Cheap Asus Wifi Router Alternative, Huawei WS880 & Others
phoenixxx
Mar 24 2019, 09:46 PM
Any router recommendation for double storey home.
My ONU is at the back room (downstairs), direct LAN cable to my PC, using stock router from Unifi (DIR 850)...
I have extra LAN port upstairs hall, which plan to put this new router and hopefully can get better 5Ghz signal throughout the house (currently using an old router as AP)
I am on unifi 300mbps (need to support Hypptv, so those Deco models cannot use)
So far surveyed a few model based on the thread here and blacktubi...
1. TP Link AC1200 (blacktubi recommend AC2300 but I cant find) 2. Tenda AC18, seems quite popular brand. However digimall / lowyat seller seems less enthusiastic and keep pushing TP Link instead :S also, seems to have a noticeable rate of lemon unit based on user feedback online, however Tenda seems to honor 1 to 1 exchange 3. ASUS 68 or 86 ... a bit too expensive for me
Any advise from sifus here? Maybe below RM500 range if possible.
This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Mar 24 2019, 09:49 PM
phoenixxx
Mar 24 2019, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 24 2019, 09:57 PM) Top up a little, and get TP-Link AC2300. If you can't find it, get it from OOKAS online. The price is more reasonable. I am including the link for you: https://shopee.com.my/TP-LINK-C2300-AC2300-...80984.826943513Once you get that, use that AC2300 as the main router, and use that DIR-850 as the wired AP. Thanks! I have some dilemma though, if use as main router it will be in the back room at the back of the house. It will be furthest away from living hall and my bedroom where I'm hoping to get the 5Ghz... is it really not advisable to use it as AP with better placement location? I was even thinking to disable wifi on the Dlink 850 and use solely from the new router AP since it is more central. This post has been edited by phoenixxx: Mar 24 2019, 10:11 PM
phoenixxx
Mar 24 2019, 11:31 PM
Thanks, I'll check it out
phoenixxx
Mar 30 2019, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 24 2019, 09:57 PM) Top up a little, and get TP-Link AC2300. If you can't find it, get it from OOKAS online. The price is more reasonable. I am including the link for you: https://shopee.com.my/TP-LINK-C2300-AC2300-...80984.826943513Once you get that, use that AC2300 as the main router, and use that DIR-850 as the wired AP. Decided to try out AC2300. Just ordered from Lazada. Thanks for the tip & I think it might serve me well in the long run
phoenixxx
Apr 3 2019, 10:07 PM
My package is here  so far full 5GHZ bar in the places that matter (tv in living room and bedroom). I am streaming Chromecast from one end of the house to my tv at another end  Thanks Sifus for the recommendation