LYN SUBARU CLUB v2, XV FORESTR WRX BRZ OUTBCK LEGACY LEVORG

littlefire
post Sep 21 2016, 07:54 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Sep 21 2016, 06:31 PM)
i m quite surprise forester manual stated 5W-30 since it has the same engine as XV. For XV the manual stated 0W-20. I think they uses 5W-40 when they are using Castrol Edge.  Now they are using Shell 5W-30 FS on XV.  I did emailed MI and their reply is pretty text book and because our whether is hotter.  My guess the reasons is more of lower cost and 5W-30 is more common in this region.

How much they are charging for 5W-40? Is your forester still under warranty? since they have 5W-30 for XV, why don't you try requesting to use 5W-30 instead.  Let see what is their response.
Maybe his forester is the SH version using EJ engine? If not mistaken the engine is using 5W-30.
ReVolVolution
post Sep 21 2016, 08:10 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Sep 21 2016, 04:44 PM)
Motor Image was never famous for good service, same thing in SG. They're just like typical china-man company with lots of horrible customer complaints in forum.
Most SG subaru owners would rather service their cars with pro-subaru workshops if not for retaining their warranty. I'm one of them.
Thats part of the thing to bear for owning a scooby in SEA region, since they're the sole authorized distributor here.
Yes... I concur on this. Don't know why SUBARU is giving face to Motor Image when the service sucks big time!!! Imagine booking an appointment to service your car at last 2 weeks in advance!!!! If it's festive period, you can double of the period!!! doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

So vast difference from T or H.

^pomen_GTR^
post Sep 22 2016, 08:40 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(dinox @ Sep 21 2016, 04:57 PM)
me a newbie to Subaru.......bought a Subaru forester (2nd hand) and happy with it so far.

though experience with SC is so so ......

wanna ask sifus here.....the manual states that engine oil grade should be 5W-30 but SC uses 5W-40.........I asked the SC but didn't get a good answer. anyway, it is stated that Subaru recommends 5w-30 due to their new engine which is supposedly a green engine and hence only require 5w-30.....

any thoughts/comments is much appreciated
QUOTE(LongExp @ Sep 21 2016, 05:31 PM)
i m quite surprise forester manual stated 5W-30 since it has the same engine as XV. For XV the manual stated 0W-20. I think they uses 5W-40 when they are using Castrol Edge.  Now they are using Shell 5W-30 FS on XV.  I did emailed MI and their reply is pretty text book and because our whether is hotter.  My guess the reasons is more of lower cost and 5W-30 is more common in this region.

How much they are charging for 5W-40? Is your forester still under warranty? since they have 5W-30 for XV, why don't you try requesting to use 5W-30 instead.  Let see what is their response.
in 4 season country i would say u need to follow manual book...

but since malaysia is always hot and never cold...u guys will be all right with 5-40/10-40 type of oil for safer engine oil operating temperature...be it na FA/FB series engine or turbo FA/FB engine...

my forester turbo only runs on 10-40 if it was fully synthetic race grade engine oil..... else, i will just use 20-50 for safer turbo engine operating temperature....

This post has been edited by ^pomen_GTR^: Sep 22 2016, 08:41 AM
dinox
post Sep 22 2016, 10:44 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Sep 21 2016, 05:31 PM)

the usual MYR23x per 4 litre bottle. and they use shell helix ultra 5w-40. yes, my forester is still under warranty....will try to request for 5w-30 the next service. wanna see if there will be any temp increase with the different grade.

dinox
post Sep 22 2016, 10:45 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 21 2016, 07:54 PM)
Maybe his forester is the SH version using EJ engine? If not mistaken the engine is using 5W-30.
mine is using the FA engine.

TSs@ni
post Sep 22 2016, 10:49 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

QUOTE(dinox @ Sep 22 2016, 10:44 AM)
the usual MYR23x per 4 litre bottle. and they use shell helix ultra 5w-40. yes, my forester is still under warranty....will try to request for 5w-30 the next service. wanna see if there will be any temp increase with the different grade.
pls monitor the engine oil level as well once changed thumbsup.gif
^pomen_GTR^
post Sep 22 2016, 11:23 AM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(s@ni @ Sep 22 2016, 10:49 AM)
pls monitor the engine oil level as well once changed  thumbsup.gif
yeap..because sometimes there is case of engine oil level dropping due to oil evaporation and being sucked into air intake (carbon issue on throttle body,intake manifold)
frankzane
post Sep 22 2016, 02:23 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(storm.trooper @ Sep 20 2016, 09:59 AM)
As suggested by this forum thread, adding tube in the door rubber helps to reduce the sound (by 10-20 % maybe) but it definitely doesn't fix it. Spent 200+ on some additional rubber, it doesn't even help a bit. Went to SC to lodge a complain (this is the second time) 1 month plus back but according to SC, motor image is not responding to this case. Beginning to wonder, is it worth to get a Subaru for this kind of after sales quality.
What sort of tube to add into the door rubber to reduce the noise? Thanks.
storm.trooper
post Sep 22 2016, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 22 2016, 02:23 PM)
http://s189.photobucket.com/user/Fishonabi...bing01.jpg.html

These tubes can get from hardward/DIY shop.
BingYao
post Sep 22 2016, 04:32 PM

446 posts

This and some sound proofing will help. No matter how, they're bound to have some wind noise.

littlefire
post Sep 22 2016, 06:17 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(dinox @ Sep 22 2016, 11:45 AM)
mine is using the FA engine.

Turbo 2.0XT? drool.gif
LongExp
post Sep 22 2016, 09:14 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 22 2016, 04:32 PM)
This and some sound proofing will help. No matter how, they're bound to have some wind noise.
is ur rear door somehow slightly further out than the front door?
BingYao
post Sep 22 2016, 09:39 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(LongExp @ Sep 22 2016, 09:14 PM)
is ur rear door somehow slightly further out than the front door?
Guess not. What you're seeing is the seal.
LongExp
post Sep 22 2016, 11:15 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 22 2016, 09:39 PM)
Guess not. What you're seeing is the seal.
i mean without the seal.
ckthang10
post Sep 23 2016, 12:10 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Sep 19 2016, 06:04 PM)
Hi....any subaru owners in penang???

I have event this weekend in penang and would like to invite subaru owners...thanks
Is there any WRX for test drive this weekend in Penang?
littlefire
post Sep 23 2016, 08:25 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 22 2016, 03:23 PM)
You get it all from this website. This is japan stuff, expensive but good rubber seal quality. thumbsup.gif

https://www.amon.co.jp/products/topics/seio..._campaign=topbn

This post has been edited by littlefire: Sep 23 2016, 08:26 AM
Hizami_83
post Sep 23 2016, 08:25 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(ckthang10 @ Sep 23 2016, 12:10 AM)
Is there any WRX for test drive this weekend in Penang?
Last time I wanted to test drive WRX in penang near Alma..but waz told to put downpayment/booking fee of rm5k than only can test drive. Huhuhu
Than I go over to VW Juru, I queried about Golf GTI & were offered to test drive without any booking fee needed. Haha...but I ended not testing it because I wanted a performance sedan rather than performance hatchback.
But good thing also I didnt get WRX. Motor Image price it too high & today one can get bmw 330e at about the same price. Performance, hybrid & much more features than WRX.
dinox
post Sep 23 2016, 10:12 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Sep 22 2016, 06:17 PM)
Turbo 2.0XT?  drool.gif
yea. 2.0 XT
ReVolVolution
post Sep 23 2016, 10:22 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(BingYao @ Sep 22 2016, 04:32 PM)
Depends......

All my scoobie CBU don't have wind noise.

What's weird... the faster I go, the quieter the car is! haha....
LongExp
post Sep 23 2016, 11:48 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Sep 23 2016, 10:22 AM)
Depends......

All my scoobie CBU don't have wind noise.

What's weird... the faster I go, the quieter the car is! haha....
i don't notice any specific wind noise on my XV.
Before this, on my old car I don't even know or feel anything wrong about sound proof or wind noise because NVH is so bad that all noise (engine, tyre, external) blended so well that they are not specific. rclxub.gif

personally my concern increases with the price i paid.

492 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0649sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:27 AM