Laptop not charging problem, Need help

guysmiley
post Jul 14 2016, 08:16 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jul 14 2016, 08:12 PM)
its ok if with surge protector UPS brows.gif
nope. continuous charging isnt good for laptop. heats it up. damage the mobo or processor faster. ive 1st gen i5 still working like new. just replaced new battery and body.
TSeateat
post Jul 14 2016, 08:17 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Jul 14 2016, 08:09 PM)
working on laptop with charger connected is actually not good. as what happened to you. people say to detach battery because replacing battery is expensive.

safest way for your laptop and yourself is to work on battery and only charge when low on batt.
I reckon detach the battery is easier as I may forgot to detach the battery after fully charged....haha..

Lesson learned ... Hopefully is only the charging port having problem
shirogawawa
post Jul 14 2016, 08:23 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jul 14 2016, 08:17 PM)
I reckon detach the battery is easier as I may forgot to detach the battery after fully  charged....haha..

Lesson learned ... Hopefully is only the charging port having problem
which area u stay ? LYP do have good reputation reparing shop, can intro for u
shirogawawa
post Jul 14 2016, 08:25 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Jul 14 2016, 08:16 PM)
nope. continuous charging isnt good for laptop. heats it up. damage the mobo or processor faster. ive 1st gen i5 still working like new. just replaced new battery and body.
sorry, first time heard this theory tongue.gif
guysmiley
post Jul 14 2016, 08:31 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jul 14 2016, 08:25 PM)
i read the technical tips 15years ago in i.t website. i didnt make it up.infact, you can test yourself.
shirogawawa
post Jul 14 2016, 08:36 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(guysmiley @ Jul 14 2016, 08:31 PM)
i read the technical tips 15years ago in i.t website. i didnt make it up.infact, you can test yourself.
i was charging my laptop 24 hour x 7 for over 2 year without off ( with UPS), so far ok rclxms.gif
TSeateat
post Jul 14 2016, 08:48 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jul 14 2016, 08:23 PM)
which area u stay ? LYP do have good reputation reparing shop, can intro for u
Please intro.... I live in PJ Bandar Utama area . ....desperately need to fix my laptop... Thanks thanks
myway1985
post Jul 14 2016, 09:42 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jul 14 2016, 08:25 PM)
Lithium aa battery era
shirogawawa
post Jul 15 2016, 04:02 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jul 14 2016, 09:42 PM)
Lithium aa battery era
maybe he never heard FET - integrated switching-mode battery charger with power path management and On-The-Go controller for single-cell Li-Ion and Li-polymer
myway1985
post Jul 15 2016, 04:38 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jul 15 2016, 04:02 PM)
maybe he never heard FET - integrated switching-mode battery charger with power path management and On-The-Go controller for single-cell Li-Ion and Li-polymer
Haha... not many Ppl teach... u dint mention I oso forget those exist...
guysmiley
post Jul 17 2016, 01:26 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jul 14 2016, 08:36 PM)
i was charging my laptop 24 hour x 7 for over 2 year without off ( with UPS), so far ok rclxms.gif
must be ups with good power management thumbup.gif
SUSTXSim
post Jul 17 2016, 01:48 PM

TIME Fibre Assistant and Wi-Fi Router Assistant
2,137 posts

QUOTE(eateat @ Jul 14 2016, 08:43 AM)
Guys.  I need your help.

I was working on my laptop yesterday and suddenly there was a loud lightning as was raining heavily.  Next thing I know was a fuse triped in my house and my laptop was turned off as I did not attach the battery. 

I found out  that my ac adaptor is not working later as the led light is off .  I can power up my laptop using battery. 

I use another ac adaptor but it will not charge my laptop and battery and  I can't turn on the laptop without using the battery.

Do you think the lightning burned the charging port of my motherboard? Or anyone have experience in this?

Thank you very much
Hi, if the battery is not attached. Not the battery problem/
Can the laptop power on via Power Charger without battery?
If Yes, Motherboard problem.
If No, Power Adapter.

0.0186sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:44 AM