All new Toyota Sienta, Surprising package

amad108
post Sep 6 2016, 12:13 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Sep 5 2016, 05:20 PM)
I wouldn't worry on wish aircond for 3rd row seats.  I own a caldina... the aircod design was so good even in the boot area is cold my children can sleep there comfortably. Toyota's aircond design is good. My tucson... even rear seat oso got some blind spots

This sienta would be my 4th Toyota...  my first UMW though...
i did sat on 3rd row wish when i still studying (its my uncle wish) year 2005/06.. quite new at that time..
even with dark tint, the 3rd row seriously hot.. the aircon cant reach the 3rd row, too far.. cant feel any blown air.. so i need to use manual fan using my hand instead..
i'm talking about journey from KL to Kuala Terengganu which takes around 6-7 hours at that time..
amad108
post Sep 7 2016, 12:23 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Sep 7 2016, 12:52 AM)
Saw one somewhere near Pantai Dalam today

Didn't really follow the news of Toyota Sienta and that makes me thought it is not available it Malaysia yet  doh.gif  doh.gif
test drive unit? if yes got sticker all around la..
amad108
post Sep 7 2016, 01:05 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Sep 7 2016, 12:56 PM)
Not test drive unit for sure. One old aunty is driving lol
Maybe the first in malaysia lol.. haha
amad108
post Sep 10 2016, 04:03 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Sep 8 2016, 11:47 AM)
mmmm... its a practical small Family true mpv (really can fit 7 ppl unlike other small mpv that the rear row is uncomfortable for adult at rear) with goodies such as power sliding doors.

but i went for 3rd test drive with 6 adult averagely with weight 65kg, i felt the pinch.... maybe due to the small engine size v CVT .... just my personal problem....  overall its a perfect car below 100k. maybe is my problem.

Actually i looking for small size mpv & in fact most of the time only my wife , i & my son on the ride. very seldom go beyond 5 ppl.
now i looking at alza advance (which cost less rm30k) v about the same size (although the third row is less comfortable & no power door compare sienta) & same engine capacity . of cos toyota more reliable & higher quality. my own findings (to myself only), why spend extra rm30k just for a brand & powerdoors where the car also is more suitable for 5 seater ? sorry to all othera sienta lover if my comment offended you, as i said, thats my findings & conclusion that apply to my self.

i went test drive the alza & felt that the conventional auto gearbox deliver power more instance compared CVT (i knew CVT more comfortable & some said more reliable & powerful ). but i am user of 1st gen vios (1.5) & forte (2.0) where both also conventional autogear box, maybe due to this CVT gearbox behavior still temporary unacceptable for me. (again i repeat , this only apply to me, no offence)

i will still keep track on this thread as i not make final decision yet. currently alza/livina/mazda 5 (2nd) is on my list. ofcos exora is out of my list as i dont like the shape & i am bit of 'carcist'.
owner of sienta since yesterday..
yup, i agree with the conventional auto is faster response compare to CVT.. I myself also from vios 2nd gen, as for me paying extra rm30k isnt just for power sliding door and brand.. more to rear aircon, VSC (better safety), 3rd row which can accommodate adult, larger and practical space and toyota known reliability..
amad108
post Sep 11 2016, 12:31 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Sep 10 2016, 01:43 PM)
1st review of 1st long distance
getting 12.7km/l with odo 528km.. so its expected as it still very new.. speed average 120-140km/h from Karak to Kuala Terengganu..
the car is fully loaded with 3 adult, 2 kids (age 4 & 3), and infant (include baby car seat too).. accelerate with fully loaded quite slow but acceptable, RPM reach 5000 can hear the engine roaring while in hill climb at karak highway.. but once reach 120km/h can easily maintain the speed n ECO mode most of the time..
got ECO throttle mode too which u can see  how u accelerate but still in ECO mode..
[attachmentid=7499795]

while cruising at speed 120-130km/h, the RPM range from 2400rpm to 2600rpm for flat road.. when accelerate from 120km/h to 140km/h, the RPM goes to 3600rpm and the speed increase easily (maybe due to low coefficient of drag), and did try to maintain at 140km/h the RPM stay at 3000+rpm

the NVH is quite good, wind noise is hardly hear but the tyre noise is noticeable.. plan to do sound proofing at shorty place for the whole floor area..

as for Toyota Premium Tint, at morning when still no direct sun is ok.. but reaching noon, can feel my skin burn and the windows glass is quite hot.. so if u ask me if need to double layer tint or not, yes you should consider especially for long distance with family.. as for I will sure find the better tint for the car..

another thing to highlight, the wiper for sienta is very special.. length at 26 inch longest n shortest is 14 inch, the lock mechanism is the rarest.. similar to VW lock mechanism (as what as shorty claimed).. so not easy to find replacement other then original from Toyota (which could be really expensive just for normal rubber wiper)
even PIAA brand cant fit in.. haizz..

so that's all for 1st simple review.. more to come at future time.. enjoying the car currently.. for people like me (from sedan to MPV), its the first time to arrange the bag vertically as i cant do it while using vios last time... so need to familiar with this kind of arrangement start from today..
QUOTE(jonn zee @ Sep 10 2016, 10:37 PM)
Owner's review please....  what type  /   color u choose? 

Congrats...
orange color, V spec..

This post has been edited by amad108: Sep 11 2016, 12:34 AM
amad108
post Sep 11 2016, 11:38 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(zk9 @ Sep 11 2016, 08:31 PM)
mcm tahi ja kereta nih, baik beli volvo wagon
macam tahi pon tahi lah.. janji x pening kepala slalu.. hehe
amad108
post Sep 11 2016, 11:46 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Sep 11 2016, 08:23 PM)
Nice review..was wondering, any comments from the rear passenger in terms of comfort for long distance when compared to the vios rear seats? felt that the rear seats were slightly flat to allow the folding function and there arent any arm rest on the doors due to the sliding feature. Impossible to have enough time to test the rear seats from a simple test drive session.

Btw, is it ok to go all the way to 4000rpm with a brand new engine?
my wife n kids sat at rear, she mention really comfort compare vios n even CX-5.. summore with rear aircon so really comfortable.. toyota know its comfort, so same with sienta.. handling is where it weakness.. floating when high speed which also the same case for vios last time, cornering with it can feel the body roll..
another thing to highlight is the turning radius, not so small as vios.. at 5.7 meter turning radius is kinda big (only for V spec), lower spec is 5.2 meter..

haha.. u know la LPT2 highway.. too long with straight road.. so speed maintain 120-140km/h, i think can do higher speed but then what for? its a family mini MPV with 1.5 engine combine with CVT gbx weight around 1.3 tonne..
amad108
post Sep 12 2016, 09:43 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 12 2016, 07:35 AM)
Congrats on getting the car, amad108. smile.gif

aztechx, when are you getting your car? tongue.gif

Btw, anyone got their $20 tng card from the test drives? They said 2 weeks but till now, no news.
Thanks bro..
Ya.. haven't get that too.. send 2 last time..
amad108
post Sep 12 2016, 03:13 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(ftan @ Sep 12 2016, 02:37 PM)
Not a bro. tongue.gif

Ok, let me know once get it.
Aiyoh, please don't freak out. They give during the test drive. I'm seriously considering this mpv for my next car purchase.
Owh.. sorry miss hehe..
amad108
post Sep 14 2016, 12:16 AM

1,008 posts

fuel consumption record..
amad108
post Sep 14 2016, 10:06 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(darylding2000 @ Sep 14 2016, 09:59 AM)
does the lcd meter hv the eco meter?
yup, similar to this.. this pic from sienta in sg but it exactly the same..
amad108
post Sep 14 2016, 10:53 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Sep 14 2016, 10:42 AM)
Checked during the Leisure Mall road show. It is definitely smaller (or less spacious) than Alza. The seats looks cheap with that two-tone (orange/black) fabric and came with two powered sliding doors. I didn't verify the spec while I was confused non-leather should be G and G shouldn't have both powered door (or so I remembered). Just rushing and passed by.
well it depend how u define large and practical..
as for me, i'm satisfied with it.. enjoying it while "balik kampung" recently.. MID display sure make it more fun to drive as u can choose a lot of view option depend on ur desire..
amad108
post Sep 14 2016, 11:48 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Sep 14 2016, 11:01 AM)
bro how much D/P. monthly & loan period. if personal, can PM?
already pm u bro..
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 09:24 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(kcwong609 @ Sep 15 2016, 08:19 AM)
Congrats Amad for the new MPV!!! Seems like you are enjoying it very much and mod already.
The MID display looks good. rclxms.gif
yup, totally enjoying it..
thanks bro.. nothing much actually.. just a roof monitor, yuma carpet red n black tone color, white LED for rear plate number, and hack player to see video while driving.. that's all
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 09:32 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Sep 15 2016, 08:40 AM)
One thing is, i cant help but feel the meter gauges are a bit old fashioned. Start contrast to the beautiful MID in the middle
yup, the gauge meter seem not as funky as the car itself.. just normal optiron meter design, on this section Honda do a better job with blue n green illumination etc..

yes alza is longer by 35mm (around 3.5cm), but sienta is higher by 75mm (7.5cm)

n its about weight, at 1160kg for Alza while 1350kg for Sienta (V spec)
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 09:38 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(youze @ Sep 15 2016, 09:33 AM)
Hmm nice car coming from Toyota. For me before i'd probably go for Avanza for a 5 person family.

Although I'd prefer if the back door opens like front door. Making it a sliding door like a van would change the car to a different category and thus making the road tax more expensive. You guys know by how much?
roadtax is rm120 compare vios is rm90 while avanza only at rm70.. not much different and its only renew once a year.. just the insurance is different because its depend on its value..
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 09:42 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Sep 15 2016, 09:40 AM)
website shows RM90 for Avanza 1.5 and RM120 for Sienta 1.5

I believe if the rear door is a normal door, it would lose almost all its appeal already  biggrin.gif
ops.. i wrote for avanza 1.3 which is rm70..
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 12:40 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(darylding2000 @ Sep 15 2016, 11:08 AM)
Sienta 3row surely bigger than Alza. although the lenght of Alza is longer 35mm. But wheelbase size is the same.
What brand u install for the roof monitor? and how much to hack the player? will it void warranty?
alza longer, but sienta is taller..
ask shorty, he has a lot of option depend on what u want for the roof monitor.. hack no wire cut being made, so warranty still valid..
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 12:43 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(jonn zee @ Sep 15 2016, 11:09 AM)
yup... this is due to the higher seating positions than alza... and the third row  even more comfortable compared to Wish & Stream
had to agree with that coz already experience it once.. cramp for wish n stream, even more cramp for grand livina and alza.. while exora maybe still ok..
amad108
post Sep 15 2016, 12:48 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(youze @ Sep 15 2016, 10:01 AM)
In terms of performance, is a 1.5 good enough for this kind of car? Any similar car but with better engine that can carry the weight?
i've tested it for long distance.. quite an ok performance.. no trouble at all even for Karak hillclimb either from KL direction or Kuantan direction.. both direction can go uphill with ease eventho at that time full with baggage, 3 adult, 2 kids and 1 infant..

alza with 1.5 engine weight at 1150kg - 4 speed gbx - 2 airbag - 0-100km/h 11s?
sienta with 1.5 engine weight at 1350kg - CVT with 7 speed shiftmatic - 3 airbag - 0-100km/h in 11.9s (got the info from indon youtube video reviewing the sienta)

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0272sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:35 AM