Review Viofo A119 dashcam

xyz_cityhunter
post Jun 7 2022, 03:22 PM

238 posts

Want to ask sifu here which had hardwire kit installed... is there any apparent car battery degradation after installing the hardwire kit for parking surveillance?
TSblurjoey
post Jun 7 2022, 04:32 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jun 7 2022, 03:22 PM)
Want to ask sifu here which had hardwire kit installed... is there any apparent car battery degradation after installing the hardwire kit for parking surveillance?
My Amaron Hi-Life is still in good condition after 2 years with 2 Thinkware dashcams in my Honda City.

Anyway, car batteries will slowly degrade.

All hardwire kits will drain the car battery until the set cut-off voltage kicks in. Cut off is faster as I have 2 dashcams running buffered parking mode.
xyz_cityhunter
post Jun 7 2022, 04:43 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 7 2022, 04:32 PM)
My Amaron Hi-Life is still in good condition after 2 years with 2 Thinkware dashcams in my Honda City.

Anyway, car batteries will slowly degrade.

All hardwire kits will drain the car battery until the set cut-off voltage kicks in. Cut off is faster as I have 2 dashcams running buffered parking mode.
What voltage you set for the cut off, 12.2V?

Question: Buffered mode only can be enabled with hardwire kit so without hardwire, Viofo won't even record after any hit on your car? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jun 7 2022, 05:03 PM
TSblurjoey
post Jun 7 2022, 05:08 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jun 7 2022, 04:43 PM)
What voltage you set for the cut off, 12.2V?

Question: Buffered mode only can be enabled with hardwire kit so without hardwire, Viofo won't even record after any hit on your car? hmm.gif
I set mine to 12.5v

Yes, you'll need a hardwire kit in order to use parking mode features.
xyz_cityhunter
post Jun 8 2022, 09:03 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 7 2022, 05:08 PM)
I set mine to 12.5v

Yes, you'll need a hardwire kit in order to use parking mode features.
Hm, saw some were complaining about the Viofo parking mode motion detection being too sensitive and record a lot of video instead of time lapse... Not sure if I should hardwire as my car park near lift entrance of condo... sweat.gif
I think Viofo can only set sensitivity and cannot disable the motion detection, correct?

This post has been edited by xyz_cityhunter: Jun 8 2022, 09:03 AM
TSblurjoey
post Jun 8 2022, 10:47 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jun 8 2022, 09:03 AM)
Hm, saw some were complaining about the Viofo parking mode motion detection being too sensitive and record a lot of video instead of time lapse... Not sure if I should hardwire as my car park near lift entrance of condo... sweat.gif
I think Viofo can only set sensitivity and cannot disable the motion detection, correct?
That's why Viofo is not perfect yet.
xyz_cityhunter
post Jun 8 2022, 12:28 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 8 2022, 10:47 AM)
That's why Viofo is not perfect yet.
Guess I need to ditch hardwire if pick Viofo or get other brand with hardwire for G-sensor instead... rclxub.gif
tifosi
post Jun 8 2022, 03:13 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jun 8 2022, 12:28 PM)
Guess I need to ditch hardwire if pick Viofo or get other brand with hardwire for G-sensor instead... rclxub.gif
Just run time lapse mode. I am running 5 fps time lapse mode. In term of files and space used, just a little more than event detection - motion(low) and G-sensor(medium) when I tested.

I was also considering Thinkware and Blackvue but prices are a little off my budget. But if your budget allows, then ofc can go for it.

This post has been edited by tifosi: Jun 8 2022, 03:22 PM
xyz_cityhunter
post Jun 9 2022, 08:48 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Jun 8 2022, 03:13 PM)
Just run time lapse mode. I am running 5 fps time lapse mode. In term of files and space used, just a little more than event detection - motion(low) and G-sensor(medium) when I tested.

I was also considering Thinkware and Blackvue but prices are a little off my budget. But if your budget allows, then ofc can go for it.
I guess 1 fps will produce smaller file when compare to 5 fps setting? Only problem is that my car facing the main lift entrance of the car park so will have a lot of pedestrian activity... sweat.gif
togekiss
post Aug 10 2022, 09:31 AM

429 posts

is this product still available in the market?
TSblurjoey
post Aug 10 2022, 11:21 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(togekiss @ Aug 10 2022, 09:31 AM)
is this product still available in the market?
A119 replaced by the new A119 Mini d
togekiss
post Aug 11 2022, 09:13 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 10 2022, 11:21 AM)
A119 replaced by the new A119 Mini d
interesting. are you selling it?
TSblurjoey
post Aug 12 2022, 07:39 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(togekiss @ Aug 11 2022, 09:13 AM)
interesting. are you selling it?
Nope, I'm just a reviewer. Go find Sicurez as they just got their 1st batch of A119 Mini this week.
zjpro
post Mar 8 2023, 04:05 PM

59 posts

Hi sifus, my cam keep requesting format when engine start, I thought it's card problem so change a new one, Transcend (5yrs old) to SanDisk High Endurance, but problem persist. This pop up message will go on for few weeks then back to normal few weeks and cycle repeats.

Is it cam problem now? It's been 5yrs I'm using this.

Thanks!

47 Pages « < 45 46 47Top

0.0194sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:34 PM