HD1 Blu-ray player on upconverting SD DVDs, while matching it on quality for high-definition content.

Unfortunately, while the prices and feature sets on both next-gen formats are getting better and better, even this second-gen player takes between 45 and 57 seconds to boot and play a movie. Maybe the third generation will treat us right.

Added on February 8, 2007, 4:42 am***********************************************************

oh i know why ... the BDP-HD1 takes faster than between 45 and 57 seconds to boot and play a movie. laugh.gif

Added on February 8, 2007, 4:53 am#####################################################

Well well what do we have here. Blu-ray won the next gen format war YET AGAIN!! They won before the launch of HD DVD, they won the war again during CEDIA last, they announced that they WON AGAIN during the CES last month, this month they AGAIN, announce that they WON AGAIN !!

10 years ago, the mass would have already eaten those words but not today. Sorry!! Combining Sony and FOX ... wow that is unbeatable in terms of credibility. Wasnt Sony that said they are shipping 4mil of PS3 last year. Wasnt they were the one who claimed to be selling 6mil PS3 by march. March is just days away and there are 700K PS3 sold. Oh wasnt FOX that told America of the weapon of mass destruction and brought USA to war in Iraq .. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Sony says Blu-ray is winning format war

http://www.afterdawn.com/news/archive/8613.cfm

We reported a few days ago that figures from Nielsen VideoScan showed that Blu-Ray began to close its gap on HD DVD in January, outselling the format by a ratio of up to 3 to 1. Sony has been quick to use these figures along with its own research to declare the Blu-ray is winning the format war over HD DVD. As you might have guessed, Sony research also includes the PlayStation 3 (PS3).

Sony took an online survey that 100,000 PS3 owners took part in. The company claims that 90% of respondents had watched a Blu-ray movie with their PS3 already, and 80% planned to buy more Blu-ray releases. The Blu-ray camp has not been shy about admitting that PS3 plays a major role (if not the biggest) in Blu-ray's possible success over HD DVD.

The next-generation DVD format war has been so intertwined with the console war that experts believe they will decide the outcome of each other. The PS3 has an internal Blu-ray drive and Microsoft released an external HD DVD drive for the Xbox 360, selling 92,000 units before the end of 2006.

The PS3 will boost up the number of Blu-ray players in homes, but each Xbox 360 add-on drive sold has "definitely" been bought to play HD DVD movies - you get a Blu-ray player with a PS3 whether you are interested or not. Those on the HD DVD side will tell you that Sony's survey is just a "survey" and nothing solid or official and that VideoScan's ratings can be explained by the lack of new HD DVD titles.

However, those on the Blu-ray side can rest assured that the console will continue to sell, eventually leaving millions of homes with functional Blu-ray players and no add-ons necessary.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 8 2007, 04:53 AM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 8 2007, 12:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Continue the good fight, dear G5sim. A little birdie told me that something's looming coming this summer.
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 01:53 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 8 2007, 12:55 PM)
Continue the good fight, dear G5sim. A little birdie told me that something's looming coming this summer.
what is coming out in Summer? I dont need names... just rumorish statements would do drool.gif I like gossip ...

oh ... i hope its not a sarcacism ...

I will always root for cheaper yet with better feature products. smile.gif

TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 02:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Dont wanna feed the fire, i'll let those impending looming things speak for themselves. Have fun, it will be shortlived. icon_rolleyes.gif

Im off to enjoy my Complete Saw, currently High Definition only on Bluray. wave.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:02 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 02:02 AM)
Dont wanna feed the fire, i'll let those impending looming things speak for themselves. Have fun, it will be shortlived. icon_rolleyes.gif

Im off to enjoy my Complete Saw, currently High Definition only on Bluray. wave.gif
oh one more :: complete with video .. one how much consumers who are tricked into supporting Blu-ray will regret their action. Its all about Sony as the hardware company, as the content company .... and we are absolutely certain with that combination, consumer's interest is not their priority. Withou HD DVD, consumers wont even see managed copy in Blu-ray.

So, BD+ was a complete failure. But the plan to implement additional DRM is one example of how the Blu-ray Disc Association does what it can to get on the side of the studios. DRM is not good folks, there's a principle at stake here.

It was a smart strategy to get your format ahead of the other guy. But where does that leave the consumer? Average Joes like us who want to do the coolest stuff possible with a true next generation disc format are liable to be left off the BDA's innovation train. The BDA's unwillingness to support Vista features like Mandatory Managed Copy and iHD seems to be for no other reason than it wants to oppose Microsoft (which supports HD DVD).

Honestly, I'm not taking sides in the "format war". I think it's dragging down the Home Theater industry as a whole. The wisest dollars aren't taking sides until there is one format. But, I question why Sony would bother implementing innovative new ideas in the future of Blu-ray. Buying into Blu-ray seems a bit like hiring a fox to guard the hen house.

Welcome to the first Tunnel Vision that will feature rants and raves from inside Consumer Electronics.

http://www.gizmocafe.com/blogs/gizmo_cafe_.../08/106130.aspx

Added on February 9, 2007, 3:04 amoh dont worry if hd dvd is dead. HD DVD players unconvert consumers DVD library better some of the Blu-ray titles .. especially the earlier releases ..

Added on February 9, 2007, 3:06 amand with digital DL of HD movies becoming the trend ... expensive optical disk and with rediculously priced player will suffer more. Amazon, XBox, Apple n now Walmart and HP .. every body is doing digital download ...

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 9 2007, 03:06 AM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 03:12 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Dude, i was just saying im enjoying my Saw movies now, why do you have to go on a spastic/spasmic convulsion like your previous post? Im sorry but i like my movies like NOW, and sad to say, it's on Bluray. Have fun waiting for your HD-DVD movies, i sincerely mean that.

I hope HD-DVD continue being the competitor so that the BDA folks can continue keep things in check, pumping out good movies, in the end consumers like me won because more movies for us to enjoy. wink.gif Sadly though, none of the current HD-DVD releases are exciting enough for me to warrant a purchase. Cant say the same about the Bluray titles though. wink.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:21 AM

5,756 posts

another oh .. Sega is releasing Virtua Tennis 3 XBox 360 in 1080p. EA will be releasing NBA Street Homecourt also in 1080p. On DVD! So why pay $200 (RM740) for BD drive in PS3 again? The 50GB storage?

http://arstechnica.com/journals/thumbs.ars/2007/2/8/6956

----------------------------------------------------------------

1080p is the resolution of the gods. Promised by Sony, attainable by few displays, and argued about all over the Internet, 1080p is something that doesn't affect many television owners while remaining a major sticking point in the current console wars. Microsoft gave the 360 the ability to run games in 1080p in the October firmware update, and frankly I never thought we'd see many games support it. Then of course Sega announced that Virtua Tennis would support 1080p on the 360, and now EA is on the bandwagon, saying that its game is also going to support the hallowed resolution:

Following yesterday's news that Sega's March 20 release of Virtua Tennis 3 would herald the first Xbox 360 game to feature native 1080p support, a representative from Electronic Arts has revealed to Gamasutra that its upcoming NBA Street Homecourt, shipping a month earlier on February 20, will also support the high end resolution on Xbox 360...

The fourth game in the EA's fast action basketball series, and the first for a next-gen console, NBA Street Homecourt will support multiple resolutions, including 16:9 1080p at 30fps, according to further information from EA representatives.

So there you go. Now we have two games coming out for the 360 that will support 1080p as a resolution. My question would be-outside of the hardcore console fans and bleeding edge consumers-do people really care about 1080p? Does your television support it? My television runs at 720p natively, so this is all academic to me. I like games to be playbe at 1080p, but it's not that much of a sticking point for me. Does it influence your buying decisions? Will you be more likely to buy a game with more titles that run in "True HD?"

TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 03:29 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Errr what does this have to do with HD-DVD/Bluray? Are your machineguns running out of ammo, that you're now shoving stale popcorns into your gun barrels? rolleyes.gif

2 insignificant tiles, compared to MetalGear Solid 4 on PS3, on the Bluray no less. The house of all things MS went deathly quiet about Kojima-san mention of MGS4 requiring 50Gb Blurays, sure didnt hear a peep out of you that time. wink.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:41 AM

5,756 posts

^ might point .. 1080p title on dvd disks ..
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 03:56 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Read responses in your double posted new thread. laugh.gif Rolling on the floor had never taken a literal meaning on me, till you showed up with that new topic of yours! laugh.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 03:59 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 03:56 AM)
Read responses in your double posted new thread. laugh.gif Rolling on the floor had never taken a literal meaning on me, till you showed up with that new topic of yours! laugh.gif
read oredi smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:04 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I swear to God, i never had so much fun reading such quality posts from you ...right up till that golden post/topic of yours. I should thank you for those stomach-bursting hilarity, but what's even funnier, you did it all in the name of your overzealousness to downplay the Bluray....and it bit you back in the arse! laugh.gif ROFLMAO! Ahahahahahahhhhahahahhhh..... *gasps for air*
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:07 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:04 AM)
I swear to God, i never had so much fun reading such quality posts from you ...right up till that golden post/topic of yours. I should thank you for those stomach-bursting hilarity, but what's even funnier, you did it all in the name of your overzealousness to downplay the Bluray....and it bit you back in the arse! laugh.gif ROFLMAO! Ahahahahahahhhhahahahhhh..... *gasps for air*
thanks smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:11 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

News headline: An overzealous <insert camp> fanatic went over his head on his lifelong crusade to crush <insert opposing camp> faction, and found himself in shame for his blissful ignorance. The said fanatic tucked his tail between his feet and limps lifelessly home after putting out the raging fires that's the result of his feverish attempts to attack the <insert opposing camp> with his mortar and firey catapults, but backfired and set his own <insert camp> on fire. Hilarity and forever exemplification of said incident ensues.

God, if only LYN has one of those ROFLMAO emotes in, there isnt a big or expressive enough emotes that can describe how i feel right now! Priceless! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 9 2007, 04:12 AM
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:14 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:11 AM)
News headline: An overzealous <insert camp> fanatic went over his head on his lifelong crusade to crush <insert opposing camp> faction, and found himself in shame for his blissful ignorance. The said fanatic tucked his tail between his feet and limps lifelessly home after putting out the raging fires that's the result of his feverish attempts to attack the <insert opposing camp> with his mortar and firey catapults, but backfired and set his own <insert camp> on fire. Hilarity and forever exemplification of said incident ensues.

God, if only LYN has one of those ROFLMAO emotes in, there isnt a big or expressive enough emotes that can describe how i feel right now! Priceless! laugh.gif
you can always use more than 1 emoticons. i bet they all look extremely cute together smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:17 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

More is not necessary good, especially when you think you adding more fuel to the attack, but your fuse is short and end up blowing up your own camp.....for example, speaking of that burning house thread....laugh.gif
almostthere
post Feb 9 2007, 04:18 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

The way I see this format debate is going, it's all about the pot, the kettle, and the dark side of the moon. Owh and yeah poor old blu itself.

TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:21 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Im all for competition, bruddah! It keeps people on their toes.....occasionally people slip while tiptoeing around, while holding their lampu minyak tanah, and ended up burning their own house. Now THAT's when the debate becomes a sitcom! laugh.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:28 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:21 AM)
Im all for competition, bruddah! It keeps people on their toes.....occasionally people slip while tiptoeing around, while holding their lampu minyak tanah, and ended up burning their own house. Now THAT's when the debate becomes a sitcom! laugh.gif
house ? 20 story condo wor ... poor people from other units/floors

almostthere
post Feb 9 2007, 04:33 AM

Kepala abah ko
3,773 posts

Not to mention the pak guard shif malam
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:36 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Feb 9 2007, 04:28 AM)
house ? 20 story condo wor ... poor people from other units/floors
LOL these people stay in condos now? Fits the hive-mind mentallity,singularity works within the hive! laugh.gif And oh,if the bottom floors are burning, dont jump
ship, just jump down. Staying steadfast to your "faith" is a much more swallowable punishment for arsonic negligence like this. laugh.gif

QUOTE(almostthere @ Feb 9 2007, 04:33 AM)
Even pak guard duduk diam2 tepi swimming pool pun terbakar cotar dia! Abu serpih jatuh dari tingkat 20, semua cover dari HD-DVD woh! Ada The Hulk, ada King Kong.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 9 2007, 04:40 AM
ikanayam
post Feb 9 2007, 04:39 AM

10,544 posts

K, personal arguments aside, ugpm string.
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:43 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

No i dont. No PM in my box.

What argument, we're describing scenes from the movie "Towering Inferno" here. laugh.gif And from Warner on HD-DVD too! I wonder if they want to stay on this version of "Towering Inferno" too or jump ship. laugh.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:52 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(almostthere @ Feb 9 2007, 04:33 AM)
yeah .. poor them ...
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:53 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Poor the still-using-DVD folks at the bottom of the condo, they are looking up to their much enlightened HD-DVD brethren on the higher floors and saw jumpers galore! laugh.gif Not to mention hair, bodyparts and dignity on fire! laugh.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 04:56 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:53 AM)
Poor the still-using-DVD folks at the bottom of the condo, they are looking up to their much enlightened HD-DVD brethren on the higher floors and saw jumpers galore! laugh.gif Not to mention hair, bodyparts and dignity on fire! laugh.gif
wow -- that cant be a good view. reminding me of 911 minus the 'dignity' part .

TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 04:58 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, crash and burn. Not a good sight.....especially those coming out wanting. wink.gif
g5sim
post Feb 9 2007, 05:24 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 9 2007, 04:58 AM)
Yup, crash and burn. Not a good sight.....especially those coming out wanting. wink.gif
Sounds like a song from an Aussie band to me smile.gif
TSstringfellow
post Feb 9 2007, 01:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Wouldnt know really, i reckon you should know better about this "crash and burn" thing. laugh.gif
silencer
post Feb 10 2007, 12:26 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Ok guys..now I have to voice it out..kind of in the world of confusion now...which titles should i get for blueray.. and for hd-dvd...at least can utilise both hd-dvd add on and ps3 at the same time...havin tough time now after ordering 3 disks each for both hd-dvd and blueray....dont really have any idea which format to be chosen when the same title is available in both format..pls advise....any format will do...

This post has been edited by silencer: Feb 10 2007, 12:27 AM
g5sim
post Feb 10 2007, 03:02 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 10 2007, 12:26 AM)
Ok guys..now I have to voice it out..kind of in the world of confusion now...which titles should i get for blueray.. and for hd-dvd...at least can utilise both hd-dvd add on and ps3 at the same time...havin tough time now after ordering 3 disks each for both hd-dvd and blueray....dont really have any idea which format to be chosen when the same title is available in both format..pls advise....any format will do...
The Covenant (Sony Pictures Entertainment) received a 5 star PQ (picture quality) rating smile.gif .. i can only remember this one. let me check on other titles. and post the link to the Blu-ray and HD DVD title list - complete with PQ rating, audio feature, type of disk and MSRP for USA. smile.gif

Mgsrulz
post Feb 10 2007, 03:03 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

the covenant....isnt that a terrible movie?
g5sim
post Feb 10 2007, 03:13 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 10 2007, 03:03 AM)
the covenant....isnt that a terrible movie?
yupe the movie is terrible but PQ is good.. what to do .. As i have put it, the movie is like another movie is the 'boys in underwear' genre.

Added on February 10, 2007, 9:05 amDate Title St DT VC PQ Audio Subs ICT Price
01/02 Covenant S SL M 5 PCM/DD EFS+ 38.95
01/09 Crank L DL M 4.5 DTH/DD ES 38.95
01/16 Clerks II O 2DL A 4 DTHD/DD+ ES 29.95
Employee of the Month L SL A 3 DTH/DD ES 38.95
Goodfellas W DL V 4 DD+ EFS 28.95
Gridiron Gang S DL M 4 PCM/DD EFS+ 38.95
Lucky Number Slevin O ES
Mummy Returns U DL V 4.5 DD+ EFS 28.95
Poseidon W DC V 4.5 DD+ EFS 34.95
Pulse O DL A 4 DTHD/DD+ ES 29.95
Resident Evil: Apocalypse S SL M PCM/DD ES+ 38.95
Scooby-Doo W SL V 4.5 DD EFS 28.95
Scooby-Doo W DL V 4.5 DD+ EFS 28.95
Sting, The U DL V 3.5 DD+ EFS 28.95
01/23 Alice Cooper at Montreux O PCM/DTS/DD 24.95
Alien vs. Predator F DL M 4 DTMA EFS 39.98
Black Rain P DL V 4.5 DD+/DTS EFS 29.95
Black Rain P DL M 4.5 DTS/DD EFS 29.95
Brokeback Mountain U DC V 4.5 DD+ EFS 34.95
Casanova D DL 34.95
Chicago D DL A 4 PCM/DD ES 34.95
Courage Under Fire F SL M 4 DTMA EFS 39.98
Guardian D DL M 4 PCM/DD EFS 34.95
Hitchhiker's Guide D DL 34.95
Manchurian Candidate 2004 P DL M 4 DTS/DD EFS 29.99
Men of Honor F SL M 4.5 DTMA EFS 39.98
Saw II (Unrated) L SL A 3.5 DTH/DD ES 29.95
Saw III L SL A 4 DTH/DD ES 39.95
Toto in Amsterdam O PCM/DTS/DD 24.95
We Were Soldiers P DL M 4 DTS/DD EFS 29.99
01/30 Beerfest W V DD+ EFS 28.95
Beerfest W V DD EFS 28.95
Discovery Atlas: Brazil O 24.98
Discovery At.: Australia O 24.98
Discovery Atlas: China O 24.98
Discovery Atlas: Italy O 24.98
Flyboys F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Half Baked U DC V DD+ EFS 34.95
Hart's War F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Open Season S SL A PCM/DD EFS 38.95
Wicker Man (2006) W V DTHD/DD+ EFS 28.95
Wicker Man (2006) W V DD EFS 28.95
World's Fastest Indian O
02/06 American Psycho L SL M DTH/DD E 29.95 First Blood L SL M DTH/DD E 29.95
Hollywoodland U DC V DD+ EF 39.98
Reservoir Dogs L M DTH/DD E 29.95
Running with Scissor

Added on February 10, 2007, 9:06 amDate Title St DT VC PQ Audio Subs ICT Price
01/02 Covenant S SL M 5 PCM/DD EFS+ 38.95
01/09 Crank L DL M 4.5 DTH/DD ES 38.95
01/16 Clerks II O 2DL A 4 DTHD/DD+ ES 29.95
Employee of the Month L SL A 3 DTH/DD ES 38.95
Goodfellas W DL V 4 DD+ EFS 28.95
Gridiron Gang S DL M 4 PCM/DD EFS+ 38.95
Lucky Number Slevin O ES
Mummy Returns U DL V 4.5 DD+ EFS 28.95
Poseidon W DC V 4.5 DD+ EFS 34.95
Pulse O DL A 4 DTHD/DD+ ES 29.95
Resident Evil: Apocalypse S SL M PCM/DD ES+ 38.95
Scooby-Doo W SL V 4.5 DD EFS 28.95
Scooby-Doo W DL V 4.5 DD+ EFS 28.95
Sting, The U DL V 3.5 DD+ EFS 28.95
01/23 Alice Cooper at Montreux O PCM/DTS/DD 24.95
Alien vs. Predator F DL M 4 DTMA EFS 39.98
Black Rain P DL V 4.5 DD+/DTS EFS 29.95
Black Rain P DL M 4.5 DTS/DD EFS 29.95
Brokeback Mountain U DC V 4.5 DD+ EFS 34.95
Casanova D DL 34.95
Chicago D DL A 4 PCM/DD ES 34.95
Courage Under Fire F SL M 4 DTMA EFS 39.98
Guardian D DL M 4 PCM/DD EFS 34.95
Hitchhiker's Guide D DL 34.95
Manchurian Candidate 2004 P DL M 4 DTS/DD EFS 29.99
Men of Honor F SL M 4.5 DTMA EFS 39.98
Saw II (Unrated) L SL A 3.5 DTH/DD ES 29.95
Saw III L SL A 4 DTH/DD ES 39.95
Toto in Amsterdam O PCM/DTS/DD 24.95
We Were Soldiers P DL M 4 DTS/DD EFS 29.99
01/30 Beerfest W V DD+ EFS 28.95
Beerfest W V DD EFS 28.95
Flyboys F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Half Baked U DC V DD+ EFS 34.95
Hart's War F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Open Season S SL A PCM/DD EFS 38.95
Wicker Man (2006) W V DTHD/DD+ EFS 28.95
Wicker Man (2006) W V DD EFS 28.95
World's Fastest Indian O
02/06 American Psycho L SL M DTH/DD E 29.95 First Blood L SL M DTH/DD E 29.95
Hollywoodland U DC V DD+ EF 39.98
Reservoir Dogs L M DTH/DD E 29.95
Running with Scissors S DL M PCM/DD 38.95
Tailor of Panama S DL M PCM/DD E 28.95
Young Guns L
02/13 Broken Arrow F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Chain Reaction F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Chronos O 24.99
Departed W CO V DD+ EFS 39.99
Departed W V DD EFS 34.99
Entrapment F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Ladder 49 D DL 34.95
Marine F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Phone Booth F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Planet of the Apes (2001) F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Reign of Fire D 34.95
Sentinel F SL DTMA EFS 39.98
Usual Suspects F SL M DTMA EFS 39.98

Added on February 10, 2007, 9:07 am2007 titles: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....t=766588&page=1
2006 titles: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=665702

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 10 2007, 09:07 AM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 10 2007, 03:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Those wanting the real deal about deciding which has better PQ/IQ, head over to Mediaplex KLCC. All this talk on forums and relying on people's opinions on which has better PQ/IQ will be rendered moot when you see it with your own eyes. Isnt it better to see it for yourself than relying on infos from people who apparently dont even have HDDVD capable players to draw their judgement from? wink.gif

The proof is in the eye of the beholder, you can pick sides if you want, but picking sides when you dont even have a HD-DVD player to draw your opinions from? That is the epitome of overzealousness. At least some of us have actual hardware to draw opinions upon, or have seens proofs of these next-gen formats running before our eyes to draw our conclusions. Peace! icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 10, 2007, 6:48 pm"Bluray cost replication too high" myth BUSTED!

Blu-ray vs HD DVD replication costs revealed
The blue wars are on!
The war between the Blu-ray Disc and HD DVD formats is still in full swing. Each next generation format camp has heavy hitting supporters from powerful tech companies around the world. Each side of the war also has their fans, supporters, proponents and dedicated enthusiasts. Debates, opinions and arguments are flying all over the net over who will "win" this next generation format war.

The cost issue
I decided to take a look at one of the oldest standing issues in the blue laser format wars, the difference in cost between Blu-ray and HD DVD disc production (also known as replication). The topic of Blu-ray vs HD DVD production cost has long been a highly debated and frequently brought up issue in the format battle. HD DVD supporters are quite often found stating that "Blu-ray costs more" to manufacture than HD DVD. But how much more and why does Blu-ray have an increased cost? The reason most often put forward is that "Blu-ray production requires completely new hardware", while HD DVD media can be produced by modifying existing DVD manufacturing hardware. But is there a significant cost difference? Is Blu-ray replication really that much more expensive than HD DVD replication? I certainly did not believe that Blu-ray was 3 or 4 times more expensive than HD DVD, as claimed by Vivid Entertainment. I spoke with optical disc industry contacts and researched online to find the following Blu-ray vs HD DVD replication costs. The results might surprise you.

Plant #1 replication costs
My confidential industry source revealed that one large replication company is currently charging approximately $1.15 per single layer HD DVD (15GB) and $1.30 per single layer Blu-ray Disc (25GB), assuming a quantity of 25,000. For comparison purposes, a run of 25,000 Dual Layer DVD (DVD9) discs would cost about $0.50 per disc at this same facility. DL HD DVD (30GB) was right inline with SL Blu-ray (25GB) pricing, but an exact figure was not provided. This translates to a cost of approximately $0.077 per GB on HD DVD SL media and $0.052 per GB on Blu-ray SL media.

Plant #2 replication costs (Blu-ray only)
I received quotes on Blu-ray single layer (25GB) replication at plant #2 between $1.35-$1.45 USD per disc on runs of 25K or more. Blu-ray DL (50GB) was quoted between $2.15 - $2.25 per disc on a 25,000 quantity run. Taking the high end on this range, this translates to approximately $0.045 per GB for Blu-ray DL media.

Replication reseller costs (ProActionMedia)
One of the only replication companies that actually lists their pricing publicly is ProActionMedia and we found the following replication costs listed on their website. Their prices were significantly higher than the private, customer-only quotes that we received from the other 2 replication plants. I have included images here that break down the ProActionMedia pricing for Blu-ray and HD DVD.

Sticking with the 25,000 run quantity, we can see that ProActionMedia is quoting $1.59 per disc for Blu-ray SL (25GB), $1.45 per HD DVD SL (15GB) and $1.69 per HD DVD DL (30GB). This translates to approximately $0.064 per GB for Blu-ray SL, $0.097 per GB for HD DVD SL and $0.056 per GB for HD DVD DL.

Cost comparison conclusions
From these figures taken from 3 different replication sources, we can see that Blu-ray media replication does not cost significantly more than HD DVD. In fact, we found that Blu-ray is actually cheaper per GB in many situations! It is also interesting to note that at this point, most HD DVD-ROM movies are DL, while most BD-ROM movies are SL, which would make HD DVD more expensive to replicate in most situations. I did not include fees associated with authoring, setup, AACS protection, packaging and other costs in the quotes above, so keep in mind that the final cost of replicating an HD DVD or Blu-ray disc will definitely be a bit higher than the per disc pricing noted above. Also, according to our sources, the Blu-ray setup fee is only slightly more than the HD DVD setup fee, but it depends on the specific manufacturing plant. Looking at these numbers and pricing information, we can now dispell the myth that Blu-ray replication is significantly more costly than HD DVD.
HD-DVD camp running out of ammo already! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 10 2007, 06:48 PM
g5sim
post Feb 11 2007, 02:14 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 10 2007, 03:11 PM)

Added on February 10, 2007, 6:48 pm"Bluray cost replication too high" myth BUSTED!
HD-DVD camp running out of ammo already! rclxms.gif
you just BD's grave with this quote

Sticking with the 25,000 run quantity, we can see that ProActionMedia is quoting $1.59 per disc for Blu-ray SL (25GB), $1.45 per HD DVD SL (15GB) and $1.69 per HD DVD DL (30GB). This translates to approximately $0.064 per GB for Blu-ray SL, $0.097 per GB for HD DVD SL and $0.056 per GB for HD DVD DL.
There is a reason why Double Layer BD disk replication cost is not included. There is a reason why the article discounted the talks of Steve Hirsch from Vivid about the cost of authoring (which again ommited in the article) and replication cost (which according to him Authoring 4x Replication 3x more on BD) yet they believe 100% of the statement that Vivid is producing an adult title on Blu-ray (both cost and BD adult title availability were made on the same article) yet supporters accept the latter and dismissing the former .. strange isnt it ... blink.gif

and btw -- those cost figure are non subsidised HD DVD vs subsidised BD cost. The cost revealed by Steve Hirsch was not subsidised !!

Added on February 11, 2007, 2:17 amand take this because of the extremely high cost of BD especially the double layer disks, both HD DVD/ and single layer BD movie titles MSRP are increased to the level of the DL BD movie cost. Another 'possitive' for the consumers ..

Added on February 11, 2007, 2:19 amand another oh ... please check the MSRP of BD vs HD DVD movies .. dont be surprised, you have been warned tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 11 2007, 02:19 AM
silencer
post Feb 11 2007, 05:02 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

g5sim..thaks for the recommended list...found out that the latest version for DVE's hdtv calibration disc will also be released in hd-dvd on 28th february too...
g5sim
post Feb 11 2007, 06:46 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 11 2007, 05:02 AM)
g5sim..thaks for the recommended list...found out that the latest version for DVE's hdtv calibration disc will also be released in hd-dvd on 28th february too...
you are most welcome smile.gif
Pip_X
post Feb 14 2007, 06:07 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

So, who win who die?
Pasar malam still got sell DVD right?
g5sim
post Feb 15 2007, 07:31 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 14 2007, 06:07 PM)
So, who win who die?
Pasar malam still got sell DVD right?
pasar malam dvd - quality vcd .. i dont think pirates give a f*** about PQ .. they wont bother with BD or HD DVD .. tongue.gif
Pip_X
post Feb 15 2007, 01:05 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Feb 15 2007, 07:31 AM)
pasar malam dvd - quality vcd .. i dont think pirates give a f*** about PQ .. they wont bother with BD or HD DVD .. tongue.gif
Some pasar malam DVD have very good PQ ONLY if u know how and which to buy.
My point in the previous post is - we average joe dun farking care about those HDVCD/blutis ray. Normal but widely available DVD is already sufficient for our small 32 incher unless all those HD stuff is as cheap as current-gen stuff.
Plz recall back, DVD dun really take-off until players with the price tags of RM500 emerged, and they dun need HDMI-oh-so-expensive cable.

Just my RM0.02, dun flame me.
snipersnake
post Feb 15 2007, 01:34 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 15 2007, 01:05 PM)
My point in the previous post is - we average joe dun farking care about those HDVCD/blutis ray. Normal but widely available DVD is already sufficient for our small 32 incher unless all those HD stuff is as cheap as current-gen stuff.
Plz recall back, DVD dun really take-off until players with the price tags of RM500 emerged, and they dun need HDMI-oh-so-expensive cable.

quoted for truth cheers.gif
rx330
post Feb 15 2007, 02:01 PM

11,811 posts

er... how much is a HDMI cable?
samurai20
post Feb 15 2007, 02:05 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Rm 300 for SONY brand.. & chap ayam kaki 5 .. Rm89.00.. biggrin.gif.... i think..
rx330
post Feb 15 2007, 02:07 PM

11,811 posts

eh? i tot sony din produce HDMI cable? got ar?

hmm... rm 300 ar? monster component cable also roughly like tat

rm 89 for a HDMI cable is ok lar, i bought my optical cable for sound only also ard rm 50 or so
saiga
post Feb 15 2007, 05:50 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Feb 15 2007, 01:34 PM)
quoted for truth  cheers.gif
Bro,mana bole tgk dvd skang ni,buat "sakit" mata jer.Tgk BD la baru mata xsakit thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by saiga: Feb 15 2007, 05:52 PM
TSstringfellow
post Feb 15 2007, 06:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 15 2007, 01:05 PM)

Somebody needs to take the first steps, so that average Joes like you can enjoy the technology at cheaper rates later. Obviously you are not an early adopter, but please bear in mind, that if it is not for those who adopted the technology early and allow the tech to flourish, you will never get it mass-produced for it to drop down to comfortable prices for you to buy, wouldnt it?. Or are you happy with staying stagnant? New tech will always be expensive, but pricetags will drop once the market has decided to back which camp, and proceed with mass production.

In the end, average Joes like you still need to know which DVD players to buy and what features they come with, once you are comfortable buying one, isnt it? Same case here, once the Bluray/HD-DVD winner is decided. It is just that this thread monitors which format will likely to succeed DVD, once the dust settles. You cannot stop technology, otherwise the phones you are selling now would be those crappy StarTacs and huge ATURs now, would it? I surprised, for someone "in the business of selling technology" like you ,these kind of logic should have set in mind. wink.gif

Added on February 15, 2007, 6:13 pm

You post has merits, Pip-X. Let's keep the thread civil. Just remember, boys and girls:-

That includes smarty-pants one-liners as well.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Feb 15 2007, 06:15 PM
g5sim
post Feb 16 2007, 06:28 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 15 2007, 06:04 PM)

rclxms.gif very cute rclxms.gif

rx330
post Feb 16 2007, 10:05 AM

11,811 posts

er.... sorry guys, wat is the meaning of troll ar?
Pip_X
post Feb 16 2007, 02:02 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 15 2007, 06:04 PM)
Somebody needs to take the first steps, so that average Joes like you can enjoy the technology at cheaper rates later. Obviously you are not an early adopter, but please bear in mind, that if it is not for those who adopted the technology early and allow the tech to flourish, you will never get it mass-produced for it to drop down to comfortable prices for you to buy, wouldnt it?. Or are you happy with staying stagnant? New tech will always be expensive, but pricetags will drop once the market has decided to back which camp, and proceed with mass production.

In the end, average Joes like you still need to know which DVD players to buy and what features they come with, once you are comfortable buying one, isnt it? Same case here, once the Bluray/HD-DVD winner is decided. It is just that this thread monitors which format will likely to succeed DVD, once the dust settles. You cannot stop technology, otherwise the phones you are selling now would be those crappy StarTacs and huge ATURs now, would it? I surprised, for someone "in the business of selling technology" like you ,these kind of logic should have set in mind. wink.gif

Added on February 15, 2007, 6:13 pm

You post has merits, Pip-X. Let's keep the thread civil. Just remember, boys and girls:-

That includes smarty-pants one-liners as well.
Yes, you are right. Somebody with real cash who can afford, should the white mouse... early adopter for the rest of us average joes. But when some technology which is intended to replace current technology, it got to be very good stuff. Example of this in my area of business is color LCD replacing monochrome LCD, bluetooth replacing infrared. They offer tremendous benifit to the old technology they are replacing.
Unfortunately, this whole HD stuff is not the case. They are created and embraced by the respective company just to make money, while the so-called new technology have only little non-revolutionary benefit.
A very good of this is Betamax (oh, you might not know what is betamax, just click here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Betamax)
to VHS (again, you might not know that is VHS, sissying with HD, click here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VHS). Atrac to MP3, WMA, Memory Stick to Secure Digital. Nobody really use them except Sony. Even Sony's flagship blu-ray player, the PS3, sells poorly in many country, especially in their home country. The only REAL benefit from the blue-lasered disc is their capacity, offering about 50GB of uncompressed data. And HD dun actually need these capacity if it's engineered properly.
There's actually a current technology which can do ALL stuff that the HDDVD and blu-ray can do, hyper-interactivity, DRM stuff, HDPQ, that don't need us to buy HDMI cables, HDMI capable GC, and overheating player.
Google for DivX HD. A DivX HD movie can fit into a DL DVD and can pump enuf bandwidth to do full HD + 7.1 sounds eventhough it dun use HDMI, because DivX HD movie is compressed using smarter codec while retaining it's full HD glory. It use normal DL DVD, run on normal DVD drive, computer program player can be downloaded from the net, and you can buy a DivX HD compatible DVD player from Pioneer for less than RM400. Blu-raying Spiderman 2 in the PS3 and playing DivX HD encoded of the same movie in Sony Bravia KDL-46XBR3 virtualy have no different. Unfortunately, nobody gonna use DivX HD because they cannot make their own money from DivX HD, eventhough this is a cheaper approach. Me've tested this myself, if you dun have the equipment, go any AV shop to test or is it mediaplex? Yeah go mediaplex test it if you dun believe me.
In the meanwhile, me gonna enjoy some HD XviD coded movie torrented from blu-ray ripper for FREE. (RM2.50 for a DVD+ DL actually). PS3, canyou help me to collect dusk until Brothers In Arms Hell's Highway come out? Thank you.
Oh yeah, b4 me forgot, boys and girls, here another interesting picture too:
Mgsrulz
post Feb 16 2007, 02:09 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 16 2007, 02:02 PM)
In the meanwhile, me gonna enjoy some HD XviD coded movie torrented from blu-ray ripper for FREE. (RM2.50 for a DVD+ DL actually).
you downloaded 20+ gigs off of the net? shocking.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
ps360
post Feb 16 2007, 02:14 PM

137 posts

Popcorn, checked!
Soda, checked!
Comfy chair, checked!
Dim the lights, checked!

Let's get this show started! ......................

Pip_X
post Feb 16 2007, 02:48 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 16 2007, 02:09 PM)
you downloaded 20+ gigs off of the net? shocking.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
8 gigs something. No worries, one night and it's done.
snipersnake
post Feb 16 2007, 02:49 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

*sits next to ps360*
TSstringfellow
post Feb 16 2007, 03:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Here we go again....

HD Xvid versus HD off VC-1 or MPEG2 at HD-DVD/Bluray higher bitrate are two totally different beasts altogether, but if you are willing to compromise picture/audio quality for something you downloaded off the net, then it's your personal preference. BTW, that troll picture is not for you, Pip-x, it was for someone else, scroll back for his lack-of-imagination one-liners. Nothing to do with what he stands, rather than his next-to-zero content in his every posts in this thread. wink.gif

Carry on, i've too many other things on my mind to get involved in petty things like this. But im hopeful that im getting my HD-XA2 by the end of this month, to totally chuck my aging upscaling DVD player out.
Pip_X
post Feb 16 2007, 03:33 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 16 2007, 03:24 PM)
Here we go again....

HD Xvid versus HD off VC-1 or MPEG2 at HD-DVD/Bluray higher bitrate are two totally different beasts altogether, but if you are willing to compromise picture/audio quality for something you downloaded off the net, then it's your personal preference. BTW, that troll picture is not for you, Pip-x, it was for someone else, scroll back for his lack-of-imagination one-liners. Nothing to do with what he stands, rather than his next-to-zero content in his every posts in this thread. wink.gif

Carry on, i've too many other things on my mind to get involved in petty things like this. But im hopeful that im getting my HD-XA2 by the end of this month, to totally chuck my aging upscaling DVD player out.
The picture is not intended for me?
Then I must apologize to you. Sorry.
Me hope what whatever the HD format that win this stupid war, will actually be cheap enuf for us average joes, to enjoy without bleeding through our small pityful wallet.
Sekian Terima Kasih.
TSstringfellow
post Feb 16 2007, 03:37 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

No apology needed. It's the way the forum blended two posts together if you post them one after another than makes it look like im posting it in response to you. Time will tell which format would succeed DVD as the next medum of choice.
psp _BOY
post Feb 16 2007, 03:39 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

If Blu-ray is outselling HD-DVD now, think of how much more it will outsell HD-DVD when PS3 launches across europe, Australasia, and Malaysia? As well as when Disney studios launches they're batch of Movies in Blu-ray.
g5sim
post Feb 17 2007, 05:14 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 16 2007, 03:24 PM)
Here we go again....

import yourself or from MP? biggrin.gif
tnsai
post Feb 17 2007, 08:40 PM

1,418 posts

whichever format gives me the following first, i'm a happy man

star wars (all 6)

matrix trilogy

lotr trilogy
g5sim
post Feb 18 2007, 01:18 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(tnsai @ Feb 17 2007, 08:40 PM)
whichever format gives me the following first, i'm a happy man
star wars (all 6)

matrix trilogy

lotr trilogy
Star wars should be exclusively on BD distributed by FOX while Matrix will be on both format as its distributed by Warner. LOTR will also be on both format as its from NewLine Cinema smile.gif
tnsai
post Feb 18 2007, 01:18 PM

1,418 posts

yeah found that online also..but question is.. WHEN"!?!??! sad.gif
silencer
post Feb 21 2007, 10:02 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Microsoft and Broadcom Deliver Combined Hardware and Software Platform for More Cost-Efficient HD DVD Players>>> http://www.broadcom.com/press/release.php?id=950071 ,as expected, with an abundance cash reserve.... Microsoft will do anything for HD-DVD. I wonder what will be the reaction from Sony????

Points of fact, if the HD-DVD stand alone player getting very affordable for mainstream consumers, it will be an incomparable advantage than Blueray.

Just my 2 cent....

This post has been edited by silencer: Feb 21 2007, 10:02 PM
g5sim
post Feb 22 2007, 03:15 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 21 2007, 10:02 PM)
Microsoft and Broadcom Deliver Combined Hardware and Software Platform for More Cost-Efficient HD DVD Players>>> http://www.broadcom.com/press/release.php?id=950071 ,as expected, with an abundance cash reserve.... Microsoft will do anything for HD-DVD. I wonder what will be the reaction from Sony????

Points of fact, if the HD-DVD stand alone player getting very affordable for mainstream consumers, it will be an incomparable advantage than Blueray.

Just my 2 cent....
oh .. BD is also touting their 'afordable' BD players, Funai from Japan is saying that they are coming out with BD players with the price tag of $500 tongue.gif anyhow, they are also did not rule out making HD DVD players.

all we hear is BD has won the format war .. when HD DVD is stragically talking about making their players even more cheaper than their current price. And please spare us of the street price of gen1 players cuz gen 2 hd dvd players can be obtained as low a <>$350 with free shipping and 3 free HD DVD movies. that would make the price of the player <>$280. drool.gif

get a HD DVD player shipped from USA to malaysia. BHPhoto is selling the Gen2 player at $399 (not inclusive of +$102 Global Express Mail shipping) discussion thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/388478

Added on February 23, 2007, 12:49 amfurthermore ---- HD DVD is all focusing on features that matters, interactivity matters to average consumers that would drive and keep the hidef market alive. Everage consumers will notice the Extras. While BD on the other hand is focusing on audio PCM lossless audio vs HD DVD's all lossless audio, DD TrueHD. Though only a 2.1 DD TrueHD track is mandatory on HD DVD disks, HD DVD realise that average consumers who are interested in getting $200 HD DVD players wouldnt have the $2,000 speakers plus receivers that would take advantage of the audio tracks, a DD + (which mandatory) would be more than enough.

Its all about implementation. BD has the better spec on paper, better storage. No doubt about that, but the implementation is piss poor. 4 disk DL HD DVD and 4 Disk DL BD for Sopranos. WTF !!! That is 120GB for HD DVD vs 200GB for BD and its for the same content.

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/feature/franken...qual-238336.php

The Blu-Ray vs. HD DVD battle seems as old as time itself. Being tech savvy consumers, we've heard the two formats are, to the end user, pretty identical. Both are capable of equal resolution, equal sound output and equal mass flopping.

But are tech specs the only way to judge DVDs? Of course not. Technology is only step one. How studios utilize the technology is equally as important. Besides, the gods gave us eyes and ears for a reason.

For this week's topic, we dug through the entire archive from the DVD critics at High-Def Digest (about 300 total reviews), averaging every rating they've given yet to HD DVD and Blu-Ray titles. And you know what?

Not all was equal.

Our preliminary average results graph is above. It gives a slight edge to HD DVD in video and all extra disc content. But we ran these results by a statistics-savvy friend who further analyzed the data in terms of actual statistical significance (through one-way ANOVA, stats geeks). She deemed the video results to be too close to call, but simultaneously deemed the other averages as noteworthy. What's all that mean? We had to make a new graph.

Significant review averages tell us that Blu-ray titles were slightly, but definitely superior in audio playback. HD DVD titles had far superior standard def features and moderately superior hi def features.

But how could this be? Spec sheets claim the same audio codecs are supported on Blu-ray and HD DVD. Why would one format sound better? And why is HD DVD kicking major Blu-ray bonus content ass? ISN'T IT ALL IDENTICAL EXCEPT FOR THE BOX COLOR??

Nope.

So we asked High-Def Digest for their take on their own review disparities.

Why Blu-ray audio is winning:

This is primarily due to stronger support for high-resolution audio formats on the majority of Blu-ray releases, primarily DTS-HD and uncompressed PCM. HD DVD, by contrast, has seen far less significant support -- few, if any, titles have been released on the format in either DTS-HD and PCM, with only a handful even sporting Dolby TrueHD.

That situation doesn't appear to be changing, at least at the moment. The sole exclusive supporter of HD DVD, Universal, has yet to release a single title with Dolby TrueHD, let alone DTS-HD and/or PCM tracks. Paramount the same. And Warner titles with Dolby TrueHD are rather meager. Only the smaller upstart the Weinstein Co. has really pushed Dolby TrueHD on their most recent ...At the moment, it seems Blu-ray enjoys the edge in widespread studio support for high-resolution audio.

Translation: the studios are using crappier audio compression on HD DVD.

Why HD DVD bonus features are winning:

The confusion is vexing with interactive features...the HD DVD group [made] support of the HDi authoring environment mandatory as part of their spec. That means that all HD DVD players bearing the logo must fully support the feature, which is why early HD DVD titles were so flush with cutting-edge features. Right now, HD DVD is leading in this regard...

Blu-ray is still rushing to catch up with its rival BD-Java tools. Though support will eventually come,
and BD-J should deliver the same level of interactivity as HDi. But...until Blu-ray reaches parity, it will lag behind HD DVD, if only in regards to full-on, cutting-edge interactivity.

Translation: Sony didn't offer developers enough software support for their programming.

WINNER: Are you an audiophile or an extrasphile?

And of course, the two issues could be feeding off one another while playing to each format's strengths. Blu-ray may easily accommodate uncompressed audio with its larger disc capacity, compensating for its lack of special features. Meanwhile, HD DVD may exploit special features at the expense of audio ([COLOR=red]where most people won't even notice[/COLOR]).

If only I weren't too cynical to believe that anyone is looking out for the consumer here. - Mark Wilson

Added on February 23, 2007, 3:44 am***************************************************

oh CNN take on Sony's 'moon shot' on Blu-ray laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/for...sion=2007022214

The trouble with Sony

Fortune's Brent Schlender explains why smart companies can be too smart for their own good.

By Brent Schlender, Fortune Magazine
February 22 2007: 2:07 PM EST[

(Fortune Magazine) -- It's not every day that you see successful corporations humiliate themselves. But it happens. In the case of high tech, it usually occurs when a company can't resist the urge to launch a moon shot, a Herculean but overly ambitious and inevitably misguided effort to come up with some ultimate new thing.

Sony, no stranger to embarrassment (remember the exploding batteries?), has not one but two big, expensive potential flameouts: the PlayStation 3 game console, and the Blu-ray DVD format.

Don't get me wrong. Sony is not run by numbskulls. There are good reasons for shooting the moon. For one thing, technology keeps morphing, and you have to keep up lest some upstart changes the rules of the game, as Microsoft (Charts) did to IBM (Charts) in days of yore. Then there's the natural urge to outdo the competition. And it takes a whopper of a product to goose growth when you're as big as Sony (Charts).

The problem with moon shots is that you have to get the trajectory and the timing exactly right, or you wind up lost in space. Sony, despite spending billions on Blu-ray, missed. Not by much, but by enough to call into question whether its massive investments will ever pay off as it had hoped.

I visited Sony's lab in Atsugi, Japan, in 1995 to see an early demonstration of a blue laser. Blue laser light is special because it has a much shorter wavelength than the red lasers in conventional CD and DVD players, and thus can discern much denser data on a disc, something absolutely necessary for showing video in high definition.

I never did see the demo that day - the engineers reneged because the prototype was so finicky. But company officials bragged that it was a shoo-in to power the DVD players of tomorrow. Sony would, they assured me, be the sole owner of a new video format for the first time since Betamax.

PlayStation 3 can't hide its flaws

Alas, Sony soon learned that its marvelous blue lasers didn't last long enough to make a reliable consumer product. So in 1999 it turned to Nichia Corp., a little-known Japanese electronics maker that had devised a more durable blue laser - and took out 800 patents to protect the technology. A chastened Sony had to license Nichia's approach, and even so there was nothing to prevent Nichia from selling its own lasers or licensing Sony's rivals to make them too.

Not surprisingly, a group led by Toshiba seized the chance to propose its own standard. Indeed, Toshiba's HD DVD format beat Sony's Blu-ray player to the living room by several months, and now both sides are in a full-fledged format war. Shades of Betamax vs. VHS.

Also, because Sony waited to put Blu-ray technology in its PlayStation 3, Microsoft got its Xbox 360 to market nearly a year earlier. Even more humiliating, the PS 3 has been upstaged by Nintendo's Wii, a lower-tech but much hotter-selling machine. Some moon shots.

What has to dismay Sony the most is the possibility that consumers won't care about Blu-ray. This month LG, a charter Blu-ray supporter, broke ranks and released a universal high-def DVD player that can display any kind of disc you throw at it - plain old DVD, Blu-ray or HD DVD. It's the ideal device for anyone who couldn't care less about formats and just wants to watch the damn movie. I tried one out, and even ordinary DVDs looked great. If an obsessive gadget freak like me can't get excited about Blu-ray, can anyone?

So it goes with moon shots. Ford had its Edsel, Coca-Cola its New Coke, and 15 years ago IBM gave Microsoft its big break when it dragged its feet developing a graphical operating system for the PC. Microsoft got antsy and gave the world Windows. Now Microsoft has delivered Vista, a much-hyped operating system that has elicited mostly yawns.

And there's a good chance another big launch - Apple's elegant iPhone, out this summer - could sputter as well. Why? Because, as Apple (Charts) and Sony - creators of two of the greatest small wonders ever, the iPod and the Walkman - should know, giant leaps for high tech aren't usually moon shoots. They're an accumulation of small steps.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 23 2007, 03:45 AM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 10 2007, 04:24 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Wow, had to dig this thread from the gutters just to see the last potshot made by opposing zealots here. Anyway, my HD-XA2 is finally shipping next Monday, and should be here in less than 7 business days after that. First destination would be at Mediaplex KLCC for a few days up to a week, before it goes into my own private usage. Wanna see how the coveted DVD upscaling capabilities that was said that "put standalone video scalers worth thousands of dollars to shame". Gonna gather the best looking DVDs with good transfers (LOTR Extended, and Star Wars Old and New Trilogies) to see if the upscaling capabilites is up to the task. Once it arrives, anyone is free to drop by Mediaplex for the playtest.

The player:-

The specs:-

http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-ima...hd-xa2_spec.pdf

The bottom line:-

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....87&page=1&pp=30
Bottom line-- there is NO REASON TO BUY AN EXTERNAL VIDEO PROCESSOR if you buy the XA2. Not only did it match in virtually all the tests and visual observations the Gennum VXP chip in the Crystallio II VP but in some cases was VISUALLY SUPERIOR. The Toshiba XA2 is without a doubt the best upscaling SD DVD player that I have ever seen. It certainly leaves me depressed about the money I spent a month ago on the CII.
g5sim
post Mar 10 2007, 04:50 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 10 2007, 04:24 AM)
Wow, had to dig this thread from the gutters just to see the last potshot made by opposing zealots here. Anyway, my HD-XA2 is finally shipping next Monday, and should be here in less than 7 business days after that. First destination would be at Mediaplex KLCC for a few days up to a week, before it goes into my own private usage. Wanna see how the coveted DVD upscaling capabilities that was said that "put standalone video scalers worth thousands of dollars to shame". Gonna gather the best looking DVDs with good transfers (LOTR Extended, and Star Wars Old and New Trilogies) to see if the upscaling capabilites is up to the task. Once it arrives, anyone is free to drop by Mediaplex for the playtest.

The player:-

The specs:-

http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-ima...hd-xa2_spec.pdf

The bottom line:-

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....87&page=1&pp=30
just post your comments here .. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif i thought you were going to get the A2 ... tongue.gif

Added on March 10, 2007, 4:55 amoh are you attempting to get the FREE 5 HD DVDs that come with the purchase?

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 10 2007, 04:55 AM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 10 2007, 05:23 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The 5 FREE HD-DVDs are staying with my beloved in CA. She's the one handling the shipping from Newport, OC. She already have her XA2, im burning with jealousy when i was talking to her on Live with Live Vision on.....ARRGGHHH! HD-EnVY!!!! cry.gif
psp _BOY
post Mar 10 2007, 11:46 AM

1,978 posts

blardy hell dude i thought mediaplex is getting HD-XA2 stock in 2 weeks time sweat.gif

guess i'll have to shoplift*

*.com laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Mar 10 2007, 12:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Ahahahah, yeah the money transfer was problematic. I ditched Shoplift and went to the retailer my beloved got hers from and true enough, everything went smooth like butter from there. I strongly suggest you DONT go the Shoplift route, their customer support is horrible!
psp _BOY
post Mar 10 2007, 12:18 PM

1,978 posts

...and u said they gave you good prices for shipping rolleyes.gif

so, uh which online retailer did you get it from bro?

PS: best tekken? dry.gif bohsong
TSstringfellow
post Mar 10 2007, 12:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Good prices for shipping but horrible price to pay for customer support. I'd pay more for a reliable lifeline in this kind of situation!

As for the new store, it's Crutchfield. Once i figure that i can use the help of my beloved in CA, it's easy. Crutchfield provides free shipping in CA., but from their shipping FAQ, would take at least 4 days for the free shipping to her place. Im thinking if i should take the free shipping option or rush it via courier. They do offer international orders, but they can only ship local, a.k.a US permanent addresses.

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-g0YGTSm3NzP/c....asp?i=052HDXA2

The free 5 HD-DVDs deal is there too, but she's get it to thank her for her willingness to help me get this for me. smile.gif

Tekken is always nice, and err....WTF is bohsong?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 10 2007, 12:34 PM
psp _BOY
post Mar 10 2007, 01:26 PM

1,978 posts

boh song macam, i hate u thing i guess tongue.gif

crutchfield is famous in US. So did hey ship it to you, or did they ship it to you girlfriend, and she then shipped it to you?
TSstringfellow
post Mar 10 2007, 11:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

What dialect is that bohsong? As for the shipping thing, it's the lattter. I love her for that....and more of course. tongue.gif
g5sim
post Mar 11 2007, 09:51 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 10 2007, 12:33 PM)
Good prices for shipping but horrible price to pay for customer support. I'd pay more for a reliable lifeline in this kind of situation!

As for the new store, it's Crutchfield. Once i figure that i can use the help of my beloved in CA, it's easy. Crutchfield provides free shipping in CA., but from their shipping FAQ, would take at least 4 days for the free shipping to her place. Im thinking if i should take the free shipping option or rush it via courier. They do offer international orders, but they can only ship local, a.k.a US permanent addresses.

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-g0YGTSm3NzP/c....asp?i=052HDXA2

The free 5 HD-DVDs deal is there too, but she's get it to thank her for her willingness to help me get this for me. smile.gif

Tekken is always nice, and err....WTF is bohsong?
the 5 FREE HD DVD is offered by Toshiba America to all purchasers of any HD DVD players (not including the the Xbox 360 add on). The offers is currently only applicable in the US and soon will be expanded to Canada. meaning you can claim yours. Applicable to purchases rom 1st March to 31 July 2007

http://thelookandsoundofperfect.com/_pdf/p...ffer_advert.pdf

I dunno how much you paid for the X2 but anyhow, Amazon has just dropped the price of the XA2 to $649 from $799 and the HD A2 to $366 ($336 with Amazon visa card)

A2 = http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000IJV4B...3576403&sr=1-10

XA2 = http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-HD-XA2-HD-DV...73577817&sr=1-1

What dialect is that bohsong? As for the shipping thing, it's the lattter. I love her for that....and more of course

awwww !!! that is sooo sweet !! nod.gif

Added on March 11, 2007, 9:57 amand the 1st gen HD D1 player is selling at $290 ONLY. with the and with the 5 FREE HD DVDs. the $2** purchase would be like $199. Its the price of the XBox 360 Add On. biggrin.gif

now everybody can become an early adoptor. HT never been this affordable ...

http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-HD-D1-DVD-Pl...3576403&sr=1-10

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 11 2007, 09:57 AM
g5sim
post Mar 12 2007, 02:40 AM

5,756 posts

string did you read my previous post on the 5 FREE HD DVDs ?

anyhow -- just to enlighten everyone:

the total disk sale for both HD DVD (since April 2006) and Bluray (since June 2006) until March 4th 2007:

Blu-ray = 744K unit
HD DVD = 681K unit

There are <>0.2mil HD DVD players in consumer households
There are <>2mil BD players in consumer households

figures are from Nielsen VideoScan and NPD

if you cant even see a single HD-DVD drive sold as standalones (poor PC folks had to resort to stripping the Xbox 360 addons to use as their drives now), and when Bluray PC drives (burners or readers) are priced at premium prices.

HD did the $99 promo to upgrade DVD to HD DVD drive a while ago. They are selling the external HD DVD drive but as you have put it, at a premium (REDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE) price biggrin.gif

anyhow i bet consumers will keep on purchasing the Add On and use it with their PCs when there are tens of models of HD DVD drive in the market. This is because the add on is $199 (plus a free movie).

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 12 2007, 02:46 AM
arj
post Mar 12 2007, 10:55 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Lets get back on topic shall we? If you guys want to continue to discuss the merits of a PC and a standalone player, please create a new thread to do so.

Thread cleaned.
heterosapiens
post Mar 12 2007, 01:29 PM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

Ouch...I'm actually looking forward for a second round. I mean a lot of information were spilled out through the arguments and of course minus the kiddy flaming that were inserted through the posts. Although I do agree that it is off-topic. mellow.gif

This post has been edited by heterosapiens: Mar 12 2007, 01:30 PM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 12 2007, 02:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thank the heavens! I got my thread back! *hugs thread* Thanks arj!

Next info out will be anything regarding sales of these physical medias and its standalone players. Other informations are not welcomed here.
rx330
post Mar 12 2007, 02:55 PM

11,811 posts

is it worth it to get a bluray or even HD dvd movie, if the tv kenot even output @ 720p?
TSstringfellow
post Mar 12 2007, 03:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Can you get 1080i? That may provide some insight on how much improvement these two formats give.
ikanayam
post Mar 12 2007, 03:37 PM

10,544 posts

When is this madness going to end?
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=6307

Everyone wants a piece of the HD format pie. Srsly someone should come up with the ZOMG-HD disc. One disc to rule them all.
TSstringfellow
post Mar 12 2007, 03:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Warner, being format neutral has come up with TotalHD, one side Bluray, the other HD-DVD. Me? I think there's room for both HD-DVD and Bluray to coexist.
rx330
post Mar 12 2007, 03:54 PM

11,811 posts

mine only 576p nia, kenot get 1080i
so i dunno is it worth it to buy bluray movie to watch or not.

but for me, the SD trailer aredi dem shiok liao the image, u guys on 720 p and higher, sure lagi shiok
g5sim
post Mar 12 2007, 10:05 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 12 2007, 03:54 PM)
mine only 576p nia, kenot get 1080i
so i dunno is it worth it to buy bluray movie to watch or not.

but for me, the SD trailer aredi dem shiok liao the image, u guys on 720 p and higher, sure lagi shiok
hmmmm try selling your unit and get a new one. 32in 720p sets are like RM3500 tongue.gif

tongue.gif

Added on March 12, 2007, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 12 2007, 03:47 PM)
Warner, being format neutral has come up with TotalHD, one side Bluray, the other HD-DVD. Me? I think there's room for both HD-DVD and Bluray to coexist.
that is an extremely good news if they charge for only one side of the content tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 12 2007, 10:07 PM
rx330
post Mar 12 2007, 10:16 PM

11,811 posts

sigh, mine if sell also worthless... LG 32 inch, last saw selling for 2999
SUSgogo2
post Mar 12 2007, 11:50 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Mar 12 2007, 03:37 PM)
When is this madness going to end?
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=6307

Everyone wants a piece of the HD format pie. Srsly someone should come up with the ZOMG-HD disc. One disc to rule them all.
And the player can play both VMD and EVD tongue.gif
http://www.engadgethd.com/2005/12/29/more-...ayers-coming-t/

g5sim
post Mar 13 2007, 01:17 AM

5,756 posts

good news people, if you have a PS3 and want to have more BD titles. FOR LIMITED TIME ONLY, AMAZON is having 50% off 48 BD titles. Its like paying for DVD but getting BD tongue.gif .. example of offer titles:

1. Tears of the Sun = $15
2. Momento = $15
3. House of Flying Daggers = $15
4. Xmen 3 = $20
5. Fifth Element = $15
6. Black Hawk Down = $15
7. Kingdom of Heaven = $20

and many more .... dont miss the change people !!

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_i_0/103-...u-ray%2Ci%3Advd

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 13 2007, 01:19 AM
rx330
post Mar 13 2007, 09:55 AM

11,811 posts

tat is why, so cheap, so tempted, and ask is it worth it to buy the bluray movie, wen my teebee can only output @ 576p (im not changing my teebee anytime soon)
JiauBoy
post Mar 13 2007, 10:24 AM

727 posts

yaya tell me abt the 50%. i just get to know 2days after i place the order... cry.gif
QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 13 2007, 01:17 AM)
good news people, if you have a PS3 and want to have more BD titles. FOR LIMITED TIME ONLY, AMAZON is having 50% off 48 BD titles. Its like paying for DVD but getting BD tongue.gif  .. example of offer titles:

1. Tears of the Sun = $15
2. Momento = $15
3. House of Flying Daggers = $15
4. Xmen 3 = $20
5. Fifth Element = $15
6. Black Hawk Down = $15
7. Kingdom of Heaven = $20

and many more .... dont miss the change people !!

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_i_0/103-...u-ray%2Ci%3Advd
g5sim
post Mar 14 2007, 05:50 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Mar 13 2007, 10:24 AM)
yaya tell me abt the 50%. i just get to know 2days after i place the order... cry.gif
aiyo .. why lar ..
waeguk
post Mar 14 2007, 11:13 PM

633 posts

Don't dip into the discounted BD titles just yet .... there will be more re-releases in the future, with more features and remastering. You have been warned.
rx330
post Mar 14 2007, 11:35 PM

11,811 posts

opps, too late, bought 2 copies aredi
welwitchia
post Mar 15 2007, 12:02 PM

1,219 posts

Eh..Does Amazon charge for shipping? I'm thinking of just getting 1 Blu-ray movie just for the heck of it.

I'm thinking of Corpse Bride since I've never seen it before..recommended?

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Mar 15 2007, 12:05 PM
bose00
post Mar 15 2007, 12:38 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Mar 15 2007, 12:02 PM)
Eh..Does Amazon charge for shipping? I'm thinking of just getting 1 Blu-ray movie just for the heck of it.

I'm thinking of Corpse Bride since I've never seen it before..recommended?
if i am not mistaken, they charged bout US10/=. Previously,

i click 4 Blu-Ray titles and it seems, they charged a flat rate of

US10/=.

thinking of getting this title too

but awaiting for Happy Feet which will be released on the 27th of March.

Buying it with Casino Royale ~ at least save a couple of dollars.

This post has been edited by bose00: Mar 15 2007, 12:40 PM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 15 2007, 03:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just finished watching Casino Royale Bluray. Awesome transfers and features as well. The scenes in Venice and the lonesome mansion at the seaside near the end has the most eye-popping detail you can imagine. Great title to showcase bluray on your system.
JiauBoy
post Mar 15 2007, 03:13 PM

727 posts

Check this out http://www.nypost.com/seven/03082007/enter...nick.htm?page=1
bose00
post Mar 15 2007, 03:53 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 15 2007, 03:09 PM)
Just finished watching Casino Royale Bluray. Awesome transfers and features as well. The scenes in Venice and the lonesome mansion at the seaside near the end has the most eye-popping detail you can imagine. Great title to showcase bluray on your system.
great! will grab this title. Thought it was launch yesterday only ~ that's

a quick one whereby you've viewed it.

This post has been edited by bose00: Mar 15 2007, 03:53 PM
TSstringfellow
post Mar 15 2007, 03:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Opted for the fastest shipping available. Went from Kentucky to HK in one day, and flew to KL on the same day as well. Got it this morning. I wished Amazon would extend their Amazon Prime privileges to customers outside continental US. sad.gif
g5sim
post Mar 16 2007, 12:56 PM

5,756 posts

ops XA2 price drops further .. its now $58* smile.gif
arj
post Mar 16 2007, 09:19 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 15 2007, 03:56 PM)
Opted for the fastest shipping available. Went from Kentucky to HK in one day, and flew to KL on the same day as well. Got it this morning. I wished Amazon would extend their Amazon Prime privileges to customers outside continental US. sad.gif
That was fast! Mine shipped on the 14th through DHL and it's still stuck in HK right now. I bought 3 BD titles among others, still don't have a player for it though doh.gif laugh.gif
rx330
post Mar 16 2007, 09:23 PM

11,811 posts

mine dunno wen arrive, shipped yesterday, etd march 26th - april 6th

cheap shipping biggrin.gif
silencer
post Mar 16 2007, 10:31 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Mar 16 2007, 09:19 PM)
That was fast! Mine shipped on the 14th through DHL and it's still stuck in HK right now. I bought 3 BD titles among others, still don't have a player for it though doh.gif laugh.gif
samalah kita..i have about 6 BD titles now....without the player...will be getting the PS3 next week, but still needs to confirm with DJinn or Bernard wether they do have the Singapore edition.... doh.gif
g5sim
post Mar 17 2007, 08:05 AM

5,756 posts

More U-Control HDi titles from Universal, good news for Stringfellow.

-Children of Men
-Smokin' Aces

Universal's HDi extras on Children of Men & Smokin' Aces HD DVDs unveiled

Posted Mar 16th 2007 7:18PM by Richard Lawler
Filed under: HD DVD

Sure 1080p video and various iterations of surround sound audio are nice, but we've been waiting to see more interactive BD-J and HDi (or is it Advanced Navigation?) features on next gen discs, and Universal is bringing just that with their next two high profile releases. Children of Men hits first on March 27th and will let viewers watch the video billboard ads shown in the film, in their entirety, rather than just the short clips visible in the movie. Smokin' Aces follows on April 17th and features a Google Earth tie-in to show the location of each assassin during the film. VideoBusiness got the heads up from Microsoft's director of HD DVD evangelism, who also noted we expect to see three HD DVD titles featuring internet connectivity this year and that these movies "just scratch the surface". The HD DVD camp will need to do a few things Blu-ray isn't in order to keep pace in the format war, we'll see if extra features prove to be a difference between the two.
rx330
post Mar 17 2007, 11:05 AM

11,811 posts

hmm, just wondering, wen would any bluray or HD dvd porn be available?
silencer
post Mar 17 2007, 11:14 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 17 2007, 11:05 AM)
Why dont u try ordering it first....do u think it will pass through the custom inspection????? doh.gif
g5sim
post Mar 18 2007, 04:34 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 17 2007, 11:14 PM)
Why dont u try ordering it first....do u think it will pass through the custom inspection????? doh.gif
maybe yes albeit with some white stains on the casing ... tongue.gif yuck blink.gif

Added on March 18, 2007, 4:38 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 17 2007, 11:05 AM)
its already out of HD DVD. Both in Japan and USA. The first BD p0rn would be Debbie Does Blu-ray .. i mean .... Does Dallas Again ... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 18 2007, 04:38 AM
rx330
post Mar 18 2007, 10:37 AM

11,811 posts

how abt blu ray? none on bluray yet?

whether can pass custom or not, depends on luck lor biggrin.gif
g5sim
post Mar 19 2007, 06:14 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 18 2007, 10:37 AM)
how abt blu ray? none on bluray yet?

whether can pass custom or not, depends on luck lor biggrin.gif
legally, they wont ship adult contents to Malaysia. Even Playboy Australia is not shipping to Malaysia tongue.gif

get your friend to ship Debbie Does Dallas again to Malaysia, remove the back cover (that is where the hardcore pics are wink.gif
rx330
post Mar 19 2007, 09:47 AM

11,811 posts

shipping issue aside, so tis debbie go do blu ray also ar?

any website to see wat titles of porn is available on the bluray?
g5sim
post Mar 20 2007, 06:32 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 19 2007, 09:47 AM)
shipping issue aside, so tis debbie go do blu ray also ar?

any website to see wat titles of porn is available on the bluray?
currently there is only one p0rn title announced for BD .. other p0rn studios has picked HD DVD because its cheaper to make and Disney and Sony are can only prevent them from doing so on BD not HD DVD tongue.gif
rx330
post Mar 20 2007, 09:17 AM

11,811 posts

wokie, thanks for th einfo
g5sim
post Mar 22 2007, 12:22 PM

5,756 posts

Toshiba A2 and XA2 albeit selling at <>$350 and <>$580 are at the top 5 best selling DVD player at Amazon beating many cheaper dvd players and even the <>$150 Oppo players wink.gif

http://www.amazon.com/gp/bestsellers/elect...rd%5Fi=51549011

Added on March 22, 2007, 12:23 pmno bad for a Sony pro-claimed 'dead format' wink.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 22 2007, 12:23 PM
silencer
post Mar 23 2007, 01:14 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 22 2007, 12:22 PM)
Toshiba A2 and XA2 albeit selling at <>$350 and <>$580 are at the top 5 best selling DVD player at Amazon beating many cheaper dvd players and even the <>$150 Oppo players wink.gif

http://www.amazon.com/gp/bestsellers/elect...rd%5Fi=51549011

Added on March 22, 2007, 12:23 pmno bad for a Sony pro-claimed 'dead format' wink.gif
woot ..the(my) oppo..is still at the top.......if only those tosh support divX ..i'll buy it too...so, just stick with my oppo for the time being...
g5sim
post Mar 24 2007, 12:04 PM

5,756 posts

^ hmm silencer... bhPhoto is shipping the A2 player at $369 . They ship to malaysia too tongue.gif

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller...rch&Q=&ci=12836
silencer
post Mar 24 2007, 04:52 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 24 2007, 12:04 PM)
^ hmm silencer... bhPhoto is shipping the A2 player at $369 . They ship to malaysia too tongue.gif

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller...rch&Q=&ci=12836
hmmm..no dvd upconversion and divx support..i guess my existing setup with external hd-dvd for xbox 360 and oppo 981HD will blow away that particular model..will definitly buy the hd-dvd separate player if it is compatibl with divx features.....
g5sim
post Mar 24 2007, 11:23 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 24 2007, 04:52 PM)
hmmm..no dvd upconversion and divx support..i guess my existing setup with external hd-dvd for xbox 360 and oppo 981HD will blow away that particular model..will definitly buy the hd-dvd separate player if it is compatibl with divx features.....
huh? any of the HD DVD player in the market is touted to be the best upconvert DVD player wink.gif DIVX is not included yet wink.gif
silencer
post Mar 25 2007, 02:36 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 24 2007, 11:23 PM)
huh? any of the HD DVD player in the market is touted to be the best upconvert DVD player wink.gif DIVX is not included yet wink.gif
The Tosh HD-AX2 is considered the best upconvert DVD for 1080p so far..I guess the same model that string bought from US....but considered out of my budget limit already...plus without the divx features too..but money money is the main obstacle here doh.gif
g5sim
post Mar 25 2007, 12:11 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 25 2007, 02:36 AM)
The Tosh HD-AX2 is considered the best upconvert DVD for 1080p so far..I guess the same model that string bought from US....but considered out of my budget limit already...plus without the divx features too..but money money is the main obstacle here doh.gif
A2 also good mah ! $360 now. Toshiba has just reduced the price from $499 to $399. The A20 is now $499 down from $599 while the XA2 is down $200 from $999 to $799. The XA2 is selling at <>$580 at amazon while the A2 is selling at $330. But then you have already bought your Oppo tongue.gif

Added on March 25, 2007, 12:43 pm

Opps seems like BD's declaration of format war win is greet by "exclusive" Blu-ray backer; Samsung joining the CE list of HD DVD. Two new non-toshiba HD DVD players were previewed during the CEBit show too wink.gif One from Venture (touted to the the $299 or $199 format war winning player tongue.gif ) and one from Meridian for cars .. looks nice too that one hehehe flex.gif

To date, HD DVD is the only format delivering titles using true picture-in-picture.

HD DVD's superior capabilities and long-term potential continue to win significant acceptance in the global market. In 2006, HD DVD won a clear edge in the PC market. According to Techno Systems Research (TSR), a major Japanese market research company, 60 percent of the high definition optical disk drives for PC applications produced worldwide were HD DVD. In slim HD DVD drives for portable PCs, the advantage increased to 70 percent.

Among the more innovative of the world's first class manufacturers that have recently added to the breadth of the HD DVD family are Samsung, Lite-On, Alco, Jiangkui/ED Digital, Meridian, Onkyo, and Shinco.

http://www.movieweb.com/dvd/news/29/18429.php

This post has been edited by g5sim: Mar 25 2007, 12:45 PM
silencer
post Mar 25 2007, 04:26 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Darn....will be enjoying both formats in 1-2 weeks..but just happened to bump into these two news:-

1)Warner's Total HD Combo Discs Ready This Summer>>> http://gear.ign.com/articles/773/773347p1.html
" The Blu-ray storage allocations possible on the format fall short of the 50GB standard set by current stand-alone Blu-ray discs, which may lead to difficulties if and when publishers port prepared Blu-ray content to the format. On the other hand, no studios other than Warner Brothers have announced support for the format, so it might not be a problem."

2) I've had enough! Boycotting all future Warner Bros. releases!>>> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=823585
" Uh, The Matrix has been delayed on HD DVD for a LONG time BECAUSE of Blu-ray's problems with interactivity issues. Warner probably just got tired of waiting since they promised us the Matrix to be out about 8-10 months ago. So whining about that is pretty ridiculous. Happy Feet probably should've got a TrueHD track for Blu-ray, but whining about interactive releases being delayed? Blame the Blu-ray Disc Association, not Warner. And seriously, consumer-friendly stance? You've got enough exclusive studios on Blu-ray. How about Disney takes a consumer friendly stance? By far the main reason Blu-ray is selling more is because they have more content, thanks to exclusive studios. Complaining about a few Warner releases is like getting a pony for Christmas, and whining that someone else you know got a remote control car."

Darn...the conclusion is having two formats is definitely the answer then... hope sony is not screwed up again...now, going to PM DJinn for my PS3...
g5sim
post Mar 25 2007, 07:03 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 25 2007, 04:26 PM)
Darn....will be enjoying both formats in 1-2 weeks..but just happened to bump into these two news:-

1)Warner's Total HD Combo Discs Ready This Summer>>> http://gear.ign.com/articles/773/773347p1.html
" The Blu-ray storage allocations possible on the format fall short of the 50GB standard set by current stand-alone Blu-ray discs, which may lead to difficulties if and when publishers port prepared Blu-ray content to the format. On the other hand, no studios other than Warner Brothers have announced support for the format, so it might not be a problem."

2)  I've had enough! Boycotting all future Warner Bros. releases!>>> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=823585
" Uh, The Matrix has been delayed on HD DVD for a LONG time BECAUSE of Blu-ray's problems with interactivity issues. Warner probably just got tired of waiting since they promised us the Matrix to be out about 8-10 months ago. So whining about that is pretty ridiculous. Happy Feet probably should've got a TrueHD track for Blu-ray, but whining about interactive releases being delayed? Blame the Blu-ray Disc Association, not Warner. And seriously, consumer-friendly stance? You've got enough exclusive studios on Blu-ray. How about Disney takes a consumer friendly stance? By far the main reason Blu-ray is selling more is because they have more content, thanks to exclusive studios. Complaining about a few Warner releases is like getting a pony for Christmas, and whining that someone else you know got a remote control car."

Darn...the conclusion is having two formats is definitely the answer then... hope sony is not screwed up again...now, going to PM DJinn for my PS3...
lol .. you dont want to wait for the Elite version with HDMI ?

Added on March 25, 2007, 7:05 pmone more thing.. the Total HD disk would most probably be double layer HD DVD and single layer Blu-ray. Why? currently Sony is the only one doing double layer Blu-ray. The yield is too low for others to jump in. tongue.gif

Added on May 19, 2007, 11:37 amTitles Released Since Blu-rays Launch

FOX
Jun-06 -
Jul-06 -
Aug-06 -
Sep-06 -
Oct-06 -
Nov-06 - 10
Dec-06 - 6
Jan-07 - 5
Feb-07 - 7
Mar-07 - 1