43 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 11:51 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nightglimmer96 @ Aug 18 2016, 10:58 AM)
Hi, I want to ask for suggestions for my first build.

[Budget]
Rm2500-3000 (can top up if needed)

[Purpose]
From most resource demanding to least:
Gaming (Medium to high at 1080p)
Playing media files
Web browsing

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Monitor
Keyboard

[Monitor resolution]
1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Strategy games such as the Civilization series and Paradox games, sometimes RPG games like the AC series.
[Personal preferences]
None

[Location]
Kuching
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 835
Gigabyte H110M-DS2 (D4) - RM 276
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 145
PowerColor RX 470 4GB GDDR5 Red Devil - RM 899
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 165
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 2916 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Alternative GPU:
1. Palit GTX1060 6GB VRAM - RM 1249
2. RX 470 with 8GB VRAM - add RM 150+/-
3. RX 480 with 8GB VRAM - add RM 450+/-
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 11:56 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zellix @ Aug 18 2016, 11:16 AM)
i dont know if this is the right place to ask.

asus h81m-d or asus h81m-c?
what is the different?
You get an extra PCI slot and few USB slots/headers on Asus H81M-C.
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 12:25 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zellix @ Aug 18 2016, 12:09 PM)
okay. im going with these:

i3 4170
asus h81m-c
hyper fury ddr3 1600mhz 8gb
bitfenix nova
seagate barracuda hdd 1tb
asus gtx550 Ti ( maybe will upgrade to gtx750Ti 2gbd5 )

is this build good ?
really tight budget for now.
What's your budget? 1.5k?
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 02:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wooimin22 @ Aug 18 2016, 01:39 PM)
Hi guys,

I have been having a Dell Studio XPS 7100 "gaming desktop" for about 6 years now running on AMD Phenom II X6 1055T CPU and Radeon HD 5870 GPU. It is still doing good till today but sometimes the temperature is very high that I have to remove the side panel for it to cool off a little bit but this will invite a lot of dust in the system. This desktop only has 1 rear fan and the space inside the case is compact.

I am thinking to get a new casing and transfer everything there.

Can you suggest a decent casing with good airflow? I'm not sure if the Dell mobo and power supply will fit in the new case but I'm ready to replace them both at a budget. So could you please suggest a mobo and power supply as well? I'm looking at a budget of below 1k and of coz the lower is better. My usage is pretty much light gaming but more on movies and surfing Internet.

I'm sorry if I didn't follow the template as I'm not sure how to fill it in with my special query lol.

Thanks in advance!
Just get a standard ATX case like Tecware Alpha (around RM 200) which comes with 3 casing fans and you are good to go, no need to change mobo or PSU if everything remains the same.

QUOTE(zellix @ Aug 18 2016, 02:09 PM)
remove the gpu, my budget rm1200

+ i already had psu
You can get 6th gen Intel Core i3 with 1.2k budget.

Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 437
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 205
Bitfenix Nova - RM 149

Total: RM 1212 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 05:59 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Aug 18 2016, 04:47 PM)
Note that TechView will install windows 10 for u  biggrin.gif
Full version or just trial?

If full version, Home/Pro/Enterprise?
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 09:53 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(absolut @ Aug 18 2016, 06:40 PM)
Hi Terence

The build list seems pretty much in line with what I've in mind for a gaming rig that can last for at least 2 or 3 years. Perhaps I'd drop the RAM to 8GB.

I've a question on the GPU - I'm assuming performance & price wise GTX1060>RX480>RX470 (correct me if I'm wrong). Plus there's talk of potential release of GTX1050?

Based on their prices in Malaysia right now, which one do you think has the:
1) 'Best' bang-for-the-buck (Performance/RM, e.g. i5-6500); and
2) 'Longevity' (potentially last for at least 2 years)?

I'm leaning towards the RX470 now considering my immediate want is to play BF4/BF1 @1080p, no point paying extra for prettier eye-candy.
i5 6500 and GTX1060 Palit Dual Fan model combo is holding the best performance/price ratio currently, can be built at slightly over 3k only, it should be able to last for at least 2 years, just use the GTX970 as reference, it is almost 2 years old already and it is currently the most popular GPU on Steam platform.

RX470 is having extremely similar (or close) performance to RX480, but the pricing of this card is not that "value for money" when it compares to other cards, Sapphire Nitro+, XFX GTR and PowerColor Red Devil 8GB model all cost more than 1.1k.
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 10:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(misterwinston @ Aug 18 2016, 07:10 PM)
[B][Budget]RM 3K (which can let me play all the games in the next 3 years)

[Purpose]GAMING and CAD

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Keyboard and speaker

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently]AAA game and CAD software such as Autocad, Solidwork, Catia.

[Personal preferences] include SSD. any brand

[Location]Seremban

Intel Core i5 6402P - RM 707
PowerColor RX 470 4GB GDDR5 Red Devil - RM 899
Kingston SSDNow UV400 120GB SSD - RM 165
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 188
Tecware F3 - RM 125
BenQ GW2270 - RM 379

Total: RM 3093 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Whether it can last for 3 years or not, nobody can give you a guaranteed answer, it should be fine provided you aren't too picky on the graphics settings that this rig can handle.
terence_nwb
post Aug 18 2016, 10:17 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(chubbyqq @ Aug 18 2016, 10:05 PM)
ori but last until feb 2017 after checked from cmd prompt. I changed the product key to ori  cool2.gif  thanks for the info
So which command did you use?

slmgr /xpr?

If yes and the key is genuine (without having to recheck or reactivate in XX days) then it should show "This machine is permanently activated".

Remember to log into your Microsoft account to tie/link the genuine key with your account (only available with Anniversary update version 1607).
terence_nwb
post Aug 19 2016, 08:32 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Aug 18 2016, 11:14 PM)
just a little question. I'm building a rig for a friend. I'm wondering if I should go for FSP Hexa+ or M12ii/S12ii since S12ii is a tier 2 but it almost double the price.
If budget allows, then getting a better PSU is always recommended.

terence_nwb
post Aug 19 2016, 10:41 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(DesktopLimousine @ Aug 19 2016, 10:24 AM)
What do u mean by last for 3 years 🤔
The OP stated:

[Budget]RM 3K (which can let me play all the games in the next 3 years)

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Aug 19 2016, 10:42 AM
terence_nwb
post Aug 19 2016, 12:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(zellix @ Aug 19 2016, 11:56 AM)
someone know where i can post about my signature? another person got scammed now. pls this scammer should die.
You can post in Garage Sales Helpdesk.

GS Helpdesk > Resource Center > Scammer List or GS Helpdesk > Dispute Corner.
terence_nwb
post Aug 19 2016, 03:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(joeyzasa @ Aug 19 2016, 02:24 PM)
Hello all, I need a recommendation for work/gaming pc and a monitor. My budget is around 7 to 7.5k with monitor. Main purpose is to learn some programming, gaming/movies. Thanks in advance smile.gif
Budget is too healthy for the general term "gaming", there are many "gaming" definitions out there, for example, casual gaming which doesn't involve any graphics demanding games, MOBO like Dota 2/LoL etc, triple A titles (settings to run), ultrawide/triple screen racing game league etc.

Please elaborate more on what games you gonna play and the resolution you are looking to get, if possible, please state a specific acceptable price range for the monitor as well because some people will panic when I recommend them a monitor with price tag > 1k laugh.gif

terence_nwb
post Aug 19 2016, 04:52 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(joeyzasa @ Aug 19 2016, 03:29 PM)
I want to play games such as DOOM, skyrim, dark soul, witcher 3 smoothly. I was considering this specs:

but decided to cut the budget to half.
Intel Core i7 6700 - RM 1289
Gigabyte H170-HD3 (D4) - RM 446
Kingston 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 290
Palit GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Gamerock - RM 2099
Samsung 750 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 315
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Corsair Carbide 400C - RM 485
Acer Predator XB241H - RM 1899

Total: RM 7441 (ETech price inclusive of GST)
terence_nwb
post Aug 20 2016, 03:36 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wongtk @ Aug 20 2016, 01:08 PM)
Hi Sifu,
Recently won bid for demo allienware x51 for 3k. Worth it?

DEscriptION 
Alienware X51 R2
Processor 
Intel Core i7-4790@3.6Ghz
Operating System
Windows 7 Professional
Graphics 
Nvidia Geforce 760Ti
Webcam 
-
Memory 
8GB DDR3
Storage 
2TB HDD
Optical Drive
DVDRW Drive
Audio 
Realtek ALC887 7.1 Alienware Channel Surround
Battery 
-
Display 
-
Weight 
5.4Kg
Color 
Black
I/O (Input/Output) Ports
1xHDMI, 2x 2.0USB port, 4x 3.0 USB port, RJ45, audio line-out (back surround), audio line-out (center/subwoofer), audio line-out (front surround), audio line-out (side surround)
WLAN 
802.11b/g/n, Dell Wireless 1506
Not so worth, 3k can get a better GPU.
terence_nwb
post Aug 20 2016, 06:01 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wongtk @ Aug 20 2016, 04:01 PM)
Thanks bro. Such as what GPU? More  than 2gb?
QUOTE(wongtk @ Aug 20 2016, 04:49 PM)
Is this allienware rig able to handle AAA games with sacrifices of high setting?
There are many Alienware rig out there and the "Alienware" tag makes it expensive sweat.gif

Custom build will be more valuable in overall so if you really want to compare a 3k custom build rig and a 3k Alienware rig, the custom build rig will easily beat it.

3k budget can get i5 + RX470 (4GB/8GB) or GTX1060 (6GB) at min top up. GTX760Ti is a very aged OEM GPU, I don't recommend you to spend 3k on this rig anymore since you can get a much better specs by going for custom build path.
terence_nwb
post Aug 20 2016, 11:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(wongtk @ Aug 20 2016, 07:49 PM)
Thanks for your advise. I was struggling of getting one "branded" rig since I never have one before. But come to reality and your kind advise has stopped me to pursue this unrealistic rig. I was tempted over the CPU is i7-4790. Also this rig used it less than a year.

Anyway, I will go those custom rig instead instead of branded rig  thumbup.gif
Well you don't need an i7 when your budget is below 3k since the budget won't be able to fit a super high end GPU that requires an i7 to power it.

Skylake i5 is more suitable for 3k - 4k rig nod.gif

QUOTE(Darksorrow3010 @ Aug 20 2016, 08:12 PM)
VX2363MHL vs EW2440ZH pros and cons pls?

anyone can confirm whether those two have glossy or matte surface?
IPS vs VA, the difference is obvious but less obvious when comparing IPS vs TN though.

Not sure about screen surface, please check review online.

QUOTE(farisanaa @ Aug 20 2016, 08:51 PM)
Hi , I want to ask what graphic card should I upgrade to replace for my current graphic card.
Budget : RM 500-RM 700

Purpose: Upgrading Graphic Card (Sapphire Radeon HD7770 1GB GDDR5)

Hardware that will be re-use :
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-3470 Processor (3rd Gen)
Motherboard: MSI Z77MA-G43
Memory:HyperX Fury 8GB DDR3
Hard Disk Drive: Western Digital 1TB Hard disk Drive
Power Supply Unit: Cooler Master Elite VER.2 Power 550W PSU Power Supply

Games & softwares that use frequently:Mostly Battlefield , Photoshop , AutoCad,Vray , google Skethcup

My Current Screen resolution : 1440x900 but will upgrade it when getting a new graphic card
and also how much can Sapphire Radeon HD7770 1GB GDDR5 be sell for  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Thank You smile.gif
Probably worth RM 250+/- (more or less), it is equivalent to R7 260/R7 360 (average performance).

RM 700 can get GTX950/RX460, RX460 is slower than GTX950 in overall but comes with 4GB VRAM and runs on Polaris architecture, if you add in the funds that you can get from selling off your current card, then you can get RX470 4GB, it is around RM 900 for PowerColor Red Devil version.
terence_nwb
post Aug 21 2016, 01:49 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(monkeyjumbo @ Aug 21 2016, 12:04 AM)
Hi Mr @terence_nwb
Could you suggest me a somewhat RM5K ITX 1070 build. No monitors needed atm.

Btw do you know of any ITX cases besides the Bitfenix Prodigy that does horizontal mobo orientation and a window is a plus smile.gif
Corsair Graphite 380T, Corsair Obsidian 250D.

Gigabyte H170N-WiFi - RM 516
Asus GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 Turbo - RM 2100
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 265
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Gold 550W - RM 409
Corsair Graphite 380T - RM 691

Total: RM 5170 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

The above build is using 380T as the casing (reference only, it can be changed to any case you like).

QUOTE(farisanaa @ Aug 21 2016, 02:14 AM)
Wow, thanks for the reply and advise ! is there anything else should i upgrade beside that ?
Others are fine.

If you want to go for a higher end GPU, then you are advised to change the PSU too, the max power output on 12V rails of your PSU is 384W only according to the specs sheet provided by CM, it is fine for GTX950/RX460/RX470, so just need to bear in mind that it is not a true power 550W and don't over-stress it with lots of power hungry components sweat.gif
terence_nwb
post Aug 22 2016, 09:53 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kennethooi91 @ Aug 22 2016, 09:25 AM)
Thanks bro! BUt do you think I can upgrade my existing rig? like changing graphic card and a higher SSD? Photo of my rig is as per above.
Thanks again bro!
The one with i5 3470? Of course you can, the i5 is still quite competitive, you can throw in an i7 3770 if needed, but I will prioritize the budget for other components first like a new GPU/SSD/PSU etc.

terence_nwb
post Aug 22 2016, 10:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Aug 22 2016, 05:23 PM)
Hi Guys,

It has been a long time since i ask here. Last time i was using gtx760, r9 280x and last year r7 380. With so much new card relase like gtx 9series, now 10xx series, amd rx series, i have no idea which one best for my budget. Which is about RM600-RM700.

Wish to play :

- Witcher 3
- Overwatch
- Tomb Raider (2016)
- Far Cry Primal

Thanks in advance.  smile.gif

PS:My current Rig as per my sig. Gaming at 1080p.
So you sold off your R9 380 already? Your budget cannot get anything that is better than your R9 380.

The best value GPU in terms of price/performance would be GTX950, around RM 600+.

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Aug 22 2016, 09:36 PM)
Hi sifu, I am here again asking for advice for my friend who needs a gaming desktop and need to see if I can get an updated build

[Budget] RM4k

[Purpose] For gaming like Evolve, Dragon Nest, StarCraft. Also a little bit of light video editing (Sony Vegas) as well

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Just need the rig itself (with the OS itself as well. which you recommend retail one or the OEM?). Mouse, keyboard and monitor, my friend has it already.

[Monitor resolution]

[Games & softwares that use frequently]

[Personal preferences] Would prefer NVIDIA build but I am also open to options of having an AMD build as well

[Location] Kuala Lumpur

Thanks!
Retail version of Windows OS is pricey, just go for OEM key if your friend doesn't have too much money for it.

Gigabyte B150M-D3H (D4) - RM 379
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDRR5 Dual Fan - RM 1249
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 265
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 209
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 339
Tecware Alpha - RM 199

Total: RM 3620 (ETech price inclusive of GST)

Left RM 400+/- for the OS, some people reported that some sellers (like ETech and Techview) will install the OS for you for free but I am not entirely sure on this, you can try to ask them for confirmation on this

Alternatively, you can look for Garage Sales for OS key but beware of counterfeit key.

To max out 4k budget without including the cost of the OS, you can either upgrade to i7 6700 or 16GB RAM or swap to another case etc.
terence_nwb
post Aug 22 2016, 11:40 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(crazydjrock @ Aug 22 2016, 10:34 PM)
Thank you so much, terrence. My only concern is, are there any other PSUs aside from this one? This is my first time hearing this brand actually, was wondering if there are any other alternatives only.

Thanks again!
Superflower is one of the best PSU manufacturers out there, so no worries on the quality.

Get Leadex Gold 550W at RM 409 if you aim for top tier PSU (tier 1), the low selling price makes it very worth to get now because usually we have to spend a lot in order to get a tier 1 PSU (typically > RM 600).

You can also look for Seasonic M12II EVO 520W/620W, price is around the same but it is a tier 2 PSU and rated with 80+ Bronze vs 80+ Silver/Gold on Superflower Leadex Silver/Gold.

43 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:32 AM