24 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

LYN SUBARU CLUB v2, XV FORESTR WRX BRZ OUTBCK LEGACY LEVORG

kevin613
post May 31 2022, 03:02 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 31 2022, 02:59 PM)
The first picture is the whole thing that get changed. It is one piece.

https://www.blingstrom.com/diy-project/2020...-a-subaru-thing
thats what i recall when i did mine, whole assembly so no korek korek to remove the old bearing
kevin613
post Jun 9 2022, 12:13 PM

2,236 posts

anyone know if the CBU SK forester have any quality issue like the previous local assembled ones?

kevin613
post Jun 9 2022, 03:10 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Jun 9 2022, 02:54 PM)
What are the issues with the previous model?  smile.gif
minor things like HU/Speakers/bearings?
im not sure, kept seeing people asking about those tongue.gif
kevin613
post Jun 10 2022, 07:38 PM

2,236 posts

I don't drive Forester nor XV, so I don't think I can join the group since it's private.

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 10 2022, 07:28 PM)
Why not ask in FB? From what i heard & gather info from SC, most SK Forester owners did not claim much items within this 3 years now. Since the warranty already bump up to 5 years, most items quality already improved and should be well covered. The bearing from what i heard already using the bigger legacy/outback type and also upgraded backing plate, a lot of mechanical old issues already solved, left only the HU still the same louzy type..  tongue.gif

Other than this 1 problem people might complain for new SK ride is the updated direct injection engine.
If not familiar with the Direct Injection engine, some might complain of knocking or vibration at certain low rpm. 
I test driven a CX5 not long at my mechanic place, also similar knocking or vibration at low rpm.  laugh.gif
The CX5 owner say live with it from new until now due to direct injection engine and he pump Ron95 only..
Reason mostly due to higher compression engine sucks at lower rpm.
kevin613
post Jun 12 2022, 05:04 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jun 12 2022, 03:15 PM)
Would do so if I got the car. Subaru has delayed their delivery. No idea when I will be getting mine yet. They say kastam wants them to redeclare the duty tax coz the car been sitting in the ports since 2020. Hopefully it's not rat infested. After 2 years out there.
I just went to a show room nearby, gave me the same story about why there is no Forester there for test drive, keywords: kastam, sitting in port since 2020, need to pay duty, 3-4 months minimum wait. 40 cars backlog for the Forester, book only if you can wait.
kevin613
post Jul 4 2022, 02:27 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 4 2022, 08:46 AM)
Unlike before, newer engine now are using lighter engine oil as suggested by manufacturer. Maybe because the thinner engine oil nowadays can provide same protection like older oil one grade above; or maybe the car manufacturers want you to change car more often  laugh.gif
its all in the name of better fuel efficiency.
can also argue that newer production lines can make tighter tolerance tongue.gif
kevin613
post Jul 19 2022, 09:16 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 19 2022, 08:01 AM)
In rare occasion, bearing can just seized due to metal fracture. It is still possible.
actually the worse i have personally experienced (not on a subaru), is the whole hub failed and it started splitting.
the wheel became like super negative camber.
kevin613
post Aug 4 2022, 02:29 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 4 2022, 02:18 PM)
Just what you meant by stretch?
width i guess
like ppl fitting a 205 tyres over 8.5JJ wheels
but i doubt the GT wheels are that wide
kevin613
post Aug 8 2022, 04:54 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Aug 8 2022, 04:51 PM)
Have you tired to put the 2 baby seat and sit in the middle? (not baby carrier)
It can be... very tight unless you are petite..
in order to overcome this, can try to put the childseat side by side, so the adult dont have to squeeze in the middle
i have done this on my old impreza(1 gen before the XV1), and its actually not too bad. easier for the adult to get in/out also.
kevin613
post Aug 8 2022, 11:42 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Aug 8 2022, 09:58 PM)
but middle seat don’t have isofix? or the impreza has it?

the impreza do have a top tether, and 3 point seat belt in the middle, but i didnt use them.
the childseat i put on the side back then was using seatbelt to secure. you can pull the seatbelt all the way out, and slowly release it, it will engage the lock mode. so the child seat will be strapped tight.
the middle child seat i use the lower tether hook from the left and right seat to secure. see attached photos

i've since moved on to another scooby, and i now have 3 child seat on the second row. biggrin.gif

kevin613
post Aug 9 2022, 02:27 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 9 2022, 09:55 AM)
It is some heated metal parts contracting during cooling down. It happens to my Forester and a few of my old cars too.  smile.gif

It is worse when the two attached parts are of different metals like steel and aluminium. Both have different rates of expansion/contraction.
usually its the exhaust manifold, and the exhaust manifold cover
these 2 are bolted together, and are usually of different metal.
kevin613
post Aug 11 2022, 01:43 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Aug 11 2022, 01:40 PM)
I had never seen this kind of arrangement (3 baby seats) but is this legal?
the 2 seats on the side are for my older kids at 9 and 10 years old, high back booster seat which should provide better side impact protection.
both of them are still below the recommended height (1.45m) to ride without booster seat.
Not sure if there are any laws stating you cant have 3 seats in a row, if its strapped down properly.

This post has been edited by kevin613: Aug 11 2022, 01:52 PM
kevin613
post Aug 12 2022, 01:22 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 12 2022, 12:58 PM)
The jerking is well know in a lot of Direct Injection type engine and consider as normal, it is widely knew as LSPI or low speed pre-ignition. Even i tested competitor ride like Mazda CX5, 3 with the skyactive engine (Direct Injection engine) also got jerkiness in low RPM if you really go into details. Nowadays new GT Xv & SK Forester FB20 engine already updated with Direct Injection compare to previous gen. The most can do is to update the ECU & also certain batch got ignition coil recall, the rest will be covered by latest engine oil as newer oil formulation like API: SP/SN+ will help protect the engine from LSPI issues. Will have to live with it due to newer technology side effects.
i doubt its actually LSPI, since most model in our market are NA, not turbocharged
and if its really LSPI, try a few tanks of 97 and see if it goes away.
kevin613
post Aug 12 2022, 02:34 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Aug 12 2022, 02:22 PM)
Car manufacturers were said to get help from engine oil manufacturer. Now the API rating include test specific for LSPI. This is because the pre-ignition is caused bay mixture of layer of oil and the fuel.
yes, the engine oil will help to reduce LSPI
but what im saying is, the jerky symptom seen on new XV2, is likely not LSPI, but could be something to do with the CVT tuning.
if you get LSPI so frequently, you need to be worried cause preignition is not fun, and will often end in castratophic failure.
kevin613
post Aug 12 2022, 11:36 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 12 2022, 04:37 PM)
Thus engine oil are upgrading to higher API standards due to LSPI impacts. If it is for certain small percentage cars, I dont think API will need upgrading all the oil standards just for it.

There are owners pumping v-power racing & higher RON97 fuel to reduce the effects but with current high price Ron97 fuel more & more owners also cannot tahan and downgrading it. The direct injection engine from Xv/Forester does increased to higher compression of 12.5:1 compare to previous only around 10.5:1.

If you say CVT tuning, Mazda Skyactive not using CVT also got minor jerking issues at low RPM also.
to be clear, im not discounting LSPI as a real issue, and it definitely affects more cars out there that warrants action from API, but whether the affected models are more of turbo DI(in other market, not MY), or NA DI, thats the question.
i still dont think LSPI affects NA models much, and like i said, if its really LSPI that XV2 is experiencing, then good luck tongue.gif
If anything, the SJG FXT and the VAG WRX that uses the FA20DIT should be the one that is most susceptible, not the FB20s

kevin613
post Aug 19 2022, 01:48 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 19 2022, 09:46 AM)
Is there a long waiting list for Subaru like the popular models XV and Forester compared to brands like Honda, Toyota or Proton?
my dad was interested in forester, so i brought my dad car shopping back in June
went to subaru showroom @ kajang, no forester showcar there, and they straight out tell me, "if you can wait, then book, cannot wait, dont book. i dont want you to keep calling me to chase"
saw my subaru parked outside, then tell me "oh you drive subaru also ah, so you should know already lah", showed no interest to sell at all.
they also claim car stock was there at port storage, but need to wait kastam clearance and pay tax, stock manufactured in 2020 or 2021(cant remember).
ended up buying something else and collected the car within 2 weeks.
kevin613
post Aug 19 2022, 02:02 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 19 2022, 01:58 PM)
My cars are still relatively new. The oldest being 2016.

I'll probably wait two years before contemplating buying a new car. I definitely don't want to wait ten months or a year to have a car delivered to me.

Don't know what the market/economy will be like in two years. Maybe USD rate will be 5.50. 😁
the dealers are all stuck between a rock and a hard place, new stock wont come soon enough, and the SST was hanging in the air.
visited many different brand showroom, and all painted the same picture : no ready stock, and be prepared to pay SST
only ready stock C-Segment SUV back then was the nissan xtrail hybrid that no one wants biggrin.gif
kevin613
post Aug 19 2022, 02:10 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 19 2022, 02:09 PM)
I won't be buying any Nissan anytime soon. 😄

Now bank interest also up plus supply chain issues. So I don't know how it will affect the overall car market, but some models are selling like hot cakes e.g. Corolla Cross, HR-V and the new Alza.
i did not buy the nissan as well biggrin.gif
test drove, but i dont like it

This post has been edited by kevin613: Aug 19 2022, 02:13 PM
kevin613
post Aug 19 2022, 02:40 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Aug 19 2022, 02:29 PM)
Actually this X-Trail they are selling is already obsolete. There is already a replacement model which looks pretty nice.  smile.gif

My niece booked a Corolla Cross Hybrid before 30/6/22 and hoping to get the car before 31/3/23 to qualify for the SST waiver.

Later she is informed by the dealer that there will be an increase in the base price of the car. I guess all car dealers have a caveat in the sales contract allowing them to do so even after the deposit have been paid. The buyer will definitely cry unfair.
yes, but not even sure if the new xtrail is coming.
went to check the corolla cross hybrid too, and its a little small on the inside, and gotta wait dunno how long, and they stopped selling the RAV4 (i guess it didnt sell too well too due to the pricing)

kevin613
post Aug 19 2022, 02:45 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 19 2022, 02:41 PM)
If i desperate for that model, i might go few sales office to survey as some might still got showcar or testdrive unit to sell if lucky. Sadly some sales advisor attitude really lousy..
the thing is, i contacted the subaru fb page, and they also dont wanna layan to advice which showroom have car to see, they ask me to call myself biggrin.gif
so despite me liking subaru very much (second subaru now), i cant get my dad to experience it for himself, and since he will be the one driving it, he made the call to get something else.

24 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.2770sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:14 PM