Jan 18 2007, 11:59 PM
610 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Ampang, Selangor |
guys, quick question..
if my proc(e6300) can run stable @ 3.2ghz (460x7), it should be able to run stable at say 475x6 (2.84ghz) rite? or is there a fsb (not total speed) limit to each processor? |
Jan 19 2007, 12:14 AM
oh well.. i guess my mobo is the limiting factor then. I always thought that it was my processor.
My rams can run at 475 speeds (memtested them using the 4:5 divider) but my system wont be able to last in orthos for 5 seconds at 470x7 no matter how much vcore i pump in. I guess I should just stop this obsession of crazy-overthetop overclocking and settle at where I am rite now. 430x7 @ 1.25v. |
Jan 21 2007, 05:31 PM
Do u really need 1.40 v to run at 3ghz?
Whatever it is, 1.4v is still within 10% of the default vcore. 1.55v would be overvolting your processor. Note: I do not take any responsibility for any failure, explosion whatsoever coming from direct, indirect, perpendicular use of the rated vcore! anyway, try playing around with your vcore, you 'should' be able to hit 3.0ghz with less than stock vcore. Mine is 3.0ghz @ 1.25v Here's a good guide for overclocking e6300 (or any other conroe for that matter) 3.0 GHZ easy |
Jan 22 2007, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 22 2007, 12:32 PM) That is pretty much relaxed timing already.Btw, for gigabyte mobo, to adjust ram timings, press ctrl+F1 in ure bios. Then go the overclock page(intelligent motherboard control or something like that). You can now set the timings for your ram. |
Jan 22 2007, 11:33 PM
Jan 23 2007, 08:54 AM
Jan 23 2007, 10:01 AM
Err.. no actually. I thought anything below 2.2v is acceptable not to use any ram coolers?
Jan 23 2007, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jan 23 2007, 10:05 AM) Dont take my word for it. Wait for a sifu to clarify the fact. IIRC, I read somewhere in the VR-Zone forums something about no active cooling required to cool off the ram. Btw, i do have a 120mm side fan blowing towards my mobo though. Im pretty sure it would 'cool' down my ram to a certain extent. |
Jan 23 2007, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jan 23 2007, 12:19 PM) cpu or proc with 3.25v? The ram @ 2.2v will prolly depend on the rated speed. Some performance ram are rated @ 2.1 - 2.2v. So running at 2.2v is fine. However, if the rams are rated @ 1.8v, I dont really know exactly. As a rule of thumb that i follow (which might be dumb), anything below 2.2v is okay. The lower the better though. There's an interesting rite up about in VR-Zone HERE and some relevant info in TG Forums HERE (you might have to read a couple of pages of this one) Good luck |
Jan 23 2007, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 23 2007, 07:29 PM) i will, one thing i think the easy tune is clashinbg with the orthos.. what in the world are u talking about actually? Would really love to help but im really clueless here.when i install my gigabyte gts my system temp shoot from 30 to 48c... To answer ure earlier question (if you still havent got it) to adjust your ram voltage, please use the Vdimm option in the intelligent motherboard tweaker menu in ure bios. normal is 1.8v, +0.1 = 1.9v etc etc. |
Jan 23 2007, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 23 2007, 06:41 PM) Obviously im not gonna use that for day2day. its only for benchmarking purposes. Heck, i think i dont really need to OC for day2day usage. But its just that I can run @ 400fsb with 1.1875v, makes it worth it to leave it at 2.8 for day2day. I think its not Hynix. Hynix chips are only for KVR 533? No? From the ddr2 ram list website, DDR2 667 are elpida chips. |
Jan 23 2007, 09:08 PM
Okay Cyber, why dont you tell us @ what speed are u running at? whats ure vcore, vmch, vfsb and vdimm? Have you disabled all the 'enhancements' etc?
And not forgetting what is your coretemp, not the one reported in easytunes. More on testing your rig. Read THIS This post has been edited by vassalle: Jan 23 2007, 09:09 PM |
Jan 23 2007, 11:13 PM
To be honest, youre settings looks okay
The only thing is to probably bump up your vcore a bit. Your planning to run @ 3.44 ghz, which is quite high. I've seen ppl pumping like 1.37 - 1.4v to reach 3.4ghz with an e6400. That being said, every chip is different. What is the rated vDimm for your rams? As it is a DDR2-800, Im pretty sure ure ram could easily hit FSB 450 or even more with the rite vDimm. Maybe even DDR2-1000 Just curios, the CPU temp you gave are coretemp or bios temp? |
Jan 23 2007, 11:37 PM
@ Cyber,
Oh well, at least u still have a chance to hit 3.4ghz. Im stuck @ 3.29ghz max SUPER PI 1M stable. btw, good temps for your setup. I actually have the same case and cooling as u do and I had quite mediocre temps before i added a fan @ side panel. QUOTE(^666^ @ Jan 23 2007, 11:18 PM) Mine keep crashing after 5 hours, dam weird. Even at low speed of 2.8ghz. Have you tried running memtest for your ram yet? Can prolly try a more relaxed timing of 5-5-5-15. There is a good guide for overclocking the e6300 HEREMy Hardware specs: Motherboard: Gigabyte DS4 Cooler: Coolermaster Hyper TX CPU: Core 2 Duo E6300 RAM: Corsair Value DDR2 667 RAM capacity: 1GB x2 Disabled: CPUID Max to 3 No-Execute Memory Protection C1E TM2 EIST Virtualization Technology Smart Fan Control Method CIA2 For the OC Part: CPU Clock Ratio to x7 CPU Host Frequency to 400 PCI Express Frequency at Auto System Memory Multiplier at 2.00 DRAM Timing at 5-5-5-12 DDR2 OverVoltage Control +0.2V CPU Voltage tried at 1.325V, 1.3750V, 1.4V, 1.45V Eved tried increasing Northbridge voltage to +0.3V (1.55V). And also FSb voltage to +0.3V as per recommended in Toms. Still no luck. You'd be damn unlucky if your e6300 can't run @ 400 fsb. Its really rare! Anyway, go through this thread HERE for some other tips (like disabling usb legacy support or something). BTW, which bios are u running at? This post has been edited by vassalle: Jan 23 2007, 11:38 PM |
Jan 24 2007, 11:55 AM
it just means that your overclock is not stable enough. Im really out of ideas to be honest. Have you tried all the tips in the DS3 FAQ from the xtremesystmes forum link I gave out earlier?
Jan 24 2007, 12:28 PM
I'm probably going to slow down in this overclocking business and start to enjoy more of my 1 month old C2D rig. Tired of tweaking it already actually. Started with
Stock HSF > THermaltake BTVX > Put side fan to improve airflow > Substantive Bios version testing > Tweaking and tweaking Bios settings > Add ramsinks to my BTVX > Lap my heatsink > Lap my processor (void already warranty I guess I should stop now! LOL But before I do, I would just like to contribute back to the community what i've learned in this one month, hopefully someone who just starting to OC c2d like i did, could benefit from it. The fundamentals of overclocking C2D VR-Zone ~ my favourite so far TG Forums - very easy to follow E6300-on-a-budget ~ good guide to get 3.0ghz for e6300 + gigabyte s3 + recommendations on the parts to get! How do i fine tune my motherboard (S3/DS3/Biostar 965) DS3 FAQ might be relevant to most gigabyte 965 mobo DS3 Bios - just read the 5 latest pages for tips/recommendation/feedbacks on current bios Biostar 965PT FAQ Biostar 965PT Tips and Workarounds Biostar 965PT Bios Page Biostar 965PT Bios Screenies Many thanks to flatfinger forr providing these wunderrful links for the Biostar MOBO ~ Another OC KING!! How the hell do I know if its stable? - you can prolly get this from the stickies. but IMO, this is better written Anandtech stressing guide - Memtest86+, Prime95, SP2004 and SuperPi Darn this baby is hot! Safe-Temp Guide read the top post Thermaltake BTVX easy mod hi-res pics on page 3. It improved my temps by 2c! Coretemp (TAT) temps for Malaysian weather ~ will be a good benchmark to know if your cooling is okay. Dont forget to read our very own fundamentals of overclocking LYN Fundamentals of overclockng Based on my experience, if you dont ask the right way, you'll probably be asked to do a google search To those who just started, good luck aight! This post has been edited by vassalle: Jan 24 2007, 06:37 PM |
Jan 24 2007, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(flatfinger @ Jan 24 2007, 04:31 PM) bro can u put this oso at Motherboard Tuning Guide Updated my post already. Do i hear links for the ASUS P5bs? Biostar TForce 965PT FAQ Biostar TForce 965PT Tips, Bugs, and Workarounds Biostar TForce 965PT BIOS Page Biostar TForce 965PT Bios Screen Shots |
Mar 8 2007, 04:47 PM
Eh.. even vdroop oso not that high la.. 0.112v vdroop is very high. What mobo are u using again? Usually vdroop around 0.02 to 0.05v.
Have you disabled the EIST in your Bios? |
| Change to: | 0.0240sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:17 PM |