TSwil-i-am
Dec 2 2016, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 2 2016, 05:39 PM) To do that have to open foreign currency account. Also terminate FD, no dough. Now really looking at investing in some foreign currencies including foreign retail bonds. Planning now for early Jan actions.  I tot u have open FCA dy Anyway, it's not too late to open 1
TSwil-i-am
Dec 2 2016, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 2 2016, 05:46 PM) The bank will charge u if did not have minimum amount of foreign currency there. Quite heavy monthly charges. Have asked CB and UOB. How about local banks ? Last time I just bought TT and send the USD over. Local Banks do impose similar charges but differ from Bank to Bank
TSwil-i-am
Dec 2 2016, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 2 2016, 06:04 PM) Eyeing S$, A$. Still need to see RM's to gather more info. That include the Reverse REPO that CIMB RM told me about. @wil-i-am any update or PM me.  Bro, I went to CIMB on Wed n Thr but my RM is on AL Thus, no update
TSwil-i-am
Dec 2 2016, 09:02 PM
TSwil-i-am
Dec 2 2016, 09:40 PM
Payrolls in U.S. Rise; Jobless Rate Falls on Lower Participation https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...r-participationMYR will start to tango next week
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 3 2016, 12:57 AM) Forcing exporter to convert 75% proceed automatically to myr is a form of capital control. This will encourage exporting companies to park proceed offshore and deter foreign investment to set up regional center or business here for export. In the long term, is detrimental to current account balance. Implying bnm is willing to sacrifice long term benefit for the short term stability i.e. is desperate. In addition, the point of conversion is upon receipt of proceeds Tis approach is detrimental to exporter when our currency is volatile Imagine XYZ S/B receive proceeds on 5/12 which happen to 'appreciation' day
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Dec 3 2016, 08:23 AM) Sometimes gain , sometimes lose , not a big issue. It's a big issue for exporter n importer 1 solid example is wholesale of foreign currencies where the biz model is to export n import various foreign currencies for local use
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Dec 3 2016, 08:25 AM) Thanks bro for the link. I notice something unusual, but subtle in the guideline which need clarification.... Quite confusing. As #11 and #12 has a limit of RM1m, so that part is controlled by BNM and has a limit. But those fall under #10, I interpret it as if you don't have any loan, you CANNOT transfer money out of the country to invest. Previously there is no such restriction Quasi capital control now ? M puzzled with the latest guidelines the whole nite Will clarify with my RM on the mechanism as it's confusing
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(xpmm @ Dec 3 2016, 12:11 PM) can use money changer, deposit rm to them in malaysia, they bankin $ into your oversea account. Take note tat Money Changers ("MC") r governed by MSB Act which is regulated by BNM unless those MC choose hawala
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 01:18 PM
IMO, not all exporters will b affected by the latest ruling to convert 75% of their proceeds into MYR immediately
In fact, a lot of 'smart' exporters wud have opened FCA outside M'sia dy for the receipt of proceeds
For future Invoices (wef 3/12/16 onwards), they can specify pls credit payment into FCA maintained outside M'sia
In respect of issued Invoices (prior to 2/12/2016), they can easily nego with clients to redirect the proceeds into external FCA instead of internal FCA. Having said tat, the exporters need to give some 'discount' on the proceeds to clients so tat it's a win-win situation
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 01:32 PM
Went to Maybank tis morning on the pretext to open new FCA for individual
The officer said tat new FCA can b open unless there is supporting docs. Otherwise, can't open as it's subject to their HQ n BNM approval
It seems BNM have imposed stringent controls on the opening of new FCA for individual to deter outflow
Gud news for existing FCA holders but bad news for those who intend to open FCA now
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 3 2016, 01:29 PM) this is an interesting "loophole". but i doubt bnm will be stupid enough to allow that, i.e. physical goods going out, but no matching revenues into the country. kena fine la!  There r a lot of excuse to keep those proceeds outside 1 of them is 'my client insist for us (i.e. exporter) to furnish performance bond for each transaction' This post has been edited by wil-i-am: Dec 3 2016, 01:44 PM
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 3 2016, 01:34 PM) what kind of FCA? dual currency, foreign equities? Nope Just a basic FCA without any objective
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 3 2016, 01:46 PM)  .. well,... door is closing,... don't worry, maybe better like this,.. can try harder to open accounts in Singapore,.... why want to open in Msia ? See what happens to those who park their funds in foreign currencies in Msia, as in export companies ??? Now, must convert back to MYR.... In fact, it's quite tough n challenging for ntity or individual (M'sia resident) to open a basic CASA in S'pore with local M'sia Banks Those M'sia Banks in S'pore insist supporting docs plus reference Letter from local M'sia Bank
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 02:10 PM
The cost of doing biz for exporters will increase:- a. Local banks will impose charges (usually flat in USD) for each transaction b. Forex risk by converting proceeds (75%) to MYR c. Forex risk by converting from MYR (same proceeds from [b]) to foreign currencies
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 04:58 PM
RM expected to trade between 4.45 and 4.46 against USD next week http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/12/194046/...t-usd-next-weekLets c whether any knee-jerk reaction on 5/12
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 3 2016, 05:08 PM) For me, I just hope for stability, if it cannot gain strength, at least to stay at current region. Till early Jan when I need to TT USD.  BNM officials r confident the latest rulings will calm n stabilize d market Thus, your wish may come true
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 3 2016, 05:36 PM) I just hope the wish of some or prediction of those with crystal balls did not come true. The dreaded 4.8, or 5.0 ...................  V can't discount RM5 mark yet as m not sure how trader/investor will react to the new rulings whem mkt open next Mon
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 3 2016, 06:07 PM) I am preparing to spring up for action if RM made sudden moves within next few weeks.  No need to wait for weeks as u may b able to catch some 'dead chicken' on Mon
TSwil-i-am
Dec 3 2016, 11:13 PM
Quote: 'A Special Deposit Facility ("SDF") will b offered to exporter @ 3.25% pa pursuant to conversion of 75% new export proceeds into MYR' M just thinking whether interest income from said SDF is exempted from tax under ITA 1967