4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Definitive HD-DVD/Bluray Sales Charts/Comparison!, Disruption pg-9-PC Zealot on the loose

g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:14 PM

5,756 posts

huh ? no one yet? okay let me start?

what the fvck!! what dvd wars ? Blu-ray is not dvd remember !! laugh.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:32 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 03:19 PM)
Did you even bother clicking the link? whistling.gif

Last i check Bluray still tops!
i did. that is why i posted the question. i see so many variation of the charts on several sites. i only belief in Amazon rankings from Amazon sites and DVDEmpire tongue.gif

Originally Posted by plazman
Just to show how important the PS3 is to the BD hardware cause. Consider this:

Sales Rank of the A-2 on Amazon:

sales Rank of the XA-2:

Sales Rank of Philips BD Player:

Sales Rank of the Sony BD Player:

Sales Rank of the Samsung BD Player:

Sales Rank of Panny BD Player:

Some relative rankings of HD DVD v. BD top title from a few European countries...

UK:
HD DVD (Serenity) - 561
BD (Hostel) - 4651

France:
HD DVD (Total Recall) - 393
BD (Monster House) - 1047

Germany:
HD DVD (Fast and Furious - TD) - 712
BD (Casino Royale) - 1684

I couldn't figure out the Japanese site!

wink.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:41 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(zaakath @ Jan 23 2007, 03:26 PM)
One intresting thing I notice at releases there seems to be more for Bluray then HD-DVD in the coming months.  Bottom line is if there are not enough titles in the pipelines announced by HD-DVD the tip balance of scale will point towards owning a Bluray player.
i disagree with that. If the hardware sales of HD DVD continues to be consistent as it is currently, BD exclusive studios will have to follow where the money is.

One more thing, consumers can let format owners to bully them into deciding on a format by deprieving consumers of contents or they can excert power over this format owners choosing a format which he/she likes without being constantly blackmail into thinking the format of his/her would be dead. Consumers need to realise that they hold the power in the form of check books. Studios will have to follow where the money is at the end of the day. Basically, every single consumer should now that studio support is irrelevant in the format war. Hardware is the KING. Drop the price of PS3, drop the price of HD A2, everybody body is happy. smile.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 03:54 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 03:46 PM)
That's the scenario in the most ideal world, but in reality, whichever format gets cheap enough for the pirates to mass produce first, the Average Joes will follow. This ring even greater truth on this side of the globe.

I dont the current HD-format war going anywhere at the moment. Once studios starts releasing big titles they are withelding right now, then you'll see tides changing. Pirates Bluray? Pixar movies Bluray? Sign me up!
hmm come to think of it, Studios and CEs should not be in the same boat on this. Lots of pirate disks .. Studios 'lose' money. CEs on the other hand, see sales jump of players .. brows.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 05:31 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 23 2007, 04:04 PM)
True, hardware is the KING.  laugh.gif But let me put some info to get u into perspective in terms of industry support.  cool.gif

Blu-Ray Disc
Apple; Dell Inc.; Hewlett Packard Company*; Hitachi, Ltd.; LG Electronics Inc.; Mitsubishi Electric Corporation; Panasonic (Matsushita Electric); Pioneer Corporation; Royal Philips Electronics; Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.; Sharp Corporation; Sony Corporation; TDK Corporation; Thomson

*Supporting both formats

HD-DVD
Toshiba, NEC*, Memory-Tech, Microsoft, Intel, Sanyo*, HP*

*Supporting both formats

icon_rolleyes.gif
reality check .. Toshiba alone sold more standalone players than all of these "Hitachi, Ltd.; LG Electronics Inc.; Mitsubishi Electric Corporation; Panasonic (Matsushita Electric); Pioneer Corporation; Royal Philips Electronics; Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.; Sharp Corporation; Sony Corporation; TDK Corporation; Thomson" CEs COMBINED. If the current trend continues its just a matter of time before before HD DVD overall hardware sales overtake blu-ray hardware sales inclusive of the PS3 sales. We are already seeing signs that Sony is having problem selling remaining 1/2mil PS3 shipped on north america. PS3 in the console's stronghold, Japan is having the same problem. Retailers are already slashing the price of the subsidised PS3 by 20%. There are FIVE exclusive studios behind Blu-ray yet, HD DVD movie titles are still more in the market. HD DVD plans bring to market 300 titles this year. and by all mean, that number is MORE than sufficient to HD DVD momentum going. How many people buy 300 dvds a year? How many people have more than 300 dvds in their life time collection? wink.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 05:53 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 05:38 PM)
Yes, yes.....that's more like it! More...more!

*popcorn bucket in hand, and large oversized soda on the other, dims the stage lights*

It made me chuckle when people feel the need to defend their purchases, or their format of choice for that matter. Im not pointing fingers at anyone here, but it made me giggle to no end nonetheless.
huh? i thought its the whole purpose of you creating this thread .. No? laugh.gif
g5sim
post Jan 23 2007, 10:57 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 23 2007, 07:08 PM)
Skip over to the Porn on HDDVD Bluray thread for the lowdown on which camp the porn folks are heading to. FYI, it's both. Im like them myself, not gonna miss out on anything just on thinly veiled principles. wink.gif
thinly veiled pricinples? principles are principles smile.gif its people with principles who touch the world and revolutionise human race smile.gif
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 04:31 AM

5,756 posts

Toshiba HD-XA1 HD DVD Player beats Sony, Samsung, Panasonic, Pioneer Blu-ray players to Win Sound & Vision Product of the Year Award nod.gif

http://www.dvdrecorderworld.com/news/433

WAYNE, N.J., Jan. 26 /PRNewswire/ -- Sound & Vision, the world's largest entertainment magazine, has selected Toshiba's HD-XA1 HD DVD player to receive its prestigious Product of the Year Award, recognizing it as the most outstanding consumer electronics product of 2006. The Toshiba HD-XA1, along with Toshiba's HD-A1 HD DVD player, was the first High definition DVD player to be introduced in the U.S. market.

"We're quite pleased to honor Toshiba with this award," said Mike Mettler, Vice President/Editor-In-Chief of Sound & Vision. "The flagship HD-XA1 totally fulfilled the promise of the high definition disc player by delivering both picture and sound with unmatched purity, detail, and punch. We're very impressed."

Ranking at the top of 22 products chosen by the magazine's editors and reviewers from those tested throughout the year, the Toshiba HD-XA1 was selected by Sound & Vision's staff for its innovation, performance, build, quality and value.

"We are very proud to have received Sound & Vision's most prestigious award for 2006," said Jodi Sally, Vice President of Marketing, Toshiba America Consumer Products Digital A/V Group. "Toshiba HD DVD players continue to be recognized as outstanding options for next generation DVD and serve as great home theater complements for HDTV owners. We are delighted that this product has been honored by such a widely read and respected magazine."

Continuing to prove its leadership in the smooth transition to high definition, Toshiba recently announced it has already successfully introduced its second generation HD DVD players -- delivering stunning image quality, astounding audio capabilities and a new level of interactivity never seen before. Building on its early lead in the market and proving the strength of the HD DVD format, Toshiba has expanded its HD DVD line and has increased shipment volume to meet the growing market demand.

About Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.

Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is owned by Toshiba America, Inc., a subsidiary of Toshiba Corporation, a world leader in high technology products with subsidiaries worldwide. Toshiba is a pioneer in HD DVD, DVD and DVD Recorder technology and a leading manufacturer of a full line of home entertainment products, including flat panel TV, rear projection and direct view televisions, combination products and portable devices. Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is headquartered in Wayne, New Jersey. For additional information please visit http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/.

About Sound & Vision
Established in 1958, Sound & Vision has led the category in the coverage of consumer electronics products for nearly 50 years. From early adopters to everyday shoppers, people come to Sound & Vision for the latest product reviews, recommendations and information on home theater, high-definition TV, digital surround sound, and more. Published ten times per year, the title has a rate base of 200,000.

Added on January 28, 2007, 4:37 amhttp://www.ropeofsilicon.com/news.php?id=5179

Not that 300 titles for a year isnt enough. Regular consumers do not even own 300 DVDs after 10 years of collection .. so the talks of Blu-ray have more exclusive studios than HD DVD .. Mute!! tongue.gif

Universal to release ATLEAST 100 Exclusive HD DVDs in 2007
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.businessofcinema.com/?file=story&id=2049

Bringing further heat to the burgeoning HD DVD format, Universal Studios Home Entertainment will release more than 100 new film and television titles in 2007.

Perennial favorites such as Scarface and classics like 40-Year-Old Virgin, Battlestar Galactica S1 and Oscar-winning Brokeback Mountain will be joined by dozens of new titles released day and date with the DVD.

Since the format's inception in April 2006, Universal Studios Home Entertainment has released 60 titles on HD DVD, and currently boasts four of the top 10 best-selling HD DVDs year-to-date, including Casino, Serenity, Fearless and Miami Vice.

Tapping into the studio's vast library, the 2007 slate kicked off on 18 January with the release of The Mummy Returns, followed by Brokeback Mountain, starring Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal on 23 January, 2007. Following shortly thereafter will be such day-and-date new releases as Golden Globe-nominee Hollywoodland on 6 February. More than 90 per cent of the planned 2007 Universal titles will be released as combo discs - which feature an HD DVD version and a standard DVD version of the movie on the same disc.

"With more than two million HD DVD players expected in the market in North America by the end of 2007, Universal Studios Home Entertainment is committed to expanding its portfolio of compelling HD DVD content and further igniting consumer demand. By releasing most of our titles as combo discs we effectively satisfy consumers' multi-viewing habits, providing them with the most cost-effective option to watch their favorite films in either their DVD or HD DVD players," said Universal Studios Home Entertainment president Craig Kornblau.

Among the additional new titles to be released in 2007 are the Oscar-nominated Children of Men, The Good Shepherd, and Smokin' Aces. Also on deck for release this year are such highly anticipated catalog favorites as Bruce Almighty; The Bourne Identity; Meet The Fockers; American Pie; Inside Man; Pride & Prejudice; The Big Lebowski; Liar Liar; Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels; Brazil; Erin Brockovich; Shaun of the Dead; Dawn of the Dead; Slap Shot; and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Jan 28 2007, 05:11 AM
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 01:48 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Jan 28 2007, 12:53 PM)
Give the thread starter some credit, Bluray > HDDVD. Rejoice.

I forgot to add, we can all now have some quality HD content on our LIBRARY (harddisk) from u know where.  tongue.gif
i am giving him the credit lah .. he started the thread so that people can fight in it .. so i entertain him lah laugh.gif laugh.gif

I know where our HD Library is whistling.gif whistling.gif
g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 02:43 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 28 2007, 02:32 PM)
Oiii, more entertainment value please, all these article quoting posts are like a boring RTM newscaster. More mudslinging, more fire and pitchforks! rclxms.gif
i know you will like them drool.gif

g5sim
post Jan 28 2007, 03:10 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 28 2007, 02:58 PM)
Yup, the HD-DVD side "fired" the salvo already with that article. Waiting for the Bluray people to counter-strike! If nobody, then i'll be the devil's advocate and go Bluray for a while before turning neutral again. laugh.gif
fire rock lah you laugh.gif

Added on February 2, 2007, 4:29 amon behalf of stringfellow: laugh.gif well, the so called researcher's name is Bottoms. What else can I say !

Researcher Sees Blu-ray Victory

http://homemediaretailing.com/news/html/br...rticle_id=10208

Understanding & Solutions is keeping a close watch on the launches of both high-definition formats, HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc. While it's a little early to call a winner, Blu-ray has the strongest possibility to dominate the market quickly, thanks mostly to the PlayStation 3, according to the company. Home Media Magazine talked to co-founder Jim Bottoms about what his firm sees for the future of the high-definition formats.

HM: What kind of hardware adoption should we expect to see as the year progresses, now that there are several different hardware options for both formats, including the PS3?

Bottoms: Top line, we reckon something like a million players were shipped through into consumers' homes in 2006, including gaming formats. Of that 1 million, about 750,000 were PS3. It's been our contention all along that both formats would almost be neck and neck, with Blu-ray having stronger industry support on the hardware side and content side and HD DVD getting out first and having lower price points. Each group has got its advantages, but what really changes the picture is PS3. It is poised to be in virtually 25 million to 35 million homes in the next two to three years.

HM: So it could be an all Blu-ray high-def market in just a couple of years?

Bottoms: I would be absolutely amazed if the format war goes on much further than mid-2008. If you look at what happened in 2006, 80% of what has sold through is Blu-ray. In 2007, [Blu-ray] will be at least that percentage again, but it won't be a million players we're talking about. We're probably looking at something like 8 million units selling through this year across all product types and formats, so by the end of 2007, moving into 2008, it's possible that 5% or 6% of U.S. homes will be owning a high-definition playback device. And about 80% of those devices will be Blu-ray.

HM: Will Sony be able to keep up the manufacturing to hit that 25 million to 35 million PS3 target over the next couple of years?

Bottoms: Well, that's the question, isn't it? But if you look at PS2 and [the original PlayStation], that's the kind of volume those systems saw.

HM: The higher price of the PS3 compared to those previous players doesn't seem to be a stumbling block. Is that because it seems like a value to get the Blu-ray capability as well as the gaming system?

Bottoms: The thing is, at this early stage, we are selling to the enthusiast. The people who are driving high-definition, be it on players or PS3, are people who have been waiting for years, who have spent $5,000 or $6,000 bucks on a TV. It almost doesn't matter. It will matter in two or three years as it moves into a mass-market product. With standard-definition DVD, players were available for about two years before the PS2. The early adopter already had adopted their video player. Then along comes a gaming player that was also a video console, but it was a more expensive entry point. There was a penalty for it. This time around effectively PS3 is the first Blu-ray player available, and by the way, it comes in at $600, and -when to buy a Blu-ray video-only player was $1,000 or $800 - it actually became for someone who wants a Blu-ray player a very compelling purchase. And, by all accounts, PS3 is a much better Blu-ray player than the PS2 was a DVD player.

HM: Are software buy rates for Blu-ray movies bearing out the theory that people would see the PS3 as more than just a gaming device?

Bottoms: More than 70% of people buying a PS3 have a strong interest in acquiring movies for it. Until the PS3 was launched, software sales were probably three to one in HD DVD's favor, but once the PS3 came out, the pendulum swung dramatically. Volume per title grew something like 700%. By the end of the year, most of the top selling high-definition titles will be Blu-ray discs.

HM: Do you think high definition will reach mass market in two to three years, and do you mean that as in pricing or as in the kind of consumers who are buying high-def hardware and software?

Bottoms: Both. We believe that you will see Blu-ray players at around $400 by the end of this year and HD DVD about $300. In the United States, it has to be less than $200 for mass appeal and less than $100 for an impulse purchase, but that will happen quickly. Going into [2008], I will sit and eat one of our reports if we haven't seen an HD DVD player for less than $200. Crudely, it costs about $100 more to make, at volume, a high-definition player than it does to make a standard definition player. Of course, those numbers are at volume and [the electronics companies] are not at that manufacturing volume yet.

HM: Does that mean that both formats could possibly exist simultaneously for some years to come if HD DVD companies dig in their heels?

Bottoms: We believe by the end of the year, we will see one format start to dominate. At the moment all the cards are stacked in favor of Blu-ray coming out on top. In reality, the only companies holding on to HD DVD are Toshiba and Universal and, yes, it will be a difficult pill for them to swallow to switch to Blu-ray. But it was a difficult pill for Sony to swallow when they had to start making VHS machines [after Betamax failed]. It will probably be easier for Universal because they don't have any real financial incentive to keep HD DVD going. Toshiba has got a strong vested interest in prolonging the life of the DVD format, and that's what HD DVD is all about. It's basically extending the DVD format as long as you can take it.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 2 2007, 04:29 AM
g5sim
post Feb 3 2007, 02:22 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 02:16 AM)
If you recall your Video Game History 101, the PS2 too was bought during its first initial launch for its DVD playing capabilities. It's most bought after software? The DVD movie The Matrix. Are you saying history is about to repeat itself with that comment of yours? whistling.gif

Just because it plays movies well, doesnt mean the games arent coming. PS2 proves that to the naysayers last time, killing Dreamcast along with it.
yeah matrix .. coming soon to HD DVD *only* soon .. loving Warner !! Why? Blu-ray's $1000 interativity debacle ... no interactivity, no Matrix for Blu-ray .. atleast not yet cool2.gif
g5sim
post Feb 3 2007, 05:42 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 02:26 AM)
Java 1.1 coming soon, my friend. Until Warner actually announces any speck of information on releases of the Matrix trilogy discs, they remain neutral, as in support for both formats.

But since we're playing the movie-support-what-format-game, .........Star Wars Hexalogy, on Bluray ONLY, while the HD-DVD folks are clamoring for petitions to plead 20th CEntury Fox to come over to HD-DVD via PetitionOnline laugh.gif. The End.

Added on February 3, 2007, 2:43 amJust to add salt to the wound as well, out of curiosity, try Google the title for the highest sellind DVD title of all time, and see what you get. If the record still holds, and i believe with the number it had made, it would be about a little clown fish living on the reef with his clown fish dad. And guess what? Bluray EXCLUSIVE , baby!. That if you want to go by the numbers and by past history.

If you wanna go with the present and the foreseeable future, what exclusives again Universal is holding against the Disneys (Pixars, Pirates), Sony Columbia Tristar (Spider-Mans), Fox (Star Wars Hexalogy), just to name a few.
LMAO .. you are assuming studio exclusivity is here to stay ... wait till the Chinese beat the Japanese CE kings in HD DVD players development and flood the US market with $199 and $299 players .. then tell me about studio exclusivity.

Disney loves HDi. Warner france has already put the month and specs for Matrix, 1-3 and all the Harry Porter films. Guess what - all the titles are with HDi - In Movie Experience feature. The only reason these titles do not have the same release date for Blu-ray is because of that - IME feature. In fact warner only gave the date for HD DVD of ALL their planned releases with IME feature. The rest of the titles have the same release date for both HD DVD and Blu-ray. Twice as expensive but have the same level of interactivity as standard DVDs - how embarassing ..

anyhow, i prefer FunTastic4 then Spidey. But HD DVD players unconvert VERY near to some Blu-ray PQ anyway. oh maybe PS3 price will drop further in the coming months to like $199. I will definitely get one to watch FunTastic4, XMen, and few other fun FOX movies .... oh maybe not .. WHY .. studio exclusivity my bottom .. see below laugh.gif laugh.gif

wait isnt Underworld a Sony Picture Entertainment movie? laugh.gif

Video: 2.35:1 1080p High Definition
Audio: Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 English
Subtitles: English, Spanish Castellano

wait there is more, the extra feature are even more then the Blu-ray counterpart .. LMAO LMAO LMAO LMAO whistling.gif

Added on February 3, 2007, 5:50 amOfficial site of Underworld at Sony Pictures ..

http://www.sonypictures.com/homevideo/cata...3396153813.html

exclusivity .. laugh.gif laugh.gif oh HD DVDs are region free... tongue.gif

Features Blu-ray = 8, HD DVD = 16. Isnt Blu-ray can fit 50GB vs HD DVD's 30GB only. Again how embarassing. laugh.gif

Blu-ray features:

1. Director's Commentary
2. Music Video: "Her Portrait in Black" by Atreyu
3. Original Featurette: Bloodlines: From Script To Screen
4. Original Featurette: Building a Saga
5. Original Featurette: Making Monsters Roar
6. Original Featurette: Music and Mayhem
7. Original Featurette: The Hybrid Theory
8. Original Featurette: The War Rages On

HD DVD features:

1. Audio Commentary with director Len Wiseman
2. Image Gallery
3. Biographies/Filmographies
4. Photo Gallery
5. Trailer
6. TV Spots
7. Featurette (6 min)
8. "Imágenes de rodaje" (15 min)
9. Interviews (12 min)
10. Making of (13 min)
11. Making of: Special Effects (13 min)
12. Making of: Making Monsters Roar (12 min)
13. Making of: "Especialistas" (10 min)
14. Making of: Production Design (13 min)
15. Making of: Music and Sound (12 min)
16. Unspecified Video Clip (4 min)

Dont hate me please .. thank you rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 3 2007, 05:50 AM
g5sim
post Feb 3 2007, 01:35 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 12:09 PM)
Ahahahah, the HD-DVD camp jumping up and down over a movie like "Underworld"? You can quote me this, as well as to the bank that "you will never see the big hitters go to the opposite camp". Something as trivial as "Underworld" may slip past conventional film studio segragation outside of MPAA jurisdiction in countries like Spain, but i dont see Spain being the main consumer of all things next-gen discs, do you? The battle will be decided in the land of Uncle Sam, provided the pirates didnt get to them first.

You still hadnt addressed the fact that Bluray b****slapped HD-DVD in sales 3 to1 in the latest Nielsen Videoscan data culling.

Bluray's studio numbers advantage is slowly rearing its beautiful head,while the HD-DVD camp rejoice for victory over trickling oftitlesonce thought exclusive toBluray,then coming over to their side....how sad! laugh.gif  While HD-DVD could scamper on with titles like "Underworld" to giggle over, try facing against the volume of 5 studios against its own 1. Disney may love HDi and gogaga over HD-DVD's IME features, but once Java 1.1 comes to fruition, there is no turning back. It is just a matter of time,and once time hits summer 2007,and all the pieces of the big picture falls into place, i'd say even Disney's offering alone could demolish HD-DVD's frail grasps on living past that point in time.
i was merely trying to proof that BD strongest marketing point - studio exclusivity is nothing but ******* ... We might even see Disney titles showing up in Europe. By the way - for your information, anyone from USA can purchase titles from Europe, Australia, Japan, India even africa cuxz unlike Blu-ray - HD DVD is not region coded.

"once" Java 1.1 .. i love the use of future tense in BD when the products are already in the market. Consumers pay $1,000 so that they can waste half a year to get BDA to ready Java in June 2007. When the HD DVD counter paid $500 and enjoy amazing interactivity from day one of purchase. Great! .. long live Blu-ray.

on the 2-1 sales of Blu-ray, you have checked the news havent you. Try reading the videoscan data instead reading third hand information interpreted by god knows who. But no worries, like you, i was misleaded by BDA web propaganda machines. below are are better representations of the Videoscan data. It represent the total sales of HD DVD vs Blu-ray till 7th, 14th and 21th Jan 2007. As you can see clearly, where is Blu-ray outselling HD DVD 2-1? The information you is merely the % of weekly sales of Blu-ray vs HD DVD titles in which 100% can be representing ONLY 100, 1,000, 5,000 or 10,000 total disk sales. Now every Blu-ray fan boys should be worry. With <>700,000 Blu-ray players sold vs HD DVD's mere 200,000 figure, HD DVD's total disk sale is STILL MORE than Blu-ray.

Oh one more thing, rumour has it tongue.gif , the 28th Jan 2007 weekly sales data will show HD DVD leading Blu-ray. The Blu-ray fan boys at AVS whom earlier embracing the Videoscan data are already backtracking from taking the Videoscan data whole heartedly .. hell that was funny laugh.gif

Added on February 3, 2007, 1:42 pmoh one more thing, if you check the graph closely, HD DVD is actually distancing itself from Blu--ray in 21 jan as compared to the 7th Jan figure. 7th Jan (54%-46%=8%) but in 21th (55%-45%=10%). And the fanboys are sooo excited about the figure for ? tongue.gif

Don't hate me because i present rasional facts... please ! I love you all !

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 3 2007, 01:42 PM
g5sim
post Feb 4 2007, 03:07 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 3 2007, 07:30 PM)
Interesting point there g5sim,from that point of view, Bluray has a lot of catching up to do. Now this is what the threads needs,more graphs and numbers, than someone deftly and baitingly pretend to be sad for the PS3 as a media player. whistling.gif

Actually Blu-ray can catch up easily if they do it right (the problem with them is that they screwed up ALOT MORE than HD DVD  laugh.gif  laugh.gif ) they have several exclusive studios that will be pumping out contents. I am sure they will catch up. Just dunno when tongue.gif ..

On one side, we have IME/U-Control which i absolutely love and adore, and on the other side, the movie titles that i most probably want, that most probably will appear only on one format, unless Warner's TotalHD format takes off. When push comes to shove, I think i'll take the movies over the special features/extras although time will tell if this gen's HD format will provide immersive interactive experience with its extras. Question is, will the solitary case of "Underworld Evolution" happens to flagship titles like "Finding Nemo", " Spider-Man 2" or "Star Wars Episode III"? You be the judge. wink.gif

On THD - if the price is right maybe. Its not fair to get consumers to buy both format unless the price is the same as either format tongue.gif .. See i am kind to consumers such as you ..  wink.gif

Underworld Evolution is not the only BD exclusive that is released in HD DVD in other parts of the world. Guess HD DVD played it cleverly but not doing region coding. Will update you on a list of "BD exclusive" titles that are also in HD DVD. I am actually trying to play down the studio exclusivity hype that is overwhelming at times tongue.gif .. 

And on Disney, I dont think they are would be that big in hidef. Disney is big in cinema and dvd because parents bring their children to watch the movie. They buy the movies for their children. And frankly i dont see the need for parents to buy hidef disks for their children. I would say, Liongs Gate, Sony Pictures and FOX would have more influence than Disney in Blu-ray title sale. Dont you agree?

And on the interactivity thingy, BD really need to get the thing finalised as scheduled (June 2007). So are audio codec and format compability issues. It is causing major shame to high end CE such as Pioneer. They are basically embarrased themselves by putting a expensive $1,500 HIGH END Hidef player (the Blu-ray Elite Player) that not only  cant do interactivity (which is more excusable), on top of that, the player cant play CD, with NO advance audio support for Dolby Digital + and TruHD nor DTS-HD and HD Master. The audio is basically "at the same level" as RM299 regular Pensonic DVD player!!

Read those in Red .. thankies smile.gif

Added on February 4, 2007, 3:30 amand for those who still believe that Blu-ray is not Sony and that its a consortium of CEs? Sorry to inform you that you have been fooled. See below. Its a screenshot of Pioneer's Official Blu-ray Elite Player brochure that can be found here:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pio/pe/i...5254BDP-HD1.pdf

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 4 2007, 03:30 AM
g5sim
post Feb 4 2007, 09:26 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 4 2007, 07:27 AM)
Alamak,,,I already ordered few of B_-Ray disks from amazon, as I plan to buy the PS3 this month, especially for movie viewing..but after reading this thread..i guess ...I need to buy the external HD-DVD player for my 360 too.....sghhhhh
huh? why?
g5sim
post Feb 5 2007, 03:01 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Feb 5 2007, 02:07 AM)
hahahaha...i think im getting both ps3 and external dvd player for 360 this month.. been hearing lots of good thing about HD movies..as my new 42" Sharp G7 will be delivered today, as this model support 1080p resolution for both PS3 and xbox 360 (eventhough it's connected through component input)....

* teh tarik..anytime will do...but preferable weekendlah at DJinn place..how about during the release of Forza ....
oh yalor .. delivering on monday .. i saw the lcd bulk sale thread tongue.gif

A question to G5sim, since you frequent AVSForums too......what's going on in the HD-DVD section of the forum? Seems like they are running around all panicky like headless chickens!

lol .. no .. not yet laugh.gif .. i find there are more rasional people on the HD DVD thread than the Blu-ray thread. The HD DVD boys are very good in rasionalising on everything. The reason the more sales of Blu-ray vs HD DVD as there were not many titles on HD DVD and that almost all of the HD DVD owners have already own their desired titles. There were also less new HD DVD owners as the the gen1 players are mostly sold out and there werent any new players until mid December. No new owners - no movie sales. smile.gif THe HD DVD threads are much more active than the Blu-ray threads ... (constant trolling from BD fan boys on the HD DVD thread might contribute to that too)

actually on the Videoscan data issue .. there are SERIOUS backpeddling by BD fan boys. all the 2-1 and 3-1 sales of Blu-ray against HD DVD during the week of January where these fanboys boasted about how the PS3 sales had contributed to that .. Now it appears that the the first two weeks of the date did not include the sales on the HD DVD/Standard DVD combo .. laugh.gif . you really should stop by and read some of threads, they are damnnnn funny .. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

If Disney is not on of the main proponent in bluray, why are they (BDA) hyping up Disney's announcement at CES about this summer releases of their blockbuster titles?

Because BDA prelaunch hypes have all been muted. They now have only supports. The sale players by intimidating consumers, telling them, "yeah please do go and buy HD DVD! but hold your breath on seeing our thousands of exclusive titles" .. tongue.gif All BD perceived advantages of the higher bit rate, bigger storage, 1080p are now muted. HD DVD players have consistently produced on par PQ if not better , better interactivity, amazing advance audio support, at half the price at lower bit rate, lower storage and in some intance, only at 1080i. Some HD DVD titles have even more features compared to the BD counter part when BD supposedly have a larger storage capasity.

Let me sumarise the advantages of Blu-ray on stages:

Pre HD DVD/Blu-ray launch - Prior to April 2006

BD is an advance alien technology that beats the crap out of the mere earth technology of HD DVD. Blu-ray was more advance is EVERY technological sense. Blu-ray has the support of everybody. and they are fighting against a Japanese CE black sheep - Toshiba. Microsoft was not even with HD DVD at that stage.

The General consensus during this stage was that. HD DVD will die in Toshiba womb. The format wont even develope into the fetus stage.

1080p
50GB
Higher Bit rate
Support
Better PQ/AQ (with all the higher spec - presumably BD will have better PQ/AQ)
More expensive (purchasers can brag that they have money to spend on the players) tongue.gif

Post HD DVD launch - April - June 2006

Early adopters revealed the jaw dropping amazing PQ of HD DVD albeit complaining about the slow start up, loading and other stuffs relating to first gen players.

The general consensus during this stage was - Blu-ray will wipe HD DVD of the face of the world like Iran swear they would do to the Jewish state of Israel, when Blu-ray is launch. Everybody was eagerly waiting for the launch of Blu-ray

1080p
50GB
Higher Bit rate
Support
Better PQ/AQ (with all the higher spec - presumably BD will have better PQ/AQ)
More expensive (purchasers can brag that they have money to spend on the players) tongue.gif

Post Blu-ray launch - From June 2006

The early adopters flew two tiny planes and dropped Fat Man and Little Boy on the Blu-ray camp. Samsung's player were slaughtered. Sony Pictures' early releases were scorned. Their Fifth Element has been renamed The Filth Element. Early adopters jumped on the HD DVD wagon because of that with HD DVD see a jump in their player sales.

(1080p advantage muted because HD DVD 1080i PQ surpassed Blu-ray 1080p)
50GB
(Higher Bit rate advantage muted because HD DVD PQ surpassed Blu-ray)
Support
(Better PQ/AQ - Muted because of the muted advantages mentioned above)

Post Panasonic and 50GB title launch

BD- detonated a grenade on its one camp by releasing Click on 50GB double layer disks. The release did nothing but dispel the myth that 50GB would help in improving PQ/AQ of Blu-ray.

(1080p advantage muted because HD DVD 1080i PQ surpassed Blu-ray 1080p)
(50GB advantage muted)
(Higher Bit rate advantage muted because HD DVD PQ surpassed Blu-ray)
Support
(Better PQ/AQ - Muted because of the muted advantages mentioned above)
(More expensive - no more an advantage - they are kinda rediculed for being you know .. paying 1/2 more for players that perform the same and with less feature rclxub.gif

sumary

The current advantage of Blu-ray = Support. They need to justified the 2x price tag with support. Where we all know that support do not interfere with production cost cool.gif cool.gif

News flash, adult video producer, Vivid production house, the only adult studio that would produce adult titles in Blu-ray (north america), revealed that the authoring cost for Blu-ray is 4x more than HD DVD. The replication cost for Blu-ray is 3x more than HD DVD. Which make many believe that if HD DVD dies early in the format war, BDA would stop the subsidy for Blu-ray movie = meaning end consumers will have to pay more.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 5 2007, 04:01 AM
g5sim
post Feb 5 2007, 12:10 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 11:28 AM)
Care to post some links? I'd like to see where the more rational HD-DVDs folks reside in their section, and which thread shows the backpedalling of BD people. Maybe i skimmed through the first pages of HD-DVD, but last i left there, there were whinings about how HD-DVD not pushing out their titles more compared to the influx of numerous BD titles coming now. Also some kind of petition to Warner about the conspiracy theory of them wanting to maintain their neutrality and launching their titles on both HD-DVD and Bluray, but Bluray hitting snags on the development of BDJ and that delayed the HD-DVD title releases as well. Links, please?
that is one of them actually. HD DVD supporters prefer to better HD DVD. They want better players. See the constant complaint about bugs which were recorded and relayed to Toshiba by a HD DVD major retailer and by one of the big boy at Microsoft. The complaint about the fewer title announcement is also to better HD DVD, to let studios know that they are not happy. Lets face it, HD DVD group and supporters do not announce the death of the other format. They do not constantly having party to celebrate HD DVD's funeral. BD supporters should do not same to better Blu-ray and yet, they are defending the weakness of Blu-ray. Basically i think HD DVD supporters are doing more (by ways of critical evaluation of blu-ray) to better Blu-ray then Blu-ray supporters/apologists tongue.gif

Added on February 5, 2007, 12:11 pmand oh by the way, the gen 2 Toshiba players are selling at $365.88 in the states right now .. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Feb 5 2007, 12:11 PM
g5sim
post Feb 5 2007, 02:56 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 12:14 PM)
Links please?
please be specific - link for what? you said you saw hd dvd supporters complaining about the lack of content. smile.gif
g5sim
post Feb 6 2007, 03:44 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Feb 5 2007, 03:13 PM)
Links for that, especially the threads where the more rational HD-DVD folks are hanging out.
oh go to : http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/index.php? . The rational HD DVD supporters can be found in Blu-ray & HD DVD Areas in the HD DVD Players and HD DVD Softare threads.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:43 PM