Canon Range of Products Discussion Group, ~ Delighting You Always ~>

porkchop
post Jan 22 2007, 05:14 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

hmm..just wanna check with you all la

when you add the +/-EV , it tends to affect "shutter speed" like if u +ev , the camera tends to slower the shutter speed, and if u -ev it up the shutter speed...

does it work like that?? i tot +/-ev is done builtin software??

edit: also chances of anything spoil incamera?

my camera is carried by hand in a cold air con car, but when i step out of the car, my specs instantly become frosted (cause its hot in parking lot) , because my specs get frosted, i am afraid my camera lens could get frosted too?? (on both inside and outside) and eventually causing fungus...is it possible??

This post has been edited by porkchop: Jan 22 2007, 05:37 PM
ckeng2002
post Jan 22 2007, 10:58 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 22 2007, 05:14 PM)

when you add the +/-EV , it tends to affect "shutter speed" like if u +ev , the camera tends to slower the shutter speed, and if u -ev it up the shutter speed...

edit: also chances of anything spoil incamera?

my camera is carried by hand in a cold air con car, but when i step out of the car, my specs instantly become frosted (cause its hot in parking lot) , because my specs get frosted, i am afraid my camera lens could get frosted too?? (on both inside and outside) and eventually causing fungus...is it possible??
Yes, this would happen when u got out from extreme cool to extreme hot. There is no way to prevent the fungus in this country weather, what u can do is the minimise the temperature different when u go from 1 place to another. and always clean the lens before and after use, and keep in a nice dry box/ with drying agent.
TSac98
post Jan 23 2007, 04:10 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Firstly, since you noticed that tweeking the Exposure Value changes the shutter speed, do you know what does it do to your images? Photography is about images, about the final results, not only questions and answers. Secondly, what does build-in software anything to do with the camera? Exposure Value is a camera function, nothing to do with post processing.

It's called condensation, not frosted for goodness' sake! doh.gif
shinchan^^
post Jan 23 2007, 01:31 PM

K66
21,256 posts

get 1D Mark II N
and "L" lenses
it is anti-condense
Alpse
post Jan 23 2007, 07:01 PM

105 posts

To all Canon 'sifus',

Need your advise with regards to some Canon lenses before I plan my purchase in the next few weeks.

I'm planning to get the Canon 400D (body only) along with 2 lenses that is able to give me an all round performance for common photography environment.

I'm already aiming to get the 50mm 2.8 EF lens for potrait & macro shots. For the second lens can anyone recommend me perhaps another good all rounder preferable with zoom function ?

Or could there be a better combination of two lenses instead of the 50mm 2.8 ?

My budget is 5k.

ckeng2002
post Jan 23 2007, 07:16 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Alpse @ Jan 23 2007, 07:01 PM)
To all Canon 'sifus',

Need your advise with regards to some Canon lenses before I plan my purchase in the next few weeks.

I'm planning to get the Canon 400D (body only) along with 2 lenses that is able to give me an all round performance for common photography environment.

I'm already aiming to get the 50mm 2.8 EF lens for potrait & macro shots. For the second lens can anyone recommend me perhaps another good all rounder preferable with zoom function ?

My budget is 5k.

Depends on what is your budget and what u want to shot- potrait , lanscape, macro, birds, sports.... too many to list out.

If based on your explanation above - potrait and macros, I would suggest you buy the 50mm f1.8, it is cheap and sharp enough for normal potrait shot.

For macro - you could try the EF 100mm macro by canon, highly recommended, mostly u cover from 80mm to 160 mm (in 35mm equiv)

nairud
post Jan 23 2007, 11:02 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

To all Canon 'sifus',

My budget is 5k.

I'd say, apart from the 50mm, since you want an all rounder, get t he 18-200mm from Sigma. it'll set you back around 1.5k
TSac98
post Jan 24 2007, 02:39 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 23 2007, 01:31 PM)
get 1D Mark II N
and "L" lenses
it is anti-condense

Only weatherproof lenses are anti-condensation. And all 1-series models have an anti-condensation VIEWFINDER.
TSac98
post Jan 24 2007, 02:53 AM

3,758 posts

To all Canon 'sifus',

My budget is 5k.

Rm5000 for budget of lenses ... perfect! Let me poison suggest to you some good lenses ...

The EF70-200mm F4L - Going out nowadays for Rm2400

The EF17-40 F4L - Rm2450 of your hard earned cash.

The ever popular EF50mm F1.8 II - Rm280 ... kacang putih!

Rm2400 + Rm2450 + Rm280 = Rm5130 ... Rm130 overshot but with some hard bargaining and cash payment, pulling it back to Rm5000 is a walk in the park! brows.gif

Forgot to add ... the 17-40mm is actually a weather sealed lens.

This post has been edited by ac98: Jan 24 2007, 02:55 AM
Maniac
post Jan 24 2007, 10:04 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

judging for ur case, i would say 17-40L + the 50/2.8 (you picked it, but i dun really prefered this)
VincC454
post Jan 24 2007, 10:22 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Jan 24 2007, 02:53 AM)
Rm5000 for budget of lenses ... perfect! Let me poison suggest to you some good lenses ...

The EF70-200mm F4L - Going out nowadays for Rm2400

The EF17-40 F4L - Rm2450 of your hard earned cash.

The ever popular EF50mm F1.8 II - Rm280 ... kacang putih!

Rm2400 + Rm2450 + Rm280 = Rm5130 ... Rm130 overshot but with some hard bargaining and cash payment, pulling it back to Rm5000 is a walk in the park! brows.gif

Forgot to add ... the 17-40mm is actually a weather sealed lens.
but with his 5k budget..he also getting 400d body wor..meaning he got less than 2k to spend on 2 lens..
shinchan^^
post Jan 24 2007, 10:24 AM

K66
21,256 posts

get 30D la
lens think later brows.gif
ckeng2002
post Jan 24 2007, 10:51 AM

104 posts

get canon 30D, with kits, and make use of the kit lens, the other range think later
ckeng2002
post Jan 24 2007, 10:54 AM

104 posts

look at this link, and see how amzing what the kits lens can do: then u can save up all money to buy canon 30D

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=185522
TSac98
post Jan 24 2007, 03:08 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jan 24 2007, 10:22 AM)
but with his 5k budget..he also getting 400d body wor..meaning he got less than 2k to spend on 2 lens..

So now he can decide between getting a better body or more lenses lor brows.gif
ckeng2002
post Jan 25 2007, 12:17 PM

104 posts

Another suggestion is, try to download the manual for 400D and 30D, compare the what u intend to use the camera for, and check out some others review, The link I provided previously, lots of members is using 400D, then later upgrade to 5D
sooyewguan
post Jan 25 2007, 12:25 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Jan 24 2007, 02:53 AM)

what this lens good at ? only RM280 ??
ckeng2002
post Jan 25 2007, 01:34 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jan 25 2007, 12:25 PM)
cheap and is a 'must have'
Alpse
post Jan 25 2007, 01:44 PM

105 posts

Thanks for the suggestions everyone, it's really informative. Now I have more things to consider before making my purchase.

With regards to choosing between the 70-200mm and the 17-40mm, I think that 70-200mm would serve me better and I'm quite reliant on the zoom function on my current camera for normal outdoor shots. I'm just wondering whether will the 70-200mm be too heavy to carry around for my sight seeing trips.

I went to Canon Malaysia website and checked on the price for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM and it was way over RM 2,400.00. Does anyone know of any websites that have the current prices of Canon and third party compatible lenses ?

This post has been edited by Alpse: Jan 25 2007, 01:45 PM
VincC454
post Jan 25 2007, 02:26 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jan 25 2007, 12:25 PM)
one of the best lens for portrait of couse..very very nice litle lens..cheap also

QUOTE(Alpse @ Jan 25 2007, 01:44 PM)
Thanks for the suggestions everyone, it's really informative. Now I have more things to consider before making my purchase.

With regards to choosing between the 70-200mm and the 17-40mm, I think that 70-200mm would serve me better and I'm quite reliant on the zoom function on my current camera for normal outdoor shots. I'm just wondering whether will the 70-200mm be too heavy to carry around for my sight seeing trips.

I went to Canon Malaysia website and checked on the price for EF 70-200mm f/4L USM and it was way over RM 2,400.00. Does anyone know of any websites that have the current prices of Canon and third party compatible lenses ?
the canon website already the current retail price. thebest way wanna know about the current normal shop prices for canon lens and third party lens is to walk around and ask around..you cant get much if you just sit in front of your computer trying to find and compare the prices.

55 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:01 AM