4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V12!

TristanX
post Jan 8 2017, 10:27 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 8 2017, 10:08 PM)
Guys, need a gaming rig spec for 4k max budget.

Including monitor 24 inch and 240gb ssd. Is it possible?
Yes, but with some sacrifices

Core i5-6402P - 790
Gigabyte B150M-HD3 - 379
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 - 239
Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB DDR5 - 1329
Transcend 220S 240GB SSD - 289 (from All IT Hypermarket)
Corsair VS or FSP Hexa+ 550W power supply - 199 (Viewnet)
Thermaltake Versa (pick your model) case - 169 (Jayacom)
Acer R241Y monitor - 649

RM4043 total (Mostly C-Zone prices)
TristanX
post Jan 8 2017, 10:43 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(casio17 @ Jan 8 2017, 10:32 PM)
If downgrade mobo to H version, is it good? Then can upgrade the case or add hdd.
Not recommended. Don't know whether if PCI Express 2.0 from H110M will bottleneck GTX1060 or not.
TristanX
post Jan 9 2017, 01:17 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Iconoclast @ Jan 8 2017, 11:08 PM)
Guys, I am planning to upgrade my PC specifically built for home entertainment to integrate with my AV Receiver. Kindly advice me on below specifics:

[Budget] RM1500 below

[Purpose] Streaming KODI in HD with Dolby Surround/Netflix in 4K

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Casing and Power Supply

[Monitor resolution] currently using LG 55UF770T 4KTV

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Mostly Netflix and KODI

[Personal preferences] none

[Location] Penang

Thanks!
i5 setup should do the trick just in case H.265 becomes popular.
https://www.reddit.com/r/htpc/comments/31gw...rk_results_for/

i5-4690 - 899
Gigabyte B85M-HD3A - 359
Corsair 8GB DDR3-1600 x1 - 239

Not too sure about how much you actually need for H.265 due to the bitrate though.
TristanX
post Jan 9 2017, 09:54 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Jan 9 2017, 08:40 AM)
Can but you don't need to do so though because the improvement is very small, it is not worth the money unless you go for Kaby Lake i5/i7.
Netflix 4K for PC requires Kaby Lake CPU and Microsoft Edge browser.

Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 870
Asus H110M-K - RM 259 (BIOS update is required to support Kaby Lake CPU)
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 239
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219 (Can remove if a new HDD is not needed)
PSU reuse
Casing reuse

Total: RM 1587 (E TECH price inclusive of GST)
Need to get more info for older chipset. Some features on newer CPU might not be available on older chipset. Especially lowest chipset.
TristanX
post Jan 10 2017, 04:12 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(AmmoShaf @ Jan 10 2017, 02:19 PM)
@TristanX @terence_nwb and other Sifus, someone plan to sell their rig, looking at the specs quite good. I need your opinion is worth to get it now at RM4.3k?

i7 4790k 4.0Ghz Processor
Asus Maximus Ranger VIII 1150 Motherboard
Corsair Vengeance Pro 8GB x 2 DDR3 Ram
Asus Strix GTX 980Ti OC
2 x WD Caviar Black 1TB HDD
Seasonic 860w XSeries Modular Gold
Corsair H90 Liquid CPU Cooler
Corsair Air 540 Casing
Acer XB240H 144mhz 1ms Monitor
New CPU and GTX 980 Ti already RM3200. Yeah, it is a good deal.
TristanX
post Jan 10 2017, 07:18 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(AmmoShaf @ Jan 10 2017, 05:15 PM)
Thanks Man.

He is a friend of mine that always change his things.

Btw, do you think the rig can sustain new games in next 2 or 3 years at least? And with the same 4k, it is impossible to get new pc with better performance right? And this is what I have now, will see the diff in performance?

CPU :Pentium G3240
MOBO: Asrock H81M-HDS
RAM : Gskill 4GB DDR3-1600 x1
GC : Sapphire R7 250 1GB DDR5
HDD: WD Blue 1TB hard disk
ODD : LG 24x RM59
AVF Case+ 500W PSU
Yup. That spec easily hits RM6k+.

You will be getting a huge jump in performance for sure. Don't forget to get SSD for OS.
TristanX
post Jan 13 2017, 08:28 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Jan 13 2017, 01:13 AM)
hmm guy. can I ask something ..
everything was fine if I turn on pc without graphic card.
Today I received my graphic gtx 1070, but once I plug in. Pc won't boot anymore.. Once I take out the GC and use integrated graphic (on board).. pc can boot up. What happen ?? any solution ><?
What is your PC spec and power supply? Also, make sure your display cable is connected to the graphic card.

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Jan 13 2017, 05:30 AM)
Sorry if offtopic. Which one is good, buying parts myself and assemble it or buy all parts at one shop let them assemble. If thats the case, any shops recommended? In terms of warranty claim etc. One more thing, I plan to build my pc with i7 7700k but using only cryorig m9i, is it enough to do the job? I dont intend to overclock the cpu though.
Entirely up to you. Depends on shop too.

Yes, i7-7700K is enough.

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Jan 13 2017, 07:04 AM)
Hi Im looking to upgrade my current PC.
I want to be able to play at 144hz (1080p only).

My current specs are: i5 3570K, Sabertooth Z77, GTX 670, RAM 12GB.
Depends on your monitor. 144hz doesn't come cheap. Also, to get 144 FPS+ is not easy with GTX670 for games these days.

TristanX
post Jan 13 2017, 09:57 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Jan 13 2017, 09:25 AM)
Hi TristanX, thank for reply me . I haf no idea what to do right now . should return my card  / i need test it more before return to shop .

My spec :-
i7-7700k
Maximus IX Formula
Asus gtx 1070 strix
Corsair RM850X

at first (wednesday) after assembly, I can boot my pc like normally (without GC)
and yesterday (thursday) after i received my card, I install it, connect my display cable from (motherboard > Graphic Card hdmi slot).. try to turn on. But can't working.

Graphic card got come out "1 white led above the 8pin power there"
once i turn on, beside white led beep x1 time red led... then go on... cant turn on..

Unplug it (take out my graphic card) .. connect my display cable to motherboard and try run it without graphic card. Everything was fine sad.gif

Any solutions ... please .... help me .. being crazy to solve this till 3am+ yesterday still can't figure out what going on...

Anything to do with BIOS Setting ? or ?
Did you connect pcie power to the graphic card?
TristanX
post Jan 13 2017, 12:23 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Jan 13 2017, 10:29 AM)
yup i connect it.. once i connect ... white led show up.
Press start button ... beside white led , red led show up beep x1 time..
whole system can't boot up.
Check all connectors and make sure nothing touches any metal. I have one USB touching the casing and it caused my pc not to boot. If nothing fixes it, very likely you need to send it to shop for checking.
TristanX
post Jan 13 2017, 09:00 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(xrain87 @ Jan 13 2017, 05:57 PM)
Brother TristanX thank you for help ~ Problem solve .. i check everything and change other PCI-E cable and plug/slot in into other PSU Slot. Solved it ..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
Read the psu manual. Some psu allows you to connect where you are not supposed to.
TristanX
post Jan 14 2017, 02:20 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Jan 14 2017, 12:34 AM)
I am in dilemma too. I draft a build, which has gtx1070 or gtx1080. The price difference between those two is around 860. Tight budget, but I can stretch it up to that 860. But do I really need 1080 as I dont think I will constantly playing high AAA games but if I take 1070 I think it such a 'waste' not taking 1080 with 860 topup lol help me with suggestions
Go for GTX 1070. It has higher performance per ringgit.
TristanX
post Jan 14 2017, 09:42 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jan 14 2017, 07:47 PM)
Hi all, i hope im posting this at correct thread. looking forward to sell some of my hw. can anyone give estimated how much i can get for item quoted below
Next i would like to proceed getting kabylake cpu.

i7 7700k
msi m270 g7
ram 16gb
m.2 ssd (if budget enough)

does this enough with 4k budget.
Core i7-7700K - 1601
Coolermaster Hyper 212X (i7 K series does not come with cooler) - 189
MSI Z270 Gaming M7 - 1328
Kingston 16GB DDR4-2133 x1 - 536
Transcend MTS800 256GB M.2 SSD - 466

C-Zone prices

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 15 2017, 12:18 AM
TristanX
post Jan 15 2017, 01:30 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Jan 14 2017, 10:44 PM)
Need a quotation for a friend here

[Budget] 3.5k-5k (Cheaper is better)

[Purpose] Workstation, Browsing

[Hardwares that will be re-use]  None

[Monitor resolution] 1080p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] 3D Software, Acad, PS, AI

[Personal preferences] Skylake proc, 16gb ram, for mobo I think can settle off with a B150, or have better option ?
How about these?

Core i7-6700 or i7-7700 - 1399/1429
Gigabyte B250M-D3H (4 RAM slots) - 449
Kingston 8GB x2 or 16GB DDR4-2133 x1 (might be slower due to single channel) - 536
Transcend 370 256GB SSD - 424
WD Blue 1TB HDD - 210
Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W - 429
Additional 12cm fan - 25
Thermaltake Versa (pick your model) case - 199

RM3671/3701 total (C-Zone prices)

Optional:
Gigabyte GTX 1050 2GB DDR5 (for CUDA) - +589
TristanX
post Jan 15 2017, 02:01 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Jan 15 2017, 01:46 AM)
Hi y'all, I'm thinking of building a mini pc using Cooler Master 110. Please give full suggestion for the hardwares that I need thanks.

[Budget] <RM2k

[Purpose] Gaming on 1080P on smallest PC, high graphic setting.

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 4GB DDR3 ram, 1TB Green HDD, 550W FSP Hexa PSU. MKB+Mouse.

[Monitor resolution]
- Will probably get ViewSonic VA2419-SH IPS - RM 495 1080P, if there's a better 1 pls give suggestion. Minimum 21.5".

[Games & softwares that use frequently] : Assassins Creed Series, Dying Light, Borderland series, Dark Souls 3, The Witcher series, Dirt series, common upcoming AAA games like Dishonored 2.

[Personal preferences] : RX460 2GB, I will upgrade to GTX1070 & 8gb Hyper X Ram in a few months. So expecting to be using same CPU for GTX1070. Will not overclock.
ITX and DDR3 is not easy to get. All DDR4 these days

Try

Core i5-7500 - 949
Asrock B150M-ITX (BIOS update required) - 379
Kingston 8GB HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 x1 - 299
Sapphire RX460 2GB DDR5 - 549
Coolermaster Elite 110 case - 169 (estimated)

RM2345 total (Viewnet prices)
TristanX
post Jan 15 2017, 09:25 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(akib_mullen @ Jan 15 2017, 07:57 AM)
Enough for 1440p 144hz gaming at high settings?
You won't get 100+ FPS but just good enough.
TristanX
post Jan 15 2017, 11:10 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Jan 15 2017, 10:36 AM)
well, i think need to avoid 200 series motherboard though, need to use windows 7 for the rig  sweat.gif , and do you think worth it to go for a 1060 instead of 1050/1050Ti if have extra money ?
Don't worry, it has drivers for Win7.

http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-p...spx?pid=6119#dl

Not too sure about graphic card processing though. I know its CPU > RAM > GPU for graphic design.
TristanX
post Jan 15 2017, 11:36 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Jan 15 2017, 11:22 AM)
Oh, i thought all of the 200 series doesn't support Windows 7  sweat.gif , she'll be using softwares such as 3D SketchUp, Lumion, etc. I think 1050Ti will do good
Up to you. You can try without graphic card first though. PSU can handle GTX 1050 Ti easily.
TristanX
post Jan 15 2017, 02:59 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jan 15 2017, 12:57 PM)
ok thanks
im thinking using my noctua d-14 if not i will fork out a budget for fix watercooler
Up to you. NH-D14 should fit LGA 1151.
TristanX
post Jan 18 2017, 08:15 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Jan 18 2017, 03:28 AM)
Hi need help again, should i go for 1 piece of 16 gb ram or 2 x 8g ram.

which one is better ?
2 pieces is slightly faster, significantly faster if use built-in graphics. If you have plans to upgrade RAM. 1 piece 16GB now and add 16GB in the future has more value.

2 pieces of same type gets you dual channel.
TristanX
post Jan 23 2017, 01:30 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(rock_world @ Jan 22 2017, 08:01 PM)
Hi, need help suggestion for video editing pc

[Budget] MYR1000

[Purpose] video editing

[Hardwares that will be re-use] 8gb ram, 60gb ssd, 500gb hd, Z68A-G45 can reuse? 24" monitor

[Monitor resolution] -

[Games & softwares that use frequently] vegas pro

[Personal preferences] -

i need a pc that video editing capable, currently using i3 and radeon HD5450, my budget is a little bit flexible.

Look for second hand Core i7-2600, 2600K, 2700K, 3770, 3770K at garage sales. You may have to update BIOS for 2700K, 3770, 3770K. Add another 8GB RAM as well after that.
QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jan 23 2017, 12:40 AM)
[B][Budget] Below 2k

[Purpose] : Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] : Monitor

[Monitor resolution] normal monitor 22"

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota 2 (high/medium), CS:GO, WoW, MOBA, MMO

[Personal preferences]-

[Location] PJ
How about these?

Core i3-6100 - 498
Asus H110M-K motherboard - 279
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x1 - 239
Gigabyte GTX 1050 2GB DDR5 - 589
WD Blue 1TB HDD - 210
Corsair VS 550W - 244
Tecware F3 case - 124

RM1988 total (C-Zone prices)

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 23 2017, 01:40 AM