55 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 >Bottom

Canon Range of Products Discussion Group, ~ Delighting You Always ~>

earthkid
post Dec 6 2007, 12:18 PM

muggs rocks
970 posts

ok guys...i need some help here...i'm actually in a dilemma here, i am planning to get myself another 70-200 lens after saving my ass up for a very long time...but now...i'm caught in between the 70-200 F4 IS and the 70-200 F2.8, which are both around the same price for a 2nd hand one...hope u peeps out there who has been using either these lenses can gimme a tip or two about it...thanks in advance!
R a D ! c 4 L
post Dec 6 2007, 12:22 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

70-200 F4 IS smile.gif
julchin_09
post Dec 6 2007, 01:48 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(earthkid @ Dec 6 2007, 12:18 PM)
ok guys...i need some help here...i'm actually in a dilemma here, i am planning to get myself another 70-200 lens after saving my ass up for a very long time...but now...i'm caught in between the 70-200 F4 IS and the 70-200 F2.8, which are both around the same price for a 2nd hand one...hope u peeps out there who has been using either these lenses can gimme a tip or two about it...thanks in advance!
If you're constantly on the move, the lighter lens which is the 70-200 F4 L IS would be an ease to carry around. The 70-200 F2.8 L though a faster lens and produces a better bokeh, is much heavier (Almost 2x the F4 L) and does not have IS. If you ask me, I did lots of research before getting the 70-200 F4 L IS sweat.gif . It just performs so much better than the older lenses and is equipped with the newest Generation IS from CANON(4-stops) rclxm9.gif

raist86
post Dec 11 2007, 02:14 PM

1,577 posts

guys, i need some help. i have an IXUS 70 and i want to connect it to my pc using USB. When i connect it to my pc, a baloon will pop up and say that "canon Ixus 70 detected. installing driver." However, after awhile, it will say that it had failed to install the driver and i cannot access my camera.

I'm using windows Vista and the supplied disk doesn't have the driver for vista. I've tried searching online but also cannot find the vista driver.

Please help me find a solution to this. I'm flying off tmr and i need the camera with me. As i only have a 1GB sd card, i'll have to transfer my pictures to my pc while travelling to keep shooting. Is there a way to fix the pc transfer thing or do i have to get a sd card reader?
DreamChaser
post Dec 11 2007, 03:39 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Dec 11 2007, 02:14 PM)
guys, i need some help. i have an IXUS 70 and i want to connect it to my pc using USB. When i connect it to my pc, a baloon will pop up and say that "canon Ixus 70 detected. installing driver." However, after awhile, it will say that it had failed to install the driver and i cannot access my camera.

I'm using windows Vista and the supplied disk doesn't have the driver for vista. I've tried searching online but also cannot find the vista driver.

Please help me find a solution to this. I'm flying off tmr and i need the camera with me. As i only have a 1GB sd card, i'll have to transfer my pictures to my pc while travelling to keep shooting. Is there a way to fix the pc transfer thing or do i have to get a sd card reader?
if me, i would go get a reader. tongue.gif
goliath
post Dec 13 2007, 10:38 AM

5,533 posts

Any of you guys/girls own Canon 50mm f/1.4 USM? I've read about its AF inconsistency over the internet. Any comments about it?
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 14 2007, 03:29 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 13 2007, 10:38 AM)
Any of you guys/girls own Canon 50mm f/1.4 USM? I've read about its AF inconsistency over the internet. Any comments about it?
I have the lense.

Here is my comments at f1.4 wide open only; 10D -> 1/3 pictures sharp. 30D, 40D -> more than half. With 5D, all (including dark indoor) are sharp.

Anything close down like f2 and above can only say always super good consistencely.

And if f2.8 and above, only one word can describe -> perfect

Hope it help. If you want, we can meet in shopping center and let you play with my lense la.
goliath
post Dec 14 2007, 03:38 PM

5,533 posts

Good to hear from you. I was about to cancel my purchase (tomorrow) because of the AF inconsistency problem as stated in forums. laugh.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 14 2007, 04:00 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 14 2007, 03:38 PM)
Good to hear from you. I was about to cancel my purchase (tomorrow) because of the AF inconsistency problem as stated in forums.  laugh.gif
Not to offend anyone, but many can give comments or teach people without actually having the experinces, especially on the so-call forum platform.

I would say, the best thing to trust is to play the lense by yourselve. It is the only way to be sure. Thus I always help people towards this reliable way with my resources like my lenses. It is really worth spend the time.

PM me if you need to play with the lense in the weekend. biggrin.gif
goliath
post Dec 14 2007, 04:10 PM

5,533 posts

I'm not good in handling people's item with care. Besides, I would take a long time (I mean really really long) to test because I don't know what to test if you let me there and then tongue.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 17 2007, 09:40 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 14 2007, 04:10 PM)
I'm not good in handling people's item with care. Besides, I would take a long time (I mean really really long) to test because I don't know what to test if you let me there and then  tongue.gif
Oh... ok ok... biggrin.gif
goliath
post Dec 17 2007, 10:28 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Dec 17 2007, 09:40 AM)
Oh... ok ok...  biggrin.gif
do you have samples photos of it (50mm f/1.4)?
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 17 2007, 12:29 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 17 2007, 10:28 AM)
do you have samples photos of it (50mm f/1.4)?
Err... Dun have...

Its been sitting in my drying cabinet for more than a year since the launch of EFS17-55 f2.8 IS.

And do you know what I used it for recently? It is handheld by my wife along with my backup camera, so I can take a picture of her like she is taking picture. Understan ar? biggrin.gif shakehead.gif
goliath
post Dec 17 2007, 01:09 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Dec 17 2007, 12:29 PM)
Err... Dun have...

Its been sitting in my drying cabinet for more than a year since the launch of EFS17-55 f2.8 IS.

And do you know what I used it for recently? It is handheld by my wife along with my backup camera, so I can take a picture of her like she is taking picture. Understan ar?  biggrin.gif  shakehead.gif
Wanna sell? brows.gif

It means, you are taking pic of your wife posing as a photographer?
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 17 2007, 02:32 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 17 2007, 01:09 PM)
Wanna sell? brows.gif

It means, you are taking pic of your wife posing as a photographer?
Yeah... So far it is the only function. Kind of stupid? shakehead.gif

At times, I feel like selling... But thought it might be useful when I have full frame camera like 5D.
goliath
post Dec 17 2007, 02:34 PM

5,533 posts

Everywhere I go, it is either 'No stock" or "Have to order". sweat.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 17 2007, 02:40 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 17 2007, 02:34 PM)
Everywhere I go, it is either 'No stock" or "Have to order". sweat.gif
It is a very fine lense. And to me, not much different compare to the much more expensive EF50 f1.2 L.

But the main question is.... Is the focal length right for you? brows.gif

Personally I do not like 50mm on 1.6x body. To me 85mm on 1.6x or 1.3x is just good.

But if you are going FF, then get both 50mm + 135L. They will work great! thumbup.gif

Again... It is focal length taste... and subjective. I just want to pointed it out because I had spend money on something is not my cup of tea.
goliath
post Dec 17 2007, 02:44 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Dec 17 2007, 02:40 PM)
It is a very fine lense. And to me, not much different compare to the much more expensive EF50 f1.2 L.

But the main question is.... Is the focal length right for you?  brows.gif

Personally I do not like 50mm on 1.6x body. To me 85mm on 1.6x or 1.3x is just good.

But if you are going FF, then get both 50mm + 135L. They will work great!  thumbup.gif

Again... It is focal length taste... and subjective. I just want to pointed it out because I had spend money on something is not my cup of tea.
I have a thought on the 85mm too.. But would the length be a lil long/far?
SUSTheVoIP
post Dec 17 2007, 03:19 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Dec 17 2007, 02:44 PM)
I have a thought on the 85mm too.. But would the length be a lil long/far?
This is a subjective issue la.

But my logic is... The longer the focal length, the more beautiful the background. So 85mm on 1.6x is the longest I can shoot in most events. But again, in event that 85mm langsung cannot be used like in PC Fair, it is a useless lense.

If I sell RM1000 inclusive of B+W MRC filter, interested or not?
goliath
post Dec 17 2007, 03:50 PM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Dec 17 2007, 03:19 PM)
This is a subjective issue la.

But my logic is... The longer the focal length, the more beautiful the background. So 85mm on 1.6x is the longest I can shoot in most events. But again, in event that 85mm langsung cannot be used like in PC Fair, it is a useless lense.

If I sell RM1000 inclusive of B+W MRC filter, interested or not?
You serious? I'll never sell my lenses though I don't use it often laugh.gif

55 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 >Top

0.0273sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:20 PM